DETAILED ACTION
NOZZLE AND CLEANER
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6,17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bagwell (US7069620B2).
Regarding claim 1, Bagwell teaches
a main body (50, figure 3) having a lower surface that faces a cleaning target surface; a groove (63+64+66, figure 3) provided in the lower surface to be recessed upward from the lower surface; and a suction port (60, figure 2) provided inside the groove to face the cleaning target surface, wherein the groove includes: a first groove (63+64, figure 3); and a second groove (66, figure 3), at least a part of which is provided rearward of the first groove, and a depth H1 of the first groove is deeper than a depth H2 of the second groove (figure 3).
Regarding claim 2, Bagwell teaches
wherein a center of the groove (see 63+64+66, figure 3) and a center of the main body (see center of 50, figure 3) coincide (see 60, figure 3) with each other in a left-right direction (figure 3).
Regarding claim 3, Bagwell teaches
wherein a center of the first groove (center of 63 +64, figure 3) and a center of the second groove (center of 66, figure 3) coincide (see 60, figure 3) with each other in the left-right direction.
Regarding claim 4, Bagwell teaches
wherein a dimension B1 (see length of 63+64, figure 3 in left right direction) of the first groove in the left-right direction and a dimension B2 (see length of 66, figure 3 in left right direction) of the second groove in the left-right direction satisfy a condition:
B1 < B2 (see figure 3).
Regarding claim 5, Bagwell teaches
wherein a center of the suction port (see center of 60, figure 3) and a center of the groove (63+64+66, figure 3) coincide with each other in the left-right direction.
Regarding claim 6, Bagwell teaches
wherein a front end of the suction port (see front of 60, figure 3) and a front end (see 80, figure 3) of the first groove (63+64, figure 3) coincide with each other, and
a rear end of the suction port (see rear of 60, figure 3) and a front end (82, figure 3) of the second groove (66, figure 3) coincide with each other (figure 3).
Regarding claim 17, Bagwell teaches
wherein a center of the suction port (see center of 60, figure 3) and a center of the groove (63+64+66, figure 3) coincide with each other in the left-right direction.
Regarding claim 18, Bagwell teaches
wherein a front end of the suction port (see front of 60, figure 3) and a front end (see 80, figure 3) of the first groove (63+64, figure 3) coincide with each other, and
a rear end of the suction port (see rear of 60, figure 3) and a front end (82, figure 3) of the second groove (66, figure 3) coincide with each other (figure 3).
Regarding claim 19, Bagwell teaches
the nozzle according to claim 1 (see above);
a motor; and
a fan that is rotated by the motor and generates a suction force at the suction port of the nozzle (see abstract, col 1 line 5-35 discloses the nozzle can be used for a canister cleaner that generates suction force using motor).
Claim(s) 1-5,17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Marchal (EP2457481A1).
Regarding claim 1, Marchal teaches
a main body (2, figure 1) having a lower surface that faces a cleaning target surface;
a groove (see area surrounding 80, figures 1-2) provided in the lower surface to be recessed upward from the lower surface; and
a suction port (20,figure 2) provided inside the groove to face the cleaning target surface,
wherein the groove includes:
a first groove (see annotated figure below); and
a second groove (see annotated figure below), at least a part of which is provided rearward of the first groove, and
a depth H1 of the first groove is deeper than a depth H2 of the second groove (see annotated figure below).
Regarding claim 2, Marchal teaches
wherein a center of the groove (see area surrounding 80, figure 1) and a center of the main body (center of 2 in left right direction is 20) coincide with each other in a left-right direction (20 and 80 coincide in left-right direction see annotated figure below).
Regarding claim 3, Marchal teaches
wherein a center of the first groove and a center of the second groove coincide with (each center of the first groove and second groove coincide with eachother in the left and right direction) each other in the left-right direction (see annotated figure below).
Regarding claim 4, Marchal teaches
wherein a dimension B1 of the first groove in the left-right direction and a dimension B2 of the second groove in the left-right direction satisfy a condition:
B1 < B2 (see annotated figure below).
Regarding claim 5, Marchal teaches
wherein a center of the suction port (see 20, figure 1) and a center of the groove (area surrounding 80, figure 2) coincide with each other in the left-right direction (see annotated figure above).
Regarding claim 17, Marchal teaches
wherein a center of the suction port (see 20, figure 1) and a center of the groove (see area surrounding 80, figure 2) coincide with each other in the left-right direction (see annotated figure above).
Regarding claim 19, the nozzle according to claim 1 (see above);
a motor; and
a fan that is rotated by the motor and generates a suction force at the suction port of the nozzle (see claim 9, and Marchall disclsoes “The sole 2 of the nozzle comprises a suction port 21 in aeraulic connection with a suction tube 7 connected to the vacuum cleaner.”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bagwell (US7069620B2).
Regarding claim 7, Bagwell teaches all limitations stated above and
wherein a center of the first groove (center of 63 +64, figure 3) and the center of the main body (see center of 50, figure 3) coincide with each other in the left-right direction, and
a dimension B1 (see length of 63+64, figure 3 in left right direction ) of the first groove in the left-right direction and a dimension Bt (see length of 50, figure 3 in left right direction) of the main body in the left-right direction but fails to teach the condition: B1 ≥ 0.5×Bt.
Because Bagwell teaches the B1 and Bt dimensions. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date to try and modify the dimensions of B1 and Bt to have any desired size, including having the dimensions satisfy B1 ≥ 0.5×Bt in an attempt to optimize floor tool to improve the pickup performance, as a person with ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp.
Further, no criticality for the claimed recitation is apparent in applicant’s disclosure.
Regarding claim 8, Bagwell teaches all limitations stated above and
wherein a first width W1 (see Lc, figure 3) indicating a dimension of the first groove in a front-rear direction and the depth H2 (see depth of 66, figure 3; col 3 lines 1-15) ,but fails to teach the condition:
W1 ≥ H2.
Because Bagwell teaches the W1 and H2 dimensions. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date to try and modify the dimensions of W1 and H2 to have any desired size, including having the dimensions satisfy W1 ≥ H2 in an attempt to optimize floor tool to improve the pickup performance, as a person with ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp.
Further, no criticality for the claimed recitation is apparent in applicant’s disclosure.
Regarding claim 9, Bagwell teaches all limitations stated above and
wherein the first width W1 (see Lc, figure 3) indicating the dimension of the first groove in the front-rear direction and a total width Wt (Lt-(Lc+width of 65 in the front-rear direction), figure 3) indicating a sum of the dimension of the first groove and the dimension of the second groove in the front-rear direction ,but fails to teach the condition:
W1 ≤ 0.9×Wt.
Because Bagwell teaches the W1 and Wt dimensions. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date to try and modify the dimensions of W1 and Wt to have any desired size, including having the dimensions satisfy W1 ≤ 0.9×Wt in an attempt to optimize floor tool to improve the pickup performance, as a person with ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp.
Further, no criticality for the claimed recitation is apparent in applicant’s disclosure.
Regarding claim 10, Bagwell teaches all limitations stated above and
wherein a depth H3 indicating a difference (see figure 3) between the depth H1 (63 and 64, figure 3) and the depth H2 (see 66, figure 3) ,but fails to teach the condition:
H3 ≥ 1.5 mm.
Because Bagwell teaches the H3 dimensions. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date to try and modify the dimensions of H3 to have any desired size, including having the dimensions satisfy H3 ≥ 1.5 mm in an attempt to optimize floor tool to improve the pickup performance, as a person with ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp.
Further, no criticality for the claimed recitation is apparent in applicant’s disclosure.
Claim(s) 11-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bagwell (US7069620B2) in view of Lee (US20060093501A1).
Regarding claim 11, Bagwell teaches all limitations stated above and
wherein an inner surface (77, figure 4) of the first groove includes: a first rear surface (figure 4) connected to a front end of the second groove (66, figure 3-4) and facing forward; a first front surface (figure 4) disposed forward of the first rear surface and facing the first rear surface; and a first lower surface (see 76, figure 4) connecting an upper end of the first rear surface to an upper end of the first front surface, but fails to teach the nozzle includes a vertical rib extending in the up-down direction, at least a part of which is provided on the first front surface, and the vertical rib is disposed in plurality at intervals in the left-right direction.
Lee teaches a suction port assembly the nozzle (figure 2) includes a vertical rib (320, figure 2) extending in the up-down direction, at least a part of which is provided on the first front surface, and the vertical rib is disposed in plurality at intervals in the left-right direction (figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bagwell to includes a vertical rib extending in the up-down direction, at least a part of which is provided on the first front surface, and the vertical rib is disposed in plurality at intervals in the left-right direction based on teachings of Lee. This modification would help reduce noise (see para 0053-0055 of Lee)
Regarding claim 12, Bagwell as modified in claim 11 teaches
wherein, among the vertical ribs disposed in the left-right direction, the vertical rib disposed on a leftmost side is disposed leftward of a left end of the suction port, and the vertical rib disposed on a rightmost side is disposed rightward of a right end of the suction port (see Lee 320 within in 211,212,221, figures 2-3).
Regarding claim 13, Bagwell as modified in claim 11 teaches
wherein a height T1 (see Lee para 0012,0018,0059,0064, figure 2) indicating a protrusion amount of the vertical rib from the first front surface satisfies ,but fails to teach the condition:
T1 ≥ 1.5 mm.
Because Bagwell teaches the T1 dimensions. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date to try and modify the dimensions of T1 to have any desired size, including having the dimensions satisfy T1 ≥ 1.5 mm in an attempt to optimize floor tool to eliminate noise , as a person with ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp.
Further, no criticality for the claimed recitation is apparent in applicant’s disclosure.
Regarding claim 14, Bagwell as modified in claim 11 teaches
wherein a thickness D1 (see Lee 320, figure 2) indicating a dimension of the vertical rib in the left-right direction ,but fails to teach the condition:
D1 ≤ 3.0 mm.
Because Bagwell teaches the D1 dimensions. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date to try and modify the dimensions of D1 to have any desired size, including having the dimensions satisfy D1 ≥ 3.0 mm in an attempt to optimize floor tool to eliminate noise , as a person with ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp.
Further, no criticality for the claimed recitation is apparent in applicant’s disclosure.
Regarding claim 15, Bagwell as modified in claim 11
wherein an interval G1 between a pair of the vertical ribs (see Lee 320, figure 2) adjacent to each other in the left-right direction ,but fails to teach the condition:
G1 ≤ 4.0 mm.
Because Bagwell teaches the G1 dimensions. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date to try and modify the dimensions of G1 to have any desired size, including having the dimensions satisfy G1 ≤ 4.0 mm in an attempt to optimize floor tool to eliminate noise , as a person with ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp.
Further, no criticality for the claimed recitation is apparent in applicant’s disclosure.
Regarding claim 16, Bagwell as modified in claim 11 teaches
wherein an inner surface of the second groove (see Bagwell 66, figures 3-4) includes: a second lower surface connected to a lower end of the first rear surface; and a second rear surface connected to a rear end of the second lower surface and facing forward,
the main body includes (see Bagwell 50, figures 3-4): a left side surface disposed at a boundary between the second lower surface disposed leftward of the suction port and a left end of the suction port (see Bagwell 60, figures 3-4); and a right side surface disposed at a boundary between the second lower surface disposed rightward of the suction port and a right end of the suction port (see Bagwell, figures 3-4),
the nozzle includes a lateral rib (see Lee 320, figure 2) provided on each of the left side surface and the right side surface and extending in the up-down direction, and
the lateral rib is disposed in plurality at intervals in the front-rear direction (see Lee 320, figure 2).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
DE202009017029U1 discloses a suction device for a vacuum cleaner .
CN106175589A discloses a ground brush assembly for vacuum cleaner
/SARAH AKYAA FORDJOUR/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/MONICA S CARTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723