DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 8-11, and 14 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over US 7142349 (herein Yang) in view of US 20060285191 (herein Xiao).
Regarding claim 8, Yang teaches A method of forming a MEMS device, the method comprising:
etching a first cavity and a second cavity (openings 430, Fig. 4C) in a topmost dielectric layer of a first substrate (dielectric layer 420 is deposited on substrate 405, Col. 9, Line 31), a portion of the topmost dielectric layer being disposed between the first cavity and the second cavity (FIG. 4C illustrates the patterning and etching of dielectric layer 420 to form openings 430, Col. 9, Lines 54-55);
forming a first protrusion on a floor of the first cavity, and a second protrusion on a floor of the second cavity (In FIG. 4F, the dielectric layer 420 is removed to expose the landing posts 460, Col. 10, Lines 41-42),
wherein each of the first protrusion and the second protrusion have a low surface energy relative to the surface energy of a material of the topmost dielectric layer (conductive layer 440 is formed using polysilicon, Col. 10, Line 22; dielectric layer 420 is a silicone oxide, Col. 9, Line 32; Note that it is known in the art that polysilicon has a lower surface energy than silicon oxide, comparatively);
bonding a second substrate (substrate 470, Fig. 5G) to the first substrate (Wafer bonding techniques are used in some embodiments, to form a hermetic seal between layer 476 and substrate 405, Col. 10, Line 66-Col. 11, Line 1); and
after bonding the second substrate to the first substrate, patterning the second substrate to form a first movable element at least partially suspended above the first cavity (Col. 11, Lines 17-29 teach etching process of substrate 470),
wherein the first protrusion is in a path of movement of the first movable element when the first movable element is deflected in a first direction (Fig. 3A shows moveable structure 320 moving in a path in which landing posts 314 are located).
Further regarding claim 8, Yang does not teach, “wherein after bonding the second substrate to the first substrate, a bottommost surface of the second substrate is above topmost surfaces of the first protrusion and the second protrusion.” However, Xiao teaches it is known in the art to make a patterned standoff region 472 that may be bonded to substrate 480 (see [0078] and Fig. 4J), where the bottommost bonding surface 488 of the substrate 480 is above the top surfaces of protrusions 330/314 ([0077]).
Regarding claim 9, Yang teaches wherein after bonding the second substrate to the first substrate, patterning the second substrate to form a second movable element at least partially suspended above the second cavity, wherein the second protrusion is in a path of movement of the second movable element when the second movable element is deflected in the first direction (Col. 11, Lines 17-29 teach etching process of substrate 470; Fig. 4H teaches two portions of mirror 480 on each side of hinge 486, each having landing posts 460 within their moving path when rotating about hinge 486).
Regarding claim 10, Yang teaches wherein the first substrate further comprises: a plurality of stacked dielectric layers beneath the topmost dielectric layer, the plurality of stacked dielectric layers having a plurality of interconnect layers formed therein (electrodes 410 are coupled to the surface of substrate 405. Preferably, the electrodes are made of a multilayer stack of deposited titanium nitride, aluminum, and titanium nitride layers. In some embodiments, the electrodes 410 are distributed in an array pattern and coupled to addressing and control circuitry, Col. 8, Lines 30-35).
Regarding claim 11, Yang teaches wherein forming the first protrusion on the floor of the first cavity comprises: patterning the floor of the first cavity to form a protrusion extending therefrom (FIG. 4C illustrates the patterning and etching of dielectric layer 420 to form openings 430, Col. 9, Lines 54-55); and depositing a first conductive film over a top surface and sidewalls of the protrusion, the first conductive film being electrically coupled to a first contact on the floor of the first cavity (a generally conformal liner layer commonly used in contact hole/via plug formation processes is deposited prior to the deposition of electrically conductive layer 440. Merely by way of example, the conformal liner layer may be formed as a TiN, Col. 10, Lines 14-18; Note that TiN is conductive, and would connect with electrodes 410).
Regarding claim 14, Yang teaches wherein the second protrusion on the floor of the second cavity is electrically coupled to a second contact on the floor of the second cavity (Figs. 4A-4C teach electrodes 410c, 410d connected to openings 430 and thus conformal liner layer of electrodes 462 discussed in Col. 10, Lines 14-18).
For the above claims 8-11, and 14, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to form the standoff regions as taught by Xiao to replace the standoff structure 482 of Yang since the substitution would provide predictable results for separating substrates of a MEMS device. The above findings satisfies the Graham factual inquiries stated in MPEP 2143 B regarding simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
Claim 12 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Yang and Xiao as applied to claim 11 above, in further view of US 6376048 (herein Takeishi).
Regarding claim 12, Yang and Xiao do not teach, “wherein forming the first protrusion on the floor of the first cavity further comprises depositing a second conductive film over the first conductive film, wherein the first conductive film comprises TiN, and the second conductive film comprises AlCu.” However, Yang teaches a layer of TiN (Col. 10, Line 18) and also states a combination of layers may be possible. Takeishi teaches AlCu as a conductive film. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to simply substitute the second layer of Yang with AlCu taught by Takeishi because both function as conductive films. The above findings satisfies the Graham factual inquiries stated in MPEP 2143 B regarding simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-7 and 15, and 17-21 are allowed. Claim 13 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 1 and dependents thereof, the prior art does not teach, “patterning a second substrate to form a series of interdigitated fingers, wherein each of the series of interdigitated fingers is fixed at one end and is free at another end; mounting the second substrate atop the first substrate, wherein free ends of the series of interdigitated fingers extend over the cavity; forming a plurality of protrusions extending from a floor of the cavity, wherein a first interdigitated finger of the series of interdigitated fingers will contact a first protrusion of the plurality of protrusions when the series of interdigitated fingers are deflected downwards towards the floor of the cavity; electrically coupling the first protrusion of the plurality of protrusions to the series of interdigitated fingers; and electrically coupling a second protrusion of the plurality of protrusions to a potential voltage node that provides a voltage of an opposite polarity to that of a voltage on the series of interdigitated fingers.” MEMS with interdigitated fingers are known in the art and taught by Suzuki. Further, Yang teaches an equivalent protrusion that contacts movable electrodes. However, even if combining Suzuki and Yang, neither would teach the specific electrical configuration.
Regarding claims 13, 15 and 17-21, the prior art does not appear to teach specific contact angle of the protrusion claimed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 8 and dependents thereof have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Yang remains relevant prior art as it teaches the limitations above, and Xiao is introduced to teach the particular configuration where the second substrate surface is above the protrusions and not integrated with a standoff.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WALTER L LINDSAY JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2852
/PHILIP T FADUL/Examiner, Art Unit 2852