DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Examiner agrees the double patenting issue can be resolved upon finding allowable subject matter. Until then, the double patenting rejection will persist in the Office Actions so as to preserve the issue. Examiner agrees no further action is required at this time. Remarks, 4.
On pages 5–7 of the Remarks, Applicant contends the Office only relies on the teachings of Lee-2 for teaching the filter length being determined independently. Examiner disagrees. As explained in the rejection, infra, Lee-2 teaches that for asymmetrically partitioned blocks, different filter lengths may be used between the horizontal and vertical filters and that when combining such a teaching with the teachings of Lee regarding the shape of the block affecting filter selection including filter taps, such a combination would teach or suggest Applicant’s independent determination of horizontal and vertical filters for the left and above reference sample lines. Therefore, contrary to Applicant’s argument that only Lee-2 is relied upon for teaching the averred feature, the rejection relies on the combined teachings of the prior art and level of skill in the art. Accordingly, Examiner is unpersuaded of patentability under 35 U.S.C. 103.
On page 7 of the Remarks, Applicant contends the rejection is the result of impermissible hindsight essentially arriving at such a conclusion because of the number of prior art references used to reject the claim amounts to an “extensive patchwork.” Examiner disagrees. As MPEP 2145(V) explains, the number of prior art references is not a material consideration for whether a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 is proper. Furthermore, because the rejection only considers that knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill and not knowledge only gleaned from Applicant’s disclosure, the rejection did not resort to impermissible hindsight. Accordingly, Examiner is unpersuaded of error.
Other claims are not argued separately. Remarks, 8.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 3 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 4–6, 8, 10–12, and 19 of copending Application No. 16/757,002 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the application of the reference sample filters based on pixel component and current block size and the filter coefficient selection represents substantial overlapping subject matter between the two applications.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3–5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 2019/0313116 A1), Park (US 2021/0297684 A1), Gu (US 2015/0110174 A1), Lee (US 2013/0301720 A1) (herein “Lee-3”), Yoo (US 2020/0137404 A1), and Lee (US 2014/0307784 A1) (herein “Lee-2”).
Regarding claim 1, the combination of Lee, Park, Gu, Lee-3, Yoo, and Lee-2 teaches or suggests a video decoding method, the method comprising: determining a reference sample of a current block (Lee, ¶ 0181: teaches reference samples chosen for intra prediction from a set of reference samples corresponding to a reference sample line along the top or left boundary of the current block; see Lee, Fig. 11); applying a reference sample filter to the reference sample (Lee, Fig. 12: illustrates that the reference samples in the reference sample line can be subjected to filtering; Lee, ¶ 0162: teaches filtering reference samples in a reference sample line to achieve final reference samples); and performing intra-prediction using the filtered reference sample (Lee, ¶ 0181: teaches reference samples chosen for intra prediction from a set of reference samples corresponding to a reference sample line along the top or left boundary of the current block; see Lee, Fig. 11; Lee, ¶ 0153: explains an interpolation filter is chosen based on parameters such as intra prediction mode, intra prediction direction, whether the neighboring block is coded in intra or inter, whether the samples are on a boundary, and the size and shape of the current block; Lee, ¶ 0153: teaches filter length (i.e. number of taps), strength, and filter coefficients may be determined from a number of possibilities), wherein a filter type of the reference sample filter is determined based on a pixel component of the current block (Lee, ¶ 0133: teaches the intra prediction mode may be derived based on the pixel component (i.e. luma or chroma) of the block; Lee, ¶ 0153: explains an interpolation filter is chosen based on parameters such as intra prediction mode, intra prediction direction, whether the neighboring block is coded in intra or inter, whether the samples are on a boundary, and the size and shape of the current block; Examiner notes that if intra mode is based on pixel component and filtering is based on intra mode, then filtering is based on color component; While Examiner finds the teachings of Lee and Park are sufficient, in order to expedite prosecution, Examiner additionally relies on the teachings of Gu; Gu, ¶ 0074: explicitly teaches, “For the luma component, neighboring reference samples may be filtered before the intra prediction process.” (emphasis added); Also, in order to expedite prosecution, the rejection additionally relies on the teachings of Lee-3; Lee-3, ¶ 0125: teaches whether or not filtering is performed can be based on prediction mode of current and neighboring blocks, size, depth, component (luma or chroma), whether blocks are available, etc.; Lee-3, ¶¶ 0012 and 0191: teaches that selection of filter type means filter shape, filter tap, and filter coefficients and can be determined based on size of current block; Lee-3, ¶ 0011: teaches filtering may be determined based on component type (luma or chroma)), wherein a first filter length of the reference sample filter applied to above reference samples and a second filter length of the reference sample filter applied to left reference samples are separately determined for respective above and left reference sample lines before performing the intra-prediction (Examiner interprets this limitation in view of Applicant’s published paragraph [0295], wherein it is explained that it may be desirable to have different horizontal (for left samples) and vertical (for above samples) filter lengths for non-square blocks; Lee-2, ¶ 0098: teaches filter length for asymmetrically partitioned blocks may differ between horizontal and vertical filters; Lee, ¶ 0153: teaches filter length (i.e. number of taps), strength, and filter coefficients may be determined from a number of possibilities; Lee, ¶ 0153: explains an interpolation filter is chosen based on parameters such as intra prediction mode, intra prediction direction, whether the neighboring block is coded in intra or inter, whether the samples are on a boundary, and the size and shape of the current block; Lee-3, ¶¶ 0012 and 0191: teaches that selection of filter type means filter shape, filter tap, and filter coefficients and can be determined based on size of current block; Lee’s teaching in ¶ 0153 that the shape of the current block can influence filter length, especially when combined with Lee-2’s explicit teachings regarding filter length being determined independently between horizontal and vertical filters, would teach or suggest to one skilled in the art Applicant’s independent determination of filter length for the left and above reference samples), and wherein the reference sample filter is only performed when the current block is a directional intra prediction mode (Lee, ¶ 0153: explains an interpolation filter is chosen based on parameters such as intra prediction mode, intra prediction direction, whether the neighboring block is coded in intra or inter, whether the samples are on a boundary, and the size and shape of the current block; Park, ¶ 0300: teaches non-directional modes such as planar or DC mode do not get filtering; see also Lee-3, e.g. ¶¶ 0009–0010), wherein the reference sample filter is skipped when the directional intra prediction mode corresponds to a vertical mode or a horizontal mode (Park, ¶ 0300: teaches non-directional modes such as planar or DC mode do not get filtering; see also Lee-3, e.g. ¶¶ 0009–0010; While perhaps unnecessary to sustain the obviousness of the claimed features, to expedite prosecution, Examiner additionally relies on the teachings of Yoo, ¶ 0177: which explains filtering of reference samples for Intra_DC, horizontal, and vertical modes can be omitted to improve performance).
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to combine the elements taught by Lee, with those of Park, because both references are drawn to the same field of endeavor such that one wishing to practice the art of reference sample filtering for the purpose of performing intra-prediction would be led to their relevant teachings and because, as demonstrated by Park’s teaching of filtering reference samples based on intra-prediction mode, the combination represents a mere combination of prior art elements, according to known methods, to yield a predictable result. This rationale applies to all combinations of Lee and Park used in this Office Action unless otherwise noted.
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to combine the elements taught by Lee and Park, with those of Gu, because all three references are drawn to the same field of endeavor such that one wishing to practice the art of reference sample filtering for the purpose of performing intra-prediction would be led to their relevant teachings and because, as demonstrated by Gu’s teaching of filtering reference samples based on component, the combination represents a mere combination of prior art elements, according to known methods, to yield a predictable result. This rationale applies to all combinations of Lee, Park, and Gu used in this Office Action unless otherwise noted.
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to combine the elements taught by Lee, Park, and Gu, with those of Lee-3, because all four references are drawn to the same field of endeavor such that one wishing to practice the art of reference sample filtering for the purpose of performing intra-prediction would be led to their relevant teachings and because, as demonstrated by Gu’s and Lee-3’s teaching of filtering reference samples based on component, the combination represents a mere combination of prior art elements, according to known methods, to yield a predictable result. This rationale applies to all combinations of Lee, Park, Gu, and Lee-3 used in this Office Action unless otherwise noted.
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to combine the elements taught by Lee, Park, Gu, and Lee-3, with those of Yoo, because all five references are drawn to the same field of endeavor such that one wishing to practice the art of reference sample filtering for the purpose of performing intra-prediction would be led to their relevant teachings, because, as Yoo explains, restricting filtering to intra-prediction modes that do not include horizontal and vertical can “prevent the distortion of a value of the reference sample attributable to filtering (Yoo, ¶ 0177),” and because, as demonstrated by Gu’s and Yoo’s teaching of filtering reference samples, the combination represents a mere combination of prior art elements, according to known methods, to yield a predictable result. This rationale applies to all combinations of Lee, Park, Gu, Lee-3, and Yoo used in this Office Action unless otherwise noted.
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to combine the elements taught by Lee, Park, Gu, and Lee-3, and Yoo, with those of Lee-2, because all six references are drawn to the same field of endeavor such that one wishing to practice the art of reference sample filtering for the purpose of performing intra-prediction would be led to their relevant teachings, because, as Lee explains, filter length can be determined based on block shape while Lee-2 explains that for asymmetric block shapes, the horizontal and vertical filter lengths are likely to differ such that the two references would teach or suggest block asymmetry influencing filter length asymmetry, and because, as demonstrated by Lee’s and Lee-2’ teachings, the combination represents a mere combination of prior art elements, according to known methods, to yield a predictable result. This rationale applies to all combinations of Lee, Park, Gu, Lee-3, Yoo, and Lee-2 used in this Office Action unless otherwise noted.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Lee, Park, Gu, Lee-3, Yoo, and Lee-2 teaches or suggests the method of claim 1, wherein the filter type of the reference sample filter is selected based on an intra-prediction mode of the current block (Lee, ¶ 0153: explains an interpolation filter is chosen based on parameters such as intra prediction mode, intra prediction direction, whether the neighboring block is coded in intra or inter, whether the samples are on a boundary, and the size and shape of the current block; Applicant argues Lee’s filtering of the prediction samples is not the same as filtering the reference samples; Examiner does not agree, but in order to expedite prosecution, Park is relied upon to teach that the skilled artisan would find it obvious to filter the reference samples in order to achieve prediction samples that are the result of filtering; Park, ¶ 0145: teaches, “The decoder may filter the reference sample depending on an intra-prediction mode.” (emphasis added)).
Claim 4 lists the same elements as claim 1, but is drawn to the corresponding encoding method rather than a decoding method. Therefore, the rationale for the rejection of claim 1 applies to the instant claim.
Claim 5 lists the same elements as claim 1, but is drawn to the corresponding encoding method and a step of transmitting said encoded bitstream rather than a decoding method. Therefore, the rationale for the rejection of claim 1 applies to the instant claim.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cho (US 2020/0021828 A1) teaches that reference sample lines can be determined based on whether the current block boundary corresponds to a CTB boundary (Cho, ¶¶ 0163–0165).
Zhao (US 2018/0091825 A1) teaches the 4-tap 1/32 precision interpolation filter (Zhao, ¶ 0086).
Lee (US 2019/0200012 A1) teaches filter coefficients adding up to 64 (¶ 0151). Lee also teaches applying a filter to a reference sample prior to or after it is selected as a prediction sample (e.g. ¶¶ 0195–0196).
Alshina (US 2016/0007032 A1) teaches in HEVC an inter-chroma prediction interpolation filter uses a 4-tap interpolation filter (Alshina, ¶ 0229).
Chang et al., "Multiple Reference Line Coding for Most Probable Modes in Intra Prediction," 2019 Data Compression Conference, 2019. This reference does not have a “good” date, but explains, “To reduce complexity arising from additional lines to be checked at encoder side, we further propose to restrict the MRL to angular most probable modes (MPMs) only.” (emphasis added).
S. Matsuo, S. Takamura, and Y. Yashima, “Intra prediction with spatial gradients and multiple reference lines,” in Picture Coding Symposium, 2009. PCS 2009. IEEE, 2009, pp. 1–4.
Li (US 2019/0141318 A1) Li, ¶ 0155: teaches coding a reference line index in the bitstream; Li, ¶ 0155: teaches intra-prediction reference lines are identified by the reference line index value; see also Li, ¶ 0153: describing the step as “selecting” (see previous version of the claim using “selecting” rather than “deriving; Li, ¶ 0131: teaches the reference lines have reference samples contained within the reference lines that are “derived” Li, ¶ 0012: teaches reference samples may or may not be subjected to in-loop filtering before being used as reference samples; Li, ¶¶ 0009 and 0100: teaches smoothing filters used for samples in non-adjacent reference lines, i.e. based on a particular type of reference line; Li, Fig. 43: explains filtering occurs only for reference lines that have an index that is not zero, i.e. outside an adjacent reference line; Li, ¶ 0186: teaches an example of reference line filtering, importantly explaining the reference line index 1, for a non-adjacent reference line, is subjected to the filtering; Li, ¶ 0193: explains that a filtered reference line could receive a different reference line index indicating it is a filtered reference line; see also Li, ¶¶ 0188 and 0201 Li, ¶ 0186: teaches reference line sample filtering wherein the filtering only uses neighboring samples within the reference line; Li, ¶ 0186: explains the filtering is a 1D filter using only the sample values within the reference line; Examiner notes the example of [1,2,1]/4 also teaches the samples are neighbors Examiner finds this obvious in view of the level of skill in the art especially in view of the complexities introduced by MRL and the motivation to simplify the evaluation of MRLs as demonstrated in Li, ¶¶ 0317–0341: describing encoder-side decisions and rough-mode decisions (RMD) that simplify an otherwise exhaustive search/evaluation.
Liu (US 2017/0353719 A1) teaches interpolation filters at 1/64 precision (e.g. ¶ 0022).
Li (US 2016/0234492 A1) teaches that pixels outside a CTU boundary are considered unavailable as reference samples and may need to be interpolated (¶ 0118), which would suggest that CTU or CTB boundaries would create a special case needing additional computation in order to produce a reference sample line.
Wang (US 2013/0182775 A1) teaches a coding technique in which CTB boundaries control whether prediction samples are available or not (¶ 0126).
Yoo (US 2019/0200011 A1) teaches non-angular intra prediction modes not getting filtering (e.g. ¶ 0213).
Van Der Auswera (US 2012/0082224 A1) teaches DC and planar modes potentially not getting smoothing filtering while angular modes may get filtering (¶ 0088).
Jeon (US 2020/0288146 A1) explains filtering for Intra_DC, horizontal, and vertical modes can be omitted to improve performance (¶ 0205).
Kossentini (US 2012/0134425 A1) teaches different filter lengths for horizontal and vertical interpolation (¶ 0037).
MICHAEL J. HESS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2481
/MICHAEL J HESS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2481