DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitations use a generic placeholder (“mechanism”) that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “transfer mechanism…for …” in claim 1 and “dispensing mechanism …for…” in claim 2.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 2 recites the limitation “dispensing mechanism …for…”, which as explained above is considered to invoke 112(f). However, the specification and drawing fail to associate the dispensing mechanism with a structure for performing the recited function. The specification assigns the reference character “104” to this mechanism, but the lead-line for this reference character ends at the top of a “black box” enclosing a large part of the production line rather than indicating a structure that can perform the recited function. Therefore, the corresponding structure is unknown and the scope of the claim is indeterminate.
Claim 5 is further rendered indefinite by three instances of the word “high” because “high” is a relative term the scope of which is not ascertainable from the specification.
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. Claim 2 recites the limitation “dispensing mechanism …for…”, which as explained above is considered to invoke 112(f). However, the specification and drawing fail to associate the dispensing mechanism with a structure for performing the recited function. The specification assigns the reference character “104” to this mechanism, but the lead-line for this reference character ends at the top of a “black box” enclosing a large part of the production line rather than indicating a structure that can perform the recited function. Therefore, because no corresponding structure is described in the instant specification and drawing, there is no evidence that applicant was in possession of the claimed invention at the time of filing (see MPEP 2185).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tousingnant et al. (US 4,997,284). Regarding claim 1, Tousingnant discloses a production line comprising a concrete manufacturing area (the area where the “HOPPER APPARATUS” and “CEMENT MIXER” of Fig. 2 are located) and raw material stacking area (the area where the “DELIVERY TRUCK” of Fig. 2 is located when it reaches the “CONSTRUCTION SITE” of Fig. 2) located directly at a construction site (see “CONSTRUCTION SITE in Fig. 2); a mixing equipment (18) is provided on the concrete manufacturing area; a concrete discharge end of the mixing equipment is connected to a construction pouring area through a concrete conveying device (25); a plurality of quantitative material packs (12) and a transfer mechanism (14) are provided in the raw material stacking area; the transfer mechanism is configured for both the stacking of the plurality of quantitative material packs and the transfer of at least one package per time to the mixing equipment (see Fig. 1a). Regarding claim 6, the concrete conveying device is a bucket-hoist mechanism or an automotive conveying mechanism (see col. 4, lines 17-20). Regarding claim 8, the transfer mechanism is an automatic loading and unloading mechanism; the automatic loading and unloading mechanism comprises an automotive mechanical device (14).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tousingnant et al. (US 4,997,284) in view of Black et al. (US 6,126,307). The production line of Tousingnant was discussed above. Regarding claim 2, while Tousingnant further discloses a concrete mixing machine (18) on a lower level and a storage silo (21) on a higher level, additional features of claim 2 such as a powder mixer and sewage system are not disclosed. Black teaches placing a powder mixer (22) above another mixer, the powder mixer being connect to a meter water supply system (23) and a dispensing mechanism (37). Black also explains in col. 8, lines 10-13 that discharge is treated and cleaned water is cycled back into the system. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have utilized the powder mixer and other teachings of Black to realize the benefits high quality and lower energy use (see col. 2, lines 35-62). Regarding claim 3, that Black teaches providing aggregate separately via conveyor (41) to the lower mixer (below 43) and powder to the powder mixer would have suggested the further limitations of this claim to one of ordinary skill in the art. Regarding claim 4, Tousingnan further discloses that the packs are standardized containers and include waterproof bags (see col. 4, lines 20-38).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tousingnant et al. (US 4,997,284) in view of Black et al. (US 6,126,307) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Frianeza-Kullburg (US 2014/0272580). The powder mixer of Black is a rotating mixing but not specifically a planetary mixer. Frianeza-Kullburg explains that planetary mixers are an alternative to other mixer for mixing powder (see [0018]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have utilized a planetary mixer because Frianeza-Kullburg constitutes evidence of the recognition that planetary mixers are an alternative to other mixers (see [0018]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tousingnant et al. (US 4,997,284) in view of Yi (US 2012/0318390). The production line of Tousingnant was discussed above. In Tousingnant, the conveying device is forklift mobilize tub (25). Yi discloses storage hopper (400) seamlessly connected to pumping pipe (220). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have utilized the storage hopper and pumping arrangement of Yi to facilitate continuous conveying of concrete.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tousingnant et al. (US 4,997,284) in view of Sniegowski (US 6,183,123). The production line of Tousingnant was discussed above. Tousingnant does not disclose 3 conveyors. According to the instant drawings, the 3 conveyors of the this claim are 3 instances of the same conveyor. Sniegowski teaches 3 conveyors (see col. 1, lines 15-27). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided 3 conveyors to convey 3 different materials as explained by Sniegowski (see col. 1, lines 15-27).
Conclusion
DAVID L. SORKIN
Examiner
Art Unit 1774
/DAVID L SORKIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774