DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
No IDS has been filed in this application. Applicant is reminded that each individual associated with the filing and prosecution of a patent application has a duty of candor and good faith in dealing with the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office, which includes a duty to disclose to the Office all information known to that individual to be material to patentability. 37 CFR 1.56.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-9 in the reply filed on 03/04/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 10-20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 03/04/2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: “any of claim 4” should read “of claim 4”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the plurality of rigid elements" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This is first claimed in claims 7 and 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hudak et al. (hereinafter Hudak) US 6,565,808.
Regarding claim 1, Hudak discloses a lateral flow assay cassette (test platform 2) comprising: a sample pad (test strip 3); a sample port (aperture 22) that allows access to the sample pad as shown in Fig. 2; and a vertical swab holder (sample receiving chamber 1) that secures a swab having a stem (swab 4) and a head (swab head 5) in a vertical position with respect to the cassette by engaging the head of the swab as shown in Fig. 2A reproduced below. See Col 1, line 40-Col 2, line 16 and Col 8, line 23-48. Also see whole document.
Regarding claim 2, Hudak discloses wherein the vertical swab holder includes an outer portion (receiving chamber 1) and an inner portion (male insert 60) which contains the sample port (distal end 21 and aperture 22) in an orifice of the inner portion as shown in Figs. 2, 6A and 6F and discussed in Col 1, line 59-Col 2, line 22; Col 3, lines 11-35; and Col 11, lines 3-32.
Regarding claim 3, the outer portion of Hudak appears to have a height that is greater than a height of the inner portion as shown in Figs. 2A, 6A and 6F.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hudak US 6,565,808 as applied to claims 1-3 above.
Regarding claim 3, assuming arguendo that one of ordinary skill in the art would not consider the outer portion of Hudak to have a height that is greater than a height of the inner portion.
Hudak discloses that The sample receiving chamber 1 can be of any geometric shape or dimension such as, but not limited to, triangular, spherical, oval, square, rectangular, pentagonal, hexagonal, heptagonal, octagonal, or any polygon, or non-geometric shape such as kidney or bean shaped, but is preferably substantially cylindrical. Col 8, lines 30-35.
Therefore, providing an outer portion height that is greater than a height of the inner portion would only require a mere change in the size (or dimension) of a component which is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, a mere change in size or dimension of the device, i.e. height, would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Furthermore, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device, and the device having the claimed dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device. See MPEP §2144.04 (IV)(A).
Regarding claim 4, Hudak discloses wherein the vertical swab holder comprises a plurality of elements that secure the swab in a vertical position (one or more concentric or longitudinal ribs, ridges or edges 51 can be arranged along the interior of the sample receiving chamber 1). See Figs. 5, 6A and 6B; Col 9, lines 21-35.
Hudak however, does not expressly state that the plurality of elements are flexible.
Absent unexpected results, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a plurality flexible element, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. See MPEP §2144.07.
Regarding claim 5, Hudak discloses wherein the plurality of flexible elements comprise a plurality of protrusions that protrude from the inner portion (one or more concentric or longitudinal ribs, ridges or edges 51 can be arranged along the interior of the sample receiving chamber 1). See Figs. 5, 6A and 6B; Col 9, lines 21-35.
Hudak however, does not expressly state that the plurality of protrusions are flexible.
Absent unexpected results, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a plurality flexible protrusions, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. See MPEP §2144.07.
Regarding claim 6, Hudak discloses wherein the plurality of elements comprise a plurality of ribs that protrude from the inner portion (one or more concentric or longitudinal ribs, ridges or edges 51 can be arranged along the interior of the sample receiving chamber 1). See Figs. 5, 6A and 6B; Col 9, lines 21-35.
Hudak however, does not expressly state that the plurality of ribs are flexible.
Absent unexpected results, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a plurality flexible ribs, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. See MPEP §2144.07.
Regarding claim 7, Hudak discloses wherein the vertical swab holder comprises a plurality of elements that secure the swab in a vertical position (one or more concentric or longitudinal ribs, ridges or edges 51 can be arranged along the interior of the sample receiving chamber 1). See Figs. 5, 6A and 6B; Col 9, lines 21-35.
Hudak however, does not expressly state that the plurality of elements are rigid.
Absent unexpected results, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a plurality rigid elements, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. See MPEP §2144.07.
Regarding claim 8, Hudak discloses wherein the plurality of elements protrude from the inner portion (one or more concentric or longitudinal ribs, ridges or edges 51 can be arranged along the interior of the sample receiving chamber 1). See Figs. 5, 6A and 6B; Col 9, lines 21-35.
Hudak however, does not expressly state that the plurality of elements are rigid.
Absent unexpected results, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a plurality rigid elements, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. See MPEP §2144.07.
Regarding claim 9, the plurality of elements of Hudak appear to be sized to engage swab heads of varying dimensions.
Alternatively, Hudak discloses that The sample receiving chamber 1 can be of any geometric shape or dimension such as, but not limited to, triangular, spherical, oval, square, rectangular, pentagonal, hexagonal, heptagonal, octagonal, or any polygon, or non-geometric shape such as kidney or bean shaped, but is preferably substantially cylindrical. Col 8, lines 30-35. Hudak also discloses As shown in FIG. 9B through FIG. 9F, a variety of keys 71 can be used to encode a sample collection and dispensing device of the present invention for use to engage an appropriate engaging structure 80. The reagent in a sample receiving chamber 1 can be tailored to the test being performed on the test element, which can be coded by the key 71 and the engaging structure 80. Col 4, lines 25-42.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a plurality of elements that are sized to engage swab heads of varying dimensions in order to provide a test device that can accommodate a greater number of sample collection tools (i.e., swabs) and tests e.g., etiological agents, pregnancy and drugs of abuse, etc.
As to the plurality of elements being flexible or rigid. Hudak does not expressly state that the plurality of elements are flexible or rigid.
Absent unexpected results, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a plurality flexible and/or rigid elements, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. See MPEP §2144.07.
Conclusion
/LYDIA EDWARDS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1796