DETAILED ACTION
1. This Office Action is responsive to claims filed for No. 18/346,854 on March 10, 2026. Please note Claims 1 and 4-10 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1 and 4-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dolignon
et al. ( US 2020/0012916 A1 ) in view of Karafin et al. ( US 2022/0308359 A1 ).
Dolignon teaches in Claim 1:
A method for producing and interacting with a holographic virtual assistant using an interactive display system ( [0006] discloses an encounter between a holographic virtual assistance and a user. Figure 1A, [0028] discloses a holographic virtual assistance system 102 including a virtual assistance kiosk ), the method comprising:
generating a first image of the holographic virtual assistant; displaying the first image using the interactive display system, wherein upon displaying, the holographic virtual assistant is produced in air ( Figure 1A, [0031] discloses the kiosk can display a holographic representation 122 which can include a human face/head avatar (read as a virtual assistant). [0031] discloses the display/generation is done by a holographic projector 120 which, as one of ordinary skill realizes, projects content in air/space );
receiving at least one interaction input pertaining to an interaction between the holographic virtual assistant and a user of the interactive display system ( Figure 2, [0046] discloses a flow diagram, starting at step 202, which details an encounter request from a user. Examples include a user entering into an encounter area 118 and/or a user-provided input to the kiosk, such as by making a statement. Please note Figure 2 details a first encounter between the user and the holographic representation (read as an interaction input) );
wherein the at least one interaction input comprises an input pertaining to behavior and/or mood of the user comprising information or data related to at least one of: an action, a conduct, an emotional state of the user using the interactive display system ( [0041] disclose contextual clues which can customize the selectable dialog, including aspects of emotion. Aspects associated with children vs adults can also be considered, i.e. conduct, etc ), wherein the interaction between the holographic virtual assistant and the user is one of ( Please note the alternative claim language here ): a unilateral interaction or a bilateral interaction, wherein when the interaction between the holographic virtual assistant and the user is unilateral interaction, the holographic virtual assistant or the user interacts with another one of the user and the holographic virtual assistant, and wherein when the interaction between the holographic virtual assistant and the user is bilateral interaction, the interaction between the holographic virtual assistant and the user is reciprocal in nature ( Figure 4, [0079] discloses encounter requests from a user and training and accessing conversational goals. Depending on the user’s needs, the encounters can be customized. For example, [0031] discloses aspects of giving directions, i.e. unilateral interaction with the holographic representation providing these directions to a location of interest. [0034] discloses a conversation goal model to assist a user in purchasing a pair of women’s shoes, i.e. bilateral interaction with the holographic representation considering the second encounters, user reactions, etc. To clarify, [0033] discloses multiple different conversational goal models that can be used to encounter with a user, resulting in a desired outcome. This can be more simple, i.e. giving directions, or more in-depth, with back and forth (read as reciprocal) )
generating at least one interaction output, based on the at least one interaction input; and controlling the interactive display system to provide the at least one interaction output to the user ( Figure 2, [0063]-[0065] discloses steps 212 and 214, which selects a second encounter based on the first user reaction (based on the first encounter). This can be the holographic representation providing answers to questions from the user. This output can be in the form of visual or audible responses );
generating an interaction training data by collecting data from historical interaction data of the user; and processing the collected data to identify an interaction input data and its corresponding interaction output data, ( For reference, Applicant’s specification at [0035] defines this data source as the Internet, data repositories, historical interaction data of multiple users. Essentially, a data source in a reasonable sense is a source to derive information from when determining the appropriate output. In that same sense, Dolignon teaches in [0037] of the system including one or more databases, such as a contextual knowledge base 128, a dialog knowledge base 130, etc. [0038]+ disclose the aspects of these various bases and how collected data can be used/interpreted by the system to determine the second encounter/response to the user. External factors, historical factors, etc, can all be collected/considered from these bases/data sources )
wherein the holographic virtual assistant is an artificial intelligence-based holographic virtual assistant ( [0033] discloses the virtual assistance system 102 can include multiple conversational goal models 126 which provide different outputs based on encounters with the user. These goals can be trained through these encounters using neural networks and/or machine learning (read these as artificial intelligence-based) ) and
wherein the method further comprises
generating the interaction training data that is to be used for training the holographic virtual assistant, wherein the interaction training data comprises the interaction input data and its corresponding interaction output data ( [0033] discloses training aspects of the models and the data generated by the training comes from the interactions between the assistant and the user );
employing at least one artificial intelligence algorithm for training the holographic virtual assistant using the interaction training data, wherein the at least one artificial intelligence algorithm infers a training function based on the interaction input data and its corresponding interaction output data, the training function pairing the interaction input data with the corresponding interaction output data, and wherein upon training, the holographic virtual assistant is transformed into the artificial intelligence-based holographic virtual assistant and the at least one interaction output is generated by the artificial intelligence-based holographic virtual assistant ( [0041] discloses more details on the neural networks, such as evolution algorithms for self-learning and enhancement which can train the encounter interpretation module. By using algorithms, machine learning, etc, this results in the kiosk transforming/using artificial intelligence. To clarify, please note the aspects of learning, reinforcement, etc, (read as inferring a training function which can pair user input to a matched/correct output, based on the interpretation module ); but
Dolignon may not explicitly teach wherein displaying “comprises passing light rays emanating from at least one image source of the interactive display system through a holographic optical element accommodated within a frame of the interactive display system, wherein the holographic optical element converts the first image into a holographic image, and wherein upon conversion of the first image into the holographic image”.
However, Dolignon teaches of a holographic projector within the kiosk which can presumably emanate the holographic representation 122, an avatar, as shown in Figure 1A.
As for specifics of the light rays, holographic optical element, etc, in the same field of endeavor, holographic projector systems, Karafin teaches of an LF display module, ( Karafin, Figures 1-2A, [0039] ). Notably, the viewer 280 is displayed a holographic object 250 from a light field display module 210. Karafin teaches in [0040] the LF display will project a very large number of light rays that may converge at a point to portray the holographic object. Notably, please note an energy waveguide layer, an optical lens array (read as a holographic optical element) which can project the light rays. As combined with Dolignon, who teaches of a holographic projector, the specific, well-known optical elements for projecting the light rays, is taught to display the avatar of Dolignon.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the holographic representation using the light field structure, as taught by Karafin, with the motivation that these are well known aspects and can project the objects to be more naturally in line with the viewer (as seen in Figure 2A), leading to easier interactions, which Dolignon emphasizes.
Dolignon teaches in Claim 4:
The method of claim 1, wherein the at least one interaction input is received from at least one of: a sensor arranged in an environment where the interactive display system is used, a device arranged in an environment where the interactive display system is used, a device to which the interactive display system is communicably coupled, an artificial intelligence module of a smart device to which the interactive display system is communicably coupled, a software application executing on a device to which the interactive display system is communicably coupled, another interactive display system that is communicably coupled to the interactive display system. ( Please note the alternative claim language. [0046], [0056] discloses sensors which can detect when the user enters an encounter area and more generally, collecting data from the user. Figure 1A, [0029] discloses details of these sensors (devices) 114 which can detect the presence of the user, such as by a video camera, microphone (to listen for a user speaking, etc) )
Dolignon teaches in Claim 5:
The method of any of the preceding claims, wherein the at least one interaction input further comprises at least one of: a visual input, an audio input, a tactile input, a biometric input, personal information of the user, a command from a software application, a command from an artificial intelligence module of a smart device to which the interactive display system is coupled. ( The same reasoning in Claim 4 is also applicable here as well: Please note the alternative claim language. [0046], [0056] discloses sensors which can detect when the user enters an encounter area and more generally, collecting data from the user. Figure 1A, [0029] discloses details of these sensors (devices) 114 which can detect the presence of the user, such as by a video camera, microphone (to listen for a user speaking, etc). The camera and microphone are associated as visual and audio data, respectively )
Dolignon teaches in Claim 6:
The method of any of the preceding claims, wherein the interaction between the holographic virtual assistant and the user of the interactive display system pertains to at least one of: a response of the holographic virtual assistant to a query or a statement of the user, a reminder from the holographic virtual assistant to the user, a tutorial provided by the holographic virtual assistant to the user, an instruction provided by the holographic virtual assistant to the user, an experience provided by the holographic virtual assistant for the user. ( Please note the alternative claim language. Figure 2, [0065] disclose details of the first and second encounters between the kiosk and the user, including a response by the kiosk to answer a question/query of the user. [0079] discloses examples of the user asking about the flight departing from a gate in a particular direction, etc, and the kiosk responds to this query )
Dolignon teaches in Claim 7:
The method of any of the preceding claims, wherein the at least one interaction output comprises at least one of:
a second image of at least one of: the holographic virtual assistant, a holographic virtual object; an audio output; a light output; a tactile output. ( Please note the alternative claim language. Figure 1B, [0045] discloses a shoe holographic representation 136 of shoes (read as a virtual object), in response to the user holding a shopping bag 140 with an indication for shoes, i.e. a response to an interaction. [0088] discloses a video camera and a microphone (audio output). [0109] disclose a tactile input and/or feedback )
Dolignon teaches in Claim 8:
The method of claim 7, wherein the step of controlling the interactive display system to provide the at least one interaction output to the user comprises at least one of:
displaying the second image using at least one image source of the interactive display system,
playing the audio output using at least one speaker of the interactive display system;
controlling at least one light-output device of the interactive display system to emit a given light;
controlling at least one tactile output device of the interactive display system to provide the tactile output. ( Please note the alternative claim language and the reasoning of Claim 8 which is also applicable here as well. Figure 1B shows a virtual object of shoes 136. [0097] discloses using the speakers 124 to converse with the user. [0109] discloses tactile input and feedback )
Dolignon teaches in Claim 9:
A computer program product for producing and interacting with a holographic virtual assistant using an interactive display system, the computer program product comprising a non-transitory machine-readable data storage medium having stored thereon program instructions that, when accessed by a processing device, cause the processing device to execute steps of the method of claim 1. ( [0012] discloses a computer-readable storage device having instructions stored thereon which can be executed by processors. Claim 13, found in Column 11, details the non-transitory aspects )
Dolignon teaches in Claim 10:
An interactive display system ( [0006] discloses an encounter between a holographic virtual assistance and a user. Figure 1A, [0028] discloses a holographic virtual assistance system 102 including a virtual assistance kiosk ) comprising:
at least one image source for displaying images ( Figure 1A, [0031] discloses the holographic projector 120 for displaying the representations. Please note the components of system 102 which generate the image data to be displayed. [0042] discloses details of the holographic representations database 132 which includes a set of representations that can be displayed );
a holographic optical element that is capable of converting the images into holographic images ( Figure 1A, [0102] discloses details of the holographic projector which can display the representations, such as 122, on the virtual assistance kiosk 104 );
a frame designed to accommodate the holographic optical element therein, wherein the frame, in use, arranges the holographic optical element at a first distance from the at least one image source and obliquely with respect to the at least one image source ( Figure 1A, [0042] disclose the kiosk is a physical element which can interact with the user, naturally meaning a frame, etc. As for the representations, such as 122, it is clear that for projectors, they display images at a distance from the light source ); and
a processor operably coupled to the at least one image source, wherein the processor is configured to execute steps of the method of claim 1. ( [0012] discloses one or more processors which can execute instructions to carry out the above-described steps )
Response to Arguments
7. Applicant’s arguments considered, but are respectfully moot in view of new grounds of rejection(s).
Please note the updated rejection in light of the claim amendments, notably the Karafin reference cited for the new limitations. As a result, Applicant’s arguments are moot at this time.
Conclusion
/DENNIS P JOSEPH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621