Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12/15/23 were filed and the submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kawamoto; Yukihiro (US-10562194).
RE claim 1, Kawamoto; Yukihiro (US-10562194) discloses an apparatus (see Figs. 1-13) for capable of removing objects (such as an ophthalmic lens (L) from a lens treatment container (50) for the accommodation of the ophthalmic lens (L) during a lens treatment process), the apparatus comprising: an exhaust air box (101) (see Fig. 2) (Exhibit A) comprising at least one inlet for allowing ambient air (see Fig. 2) to be drawn into the exhaust box; an outlet in fluid communication with the exhaust air box, the outlet capable of being connected to a source of negative pressure (121) (See Fig. 2); at least one tube (see Exhibit B) having a proximal end connected to the at least one inlet of the exhaust air box, and a distal end having a displaceable nozzle (50) (see Col. 5, lines 44-62); and an actuator (1) connected to the nozzle (50) for displacing the nozzle (50) from a standby position to an object removal position, and back to the standby position. Note that the provided gripper (40) (see Figs. 3-5B), which can be considered as an actuator connected to a nozzle (50) (see Figs. 5A and 5B) for move the position. Fig. 1 also shows an elevating mechanism (212) (See from Col. 4, line 61, to Col. 5, line 8), which also could be considered as an actuator connected to the nozzle (50) capable of displacing or moving the nozzle from a standby position to an object removal position.
Exhibit A
[AltContent: textbox (Outlet)][AltContent: textbox (Outlet)][AltContent: textbox (Outlet)][AltContent: textbox (Inlet)][AltContent: textbox (Inlet)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Nozzle (50))][AltContent: textbox (Actuator )][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Also note that Exhibit B shows
Exhibit B
[AltContent: textbox (nozzle)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Inlet box)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Connecting tube (103))][AltContent: arrow]
Claims 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sirvet; Enn (US 3,567,043).
RE claims 1 and 6, Sirvet; Enn (US 3,567,043) discloses an apparatus (see Figs. 1-8) for capable of removing objects (such as an ophthalmic lens (L) from a lens treatment container (50) for the accommodation of the ophthalmic lens (L) during a lens treatment process), the apparatus comprising: an exhaust air box (see Fig. 7) comprising at least one inlet for allowing ambient air (90) (see “Air” inlet) to be drawn into the exhaust box; an outlet via a fitting (75) (See Fig. 7) in fluid communication with the exhaust air box, the outlet capable of being connected to a source of negative pressure or a vacuum source (see Col. 4, lines 16-40); at least one tube (61, 61) having a proximal end connected to the at least one inlet of the exhaust air box, and a distal end having a displaceable nozzle (28) and an actuator (63, 27, 30, 15, 27, 43) (see Exhibit C) connected to the nozzle (25) for displacing the nozzle from a standby position to an object removal position, and back to the standby position.
RE claim 6, Sirvet; Enn (US 3,567,043) shows that one tube (61) is a flexible tube.
Exhibit C
[AltContent: textbox (Vacuum Chamber or housing or box)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Actuator Assembly )][AltContent: arrow]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawamoto; Yukihiro (US-10562194) in view of Wigren et al. 10,059,533).
Kawamoto; Yukihiro (US-10562194), as presented above, does not specifically teach the exhaust air box further comprises a vacuum gauge arranged in fluid communication with an interior space. However, Wigren et al. 10,059,533) teaches a vacuum gauge (4) see Col. 4, lines 19-27). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the mechanical engineering art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a vacuum gauge inside of the vacuum chamber (101) of Kawamoto; Yukihiro (US-10562194) as taught by Wigren et al. 10,059,533) to monitor the vacuum pressure inside the chamber or box.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sirvet; Enn (US 3,567,043) in view of Wigren et al. 10,059,533).
Sirvet; Enn (US 3,567,043), as presented above, does not specifically teach the exhaust air box further comprises a vacuum gauge arranged in fluid communication with an interior space. However, Wigren et al. 10,059,533) teaches a vacuum gauge (4) see Col. 4, lines 19-27). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the mechanical engineering art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a vacuum gauge inside of the vacuum chamber (Sirvet; Enn (US 3,567,043) as taught by Wigren et al. 10,059,533) to monitor the vacuum pressure inside the chamber or box.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4 and 7-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/PAUL T CHIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3654