DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 5 - 7, filed 09/05/25, with respect to claims 1 – 3, 6, 8, 10 – 13, 19, 20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 1 – 3, 6, 8, 10 – 13, 19, 20 under 35 U.S.C 101 has been withdrawn.
Applicant argues that The claims are not drawn merely to the idea of “translation”, but instead to a specific technical implementation that improves the functioning of point-of-sale (POS) systems by integrating translation functionality directly into payment terminals and associated hardware; applicant’s arrangement of microphones, multilingual displays, and payment systems is likewise non-conventional and directed to a specific technological improvement, not a fundamental economic practice (Amendment, pages 5 – 7).
Applicant's arguments filed 09/05/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Singer-Harter does not teach a system for translating spoken language in a point-of-sale environment, wherein the payment components include a payment system and a cash register system; the payment system includes a pay keypad with a first visual interface that is utilized by a first individual to select a first language in which the first individual speaks and/or reads; the cash register system includes a base keyboard, a second visual interface, and a scanner; wherein the scanner includes a stand to support and hold the scanner in an upright position (Amendment, page 8).
The examiner disagrees, since Singer-Harter discloses that “Point-Of-Sale (POS) terminals, also referred to as "check-out stations," are computer terminals in retails stores, typically located at or near a store exit, at which store employees receive payment from customers for purchased goods. Oftentimes, however, the locations of POS terminals are where customers ask store employees (who are operating the POS terminals) questions related to products, the store, sales, etc…when a microphone on the POS terminal picks up spoken words from a customer, use of this database will permit an automatic determination of whether a translation for those spoken words is necessary according to the language skills of the store employee… An I/O interface 416 is coupled to I/O bus 414. I/O interface 416 affords communication with various I/O devices, including a keyboard 418, a mouse 420, a scanner 422, a microphone 424, and a speaker 426… Microphone 424 is coupled to the VTL 206, permitting a translation of words spoken into microphone 424 to be presented aurally (via speaker 426) or visually (via display 410). Similarly, scanner 422 is able to optically scan a bar code for a specific product for which a customer has a question.”(paragraphs 4, 24, 32, 33).
Applicant argues that the combination does not teach a first microphone disposed on an upper comer of the first visual interface configured to accept auditory input from the first individual and further comprising a second microphone disposed on an upper comer of the second visual interface configured to accept auditory input from the second individual and wherein the second microphone is embedded into the upper comer of the second visual interface (Amendment, pages 8, 9).
The examiner disagrees, since Morrison et al. disclose “The electronic user input interface 126 can interface with one or more devices to receive user input, which can include one or more of touchscreen(s) 140, microphone(s) 142, point device(s) 144, camera(s) 146, and/or keyboard(s) 148. The touchscreen(s) 140, microphone(s) 142, point device(s) 144, camera(s) 146, and/or keyboard(s) 148 can be incorporated into the electronic display device 134… the user can touch the touchscreen(s) 140 at the microphone icon 910 shown in FIG. 9 to activate the microphone(s) 142 and speak into the microphone(s) 142 to submit a request. (col.5, lines 48 – 54; col.14, lines 60 – 67; col.23, lines 15 - 22).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 3, 6, 8, 10 – 13, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Singer-Harter (US PAP 2007/0138267) in view of Morrison et al. (US Patent 10,902,854).
As per claim 1, Singer-Harter teach a system for translating spoken language in a point-of-sale environment, comprising:
a server system with a processor system, a communications interface, a communications system, an input system and an output system, the server system having access to a communications network (“Service provider server 502 is able to communicate with client computer 402 via network 428 using a network interface 530”; paragraphs 42, 43);
a memory system with an operating system, a communications module, a web browser module, a web server application, and a non-transitory storage media for translating spoken language, the memory system is in communication with the server system through the communications network (paragraphs 51; 42 – 44)and
a plurality of payment components (“Point-Of-Sale (POS) terminals”; paragraphs 4, 8);
wherein the payment components execute the non-transitory storage media for translating spoken language of the system for translating spoken language that resides on the memory system (“Once VTL 206 translates a customer's spoken question into a language understood by database 208b (preferably by identifying keywords in the translated question), the answer to the question (in accordance with the item in question having been scanned into terminal 202) is retrieved from database 208b by IISL 210 and presented to the customer in his/her native language.”; paragraphs 29, 33);
wherein the payment components include a payment system and a cash register system; wherein the payment system includes a pay keypad with a first visual interface that is utilized by a first individual to select a first language in which the first individual speaks and/or reads; wherein the first visual interface is supported by a stand to hold the first visual interface in an upright position; wherein the cash register system includes a base keyboard, a second visual interface, and a scanner; wherein the scanner includes a stand to support and hold the scanner in an upright position (“Oftentimes, however, the locations of POS terminals are where customers ask store employees (who are operating the POS terminals) questions related to products, the store, sales, etc…when a microphone on the POS terminal picks up spoken words from a customer, use of this database will permit an automatic determination of whether a translation for those spoken words is necessary according to the language skills of the store employee… An I/O interface 416 is coupled to I/O bus 414. I/O interface 416 affords communication with various I/O devices, including a keyboard 418, a mouse 420, a scanner 422, a microphone 424, and a speaker 426… Microphone 424 is coupled to the VTL 206, permitting a translation of words spoken into microphone 424 to be presented aurally (via speaker 426) or visually (via display 410). Similarly, scanner 422 is able to optically scan a bar code for a specific product for which a customer has a question” (paragraphs 4, 24, 32, 33).
However, Singer-Harter does not specifically teach a first microphone disposed on an upper comer of the first visual interface configured to accept auditory input from the first individual; wherein the first microphone is embedded into the upper comer of the first visual interface; a second microphone disposed on an upper comer of the second visual interface configured to accept auditory input from the second individual; wherein the second microphone is embedded into the upper comer of the second visual interface.
Morrison et al. disclose that the electronic user input interface 126 can interface with one or more devices to receive user input, which can include one or more of touchscreen(s) 140, microphone(s) 142, point device(s) 144, camera(s) 146, and/or keyboard(s) 148. The touchscreen(s) 140, microphone(s) 142, point device(s) 144, camera(s) 146, and/or keyboard(s) 148 can be incorporated into the electronic display device 134… the user can touch the touchscreen(s) 140 at the microphone icon 910 shown in FIG. 9 to activate the microphone(s) 142 and speak into the microphone(s) 142 to submit a request. (col.5, lines 48 – 54; col.14, lines 60 – 67; col.23, lines 15 - 22).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to embed the microphone to visual interface as taught by Morrison et al. in Singer-Harter, because that would help answering customer questions (col.1, lines 40 – 47).
As per claim 2, Singer-Harter further discloses a client system that accesses the server system via the communications network (paragraphs 32 – 35).
As per claim 3, Singer-Harter further discloses the client system is selected from the group consisting of a smart phone, a tablet computer, a laptop computer, or a personal computer (paragraphs 10, 86).
As per claim 6, Singer-Harter further discloses the first visual interface is a touch activated interface (“GUI 102 is visible to a customer as well as an employee of the retail store who is operating/managing the POS terminal. Assuming GUI 102 is visible to the store employee, window 104 permits the store employee to enter which language(s) he/she speaks.”; paragraph 24).
As per claim 8, Singer-Harter further discloses the first language displayed on the first visual interface is selected from the group consisting of English, Espanol (Spanish), Francais (French), Italiano (Italian), Deutsche (German), Turkce (Turkey), Portugues (Portugese), and Pyccknn (Russian)[ “the list of languages entered into window 104 from a list of all languages, which are supported by Verbal Translation Logic (VTL) 206, found in database 208) to determine which languages need translations.”; figs.1, 2B; paragraphs 24].
As per claim 10, Singer-Harter further discloses the base keyboard is utilized to input and output product information into the cash register system (paragraphs 37, 42).
As per claim 11, Singer-Harter further discloses the second visual interface is in electrical communication with the base keyboard and is a touch activated interface (“I/O interface 416 affords communication with various I/O devices, including a keyboard 418, a mouse 420, a scanner 422, a microphone 424, and a speaker 426.”; paragraphs 24, 25, 32).
As per claim 12, Singer-Harter further discloses the second visual interface is utilized by a second individual to select a second language in which the second individual speaks and /or reads (“If such translation is needed, then the translation will be displayed in translation window 106 in any language selected by the store employee in window 104 (preferably in the order that language(s) were selected in window 104, wherein a typed entry has priority over any other selections)… the store employee can manually select the translation functionality.”; paragraphs 24, 30).
As per claim 13, Singer-Harter further discloses the second language displayed on the second visual interface is selected from the group consisting of English, Espanol (Spanish), Francois (French), Italiano (Italian), Deutsche (German), Turkce (Turkey), Portugues (Portugese), and Pyccknn (Russian)[ “the list of languages entered into window 104 from a list of all languages, which are supported by Verbal Translation Logic (VTL) 206, found in database 208) to determine which languages need translations.”; figs.1, 2B; paragraphs 24].
As per claim 19, Singer-Harter in view of Morrison et al. further discloses an indicia disposed on the first visual interface and the second visual interfaces (Morrison et al. col.14, lines 60 – 67; col.23, lines 15 - 22).
As per claim 20, Singer-Harter in view of Morrison et al. further discloses that the indicia is clicked on or depressed to activate the first microphone and the second microphone (Morrison et al. col.14, lines 60 – 67; col.23, lines 15 - 22).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LEONARD SAINT-CYR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2658