DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 28 recites
“wherein the first detecting portion is provided downstream of the first conveying roller pair in the sheet conveying direction, and
wherein the second detecting portion is provided upstream of the second conveying roller pair in the sheet conveying direction.”
As best understood by the Examiner, direction A1 in figs. 6 and 8A may correspond to the sheet conveying direction. If A1 is the sheet conveying direction, then there is no support for the first detecting portion 139 being downstream of the first conveying roller pair 132a in the sheet conveying direction.
If direction A2 (opposite to direction A1 - ¶80) in fig. 6 is the sheet conveying direction, then there is no support for the second detecting portion 34 being provided upstream of the second conveying roller pair 32 in the sheet conveying direction.
Accordingly, claim 14 contains new matter.
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 28 recites
“wherein the first detecting portion is provided downstream of the first conveying roller pair in the sheet conveying direction, and
wherein the second detecting portion is provided upstream of the second conveying roller pair in the sheet conveying direction.”
The phrase “the sheet conveying direction” lacks proper antecedent basis in the claim and makes it unclear what direction is being referred to.
As best understood by the Examiner, direction A1 in figs. 6 and 8A may correspond to the sheet conveying direction. If A1 is the sheet conveying direction, then the disclosed first detecting portion 139 is NOT downstream of the first conveying roller pair 132a in the sheet conveying direction.
If direction A2 (opposite to direction A1 - ¶80) in fig. 6 is the sheet conveying direction, the second detecting portion 34 is NOT disclosed as being provided upstream of the second conveying roller pair 32 in the sheet conveying direction.
Accordingly, in light of the specification, it is unclear how the claimed first detection portion is arranged relative to the first conveying roller pair, and it is unclear how the claimed second detecting portion is arranged relative to the second conveying roller pair.
For the purpose of examination, it will be interpreted that the first detecting portion is near the first conveying roller pair, and that the second detecting portion is near the second conveying roller pair.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14, 16, 18-19, 21, 23, and 26-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasumoto (JP 2012056668 A) in view of Kawakami et al. (US 20190101858 A1, hereinafter Kawakami), and Shiokawa et al. (US 20190033770 A1, hereinafter Shiokawa).
As to claim 14, Yasumoto teaches an image forming apparatus comprising:
an image forming portion 60D configured to form an image on a sheet;
[AltContent: textbox (60X)][AltContent: textbox (65X)][AltContent: textbox (100X)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: ][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: oval][AltContent: arrow]
a first conveying roller pair 6 (figs. 1 and 13) disposed downstream of the image forming portion in a feeding direction, and configured to nip and convey the sheet;
a first detecting portion SN4 (fig. 13) configured to detect a side edge position of the sheet with respect to a widthwise direction perpendicular to the feeding direction (¶45 teaches that the “thrust position” is “the width direction position of the sheet,” and ¶66 teaches “SN4 is a line sensor having an element row in the width direction, and can…detect the…thrust position”; ¶72 teaches “ the position in the width direction is detected by the fourth sensor SN4”);
a first moving portion 43 (fig. 3) configured to move the sheet in the widthwise direction in a state in which the sheet is nipped by the first conveying roller pair (¶36, ¶51, and fig. 7);
a second conveying roller pair 65X (fig. 1 above) disposed upstream of the image forming portion in the feeding direction, and configured to nip and convey the sheet toward the image forming portion;
a second detecting portion SN3 configured to detect a side edge position of the sheet with respect to the widthwise direction (¶56, ¶73);
and
a control portion (overall control structure of the apparatus) configured to control the first moving portion based on a detection result of the first detecting portion (¶67-72).
Yasumoto does not explicitly teach a second moving portion configured to move the sheet in the widthwise direction in a state in which the sheet is nipped by the second conveying roller pair;
the control portion is configured to control the second moving portion based on a detection result of the second detecting portion,
wherein the first detecting portion and the second detecting portion are disposed so as to detect the one side edge of both side edges of the sheet to be conveyed and so as not to detect the other side edge of both side edges of the sheet to be conveyed.
Kawakami teaches an image forming apparatus comprising an oblique movement correcting portion (comprising a second conveying roller pair in the form of a registration roller pair having a registration roller 27 and a roller abutting the registration roller 27, and further comprising second moving portion 34 for shifting the registration roller pair in the width direction CD - ¶37 and fig. 2) comprising a second moving portion 34 for moving the sheet in a widthwise direction of the sheet perpendicular to the sheet feeding direction in a state in which the sheet is nipped in said second conveying roller pair (i.e. the registration roller pair; ¶37-38, fig. 2),
a plurality of second detecting portions SE21-SE22 configured to detect respective side edge positions of the sheet with respect to the widthwise direction (¶93-94 describe an embodiment in which separate sensors SE21-SE22 are used for detecting the side edges of the sheet instead of single sensor SE2 that detects both side edges of the sheet; the Examiner relies on the embodiment in which sensors SE21-SE22 are used), and
a controller (being the overall control structure of the apparatus) configured to perform control such that, after the sheet passes through a re-feeding portion (comprising reversing roller 31 - ¶43 and fig. 1), the side end position of the sheet is corrected by said second moving means (¶55-78 describe the control algorithm for using the second moving means 34 for shifting the sheet in with width direction; ¶57-58 teach that sensor SE1 continuously monitors for the leading end of the sheet, in step S1, in order to begin the control process; the Examiner notes that since ¶93-94 teach that sensors SE21-SE22 may be used instead of single sensor SE2, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the following descriptions of the functions of sensor SE2 also apply to sensors SE21-SE22; ¶57 further teaches, for step S2, that the side edge positions of the sheet are detected by sensor SE2, which may be positioned upstream of the registration roller 27 as taught by ¶97; ¶72 teaches that the registration roller 27 is shifted in the width direction in step S7; finally, step S9 and ¶77-78 teach that the algorithm only ends after processing for a last page has ended; therefore, the registration roller pair comprising registration roller 27 is shifted in the width direction for printing the first sides and for printing the second sides of sheets after they have passed through the re-feeding portion),
the control portion is configured to control the second moving portion based on a detection result of the plurality of second detecting portions (see at least ¶57, ¶61, ¶65-69, and ¶79).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Yasumoto such that the registration roller pair (element 65X of Yasumoto) is shifted in the width direction with a second moving means based on information from second detecting portions, and under the control of the controller, which is configured to control the second moving portion based on a detection result of the plurality of second detecting portions, as taught by Kawakami, for the benefit that the sheet is aligned with the position of the toner image for the first side (¶38, Kawakami).
Shiokawa teaches a first detection portion SE2 on a sheet refeeding path section (see fig. 1), wherein the first detection portion SE2 is situated on a side of the sheet path so as to only detect one side edge of the sheet (fig. 3; ¶49).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Yasumoto as modified such that at least the first detecting portion is situated on a side of the sheet path so as to only detect one side edge of the sheet as taught by Shiokawa so as to minimize the size of the first detecting portion in comparison with a scenario in which the first detecting portion possibly spans the width of the sheet or more.
Yasumoto as modified teaches a second moving portion 34 (Kawakami) configured to move the sheet in the widthwise direction in a state in which the sheet is nipped by the second conveying roller pair (as taught by Kawakami);
the control portion is configured to control the second moving portion based on a detection result of the second detecting portion (being one of the second detecting portions SE21-SE22 of Kawakami),
wherein the first detecting portion and the second detecting portion are disposed so as to detect the one side edge of both side edges of the sheet to be conveyed and so as not to detect the other side edge of both side edges of the sheet to be conveyed (one of the plurality of second detecting portions SE21-SE22 of Kawakami is on the same side of the sheet as the first detecting portion, and only detects the same side edge of the sheet as the first detecting portion – this one of the plurality of second detecting portions of Kawakami reads on the claimed second detecting portion, resulting in the modified Yasumoto teaching this section of the claim).
As to claim 16, Yasumoto teaches wherein the first conveying roller pair 6 is a first reversing roller pair 6 configured to reverse the sheet by rotating in a first direction while nipping the sheet on which the image is formed on the first surface by the image forming portion and then by rotating in a second direction opposite to the first direction (¶31).
As to claim 18, Yasumoto teaches a re-feeding portion 100X (fig. 1 above) configured to feed the sheet reversed by the first reversing roller pair 6 toward the second conveying roller pair 65X,
wherein the second conveying roller pair is disposed downstream of the re-feeding portion 100X and upstream of the image forming portion 60D with respect to the feeding direction (see fig. 1).
As to claim 19, Yasumoto teaches wherein the second conveying roller pair is a first registration roller pair 65X configured to correct oblique movement of the sheet conveyed by the first conveying roller pair (¶21; alternatively, the second conveying roller pair is capable of correcting oblique movement of the sheet conveyed by the first conveying roller pair), by abutting a leading end of the sheet against the first registration roller pair (¶21 and 9 teach that roller pair 65X deskews the sheet; ¶77 teaches “in the explanation so far, we have described the case where the skew of the sheet is corrected by abutting the sheet against a stopped conveying roller to form a loop,” which means that first registration roller pair 65X deskews a sheet by abutting a leading end of the sheet against the first registration roller pair; alternatively, first registration roller pair 65X is capable of being used for deskewing a sheet by abutting a leading end of the sheet against the first registration roller pair).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (1X)][AltContent: oval][AltContent: textbox (5X)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: oval]
As to claim 21, Yasumoto teaches wherein the re-feeding portion includes a second registration roller pair 5X (fig. 13 above) configured to correct oblique movement of the sheet (¶69) reversed by the first reversing roller pair 6 (the apparatus of Yasumoto is capable of being controlled such that, after being printed on the second side, the sheet is refed to the duplex path and deskewed by the second registration roller pair 5X) by abutting a leading end of the sheet against the second registration roller pair (¶69).
As to claim 23, Yasumoto as modified teaches
an accommodating portion 61 (fig. 1 of Yasumoto) configured to accommodate a sheet; and
a feeding portion 63 (Yasumoto) configured to feed the sheet accommodated in the accommodating portion,
wherein when the first image is formed on the first surface of the sheet, the control portion is configured to perform control such that the sheet fed by the feeding portion is moved in the widthwise direction by the second moving portion and is configured to perform control to feed the sheet to the image forming portion (¶35-36 of Kawakami teach that when a sheet is fed from a feed tray 21, it is moved in the widthwise direction before being sent to a transfer roller 9 for receiving an image; accordingly, in the modified Yasumoto, after the sheet fed by the feeding portion is moved in the widthwise direction by the second moving portion, an image is formed on the first surface of the sheet).
As to claim 26, the apparatus of Yasumoto as modified as applied to rejection of claim 14 above comprises all the structural limitations of claim 26. Specifically, Yasumoto as modified teaches an image forming apparatus comprising:
an image forming portion 60D (Yasumoto) configured to form an image on a sheet;
a first conveying roller pair 6 (figs. 1 and 13 in Yasumoto) disposed downstream of the image forming portion in a feeding direction, and configured to nip and convey the sheet;
a first detecting portion SN4 (fig. 13 in Yasumoto) configured to detect a side-edge position of the sheet with respect to a widthwise direction perpendicular to the feeding direction (¶45 of Yasumoto teaches that the “thrust position” is “the width direction position of the sheet,” and ¶66 teaches “SN4 is a line sensor having an element row in the width direction, and can…detect the…thrust position”; ¶72 of Yasumoto teaches “ the position in the width direction is detected by the fourth sensor SN4”);
a first moving portion 43 (fig. 3 - Yasumoto) configured to move the sheet in the widthwise direction in a state in which the sheet is nipped by the first conveying roller pair;
a second conveying roller pair 65X (fig. 1 of Yasumoto above) disposed upstream of the image forming portion in the feeding direction, and configured to nip and convey the sheet toward the image forming portion;
a second detecting portion (one of the plurality of second detecting portions SE21-SE22 of Kawakami; the Examiner notes that since ¶93-94 teach that sensors SE21-SE22 may be used instead of single sensor SE2, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the following descriptions of the functions of sensor SE2 also apply to sensors SE21-SE22; ¶57 further teaches, for step S2, that the side edge positions of the sheet are detected by sensor SE2, which may be positioned upstream of the registration roller 27 as taught by ¶97) configured to detect a side-edge position of the sheet with respect to the widthwise direction;
a second moving portion 34 (Kawakami) configured to move the sheet in the widthwise direction in a state in which the sheet is nipped by the second conveying roller pair; and
a control portion (overall control structure of the apparatus) configured to control the first moving portion based on a detection result of the first detecting portion (¶67-72 of Yasumoto) and the second moving portion based on a detection result of the second detecting portion (in Kawakami, see at least ¶57, ¶61, ¶65-69, and ¶79),
wherein the first detecting portion and the second detecting portion are arranged on one side with reference to the conveyance center of a sheet conveyance path in the width direction (one of the plurality of second detecting portions SE21-SE22 of Kawakami is on the same side of the sheet as the first detecting portion, and only detects the same side edge of the sheet as the first detecting portion – this one of the plurality of second detecting portions of Kawakami reads on the claimed second detecting portion, resulting in the modified Yasumoto teaching this section of the claim).
As to claim 27, Yasumoto as modified teaches a wherein in a case where the control portion performs duplex printing for forming a second image on a second surface of a sheet opposite to a first surface of the sheet after forming a first image on the first surface of the sheet by the image forming portion, the control portion performs control such that the sheet is moved in the widthwise direction by the first moving portion 43 (of Yasumoto; see ¶36, ¶51, and fig. 7 of Yasumoto), and then the sheet which has been moved in the widthwise direction by the first moving portion is moved in the widthwise direction by the second moving portion 34 (of Kawakami; ¶55-78 in Kawakami describe the control algorithm for using the second moving means 34 for shifting the sheet in with width direction; ¶57-58 in Kawakami teach that sensor SE1 continuously monitors for the leading end of the sheet, in step S1, in order to begin the control process; the Examiner notes that since ¶93-94 in Kawakami teach that sensors SE21-SE22 may be used instead of single sensor SE2, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the following descriptions of the functions of sensor SE2 also apply to sensors SE21-SE22; ¶57 in Kawakami further teaches, for step S2, that the side edge positions of the sheet are detected by sensor SE2, which may be positioned upstream of the registration roller 27 as taught by ¶97; ¶72 in Kawakami teaches that the registration roller 27 is shifted in the width direction in step S7; finally, step S9 and ¶77-78 in Kawakami teach that the algorithm only ends after processing for a last page has ended; therefore, the registration roller pair 65X in the modified Yasumoto in is shifted in the width direction for printing the first sides and for printing the second sides of sheets after they have passed through the re-feeding portion).
As to claim 28, Yasumoto as modified teaches wherein the first detecting portion is provided downstream of the first conveying roller pair in the sheet conveying direction, and
wherein the second detecting portion is provided upstream of the second conveying roller pair in the sheet conveying direction (see the 112b rejection(s) of this claim above for the Examiner’s interpretation of this portion of the claim; Yasumoto as modified teaches the first detecting portion is near the first conveying roller pair, and that the second detecting portion is near the second conveying roller pair, as broadly recited).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasumoto in view of Kawakami and Shiokawa as applied to claim 16 above and further in view of Yamazaki (US 20130334769 A1).
As to claim 17, Yasumoto teaches the limitations of the claim except for a second reversing roller pair provided downstream of the first reversing roller pair with respect to the feeding direction and configured to reverse the sheet by rotating in the first direction while nipping the sheet on which the image is formed on the first surface by the image forming portion and then by rotating in the second direction opposite to the first direction,
wherein the first moving portion moves the sheet nipped by both the first reversing roller pair and the second reversing roller pair with respect to the widthwise direction.
Yamazaki teaches a printer comprising a lateral registration section 30 (fig. 3 and ¶59) that is separate from a non-lateral registration portion 18 (see fig. 1 and ¶35; Yamazaki’s lateral registration section 30 corresponds with Yasumoto’s reversing roller pair 6, which performs lateral registration on a sheet and is separate from Yasumoto’s non-lateral registration portion 5, 65), wherein the lateral registration section 30 comprises laterally shifting roller pairs 31A-B and 32A-B (¶72, ¶74, ¶77-78 and ¶94 teach that follower rollers 31B-32B rotate and shift laterally along with the driven rollers 31A-32A; ¶85 clarifies that one shift block 41 moves two of the four rollers 31A-34A and the other shift block 41 moves the other two of the four rollers) and a motor 45 which laterally shifts the laterally shifting roller pairs by shifting a shifting block 41 (¶82-83),
wherein the motor 45 moves the sheet nipped by both a first laterally shifting roller pair 31A-31B and a second laterally shifting roller pair 32A-32B with respect to the widthwise direction (¶82-83 teaches that the motor 45 drives the lateral motion of the shifting roller pairs, and ¶84 teaches that the shifting roller pairs are moved laterally while both nipping a sheet; the Examiner notes that Yamazaki’s apparatus determines the lateral position of the shift block 41 using a position sensor 75 and a projection 41b formed on the shift block - ¶83).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of the modified Yasumoto such that the first conveying roller pair is connected to another laterally shifting roller pair such that both roller pairs are moved laterally by a motor via a shifting block, while both roller pairs nip a sheet, wherein the lateral position of the shifting roller pairs is determined with a sensor as taught by Yamazaki so as to more accurately position the sheet in the lateral direction with the use of the sensor and projection of the shifting block.
Yasumoto as modified teaches a second reversing roller pair 32A-B (Yamazaki) provided downstream of the first reversing roller pair 6 (Yasumoto) with respect to the feeding direction and configured to reverse the sheet by rotating in the first direction while nipping the sheet on which the image is formed on the first surface by the image forming portion and then by rotating in the second direction opposite to the first direction (¶72 of Yamazaki teaches that the laterally shifting roller pairs are driven concurrently by the same “driving unit”; accordingly, the second reversing roller pair from Yamazaki would be driven by the same driving unit as Yasumoto’s first reversing roller pair 6, such that both reversing roller pairs reverse rotation directions to reverse the conveyance direction of a sheet),
wherein the first moving portion 45 (Yamazaki) moves the sheet nipped by both the first reversing roller pair 6 (Yasumoto) and the second reversing roller pair 32A-B (Yamazaki) with respect to the widthwise direction (¶84 – Yamazaki).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasumoto in view of Kawakami and Shiokawa as applied to claim 19 above and further in view of Suzuki (US 20190092592 A1).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (44X)][AltContent: textbox (of Yasumoto)]
As to claim 20, Yasumoto teaches wherein the first conveying roller pair 6 (Yasumoto) (1) includes a first roller 6a and a second roller 6b (fig. 3) which are rotatable about axes thereof extending in the widthwise direction, respectively, and (2) moves in the widthwise direction in a state in which the sheet is nipped by the first roller and the second roller (¶35),
wherein the first registration roller pair 65X (1) includes a third roller and a fourth roller (see fig. 1) which are rotatable about axes thereof extending in the widthwise direction, respectively, and (2) moves in the widthwise direction in a state in which the sheet is nipped by the third roller and the fourth roller (as taught by Kawakami).
Yasumoto as modified does not teach wherein a second number of nip portions formed by the third roller and the fourth roller where the sheet is nipped is more than a first number of nip portions formed by the first roller and the second roller where the sheet is nipped.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (30aX)]
Suzuki teaches a printer with a registration roller pair 30a-b (fig. 2, ¶32) having a third roller 30a having roller segments and a shaft 30aX (fig. 3B above) and fourth roller 30b having roller segments and a shaft 30c (fig. 3A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of the modified Yasumoto such that the registration roller pair (portion 65X of Yasumoto) is formed with rollers having shafts and roller segments as taught by Suzuki since such a modification would be a simple substitution of one kind of roller pair structure for another for the predictable result that sheets are still successfully registered.
Yasumoto as modified teaches wherein a second number of nip portions (being at least 5 nip portions, as shown in figs. 3A-3B of Suzuki) formed by the third roller and the fourth roller where the sheet is nipped is more than a first number of nip portions (being one single nip as shown in fig. 3 of Yasumoto) formed by the first roller and the second roller where the sheet is nipped.
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasumoto in view of Kawakami and Shiokawa as applied to claim 14 above and further in view of Kawahara et al. (JP 2016110037 A, hereinafter Kawahara).
As to claim 25, Yasumoto teaches a fixing portion 68 configured to fix the image to the sheet;
a first casing installed on an installation surface, the first casing including (1) the image forming portion, (2) the second conveying roller pair, and (3) the second moving portion; and
a second casing which is connected to the first casing and which is installed on the installation surface, the second casing including (1) the first conveying roller pair, (2) the first moving portion, and (3) the fixing portion.
Kawahara teaches an image forming apparatus comprising a first casing 1 installed on an installation surface (the installation surface is not positively recited as part of the claimed apparatus; accordingly, the installation surface may be a floor), the first casing including (1) an image forming portion (comprising a photosensitive drum 12 - ¶8); and
[AltContent: textbox (SSBP)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: oval]
a second casing 2 which is connected to the first casing (see fig. 5) and which is installed on the installation surface, the second casing including (3) a fixing portion 8, and a sheet switch-back portion SSBP (fig. 1 above),
wherein the spacing between the casings is adjustable, via at least a pin 3, according to a length of paper (¶21-22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Yasumoto as modified to have first and second casings, the second casing including the fixing portion and the sheet switch-back portion, wherein the spacing between the casings is adjustable, via at least a pin, according to a length of paper, as taught by Kawahara, so as to prevent/reduce poor image transfer (¶4-5, Kawahara).
Yasumoto as modified teaches a first casing 1 (Kawahara) installed on an installation surface (e.g., a floor), the first casing including (1) the image forming portion, (2) the second conveying roller pair (of Yasumoto), and (3) the second moving portion (of Kawakimi); and
a second casing 2 (Kawahara) which is connected to the first casing (with at least the pin 3 of Kawahara – see fig. 1 of Kawahara) and which is installed on the installation surface, the second casing including (1) the first conveying roller pair (of Yasumoto), (2) the first moving portion (of Yasumoto), and (3) the fixing portion (as taught by Kawahara).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the prior art rejections have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) for rejection.
Conclusion
/R.C.P./ Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/STEPHEN D MEIER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2853