DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments
This is a final office action in response to applicant's arguments and remarks filed on
06/29/2026.
Status of Rejections
All previous rejections are withdrawn in view of the Applicant’s amendments.
New grounds of rejection are necessitated by the Applicant’s amendments.
Rejections of claims 5 and 6 are obviated by Applicant’s cancellation.
Claims 1-4 and 7-22 are pending and under consideration for this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, 8, 10-18, 20-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holler (US 20230357936 A1) in view of Fujita et al (US 20230220575 A1).
Claim 1: Holler discloses an electrolyzer stack (see e.g. Fig 1) comprising:
a cell block comprising a plurality of cells (see e.g. #2 on Fig 1) configured to receive and convert water to form a hydrogen product stream (see e.g. [0034]);
a force applicator configured to apply force to the electrolyzer cell block when pressurized (see e.g. #11 on Fig 1)
a pressure source configured to pressurize the force applicator in response to the pressure changes (see e.g. #15 on Fig 1; [0010]);
a first end plate disposed adjacent to the force applicator (see e.g. #4 on Fig 1); and
a compression plate disposed between the force applicator and the cell block (see e.g. #9 on Fig 1), wherein the force applicator when pressurized applies the force to the compression plate that transfers to the cell block (see e.g. [0040]) and the first end plate and the compression plate are located on opposite sides of the force applicator (see e.g. #4, #11, and #9 on Fig 1).
Holler does not explicitly teach a pressure transducer configured to monitor pressure of the hydrogen product stream and that the pressure source configured to pressurize the force applicator in response to the pressure of the hydrogen product stream. Fujita discloses an electrolyzer stack (see e.g. abstract and Fig 3) comprising a force applicator configured to apply force to the electrolyzer cell block when pressurized (see e.g. [0050]), making it analogous art (see MPEP § 2141.01(a) I). The stack if Fujita additionally includes a pressure transducer configured to monitor pressure of the hydrogen product stream (see e.g. [0128]); and a pressure source configured to pressurize the force applicator in response to the pressure of the hydrogen product stream (see e.g. [0052]; [0060]). This allows the system to maintain constant pressure on the system (see e.g. [0060]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the stack of Holler to further include a pressure transducer configured to monitor pressure of the hydrogen product stream and that the pressure source configured to pressurize as taught in Fujita to maintain constant pressure on the system.
Claim 2: Holler in view of Fujta teaches that the pressure source comprises a reservoir for containing a fluid, and wherein the pressure source is configured to fluidly communicate the fluid to the force applicator to pressurize the force applicator (“hydraulic device”, see e.g. Holler - [0020]).
Claim 3: Holler in view of Fujta teaches that the fluid is chosen from hydraulic fluid (see e.g. Holler - [0020]).
Claim 4: Holler in view of Fujta teaches that the force applicator is a piston (see e.g. Holler - [0020]).
Claim 7: Holler in view of Fujta teaches a second end plate disposed adjacent to the cell block on a side opposite the compression plate (see e.g. Holler - #3 on Fig 1), wherein the first and second end plates are linked together (via rods, see e.g. Holler - #5 on Fig 1) to constrain expansion of the electrolyzer stack including constraining expansion of the force applicator in a direction away from the cell block (see e.g. Holler - [0034]; [0038]).
Claim 8: Holler in view of Fujta teaches a tension rod that extends between and at least partially links the first and second end plates together (see e.g. Holler - #5 on Fig 1).
Claim 10: Holler in view of Fujta teaches that the plurality of cells correspondingly comprises a plurality of seals that are disposed between the compression plate and the second end plate and that overlie each other to define a perimeter that is disposed about an active zone of the cell block (the cells are all sealed and thus the active zone would the volume of the cells, see e.g. Holler - [0013]; [0037]).
Claim 11: Holler in view of Fujta teaches that the force applicator overlies at least a portion of the active zone of the cell block (see e.g. #11 and #2 on Fig 1).
Claim 12: Holler in view of Fujta teaches that the force applicator has an outer-most periphery that is substantially superposed with the perimeter defined by the plurality of seals (see e.g. #11 and #2 on Fig 1).
Claim 13: Holler in view of Fujta teaches that the force applicator has an outer-most periphery that overlies the active zone inboard of the perimeter defined by the plurality of seals (see e.g. #11 and #2 on Fig 1).
Claim 14: Holler does not explicitly teach a pair of terminal plates including a first terminal plate disposed between the cell block and the compression plate and a second terminal plate that is disposed between the cell block and the second end plate. Fujita teaches that these types of cells can include a pair of terminal plates are configured to communicate electricity to the cell block to drive electrolysis of water to form the hydrogen product stream (see e.g. #51 a and #51c on Fig 3; [0080). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the stack of Holler to include teach a pair of terminal plates are configured to communicate electricity to the cell block as taught in Fujita so that the cells can receive power to drive the reaction. The terminal plate needs to surround the cell stack. Therefore, the force applicator would have to overly the first terminal plate (see e.g. #51a and #51c on Fig 3 and #90 on Fig 2.
Claim 15: Holler in view of Fujita teaches that the pair of terminal plates are configured to communicate electricity to the cell block to drive electrolysis of water to form the hydrogen product stream (see e.g. Fujita - [0080]).
Claim 21: Holler in view of Fujta teaches that the force applicator is in direct contact with the first end plate and the compression plate (see e.g. Holler - #4, #11, #9 on Fig 1 and Fig 3).
Claim 16: Holler discloses an electrolysis system (see e.g. abstract) comprising:
a water source (see e.g. [0034]);
a power source (the “application of electricity” inherently requires a power source, see e.g. [0003]);
an electrolyzer stack (see e.g. Fig 1) comprising:
a cell block comprising a plurality of cells (see e.g. #2 on Fig 1) configured to receive and convert water to form a hydrogen product stream (see e.g. [0034]);
a force applicator configured to apply force to the electrolyzer cell block when pressurized (see e.g. #11 on Fig 1)
a pressure source configured to pressurize the force applicator in response to the pressure changes (see e.g. #15 on Fig 1; [0010]);
a first end plate disposed adjacent to the force applicator (see e.g. #4 on Fig 1); and
a compression plate disposed between the force applicator and the cell block (see e.g. #9 on Fig 1), wherein the force applicator when pressurized applies the force to the compression plate that transfers to the cell block (see e.g. [0040]) and the first end plate and the compression plate are located on opposite sides of the force applicator (see e.g. #4, #11, and #9 on Fig 1).
Holler does not explicitly teach a pressure transducer configured to monitor pressure of the hydrogen product stream and that the pressure source configured to pressurize the force applicator in response to the pressure of the hydrogen product stream. Fujita discloses an electrolyzer stack (see e.g. abstract and Fig 3) comprising a force applicator configured to apply force to the electrolyzer cell block when pressurized (see e.g. [0050]), making it analogous art (see MPEP § 2141.01(a) I). The stack if Fujita additionally includes a pressure transducer configured to monitor pressure of the hydrogen product stream (see e.g. [0128]); and a pressure source configured to pressurize the force applicator in response to the pressure of the hydrogen product stream (see e.g. [0052]; [0060]). This allows the system to maintain constant pressure on the system (see e.g. [0060]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the stack of Holler to further include a pressure transducer configured to monitor pressure of the hydrogen product stream and that the pressure source configured to pressurize as taught in Fujita to maintain constant pressure on the system.
Claim 17: Holler does not explicitly teach power electronics in communication with the electrolyzer stack and configured to control operation of the cell block to produce the hydrogen product stream, and wherein the pressure controller forms part of the power electronics or is independent of the power electronics. Fujita discloses power electronics (“control computer”) in communication with the electrolyzer stack and configured to control operation of the cell block to produce the hydrogen product stream, and wherein the pressure controller forms part of the power electronics (see e.g. [0064]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the system of Holler to include the power electronics taught in Fujita to provide automated system control via a control computer.
Claim 18: Holler does not explicitly teach a recycle stream that is in fluid communication with the electrolyzer stack and the water source to recycle a remaining portion of water from the electrolyzer stack to the water source. Fujita discloses a recycle stream that is in fluid communication with the electrolyzer stack and the water source to recycle a remaining portion of water from the electrolyzer stack to the water source (see e.g. #81 on Fig 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the system of Holler to include the recycle stream taught in Fujita to improve system efficiency by reusing electrolyte.
Claim 22: Holler in view of Fujta teaches that the force applicator is in direct contact with the first end plate and the compression plate (see e.g. Holler - #4, #11, #9 on Fig 1 and Fig 3).
Claim 20: A method for operating an electrolysis system (see e.g. abstract), the method comprising:
introducing water (see e.g. [0034]) to an electrolyzer stack (see e.g. Fig 1);
electrolyzing water in the cell block to form a hydrogen product stream (see e.g. [0034]);
directing the pressure source via a pressure controller to pressurize the force applicator that thereby applies a force to the cell block (see e.g. [0010]);.
Holler discloses that the electrolyzer stack includes:
a cell block comprising a plurality of cells (see e.g. #2 on Fig 1) configured to receive and convert water to form a hydrogen product stream (see e.g. [0034]);
a force applicator configured to apply force to the electrolyzer cell block when pressurized (see e.g. #11 on Fig 1)
a pressure source configured to pressurize the force applicator in response to the pressure changes (see e.g. #15 on Fig 1; [0010]);
a first end plate disposed adjacent to the force applicator (see e.g. #4 on Fig 1); and
a compression plate disposed between the force applicator and the cell block (see e.g. #9 on Fig 1), wherein the force applicator when pressurized applies the force to the compression plate that transfers to the cell block (see e.g. [0040]) and the first end plate and the compression plate are located on opposite sides of the force applicator (see e.g. #4, #11, and #9 on Fig 1).
Holler does not explicitly teach a pressure transducer configured to monitor pressure of the hydrogen product stream and that the pressure source configured to pressurize the force applicator in response to the pressure of the hydrogen product stream. Fujita discloses an electrolyzer stack (see e.g. abstract and Fig 3) comprising a force applicator configured to apply force to the electrolyzer cell block when pressurized (see e.g. [0050]), making it analogous art (see MPEP § 2141.01(a) I). The stack if Fujita additionally includes a pressure transducer configured to monitor pressure of the hydrogen product stream (see e.g. [0128]); and a pressure source configured to pressurize the force applicator in response to the pressure of the hydrogen product stream (see e.g. [0052]; [0060]). This allows the system to maintain constant pressure on the system (see e.g. [0060]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the stack of Holler to further include a pressure transducer configured to monitor pressure of the hydrogen product stream and that the pressure source configured to pressurize as taught in Fujita to maintain constant pressure on the system.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holler in view of Fujta as applied to claim 8 above, and in further view of Kondo et al (JP 2003160891 A, Google Patents translation used for citations, cited in previous action).
Claim 9: Holler does not explicitly teach a spring that is coupled to and cooperates with the tension rod to link the first and second end plates together. Kondo teaches an electrolyzer stack for water electrolysis (see e.g. abstract), making it analogous art (see MPEP § 2141.01(a)I). The stack of Kondo includes springs (see e.g. #46 on Fig 4) that are coupled to and cooperates with the tension rod (see e.g. #14 on Fig 4) to link the first and second end plates together (see e.g. #33 and #45 on Fig 4) that help create uniform and constant pressure onto the stack (see e.g. page 8, paragraph starting with “In the above”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the device of Holler to include the springs of Kondo to work with tension rods to maintain and apply constant pressure.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holler in view of Fujta as applied to claim 16 above, and in further view of Peng (CN 104498985 A, SEARCH translation used for citations, cited in previous action).
Claim 19: Fujita does not explicitly teach that the electrolysis system is operably disposed in a vehicle. However, Fujita teaches that the system produces hydrogen gas (see e.g. [0096]). Peng teaches an electrolyzer stack for water electrolysis using a clamping force to maintain pressure (see e.g. abstract; [0012]), making it analogous art (see MPEP § 2141.01(a)I). The stack of Peng is operably disposed in a vehicle (see e.g. [0006]) to improve combustion of the fuel (see e.g. [0003]-[0004]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the device of Fujita so that the electrolysis system is operably disposed in a vehicle as taught in Peng so that the products of Fujita can be used to improve combustion of the fuel.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments on 06/29/2026 with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) under 35 USC § 102 over Fujita et al (US 20230220575 A1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Holler.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ALEXANDER W KEELING whose telephone number is (571)272-9961. The examiner can normally be reached 7:30 AM - 4:00 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Luan Van can be reached at 571-272-8521. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/ALEXANDER W KEELING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795