DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claims 1-20 are pending and under consideration for this Office Action. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claim(s) 1-8, 10-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Fujita et al ( US 20230220575 A1 ). Claim 1 : Fujita discloses an electrolyzer stack (see e.g. abstract and Fig 3) comprising: a cell block comprising a plurality of cells configured to receive and convert water to form a hydrogen product stream (see e.g. Fig 3; [0134]) ; a force applicator configured to apply force to the electrolyzer cell block when pressurized (see e.g. [0050]) ; a pressure transducer configured to monitor pressure of the hydrogen product stream (see e.g. [0128]) ; and a pressure source configured to pressurize the force applicator in response to the pressure of the hydrogen product stream (see e.g. [0052]; [0060]) . Claim 2 : Fujita discloses that the pressure source comprises a reservoir for containing a fluid, and wherein the pressure source is configured to fluidly communicate the fluid to the force applicator to pressurize the force applicator (see e.g. [0054]; [0057]). Claim 3 : Fujita discloses that the fluid is chosen from water or hydraulic fluid (see e.g. [0050]). Claim 4 : Fujita discloses that the force applicator is chosen from a force applicator, a bladder, and a piston (see e.g. [0054]; [0157]). Claim 5 : Fujita discloses that a compression plate (“ loose head ”, see e.g. [0115]) disposed between the force applicator and the cell block (see e.g. #51g on Fig 1) , wherein the force applicator when pressurized applies the force to the compression plate that transfers to the cell block (see e.g. [0073]) . Claim 6 : Fujita discloses a first end plate (“insulating plate”) disposed adjacent to the force applicator opposite compression plate (“ the insulating plate, the heat insulating member, and the press plate may be arranged in this order ”, see e.g. [0126]). Claim 7 : Fujita discloses a second end plate disposed adjacent to the cell block on a side opposite the compression plate (“fast head”, see e.g. [0115]) , wherein the first and second end plates are linked together (see e.g. [0084 ] ) to constrain expansion of the electrolyzer stack including constraining expansion of the force applicator in a direction away from the cell block (see e.g. [0114]). Claim 8 : Fujita discloses a tension rod that extends between and at least partially links the first and second end plates together (see e.g. [0084]). Claim 10 : Fujita discloses that the plurality of cells correspondingly comprises a plurality of seals that are disposed between the compression plate and the second end plate and that overlie each other to define a perimeter that is disposed about an active zone of the cell block. Claim 11 : Fujita discloses that the force applicator overlies at least a portion of the active zone of the cell block (see e.g. #51g on Fig 3) . Claim 12 : Fujita discloses that the force applicator has an outer-most periphery that is substantially superposed with the perimeter defined by the plurality of seals (see e.g. #51g and #7 on Fig 5). Claim 13 : Fujita discloses that the force applicator has an outer-most periphery that overlies the active zone (see e.g. #51g on Fig 3) inboard of the perimeter defined by the plurality of seals (“ the insulating plate, the heat insulating member, and the press plate may be arranged in this order ”, see e.g. [0126]). Claim 14 : Fujita discloses a pair of terminal plates including a first terminal plate disposed between the cell block and the compression plate and a second terminal plate that is disposed between the cell block and the second end plate, wherein the force applicator overlies the first terminal plate (see e.g. #51a and #51c on Fig 3) . Claim 15 : Fujita discloses that the pair of terminal plates are configured to communicate electricity to the cell block to drive electrolysis of water to form the hydrogen product stream (see e.g. [0080]). Claim 16 : Fujita discloses an electrolysis system (see e.g. Fig 2) comprising: a water source (see e.g. [0130]; [0134]; [0144] ) ; a power source (see e.g. [0076]) ; an electrolyzer stack (see e.g. [0076]). comprising: a cell block comprising a plurality of cells in fluid communication with the water source to receive water and in communication with the power source to electrolyze water to form a hydrogen product stream (see e.g. Fig 3; [0134]) ; a force applicator configured to apply a force to the cell block when pressurized (see e.g. [0050]) ; a pressure transducer configured to monitor pressure of the hydrogen product stream (see e.g. [0128]) ; and a pressure source in fluid communication with the force applicator (see e.g. [0052]; [0060]) ; and a pressure controller in communication with the pressure transducer and configured to direct the pressure source to pressurize the force applicator in response to the pressure of the hydrogen product stream (see e.g. [0047], [0052]; [0060]) . Claim 17 : Fujita discloses power electronics (“control computer”) in communication with the electrolyzer stack and configured to control operation of the cell block to produce the hydrogen product stream, and wherein the pressure controller forms part of the power electronics (see e.g. [0064]). Claim 18 : Fujita discloses a recycle stream that is in fluid communication with the electrolyzer stack and the water source to recycle a remaining portion of water from the electrolyzer stack to the water source (see e.g. #81 on Fig 2). Claim 20 : Fujita discloses a method for operating an electrolysis system (see e.g. [0024]) , the method comprising: introducing water to an electrolyzer stack comprising a cell block (see e.g. [0130] ; [0152]); electrolyzing water in the cell block to form a hydrogen product stream (see e.g. [0134] ; monitoring pressure of the hydrogen product stream via a pressure transducer (see e.g. [0128]) ; directing a pressure source via a pressure controller to pressurize a force applicator that thereby applies a force to the cell block in response to the pressure of the hydrogen product stream (see e.g. [0052]; [0060]) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness . Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujita in view of Kondo et al ( JP 2003160891 A , Google Patents translation used for citations). Claim 9 : Fujita does not explicitly teach a spring that is coupled to and cooperates with the tension rod to link the first and second end plates together. Kondo teaches an electrolyzer stack for water electrolysis (see e.g. abstract), making it analogous art (see MPEP § 2141.01(a) I). The stack of Kondo includes spring s (see e.g. #46 on Fig 4) that are coupled to and cooperates with the tension rod (see e.g. #14 on Fig 4) to link the first and second end plates together (see e.g. #33 and #45 on Fig 4) that help create uniform and constant pressure onto the stack (see e.g. page 8, paragraph starting with “In the above”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the device of Fujita to include the springs of Kondo to work with tension rods to maintain and apply constant pressure. Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujita in view of Peng ( CN 104498985 A , SEARCH translation used for citations ). Claim 19 : Fujita does not explicitly teach that the electrolysis system is operably disposed in a vehicle. However, Fujita teaches that the system produces hydrogen gas (see e.g. [0096]). Peng teaches an electrolyzer stack for water electrolysis using a clamping force to maintain pressure (see e.g. abstract; [0012]), making it analogous art (see MPEP § 2141.01(a) I). The stack of Peng is operably disposed in a vehicle (see e.g. [0006]) to improve combustion of the fuel (see e.g. [0003] -[ 0004]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the device of Fujita so that the electrolysis system is operably disposed in a vehicle as taught in Peng so that the products of Fujita can be used to improve combustion of the fuel . Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT ALEXANDER W KEELING whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-9961 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT 7:30 AM - 4:00 PM . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice . If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Luan Van can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571-272-8521 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ALEXANDER W KEELING/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795