Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 07/21/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-4, 6, and 9-14 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Specification and Claims have overcome each and every objection and 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 04/23/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-4, 6, and 9-10 have been considered but are moot in view of amended Claim 1. Applicant’s amendments to Claim 1, where the added subject matter of changing the heating component from being both at the top of the extraction kettle in Claim 1 and a heating component set inside of the installation cavity of the platform in Claim 2 of the claims filed 07/05/2023; to only requiring a heating component disposed at the platform and configured to heat the extraction kettle in Claim 1 and the heating component being disposed inside the installation cavity in Claim 2 of the claims filed 07/21/2026, additionally Claim 1 now requires that a side of the upper kettle cover with the square installation position be enclosed by two side walls ; these changes along with addition of Claims 11-14, has changed the scope of the claims and therefore necessitates a new grounds of rejection in the form of additional references, and as such this action is properly made final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 11 recites “The ultrasonic extraction machine of Claim 1, wherein the square installation position is disposed on the side of the upper kettle cover between the two side walls, and wherein the square shell of the magnetic plug is received between the two side walls at the square installation position”, and Claim 1 also requires that a side of the upper kettle cover defines a square installation position enclosed by two side walls as evident in lines 18-19 of Claim 1, as well as “the magnetic coupler installed at the square installation position, and wherein an outer side of the magnetic plug comprises a square shell corresponding in size to the square installation position and configured to be received at the square installation position to align the magnetic plug with the magnetic coupler” in lines 20-23 of Claim 1. Claim 11 fails to further limit Claim 1 because Claim 1 already provides for the square installation position being located on the side of the upper kettle cover between the two side walls, as well as the magnetic plug needing a square shell and being received at the square installation position.
Claim 12 recites the limitation “The ultrasonic extraction machine of Claim 11, wherein the square installation position and the square shell cooperate to position the magnetic plug in alignment with the magnetic coupler when the square shell is received at the square installation position. Claim 1 provides that the outer side of the magnetic plug comprises a square shell corresponding in size to the square installation position and configured to be received at the square installation position to align the magnetic plug with the magnetic coupler as provided in lines 21-23 of Claim 1. Claim 12 fails to further limit Claim 1 because Claim 1 already provides for the magnetic plug to comprise a square shell that corresponds in size to the square installation position and is configured to be received at the square installation position to align the magnetic plug and coupler.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 3, 9, 11, 12, 13, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (CN-208740646-U), in view of Zuo-Bin (CN-114468713-A), Shen (WO-2022000036-A1), Ghalambor (US-20190104880-A1) and Wang (CN-202069450-U).
With regards to Claims 1, Li teaches (Figure 1-6) a commercial ultrasonic wave soup cooker. Li teaches that the ultrasonic cooker comprises a base (6), a heating source (1) disposed on the base for heating the soup pot, a lifting mechanism, and an ultrasonic mechanism (3) disposed on the upper part of the lifting mechanism (4) ([0011], [0026], [0029]). The base further includes an electrical control box (5) that provides signals for the ultrasonic extraction mechanism and heating source operation panel (11) ([0012], [0026], [0032]). Li also teaches that the heating device includes a microcrystalline glass panel (12) located inside the heating source, where the soup pot is located on the upper surface of the glass panel to achieve rapid heating ([0033]). Additionally, the ultrasonic extraction mechanism includes an ultrasonic amplitude transformer (32), a power cord (34, 35), and an ultrasonic transducer (31) all connected to the electrical control box ([0016], [0026], [0036]). Lastly, Li teaches the soup pot (2) is designed to achieve a good sealing during ultrasonic extraction and high-temperature heating when the ultrasonic amplitude rod (32) is inserted into the insertion hole (22) of the lid (21) for the soup pot ([0037]).
However, Li does not teach a kettle body, with an upper and lower kettle cover, where the ultrasonic component uses a magnetic coupler and plug, and is disposed at the lower end of the lower kettle cover and extending into the kettle body. Li also does not teach that a side of the upper kettle cover defines a square installation position enclosed by two side walls, wherein the magnetic coupler is installed at the square installation position, and a square shell and installation position are configured to align the plug and coupler.
With regards to Claim 1, Zuo-bin teaches (Figs 1-6) an ultrasonic probe water cup. The ultrasonic water cup includes a cup body (1), cup lid (3), comprised of upper lid (301) and lower lid (302), a sealing ring (4), a mounting piece (5), an ultrasonic probe (6), clip (7), empty slot (8), base plate (9), through hole (10), drive mechanism (14), motor (1401), gear (1402), battery (15), sealing ring (16), and elastic plug (21) comprising upper plug (2101) and lower plug (2102) ([0027]). The ultrasonic probe being installed inside the bottom of the cup lid and can disperse powder and reduce clumping and difficulties when brewing, where a sealing ring prevents liquid leakage from the cup ([0017], [0033]-[0034]).
With regards to Claim 1, Shen teaches (Figs 1-16) a thermal immersion circulator device to heat various fluids ([0002]-[0003]). Shen teaches that a shaft (225) can carry torque from a motor (220) to the impeller (226) to drive rotation of the impeller and this the flow of the fluid in the interior ([0053]). Shen also teaches that the shaft need not physically be coupled to the motor and can instead use magnets between the motor or gearbox and shaft that are magnetically coupled together to be actuated to directly drive rotation of the impeller ([0054]).
With regards to Claims 1, Ghalambor teaches (Figs 1-20) an electric kettle system (10), with a base (12), and a carafe (14) ([0033]). Ghalambor teaches a rectangular or box shaped carafe cooperation feature (18), with pin receives (22) and pins (48), where the carafe-cooperation feature is utilized as a slide guide to guide the carafe as it slides into the internal cavity using slide retention plates (50), plate receivers (54), and edges (52) to allow the pin and pin receivers to provide an electrical connection between the carafe and the base ([0034]-[0037]). Ghalambor further teaches the box of the carafe cooperation feature functions as a slide guide to properly position the carafe ([0036]). Ghalambor also teaches a magnet sensing system comprising a magnet (64) and magnet switch (66), where a magnet is positioned on either the base or the carafe that allows the detection of the carafe to energize the pins, as well as closing a circuit from the magnet sensing system that allows energizing of the electrical pins, while also providing the additional safety of having multiple separate methods detect in the carafe is installed correctly ([0042]-[0043]).
With regards to Claim 1, Wang teaches (Figs 1-10) a cordless food processor. The cordless food processor (10) includes a base (11), a head (12), a cup body (13), a control circuit board (14), a crushing device (15), a motor (16), and a wireless connector (17) that electrically connects the motor to the control circuit board ([0045], [0052], [0063]). The connector includes a first coupler (171) and a second coupler (172) that plugs into and couples to the first coupler, where the connector can vary in shape and type, including a 360-degree rotating connector, a plug and socket and magnetic connector ([0049], [0057]). The cup body also includes a sliding assembly (18) between the base (111) of (11) and a guide grove (182) to achieve the final positioning function ([0047]). The connector (17) and couplers (171, 172) include an insertion and sliding direction for the sliding assembly (18), where the movement of the cup body is used to achieve the insertion of the couplers into each other ([0049], [0052]). Wang further teaches that the action of inserting the cup body into the base of the device to is also used to achieve insertion of the first coupler into the second coupler ([0049]).
Regarding Claim 1, Li teaches the ultrasonic extraction machine where a vessel is placed on a base configured to receive the device and a control panel configured to control the heating component located in the base of the device, and a control box for the ultrasonic mechanism; Zuo-bin teaches the extraction kettle with an upper and lower cover, and a ultrasonic probe located inside of the body of the kettle and mounted on the underside of the lower kettle cover; Shen teaches a magnetic coupler that transmits torque from a motor to an impeller located inside of a container with no physical linkage between the motor and impeller; Ghalambor teaches the box shaped connector between the kettle and the base to transmit electric signal, where the shape of the box and corresponding plates on the vessel are used to guide the vessel into the base properly, where a magnet detects when the proper connection is made to complete a circuit and allow electricity to transfer between the base and vessel; and Wang teaches a lid cover for a cup body with magnetic couplers that are mounted on the top of the base unit in the lid cover of the processing device, and are coupled together when the device is inserted into the base along the guide groove.
While Ghalambor teaches a rectangular or box connector between the kettle and the base, an ordinary skilled artisan would appreciate that the square installation that makes it easier for the magnetic coupler and plug to align as stated in Para. [0023] of the instant application and the rectangular or box configuration taught by Ghalambor would function in equivalently the same way regardless of shape, helping guide the alignment of the kettle cover to the coupling unit of the base device. See MPEP 2144.04-IV(B).
While Wang teaches the installation position that connects the device to the base, an ordinary skilled artisan would appreciate that moving the installation position from the top of the cover to the side of the cover would function in equivalently the same way, helping guide the wireless magnetic plug of the first and second couplers together. See MPEP 2144.04-VI(C).
An ordinary skilled artisan would have recognized that applying the known technique of a device that uses a heating component in a base along with an ultrasonic mechanism and probe used by the device to heat and extract a product as taught by Li, along with a kettle that houses the ultrasonic mechanism in the body of the kettle by mounting the mechanism to the cover kettle as taught by Zuo-bin, where the drive circuit supplies a driving force using a magnetic coupling as taught by Shen, and a box shaped installation position taught by Ghalambor and a magnetic plug coupling taught by Wang would yield predictable results and result in an improved extraction device that is able to use heat and ultrasonic waves to aide in the extraction process for a beverage. Li, Zuo-bin, and Shen are analogous to the instant application because all the inventions teach use of a device inserted into the drink to aid in extracting flavor for a beverage. Ghalambor and Wang are analogous to the instant application because both devices teach devices that connect a kettle body to a base unit and transfer energy or electricity through the coupler mechanism.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the heating and ultrasonic mechanism taught by Li, to incorporate the kettle taught by Zuo-bin, to incorporate the magnetic coupling to drive the mechanism taught by Shen, the installation position and guide mechanism taught by Ghalambor, and include the magnetic plug and coupler taught by Wang, because the claimed elements were known in the prior art, and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements into a single ultrasonic extraction device that uses heat and ultrasonic waves to extract flavor of a beverage, and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as taught by known methods and yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding Claims 2, Li further teaches the side wall of the base includes an inwardly recessed extraction area (12) (Li Fig 1 & 6), where the platform of the base is disposed below the inwardly recessed extraction area, the base of the extraction area includes an installation cavity with a heating component (1) disposed inside the installation cavity.
Regarding Claim 3, Ghalambor teaches the magnet sensing system as previously mentioned, where multiple sensing methods can be used to detect the carafe us installed correctly before energizing the pins, including closing the circuit between the pin receivers and pins, or a magnet sensing system that completes a circuit when the cares is installed and locking pins actuate a switch to close the loop (Fig 13, [0042]).
Regarding Claim 9, Ghalambor teaches a rear connection (16) that functions as an electrical connection to provide electrical power to the carafe from an aircraft, vehicle, or other connection system (Ghalambor [0033], [0040]). Shen teaches that the device can include a power cord (150) that plugs the circulator (100) into a standard wall socket to draw power from a power grid (Shen [00051]).
Regarding Claim 13, Li teaches the electrical control box (5) provides control signals for the ultrasonic extraction mechanism (5) (Li [0032], [0036]).
Regarding Claim 14, Zuo-bin further teaches that the ultrasonic waves emitted by the probe can not only disperse the powder, but remove particles adhering to the cup, making it easier to clean ([n0014], [0033]). Additionally, the lower lid (302) is screwed and fixed into the cup body (1), where an installation piece (5) is fixedly connected to the bottom of the inside of the cup lid (3), and a sealing ring (4) prevents leakage of liquid from the cup body ([0033]). Zuo-bin also teaches that the ultrasonic probe (6) is connected to the top of the installation piece ([0033]).
Claims 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li, Zuo-Bin, Shen, Ghalambor, and Wang in view of Lin (CN-110960093-A).
Regarding Claim 4, Li, Zuo-Bin, Shen, Ghalambor, and Wang teach all of the claimed elements as previously mentioned but fails to specifically claim that the heating component includes a heating plate connected to a heating tube disposed on the platform and a temperature controller connected to the heating tube and control panel.
Lin teaches (Figures 1-10) a beverage brewing machine, where a heating mechanism is configured to heat a beverage cup ([0026]). Lin teaches an embodiment where a heating tube (118) is installed on the bottom of a heating disc (116) and is controlled by a temperature control device (11) ([0025], [0027]-[0028]). Lin further teaches that a micro switch (14) turns on and off the power supply when the cup is removed to ensure safety and prevent unwanted operation of the machine.
Lin is analogous to the instant application because the inventions provide a heating source of a beverage brewer that heats up the liquid inside of a container. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have substituted the known electromagnetic heating device taught by Li to incorporate the known heating tube taught by Lin to obtain a predictable result that includes a heating component and heating tube connected to a temperature controller taught by Lin, the heating and ultrasonic mechanism taught by Li, the kettle taught by Zuo-bin, the magnetic coupling to drive the mechanism taught by Shen, the installation position and guide mechanism taught by Ghalambor, and the magnetic plug and coupler taught by Wang.
Moreover, the artisan of ordinary skill in the art would be able to substitute the electromagnetic heating component and microcrystalline glass plate taught by Li to obtain a predictable result wherein the heating source for a container sits on a plate and is heated by a heating tube controlled through a temperature controller as taught by Lin.
Regarding Claim 6, Wang further teaches the cordless food processer also includes a heating device, wok or kettle that can be used interchangeably with the cup body; and that the heating device can be a heating plate mounted on the base, or a heating coil, or film ([0019], [0027], [0050]). Wang also teaches that the cup body (13) includes a sliding assembly (18) is provided between the base (111) and the cup body (131) of the cup body (13) for inserting and finally positioning the cup body in a horizontal straight-line direction ([0047]). The sliding assembly (18) includes a protrusion (181) protruding from the base (111) and a guide groove (182) formed at the bottom of the cup body (131) ([0047]). The protrusion is slidably embedded in the guide groove (182) and abuts against the cup body (13) at the end of the guide groove (182), achieving the final positioning function ([0047]).
While Wang doesn’t specify a shape for the guide groove and protrusion for the heating plate, and an ordinary skilled artisan would appreciate that the triangular shaped guide groove protrusion that adapts to the positioning protrusion as stated in Para. [0008] of the spec would accomplish the same function as the guide groove and protrusion of Wang, where the protrusion and guide groove of the sliding assembly are used to help the cup achieve a final position. See MPEP 2144.04-IV(B).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li, Zuo-Bin, Shen, Ghalambor, Wang in view of Wu (CN-110946463-A).
With regards to Claim 10, Li, Zuo-Bin, Shen, Ghalambor, Wang teach all of the claimed elements as previously mentioned but fails to specifically claims that the bottom of the base is provided with dissipation fans and heat dissipation holes.
Wu teaches (Figure 3) a water cooking machine that utilizes an electromagnetic heating module (2), which includes a heat dissipation fan, and a bottom shell (1) having air inlet holes on the bottom and air outlet holes in the side for heat dissipation ([0033]).
Wu and the instant application are analogous because both inventions teach devices that heat up a liquid using a heating component and actively cool the component with fans and heat dissipation holes. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the extraction device taught by Li, Zuo-Bin, Shen, Ghalambor, Wang to incorporate the heat dissipation fans and holes taught by Wu to provide a way to prevent overheating of a kitchen appliance.
Furthermore, it is well within the ordinary skill of an artisan to modify the ultrasonic extraction device taught by Li, Zuo-Bin, Shen, Ghalambor, Wang to incorporate heat dissipation fans and holes in the base of a kitchen appliance to cool the internal circuits and motors as well as prevent damage caused by excessive temperature caused by use of the kitchen appliance at boiling temperatures. An ordinary skilled artisan could have combined the ultrasonic soup cooker with the known improvement from the heat dissipation function of the electromagnetic heating module from the water cooking machine and would expect the functions to perform the same functions when combined into one kitchen heating appliance.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HUNTER G HEMMINGS/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 /EDWARD F LANDRUM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761