Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-15 and 24-26 in the reply filed on 11/3/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-8, and 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Roca et al. (US 2018/0104624 in IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Roca teaches a system comprising a continuous caster having a cooling zone comprising a plurality of spray nozzles configured to spray water (spray chamber and cooling zone); a water recycle system comprises at least a gravity settling tank, a filter, and a cooling tower (Fig. 1), wherein: the gravity settling tank (11) is fluidly connected to the cooling zone of the continuous caster, the gravity settling tank being configured to receive water from the cooling zone of the continuous caster after the water contacts the metal being cast and gravity separate the received water to provide a gravity separated water stream; the filter (sand filter) is downstream of the gravity settling tank and is configured to receive the gravity separated water stream and filter the gravity separated water stream to provide a filtered water stream; and the cooling tower is downstream of the filter and is configured to receive the filtered water and reduce a temperature of the filtered water stream through evaporative cooling to provide cooling water that is supplied to the plurality of spray nozzles of the continuous caster (Fig. 1); a plurality of sensors (“different stages of the system” [0059]) configured to measure at least one characteristic of a water sample subject to analysis, each of the plurality of sensors being fluidly connected at a different location in the water recycle system to measure the at least one characteristic of the water sample at each different location; a pump ([0066]) positioned to introduce a chemical additive into water in the water recycle system; and a controller ([0065]-[0066]) communicatively coupled to the plurality of sensors and the pump, the controller being configured to: receive data from each of the plurality of sensors indicative of the at least one characteristic of the water sample measured by each of the plurality of sensors; determine a composite water quality value based on the received data from each of the plurality of sensors; and control the pump to control addition of the chemical additive into the water based on the determine composite water quality value (Figs. 1-2, abstract, [0013], and [0044]-[0066]).
It is noted that Roca [0053] recites “the combined stream passing into a waste-water treatment area and potentially a sand filter for further treatment. The resulting stream may then be passed into a cooling tower for potential recycling back to the spray chamber.” Examiner is understanding said language to mean the system includes a wastewater treatment area/gravity settling tank (11) followed by a sand filter, then followed by a cooling tower consistent with the claims. It is noted that the order claimed can be inferred but it is not explicitly stated. However, providing the order of the system elements as claimed would merely be an obvious change in the sequence of method steps/apparatus elements (Ex parte Rubin, 128 USPQ 440 (Bd. App. 1959) (Prior art reference disclosing a process of making a laminated sheet wherein a base sheet is first coated with a metallic film and thereafter impregnated with a thermosetting material was held to render prima facie obvious claims directed to a process of making a laminated sheet by reversing the order of the prior art process steps.). See also In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946) (selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results); In re Gibson, 39 F.2d 975, 5 USPQ 230 (CCPA 1930) (Selection of any order of mixing ingredients is prima facie obvious.)).
Regarding claims 2-3 and 11, Roca [0059] recites “Monitoring board 26 monitors and integrates various parameters in the spray water at different stages of the system using a variety of sensors.” Given the finite elements/portions of the system, one skilled in the art would have found Roca either anticipates or obviates the placement of the sensors as claimed as each of the cited placements would be considered different stages of the system.
Regarding claims 5-7, it is submitted that the algorithms and models used to control and predict chemical addition rates would include weighing various factors based on sensor readings thereby producing a composite water quality value as claimed ([0037] and [0044]-[0066]).
Regarding claim 8, Roca teaches that the chemicals are added specifically when a measured property is outside an acceptable range/threshold value ([0013]).
Regarding claim 12, Roca teaches that the sensors include ORP, pH, conductivity, and/or ion concentration type sensors ([0044]).
Regarding claims 13-14, Roca teaches that flow sensors are used ([0044] and [0063]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roca et al. (US 2018/0104624 in IDS) in view of Shiner et al. (US 2016/0362307).
Regarding claim 4, as discussed in claims 2-3 above, the sensors would be placed at various points in the system, which would include sensors upstream and downstream of the spray nozzles. Roca fails to teach a strainer upstream of the spray nozzles. Shiner teaches providing a strainer basket directly upstream from the spray nozzles in order to prevent clogging of the spray nozzles ([0076]). As such, one skilled in the art would have found it obvious to provide a strainer basket as claimed in order to prevent clogging of the spray nozzles.
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roca et al. (US 2018/0104624 in IDS) in view of Suzuki et al. (US 2007/0114175).
Regarding claims 9-10, Roca broadly teaches that a sensor is used to measure turbidity but fails to specifically state the sensor is an optical sensor. Suzuki teaches that known sensors that measure turbidity would include optical sensors (0029]). As such, one skilled in the art would have found it obvious to use the specific optical sensor in Suzuki as the turbidity sensor in Roca as it is merely choosing a known turbidity sensor with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roca et al. (US 2018/0104624 in IDS).
Regarding claim 15, Roca teaches specific options for chemical addition points (Fig. 1 and [0054]). Roca fails to explicitly teach adding the chemicals to the gravity setline tank. It is Examiner’s position that changing the sequence of addition and treatment steps would have been an obvious matter to one skilled in the art (see claim 1 above).
Claim(s) 24-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roca et al. (US 2018/0104624 in IDS) in view of Junghanns et al. (US 2008/0314807).
Regarding claim 24, Roca teaches a system comprising a continuous caster having a cooling zone comprising a plurality of spray nozzles configured to spray water on a metal being cast; a water recycle system comprises at least a gravity settling tank, a filter, and a cooling tower, wherein: the gravity settling tank is fluidly connected to the cooling zone of the continuous caster, the gravity settling tank being configured to receive water from the cooling zone of the continuous caster after the water contacts the metal being cast and gravity separate the received water to provide a gravity separated water stream; the filter is downstream of the gravity settling tank and is configured to receive the gravity separated water stream and filter the gravity separated water stream to provide a filtered water stream; and the cooling tower is downstream of the filter and is configured to receive the filtered water and reduce a temperature of the filtered water stream through evaporative cooling to provide cooling water that is supplied to the plurality of spray nozzles of the continuous caster; a plurality of sensors configured to measure at least one characteristic of a water sample subject to analysis, each of the plurality of sensors being fluidly connected at a different location in the water recycle system to measure the at least one characteristic of the water sample at each different location; and one or more controllers configured to: receive data measured from each of the plurality of sensors indicative of the at least one characteristic of the water sample measured by each of the plurality of sensors; determine a composite water quality value based on the received data from each of the plurality of sensors (Figs. 1-2, abstract, [0013], [0037] and [0044]-[0066]).
Roca teaches the chemical addition is controlled via an automatic controller but fails to teach the data on water quality is provided to a display. Junghanns teaches that in systems where water is treated and the water quality parameters are sensed/monitored, it is known to atomically control the chemical addition pumps and also to provide the resulting data to a display in order to allow for an operator to monitor the system as well as an alarm when the parameters are outside a predetermined range ([0277]-[0282]). As such, it would have been obvious to provide a display in order to allow for an operator to monitor the levels and see where the issues are.
Regarding claim 25, Roca teaches that the process is controlled and monitored to ensure the water is within acceptable ranges/threshold values. Junghanns teaches that the display is controlled to show whether the water quality parameters are within a predetermined control range/threshold value.
Regarding claim 26, Junghanns teaches that the display would also include an alert/alarm when the water quality fails outside the threshold values ([0282]).
Conclusion
/PETER KEYWORTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1777