DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/08/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 06/08/2026 regarding the Shinoda reference have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s arguments that In Shinoda, each flow path has its own distinct orifice (111, 121, 131). In contrast, the presently claimed chip requires a single outlet (7) to which both the main inlet and secondary inlet are connected, producing a coaxial jet, the examiner disagrees. Both the main inlet (sample fluid inlet 115) and the at least one secondary inlet (sheath fluid inlet 114) converge into flow path 11 and exit from the same orifice 111 as shown in Fig. 9. Therefore, Shinoda provides a single outlet to which both the main inlet and secondary inlet are connected.
In response to applicant’s arguments that there is no division of the secondary channel into ducts of identical dimensions; there is no coaxial circular injection duct and the ducts do not join in an evenly distributed manner around a central axis Z, as recited in present claim 13 and its dependent claims, the examiner disagrees. As acknowledged by applicant, the sheath fluid inlet 114 splits bidirectionally. The bidirectional split creates two ducts of identical dimensions that join in an evenly distributed manner around a central Z-axis. This is shown in at least Figs. 8 and 9. As to the bidirectional ducts being configured as a circular coaxial, the examiner maintains that the shape of a device component has been held to be a matter of design choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed injection duct was significant. See MPEP §2144.04 (IV)(B).
Therefore, absent unexpected results, one having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to make such a change as a mere alternative and functionally equivalent injection duct shape and since the same expected fluid flow would have been achieved. The use of alternative and functionally equivalent shapes would have been desirable to those of ordinary skill in the art based on the desired device configuration. Therefore, Shinoda as modified meets the claim.
In response to applicant’s arguments that Shinoda’s microchip is fabricated by wet etching or dry etching of a glass substrate, then sealing with another substrate. This is characteristic of conventional 2D microfluidic chips where the architecture can be described by a discrete number of parallel planes. In contrast, present claim 13 and its dependent claims recite a truly three-dimensional geometry that "cannot be complete in less than three two- dimensional planes" and is obtained by selective laser etching (subtractive 3D printing), it appears that applicant is trying to limit the teachings of Shinoda. Shinoda discloses in paragraph 92, The formation of the flow path 11 and the like on the microchip 1 can be carried out by wet etching or dry etching of a glass substrate, or nanoimprint, injection molding, and mechanical processing of a plastic substrate. In other words, Shinoda is not limited to wet etching or dry etching of a glass substrate. Nanoimprinting and injection molding are well known techniques that can be used to create three-dimensional microfluidic structures. Furthermore, Shinoda shows a three-dimensional flow path 11 alongside an x-y-z axis indicator, shown in at least Figs. 5, 7, 9, 11 and 12. Therefore, the examiner maintains that Shinoda discloses a three-dimensional geometry of the main and secondary channels.
In response to applicant’s arguments regarding the shape of the secondary ducts, MPEP 2144.04 states that in the absence of a showing of criticality of a limitation or an unexpected results, the examiner may rely on the case law or rationale used by the court such as the ones discussed in MPEP 2144.04 (I-VII) as supporting rationale for various common practices (such as change in shape; see MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(B)) of which the court has considered/held to be routine expedients to one of ordinary skill in the art. In the instant case, the applicant has not provided any evidence of criticality of the secondary ducts being coaxial circular.
Thus, absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed secondary ducts were significant, one having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to make such a change as a mere alternative and functionally equivalent secondary duct shape and since the same expected fluid flow would have been achieved. The use of alternative and functionally equivalent shapes would have been desirable to those of ordinary skill in the art based on the desired device configuration. Therefore, Shinoda as modified meets the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13-15 and 17-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinoda US 2016/0121280.
Regarding claim 13, Shinoda discloses a fluidic chip (microchip 1) composed of a body comprising: a main inlet (sample fluid inlet 115) and at least one secondary inlet (sheath fluid inlet 114) not coaxial to the main inlet, each main and secondary inlet being configured to receive a substance and an outlet, the main inlet being connected to the outlet (orifice 111) by a main channel (flow path 11) comprising a substantially rectilinear portion defining a central axis Z for the fluidic chip as shown in at least Fig. 9 reproduced below, the secondary inlet also being connected to the outlet by a secondary channel, wherein the secondary channel is divided into at least two secondary ducts having identical dimensions as shown in at least Fig. 9 reproduced below (Further, the sheath fluid introduced into the sheath fluid inlet 114 first splits bidrectionally in the positive and negative directions on the Y axis from the sheath fluid inlet 114 to be fed, and then turns twice at almost 90 degrees to join at the position where the minute pipe 116 is provided. [0094]; The minute pipe 116 introduces the sample fluid that has been introduced from the sample fluid inlet 115 into a sheath fluid laminar flow flowing through the flow path 11 after the confluence. [0095]; The sample fluid and sheath fluid that have passed the detection portion F are discharged outside the flow path 11 from the orifice 111 opened at one side of the microchip 1. [0096]) which joins in an injection duct with the main channel in an evenly distributed manner around the central axis Z. See at least paragraphs 94-110. Also see whole document.
Shinoda also discloses the use of nanoimprinting and injection molding which are well known techniques that can be used to create three-dimensional microfluidic structures. Furthermore, Shinoda shows a three-dimensional flow path 11 alongside an x-y-z axis indicator, shown in at least Figs. 5, 7, 9, 11 and 12. Therefore, Shinoda discloses a three-dimensional geometry of the main and secondary channels.
Shinoda does not explicitly disclose wherein the injection duct and/or secondary ducts are a coaxial circular shape.
However, the shape of a device component has been held to be a matter of design choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed injection duct was significant. See MPEP §2144.04 (IV)(B).
Therefore, one having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to make such a change as a mere alternative and functionally equivalent injection duct and/or secondary duct(s) shape and since the same expected fluid flow would have been achieved. The use of alternative and functionally equivalent shapes would have been desirable to those of ordinary skill in the art based on the desired device configuration.
Regarding claim 14, even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production (obtained by a subtractive printing technique on glass). If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” See MPEP § 2113.
Regarding claim 15, Shinoda discloses wherein the body comprises an upper face comprising the main inlet and at least the secondary inlet as shown in at least Fig. 9. Shinoda discloses also implicitly discloses a lower face opposite the upper face. However, the outlet of Shinoda is not located on the lower face.
Absent unexpected results, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide the outlet on the lower face of the body, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP §2144.04 (VI-C).
Regarding claim 17, the fluidic chip of Shinoda appears to be compact along the outlet axis as shown in at least Figs. 9 and 12.
Regarding claim 18, the secondary channel of Shinoda is capable of being separated in a first separation on an ordinate B of the central axis Z and separated in a second separation at an ordinate D of the central axis Z, thus defining four secondary ducts of the same length.
Further, absent unexpected results, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide a plurality of secondary ducts, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP §2144.04 (VI-B).
Regarding claim 19, Shinoda does not explicitly disclose wherein the secondary channel comprises at least one rectilinear shaped portion opening at a center of a portion in the shape of an arc of a circle extending in a plane perpendicular to the central axis Z.
However, the shape of a device component has been held to be a matter of design choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed opening of the secondary channel was significant. See MPEP §2144.04 (IV)(B).
Therefore, one having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to make such a change as a mere alternative and functionally equivalent opening shape and since the same expected fluid flow would have been achieved. The use of alternative and functionally equivalent shapes would have been desirable to those of ordinary skill in the art based on the desired device configuration.
Regarding claim 20, Shinoda discloses a first (inlet 124) and a second secondary inlet (inlet 134) connected respectively to a first and a second secondary channel (flow paths 12 and 13 respectively). See [0099].
Shinoda does not explicitly disclose the first secondary channel comprising a portion having a shape of an arc of a circle of a first diameter relative to a central axis extending in a plane perpendicular to the central axis, and the second secondary channel comprising a portion having a shape of an arc of a circle of a second diameter relative to the central axis extending in a plane perpendicular to the central axis, with the first diameter being smaller than the second diameter.
However, the shape of a device component has been held to be a matter of design choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed first secondary channel portion and second secondary channel portion was significant. See MPEP §2144.04 (IV)(B).
Therefore, one having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to make such a change as a mere alternative and functionally equivalent first secondary channel portion shape and second secondary channel portion shape and since the same expected fluid flow would have been achieved. The use of alternative and functionally equivalent shapes would have been desirable to those of ordinary skill in the art based on the desired device configuration.
Further, since providing a first diameter being smaller than the second diameter would only require a mere change in the size (or dimension) of a component which is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, a mere change in size or dimension of the device, i.e. depth, would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Furthermore, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device, and the device having the claimed dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device. See MPEP §2144.04 (IV)(A).
Regarding claim 21, Shinoda does not explicitly disclose wherein the first and the second secondary channels each comprise two circular arc-shaped portions at two different ordinates from the central axis Z, thus each defining four secondary ducts having a same length.
However, the shape of a device component has been held to be a matter of design choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed first secondary channel portion and second secondary channel portion was significant. See MPEP §2144.04 (IV)(B).
Therefore, one having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to make such a change as a mere alternative and functionally equivalent first secondary channel portion shape and second secondary channel portion shape and since the same expected fluid flow would have been achieved. The use of alternative and functionally equivalent shapes would have been desirable to those of ordinary skill in the art based on the desired device configuration.
Further, absent unexpected results, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide two circular arc-shaped portions at two different ordinates from the central axis Z, thus each defining four secondary ducts having a same length, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP §2144.04 (VI-B).
Regarding claim 22, Shinoda does not explicitly disclose wherein the main channel comprises four main ducts having a same length.
However, absent unexpected results, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide four main ducts having a same length, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP §2144.04 (VI-B).
Regarding claim 23, Shinoda does not explicitly disclose wherein each main and secondary channel comprises a circle-shaped portion opening onto the outlet, each circle- shaped portion being concentric.
However, the shape of a device component has been held to be a matter of design choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the main and secondary channel portion was significant. See MPEP §2144.04 (IV)(B).
Therefore, one having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to make such a change as a mere alternative and functionally equivalent main and secondary channel portion shape and since the same expected fluid flow would have been achieved. The use of alternative and functionally equivalent shapes would have been desirable to those of ordinary skill in the art based on the desired device configuration.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 24 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LYDIA EDWARDS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1796