CTNF 18/347,149 CTNF 95538 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement 06-52 The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05 July 2023 and 13 May 2024 were filed prior to the mailing date of this office correspondence. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim s 1, 10 and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities: In claim 1, lines 10-12 and claim 11, lines 13-15 : “an device adhesion layer below the transparent layer; and a reflective pattern provided above or below the transparent substrate and the transparent layer.” should read: -- a device adhesion layer below the transparent layer; and reflective pattern provided above or below the transparent substrate and the transparent layer. -- Note: a reflective pattern…transparent substrate and the transparent layer ( see the emphasized limitations) . In claim 10, line 6 : “an concave lens” should read: -- a concave lens -- Appropriate correction is required. 07-30-03-h AIA Claim Interpretation This application includes one or more claim limitations, that do not use the word “means,” but uses a generic placeholder “bonding plate” that is coupled with functional language “configured to” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) are: “a bonding plate provided between the laser light source and the stage and configured to provide the devices on the substrate” in claim 1 and “a bonding plate provided on the stage and configured to provide devices on the substrate” in claim 11 . Given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification, the claim element “and configured to provide devices on the substrate” has been interpreted as and is adapted to transfer the devices onto the substrate , or the like. See, line 3 recites “devices on the substrate”, which deemed to read as the devices are present on the substrate. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liao (US 20220238358) in view of Jung (KR 20220076825) . [AltContent: arrow] [AltContent: textbox (stage)] [AltContent: ] [AltContent: textbox (transparent layer)] [AltContent: textbox (homogenizer)] [AltContent: ] [AltContent: textbox (transparent substrate)] [AltContent: arrow] PNG media_image1.png 478 791 media_image1.png Greyscale Annotated Fig. 10, Liao. Regarding claim 1, Liao teaches, a bonding apparatus (device D, Fig. 10) comprising: a stage (substrate mounting module M1, see annotated Fig. 10) configured to accommodate a substrate (circuit substrate P); a laser light source (laser generating module M3) configured to provide laser light to devices on the substrate; and a bonding plate (mounting main body 1 or chip transferring module M2, Fig. 10) provided between the laser light source and the stage (substrate mounting module M1 is for mounting a circuit substrate P, the chip transferring module M2 is for transferring a plurality of chips C onto the circuit substrate P, para. [0033]) and configured to provide the devices on the substrate, wherein the bonding plate comprises: a transparent substrate (light-transmitting substrate S, Fig. 10, para. [0036]); a transparent layer (see annotated Fig. 10 above) below the transparent substrate ( though adhesive layer H is below the transparent substrate, the adhesive layer can be optically transparent, see Jung if applicant disagrees ); a[[n]] device adhesion layer (adhesive layer H) below the transparent layer (see Fig. 10). [AltContent: textbox (reflective pattern)] [AltContent: arrow] PNG media_image2.png 328 559 media_image2.png Greyscale Annotated Fig. 1, Jung. Liao does not teach a reflective pattern. However, Jung teaches in Fig. 1, a stage 145 configured to accommodate a substrate 123, a transparent substrate 131, transparent layer below the transparent substrate; a device adhesion layer 122 below the transparent layer, in which, a reflective pattern provided above or below the transparent substrate and the transparent layer (reflective pattern 132 may be printed on the base substrate 131, see annotated Fig. 1 above and Fig. 12, para. [0050]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have thought that a simple substitution of transparent substrate S of Liao with a reflection pattern 132 printed substrate 131 of Jung would improve the optical alignment between the devices and the substrate. Therefore, in view of the teachings of Jung, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the bonding apparatus of Liao and to include a reflective pattern onto the light transmitting substrate S and the transparent layer so that it enables optical recognition and alignment of components from the multiple reflections of the laser light. Moreover, there is no indication in the instant invention that any surprising results were derived, or that any special steps were devised in the recited reflective pattern. Such a combination would have been done by one of ordinary skill in the art without any need for experimentation and with reasonable expectations of success. Regarding claim 2, modified Liao does not teach, a reflective pattern. However, Jung further teaches, the bonding apparatus of claim 1, wherein the reflective pattern comprises an upper reflective pattern provided above the transparent substrate (the reflective pattern 132 may be placed on the upper surface of the base substrate 131, see Fig. 12, para. [0050]). Please also refer to the rationale for combination regarding claim 1, as it is applicable to claim 2 in the same manner. Regarding claim 3, modified Liao does not teach, a reflective pattern. However, Jung further teaches the bonding apparatus of claim 2, wherein the reflective pattern further comprises a lower reflective pattern aligned with the upper reflective pattern and provided below the transparent layer (the reflective pattern 132 may be placed on the upper surface of the base substrate 131, or may be placed on both the upper and lower surfaces of the base substrate 131, Fig. 12, para. [0050]). Please also refer to the rationale for combination regarding claim 1, as it is applicable to claim 3 in the same manner . 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liao in view of Jung as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim (US 20200091108) . [AltContent: textbox (optical system)] [AltContent: arrow] PNG media_image3.png 477 432 media_image3.png Greyscale Annotated Fig. 12, Kim. Regarding claim 10, modified Liao does not teach, the recited limitations. However, Kim teaches, a laser bonding device including a laser light source, in which, the bonding apparatus of claim 1, further comprising an optical system between the laser light source and the bonding plate, wherein the optical system (optical system in Fig. 12) comprises: an optical block (beam transmission optical fiber, 410, see annotated Fig. 12 above) configured to receive the laser light from the laser light source (para. 0109]); a[[n]] concave lens (concave lens 440) between the optical block and the bonding plate; and a convex lens (convex lens 420) between the concave lens and the bonding plate. Therefore, in view of the teachings of Kim, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the bonding apparatus of Liao and to include an optical system as Kim taught in Fig. 12 so that it enables to enlarge the light source emitted from an imaging surface to a desired size in the form of an enlarged area light source as Kim disclosed in para. [0109] . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 8-9, 11-13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liao in view of Jung and further in view of Chen (US 20190348392) . Regarding claim 8, Liao modified in view of Jung does not teach, a camera. However, Chen teaches, a boing apparatus including a stage 622 in Fig. 8 including laser light source 802, a bonding plate comprising a transparent substrate, in which , the bonding apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a camera (cameras 702, see annotated Fig. 8 below) provided on the bonding plate to align the devices below the bonding plate with the substrate. Therefore, in view of the teachings of Chen, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the bonding apparatus of Liao and to include a camera 702 as Chen taught in Fig. 8 so that it enables to acquire images of the reflective patterns or fiducial marks for the optical recognition. Regarding claim 9, Chen further teaches, the bonding apparatus of claim 8, further comprising a mirror (mirrors 1018, 1020, Fig. 10) provided at a side of the camera facing the laser light source to reflect the laser light to the bonding plate (see Fig. 10). Therefore, in view of the teachings of Chen, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the bonding apparatus of Liao and to include a mirror as Chen taught in Fig. 10 so that it enables to acquire images of the reflective patterns or fiducial marks for the optical recognition. Regarding claim 11, Liao teaches, a bonding apparatus (device D, see annotated Fig. 10) comprising: a stage (substrate mounting module M1, Fig. 10) configured to accommodate a substrate; a bonding plate (mounting main body 1 or chip transferring module M2, Fig. 10) provided on the stage and configured to provide devices on the substrate; a laser light source (laser generating module M3) provided at one side of the camera to provide laser light to the bonding plate; and a homogenizer (light-transmitting member 2, see annotated Fig. 10 and the Note below ) provided between the camera and the bonding plate to provide the laser light to the bonding plate, wherein the bonding plate comprises: a transparent substrate (light-transmitting substrate S, Fig. 10, para. [0036]); a transparent layer (see annotated Fig. 10) below the transparent substrate; a[[n]] device adhesion layer (adhesion layer H) below the transparent layer. [AltContent: textbox (camera)] [AltContent: arrow] PNG media_image4.png 421 489 media_image4.png Greyscale Annotated Fig. 8, Chen. Liao does not teach a camera or a reflective pattern. However, Chen teaches a boing apparatus including a stage 622 in Fig. 8 including laser light source 802, a bonding plate comprising a transparent substrate, in which, a camera (cameras 702, Fig. 8) provided on the bonding plate. Therefore, in view of the teachings of Chen, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the bonding apparatus of Liao and to include a camera 702 as Chen taught in Fig. 8 so that it enables to acquire images of the reflective patterns or fiducial marks for the optical recognition. Modified Liao in view of Chen does not teach a reflective pattern. However Jung teaches in Fig. 1, a stage 145 configured to accommodate a substrate 123, a transparent substrate 131, transparent layer below the transparent substrate; a device adhesion layer 122 below the transparent layer, in which, a reflective pattern provided above or below the transparent substrate and the transparent layer (reflective pattern 132 may be printed on the base substrate 131, Fig. 1, para. [0050]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have thought that a simple substitution of transparent substrate S of Liao with a reflection pattern 132 printed substrate 131 of Jung would improve the optical alignment between the devices and the substrate. Therefore, in view of the teachings of Jung, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the bonding apparatus of Liao and to include a reflective pattern onto the light transmitting substrate S and the transparent layer so that it enables optical alignment and recognition from the multiple reflections of the laser light. Note: claim fails to define a homogenizer. Therefore, Liao’s light-transmitting member 2 meets the limitation. Regarding claim 12, Liao in view of Jung and Chen teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 11. Jung further teaches, the bonding apparatus of claim 11, wherein the bonding plate further comprises an upper alignment pattern (first reflection pattern 332 and the second reflection pattern 333 are respectively arranged on the lower and upper surfaces of the base substrate 331, see annotated Fig. 12 below, para. [0115], claim fails to define the alignment pattern. Therefore, the reflective pattern 333 of Jung reads the limitation ) provided outside the reflective pattern and aligned with the substrate. Therefore, in view of the teachings of Jung, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the bonding apparatus of Liao and to include a reflective pattern onto the light transmitting substrate S and the transparent layer so that it enables optical recognition and alignment of components from the multiple reflections of the laser light. [AltContent: textbox (upper alignment pattern)] [AltContent: arrow] PNG media_image5.png 339 562 media_image5.png Greyscale Annotated Fig. 12, Jung. Regarding claim 13, Liao in view of Jung and Chen teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 11. Lio further teaches, the bonding apparatus of claim 12, wherein the stage is provided outside the substrate (see Fig. 10). Jung further teaches, a lower alignment pattern below the upper alignment pattern (reflective pattern 332, see Fig. 12). Please also refer to the rationale for combination regarding claim 12, as it is applicable to claim 13 in the same manner. Regarding claim 20, Liao in view of Jung and Chen teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 11. Chen further teaches, the bonding apparatus of claim 11, wherein the laser light source is provided in plurality (see laser beams 802 and beam spot size S’ in Fig. 8, para. [0033]). Therefore, in view of the teachings of Chen, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the bonding apparatus of Liao and to programmable laser beam as Chen taught in Fig. 8 so that it enables to acquire images of the reflective patterns by precisely targeting the specific devices as Chen disclosed in para. [0033] . 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liao in view of Jung and Chen as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Yoshihiro (JP 2008084881) . [AltContent: textbox (ultrasonic generator)] [AltContent: arrow] PNG media_image6.png 678 568 media_image6.png Greyscale Annotated Fig. 4, Yoshihiro. Regarding claim 18, modified Liao does not teach, an ultrasonic generator connected to the stage. However, Yoshihiro teaches a bonding inspection apparatus including a stage 31 in Fig. 4, a laser light 35, in which, the bonding apparatus of claim 11, further comprising an ultrasonic generator (ultrasonic vibrator 33, Fig. 4) connected to the stage to provide ultrasonic waves to the substrate (stage 31 is vibrated while sweeping the vibration frequency, and the vibration is transmitted to the semiconductor device 10, see Fig. 4, para. [0046]). Therefore, in view of the teachings of Yoshihiro, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the bonding apparatus of Liao and to include an ultrasonic generator 33 connected to the stage 31 as Yoshihiro taught in Fig. 4 so that it enables bonding and inspecting the bond while bonding electronic device to a substrate . 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liao in view of Jung and Chen as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Kim . Regarding claim 10, modified Liao does not teach, an optical system. However, Kim further teaches the bonding apparatus of claim 11, further comprising an optical system (optical system, Fig. 12) between the laser light source and the bonding plate. Therefore, in view of the teachings of Kim, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the bonding apparatus of Liao and to include an optical system as Kim taught in Fig. 12 so that it enables to enlarge the light source emitted from an imaging surface to a desired size in the form of an enlarged area light source as Kim disclosed in para. [0109]. Allowable Subject Matter Claims 4, 6 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claims 5, 7 and 15-17 are allowable by virtue of its dependency. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for indicating allowable subject matter: Claim 4 would be allowable for disclosing a bonding apparatus, wherein the reflective pattern further comprises a middle reflective pattern aligned with the upper reflective pattern and the lower reflective pattern and provided between the transparent substrate and the transparent layer. Claim 6 would be allowable for disclosing a bonding apparatus, wherein the transparent substrate comprises an upper protrusion provided within the upper reflective pattern. Claim 14 would be allowable for disclosing a bonding apparatus, wherein the reflective pattern comprises: an upper reflective pattern provided above the transparent substrate; a lower reflective pattern aligned with the upper reflective pattern and provided below the transparent layer; and a middle reflective pattern aligned with the upper reflective pattern and the lower reflective pattern and provided between the transparent substrate and the transparent layer. Though, prior art of record Jung teaches first reflection pattern 332 and the second reflection pattern 333 are respectively arranged on the lower and upper surfaces of the base substrate 331, Jung fails to teach the reflective pattern further comprises a middle reflective pattern aligned with the upper reflective pattern and the lower reflective pattern and provided between the transparent substrate and the transparent layer; or the transparent substrate comprises an upper protrusion provided within the upper reflective pattern. Though, prior art Chen teaches patterns formed on a transparent substrate, Chen does not teach a reflective pattern, or a middle reflective pattern aligned with the upper reflective pattern and the lower reflective pattern and provided between the transparent substrate and the transparent layer; or the transparent substrate comprises an upper protrusion provided within the upper reflective pattern. Prior art Liao or Kim or Yoshihiro does not teach a reflective pattern, or the transparent substrate comprises an upper protrusion provided within the upper reflective pattern. Therefore, claims 4, 6 and 14 would be allowable. Claims 5, 7 and 15-17 would be allowable by virtue of its dependency. 13-03 Any comments considered necessary by applicant must be submitted no later than the payment of the issue fee and, to avoid processing delays, should preferably accompany the issue fee. Such submissions should be clearly labeled “Comments on Statement of Reasons for Allowance.” Conclusion Prior art Yanagawa (US 20210151354) teaches a bonding apparatus including a laser light source, a bonding plate comprising a transparent plate. Prior art Lin (US 20200023479) teaches a bonding apparatus including a light source, a bonding plate comprising a transparent plate. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JOSE K. ABRAHAM whose telephone number is (571)270-1087. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 8:30-4:30 EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, THOMAS J. HONG can be reached at (571) 272-0993. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /JOSE K ABRAHAM/Examiner, Art Unit 3729 Application/Control Number: 18/347,149 Page 2 Art Unit: 3729 Application/Control Number: 18/347,149 Page 3 Art Unit: 3729 Application/Control Number: 18/347,149 Page 4 Art Unit: 3729 Application/Control Number: 18/347,149 Page 5 Art Unit: 3729 Application/Control Number: 18/347,149 Page 6 Art Unit: 3729 Application/Control Number: 18/347,149 Page 7 Art Unit: 3729 Application/Control Number: 18/347,149 Page 8 Art Unit: 3729 Application/Control Number: 18/347,149 Page 9 Art Unit: 3729 Application/Control Number: 18/347,149 Page 10 Art Unit: 3729 Application/Control Number: 18/347,149 Page 11 Art Unit: 3729 Application/Control Number: 18/347,149 Page 12 Art Unit: 3729 Application/Control Number: 18/347,149 Page 13 Art Unit: 3729 Application/Control Number: 18/347,149 Page 14 Art Unit: 3729 Application/Control Number: 18/347,149 Page 15 Art Unit: 3729