DETAILED ACTION
2. This Office Action responds to the Application filed on 7/5/2023 and IDS filed on 7/5/2023 and 7/11/2023.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 9-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Minev et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0036226 A1).
As per claim 1, Minev discloses:
A layout generation method, comprising:
determining a quantum device type (See Para [0021]-[0022], i.e. ; QComponent—a class that represents a physical quantum device circuit …A QComponent can comprise relevant design values, See Para [0094], i.e. plement an analysis of one or more original QGeometries, QComponents, QDesigns)
acquiring an original script corresponding to the quantum device type, wherein a device parameter is defined in the original script (See Para [0091]-[0094], i.e. scripting interface 406a and/or use a GUI 406b of system 400 to design, analyze, and/or modify one or more QGeometrie, See Para [0103]-[0105], i.e. each of the QGeometry tables 604 can store primitive common base attributes for all the QGeometry, See Para [0107], i.e. creating QComponents representing desired circuit layouts, composed of multiple QGeometries… using scripting interface 406a…; retrieval of one or more QGeometries stored in QGeometry library)
acquiring a target value of the device parameter (See Para [0109]-[0110], i.e. editing a QDesign by a user via a GUI or code. For example, front-end user 402a can create such a QDesign as described above with reference to FIG. 4 by using scripting interface 406a…translating a QGeometry of a QDesign natively into a desired simulation software with appropriate parameters –[user adjust the design, considered as the acquiring target value as cited above]);
assigning the target value to the device parameter to obtain a target script of a target quantum device corresponding to the quantum device type (See Para [0109]-[0110], i.e. editing a QDesign by a user via a GUI or code. For example, front-end user 402a can create such a QDesign as described above with reference to FIG. 4 by using scripting interface 406a…translating a QGeometry of a QDesign natively into a desired simulation software with appropriate parameters [prior art teach the user edit the design, adjusting of values, and simulation with adjusted value is considered as the assigning of the target value as cited above]); and
generating, based on the target script, a quantum chip layout comprising the target quantum device (See Para [0110]-[0115], i.e. IC layout renderer such as, for instance, IC layout renderer 310c described above with reference to FIG. 3) can translate one or more QGeometries, QComponents, QDesigns, and/or associated parameters described above into a defined format of a fabrication application…generating a mask from resulting file, See Figure 7A, i.e. 710a, 712a, 714a, 716a – mask is generated).
As per claim 2, Minev discloses all of the features of claim 1 as discloses above wherein Minev also discloses wherein determining the quantum device type comprises: acquiring a fuzzy structure of a quantum device; and determining the quantum device type based on the fuzzy structure (See Para [0091]-[0094], i.e. scripting interface 406a and/or use a GUI 406b of system 400 to design, analyze, and/or modify one or more QGeometrie, See Para [0103]-[0105], i.e. each of the QGeometry tables 604 can store primitive common base attributes for all the QGeometry, See Para [0107], i.e. creating QComponents representing desired circuit layouts, composed of multiple QGeometries… using scripting interface 406a…; retrieval of one or more QGeometries stored in QGeometry library –[prior art use QGeometries considered as the acquiring of the fuzzy structure as cited above]).
As per claim 3, Minev discloses all of the features of claim 1 as discloses above wherein Minev also discloses wherein acquiring the original script corresponding to the quantum device type comprises: acquiring a general-purpose script, wherein a type parameter of a device type is defined in the general-purpose script; and assigning the quantum device type to the type parameter to obtain the original script corresponding to the quantum device type (See Para [0091]-[0094], i.e. scripting interface 406a and/or use a GUI 406b of system 400 to design, analyze, and/or modify one or more QGeometrie, See Para [0103]-[0105], i.e. each of the QGeometry tables 604 can store primitive common base attributes for all the QGeometry, See Para [0107], i.e. creating QComponents representing desired circuit layouts, composed of multiple QGeometries… using scripting interface 406a…; retrieval of one or more QGeometries stored in QGeometry library).
As per claim 4, Minev discloses all of the features of claim 1 as discloses above wherein Minev also discloses wherein acquiring the target value of the device parameter comprises: determining, when the device parameter comprises a geometric parameter and an action parameter, a geometric parameter type comprised in the geometric parameter and an action parameter type comprised in the action parameter respectively; acquiring a geometric parameter value corresponding to the geometric parameter type and an action parameter value corresponding to the action parameter type respectively; and using the geometric parameter value and the action parameter value as the target value (See Para [0109]-[0110], i.e. editing a QDesign by a user via a GUI or code. For example, front-end user 402a can create such a QDesign as described above with reference to FIG. 4 by using scripting interface 406a…translating a QGeometry of a QDesign natively into a desired simulation software with appropriate parameters, See Figure 5 and Para [0100]-[0102]).
As per claim 5, Minev discloses all of the features of claim 1 as discloses above wherein Minev also discloses wherein when there are a plurality of quantum device types, the plurality of quantum device types correspond to a plurality of target quantum devices, and generating, based on the target script, the quantum chip layout comprising the target quantum device comprises: acquiring an arrangement relationship between the plurality of target quantum devices; and generating, based on target scripts of the plurality of target quantum devices and the arrangement relationship, the quantum chip layout comprising the plurality of target quantum devices (See Para [0091]-[0094], i.e. scripting interface 406a and/or use a GUI 406b of system 400 to design, analyze, and/or modify one or more QGeometrie, See Para [0103]-[0105], i.e. each of the QGeometry tables 604 can store primitive common base attributes for all the QGeometry, See Para [0107], i.e. creating QComponents representing desired circuit layouts, composed of multiple QGeometries… using scripting interface 406a…; retrieval of one or more QGeometries stored in QGeometry library –[prior art generate quantum layout therefore include arrangement relationship (See Figure 2) ]).
As per claim 9, Minev discloses all of the features of claim 1 as discloses above wherein Minev also discloses receiving a layout drawing instruction; and calling, in response to the layout drawing instruction, a third-party drawing application to draw the quantum chip layout (See Para [0110]-[0115], i.e. IC layout renderer such as, for instance, IC layout renderer 310c described above with reference to FIG. 3) can translate one or more QGeometries, QComponents, QDesigns, and/or associated parameters described above into a defined format of a fabrication application…generating a mask from resulting file, See Figure 7A, i.e. 710a, 712a, 714a, 716a – mask is generated).
As per claim 10, Minev discloses all of the features of claim 1 as discloses above wherein Minev also discloses wherein the quantum device comprises at least one of the following: Fluxonium quantum bits, a quantum port, a ground plane, a coplanar waveguide, or a quantum component constructed based on Fluxonium quantum bits (See Para [0017], i.e. coplanar waveguide (CPW)).
As per claim 11, Minev discloses all of the features of claim 1 as discloses above wherein Minev also discloses wherein determining the quantum device type comprises: receiving a generation request for a quantum chip layout on a script interface; and determining the quantum device type in response to the generation request; acquiring the original script corresponding to the quantum device type comprises: displaying the original script corresponding to the quantum device type on the script interface; acquiring the target value of the device parameter comprises: receiving the target value of the device parameter input on the script interface; assigning the target value to the device parameter to obtain the target script of the target quantum device corresponding to the quantum device type comprises: receiving a layout generation instruction on the script interface; and assigning, in response to the layout generation instruction, the target value to the device parameter to obtain the target script of the target quantum device corresponding to the quantum device type; and after generating, based on the target script, the quantum chip layout comprising the target quantum device, the method further comprises: displaying the quantum chip layout on a predetermined display interface (See Para [0091]-[0094], i.e. scripting interface 406a and/or use a GUI 406b of system 400 to design, analyze, and/or modify one or more QGeometrie, See Para [0103]-[0105], i.e. each of the QGeometry tables 604 can store primitive common base attributes for all the QGeometry, See Para [0107], i.e. creating QComponents representing desired circuit layouts, composed of multiple QGeometries… using scripting interface 406a…; retrieval of one or more QGeometries stored in QGeometry library –[prior art include graphical user interface for user to edit script for quantum layout, considered as the teaching of the above limitations of the claim]).
As per claim 12, Minev discloses:
A non-transitory computer readable medium that stores a set of instructions that is executable by one or more processors of an apparatus to cause the apparatus to perform operations (See Figure 1, i.e. memory 104) comprising:
determining a quantum device type (See Para [0021]-[0022], i.e. ; QComponent—a class that represents a physical quantum device circuit …A QComponent can comprise relevant design values, See Para [0094], i.e. plement an analysis of one or more original QGeometries, QComponents, QDesigns);
acquiring an original script corresponding to the quantum device type, wherein a device parameter is defined in the original script (See Para [0091]-[0094], i.e. scripting interface 406a and/or use a GUI 406b of system 400 to design, analyze, and/or modify one or more QGeometrie, See Para [0103]-[0105], i.e. each of the QGeometry tables 604 can store primitive common base attributes for all the QGeometry, See Para [0107], i.e. creating QComponents representing desired circuit layouts, composed of multiple QGeometries… using scripting interface 406a…; retrieval of one or more QGeometries stored in QGeometry library);
acquiring a target value of the device parameter (See Para [0109]-[0110], i.e. editing a QDesign by a user via a GUI or code. For example, front-end user 402a can create such a QDesign as described above with reference to FIG. 4 by using scripting interface 406a…translating a QGeometry of a QDesign natively into a desired simulation software with appropriate parameters –[user adjust the design, considered as the acquiring target value as cited above]);
assigning the target value to the device parameter to obtain a target script of a target quantum device corresponding to the quantum device type (See Para [0109]-[0110], i.e. editing a QDesign by a user via a GUI or code. For example, front-end user 402a can create such a QDesign as described above with reference to FIG. 4 by using scripting interface 406a…translating a QGeometry of a QDesign natively into a desired simulation software with appropriate parameters [prior art teach the user edit the design, adjusting of values, and simulation with adjusted value is considered as the assigning of the target value as cited above]); and
generating, based on the target script, a quantum chip layout comprising the target quantum device (See Para [0110]-[0115], i.e. IC layout renderer such as, for instance, IC layout renderer 310c described above with reference to FIG. 3) can translate one or more QGeometries, QComponents, QDesigns, and/or associated parameters described above into a defined format of a fabrication application…generating a mask from resulting file, See Figure 7A, i.e. 710a, 712a, 714a, 716a – mask is generated).
As per claim 13, Minev discloses all of the features of claim 12 as discloses above wherein Minev also discloses wherein the operations further comprise: receiving a generation request for the quantum chip layout on a script interface; determining the quantum device type in response to the generation request, and displaying an original script corresponding to the quantum device type on the script interface; receiving the target value of the device parameter input on the script interface; receiving a layout generation instruction on the script interface; assigning, in response to the layout generation instruction, the target value to the device parameter to obtain the target script of a target quantum device corresponding to the quantum device type; generating, based on the target script, the quantum chip layout comprising the target quantum device; and displaying the quantum chip layout on a predetermined display interface (See Para [0091]-[0094], i.e. scripting interface 406a and/or use a GUI 406b of system 400 to design, analyze, and/or modify one or more QGeometrie, See Para [0103]-[0105], i.e. each of the QGeometry tables 604 can store primitive common base attributes for all the QGeometry, See Para [0107], i.e. creating QComponents representing desired circuit layouts, composed of multiple QGeometries… using scripting interface 406a…; retrieval of one or more QGeometries stored in QGeometry library –[prior art include graphical user interface for user to edit script for quantum layout, considered as the teaching of the above limitations of the claim]).
As per claim 14, Minev discloses all of the features of claim 12 as discloses above wherein Minev also discloses wherein the operations further comprise: acquiring a fuzzy structure of a quantum device; and determining the quantum device type based on the fuzzy structure (See Para [0091]-[0094], i.e. scripting interface 406a and/or use a GUI 406b of system 400 to design, analyze, and/or modify one or more QGeometrie, See Para [0103]-[0105], i.e. each of the QGeometry tables 604 can store primitive common base attributes for all the QGeometry, See Para [0107], i.e. creating QComponents representing desired circuit layouts, composed of multiple QGeometries… using scripting interface 406a…; retrieval of one or more QGeometries stored in QGeometry library –[prior art use QGeometries considered as the acquiring of the fuzzy structure as cited above]).
As per claim 15, Minev discloses all of the features of claim 12 as discloses above wherein Minev also discloses wherein the operations further comprise: acquiring a general-purpose script, wherein a type parameter of a device type is defined in the general-purpose script; and assigning the quantum device type to the type parameter to obtain the original script corresponding to the quantum device type (See Para [0091]-[0094], i.e. scripting interface 406a and/or use a GUI 406b of system 400 to design, analyze, and/or modify one or more QGeometrie, See Para [0103]-[0105], i.e. each of the QGeometry tables 604 can store primitive common base attributes for all the QGeometry, See Para [0107], i.e. creating QComponents representing desired circuit layouts, composed of multiple QGeometries… using scripting interface 406a…; retrieval of one or more QGeometries stored in QGeometry library).
As per claim 16, Minev discloses all of the features of claim 12 as discloses above wherein Minev also discloses wherein the operations further comprise: determining, when the device parameter comprises a geometric parameter and an action parameter, a geometric parameter type comprised in the geometric parameter and an action parameter type comprised in the action parameter respectively; acquiring a geometric parameter value corresponding to the geometric parameter type and an action parameter value corresponding to the action parameter type respectively; and using the geometric parameter value and the action parameter value as the target value(See Para [0109]-[0110], i.e. editing a QDesign by a user via a GUI or code. For example, front-end user 402a can create such a QDesign as described above with reference to FIG. 4 by using scripting interface 406a…translating a QGeometry of a QDesign natively into a desired simulation software with appropriate parameters, See Figure 5 and Para [0100]-[0102]).
As per claim 17, Minev discloses:
An apparatus comprising: a memory configured to store instructions; and one or more processors configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to perform operations for layout generation, wherein the operations (See Figure 1, i.e. memory 104 & processor 106) comprise:
determining a quantum device type (See Para [0021]-[0022], i.e. ; QComponent—a class that represents a physical quantum device circuit …A QComponent can comprise relevant design values, See Para [0094], i.e. plement an analysis of one or more original QGeometries, QComponents, QDesigns);
acquiring an original script corresponding to the quantum device type, wherein a device parameter is defined in the original script (See Para [0091]-[0094], i.e. scripting interface 406a and/or use a GUI 406b of system 400 to design, analyze, and/or modify one or more QGeometrie, See Para [0103]-[0105], i.e. each of the QGeometry tables 604 can store primitive common base attributes for all the QGeometry, See Para [0107], i.e. creating QComponents representing desired circuit layouts, composed of multiple QGeometries… using scripting interface 406a…; retrieval of one or more QGeometries stored in QGeometry library);
acquiring a target value of the device parameter (See Para [0109]-[0110], i.e. editing a QDesign by a user via a GUI or code. For example, front-end user 402a can create such a QDesign as described above with reference to FIG. 4 by using scripting interface 406a…translating a QGeometry of a QDesign natively into a desired simulation software with appropriate parameters –[user adjust the design, considered as the acquiring target value as cited above]);
assigning the target value to the device parameter to obtain a target script of a target quantum device corresponding to the quantum device type (See Para [0109]-[0110], i.e. editing a QDesign by a user via a GUI or code. For example, front-end user 402a can create such a QDesign as described above with reference to FIG. 4 by using scripting interface 406a…translating a QGeometry of a QDesign natively into a desired simulation software with appropriate parameters [prior art teach the user edit the design, adjusting of values, and simulation with adjusted value is considered as the assigning of the target value as cited above]); and
generating, based on the target script, a quantum chip layout comprising the target quantum device (See Para [0110]-[0115], i.e. IC layout renderer such as, for instance, IC layout renderer 310c described above with reference to FIG. 3) can translate one or more QGeometries, QComponents, QDesigns, and/or associated parameters described above into a defined format of a fabrication application…generating a mask from resulting file, See Figure 7A, i.e. 710a, 712a, 714a, 716a – mask is generated).
As per claim 18, Minev discloses all of the features of claim 17 as discloses above wherein Minev also discloses wherein the operations further comprise: receiving a generation request for the quantum chip layout on a script interface; determining the quantum device type in response to the generation request, and displaying an original script corresponding to the quantum device type on the script interface; receiving the target value of the device parameter input on the script interface; receiving a layout generation instruction on the script interface; assigning, in response to the layout generation instruction, the target value to the device parameter to obtain the target script of a target quantum device corresponding to the quantum device type; generating, based on the target script, the quantum chip layout comprising the target quantum device; and displaying the quantum chip layout on a predetermined display interface (See Para [0091]-[0094], i.e. scripting interface 406a and/or use a GUI 406b of system 400 to design, analyze, and/or modify one or more QGeometrie, See Para [0103]-[0105], i.e. each of the QGeometry tables 604 can store primitive common base attributes for all the QGeometry, See Para [0107], i.e. creating QComponents representing desired circuit layouts, composed of multiple QGeometries… using scripting interface 406a…; retrieval of one or more QGeometries stored in QGeometry library –[prior art include graphical user interface for user to edit script for quantum layout, considered as the teaching of the above limitations of the claim]).
As per claim 19, Minev discloses all of the features of claim 17 as discloses above wherein Minev also discloses wherein the operations further comprise: acquiring a fuzzy structure of a quantum device; and determining the quantum device type based on the fuzzy structure (See Para [0091]-[0094], i.e. scripting interface 406a and/or use a GUI 406b of system 400 to design, analyze, and/or modify one or more QGeometrie, See Para [0103]-[0105], i.e. each of the QGeometry tables 604 can store primitive common base attributes for all the QGeometry, See Para [0107], i.e. creating QComponents representing desired circuit layouts, composed of multiple QGeometries… using scripting interface 406a…; retrieval of one or more QGeometries stored in QGeometry library –[prior art use QGeometries considered as the acquiring of the fuzzy structure as cited above]).
As per claim 20, Minev discloses all of the features of claim 17 as discloses above wherein Minev also discloses wherein the operations further comprise: acquiring a general-purpose script, wherein a type parameter of a device type is defined in the general-purpose script; and assigning the quantum device type to the type parameter to obtain the original script corresponding to the quantum device type (See Para [0091]-[0094], i.e. scripting interface 406a and/or use a GUI 406b of system 400 to design, analyze, and/or modify one or more QGeometrie, See Para [0103]-[0105], i.e. each of the QGeometry tables 604 can store primitive common base attributes for all the QGeometry, See Para [0107], i.e. creating QComponents representing desired circuit layouts, composed of multiple QGeometries… using scripting interface 406a…; retrieval of one or more QGeometries stored in QGeometry library).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art does not teach the limitations of claims 6 and/or 8, wherein claim 7 depend on claim 6.
Conclusion
/NHA T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2851