Detailed Action
This is in response to the amendment filed 01/26/2026 and replaces the non-final rejection dated 03/23/2023.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: claim 5 recites wherein: each flap is characterized by a proximal face and a distal face, said cannula further comprising a flexible web disposed on the proximal face of the flap and operably connecting the proximal face of the tab to the outer surface of the cannula tube.
The office agrees the art of record fails to teach or suggest these features.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 3, 6, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication Number 2016/0354113 (Spenciner), U.S. Patent Publication Number 2008/0108875 (Kunkel et al.) and U.S. Patent Publication Number 2003/0153926 (Schmieding et al.)
Regarding claim 2, Spenciner discloses as shown in Figures 1, 2 a cannula capable of use in arthroscopic surgery, said cannula comprising; a cannula tube, said cannula tube (elongate shaft 14, see paragraph [0026]) having a proximal end, a distal end, and a lumen extending therethrough, and a distal tip on the distal end, said distal tip configured for insertion through an incision into an arthroscopic workspace, proximate a joint in a patient; a plurality of flaps (petals 16p, see paragraph [0030]) disposed on the distal end of the tube, proximate the distal tip, said flaps extending radially outwardly from an outer surface of tube, said flap resiliently foldable in a proximal direction when constrained while passing through the incision, to lie against the outer surface of the tube, and resiliently biased to return to a radially outwardly extending position when unconstrained; see paragraph [0030] and wherein each flap is characterized by a root portion proximate the outer surface of the cannula, a radially outward portion radially outward of the root, and a proximal face and a distal face, wherein, in the root portion, each flap has a first thickness, and in the radially outward portion each flap has a second thickness.
Spenciner is silent about the second thickness being greater than the first thickness.
However, Spenciner contemplates the thickness of the flaps varying. See paragraph [0030].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute a size of the second thickness such that it was greater than the first thickness because it would only require ethe simple substitution of one alterative for another to produce nothing but predictable results. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82, USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Spenciner fails to disclose a releasable clip separate from and not permanently attached to the cannula tube, the clip being configured for a friction fit on the cannula tube such that the clip is selectively attachable to and detachable from the cannula tube, having a surface dimensioned to engage the cannula outer surface and is capable of preventing movement of tissue between the clip in conjunction with the flaps in the radially outwardly extending position when unconstrained and disposed within arthroscopic workspace, and wherein the clip and flaps are positioned relative to each other such that the tissue is retained between the clip and the flaps.
Kunkel et al., from the same field of endeavor teaches a similar cannula as shown in Figure 13a, where the cannula includes a releasable clip (plate 520, see paragraph [0055]) configured for a friction fit on the tube, dimensioned to engage the cannula outer surface and is capable of preventing movement of tissue between the clip in conjunction with flaps in the radially outwardly extending position when unconstrained and disposed within arthroscopic workspace, and wherein the clip and flaps are positioned relative to each other such that the tissue is capable of being retained between the clip and the flaps.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify cannula disclosed by Spenciner to include the clip taught by Kunkel et al. in order to configure the cannula to facilitate gripping tissue with the flaps.
To be clear, the Office interprets the plate disclosed as releasable because it is releasable from engagement with the skin.
Schmiedling et al., from the same filed of endeavor teaches teaches a similar cannula as shown in Figure 7, that includes a releasable clip (retention clip 70, see paragraph [0034]) separate from and not permanently attached to the cannula tube, the clip being configured for a friction fit on the cannula tube such that the clip is selectively attachable to and detachable from the cannula tube for the purpose of adjusting the position relative to the cannula shaft and the patient’s skin quickly. See paragraph [0034].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cannula disclosed by Spenciner in view of Kunkel et al. such that was separate from and not permanently attached to the cannula tube, the clip being configured for a friction fit on the cannula tube such that the clip is selectively attachable to and detachable from the cannula tube in order to adjust the position relative to the cannula shaft and the patient’s skin quickly.
Regarding claim 3, Spenciner discloses wherein said root portion spans a first circumferential arc (generally indicated as A) and the radially outward portion spans a second circumferential arc larger (generally indicated as B) than the first circumferential arc. See annotated Figure 2 (provided below):
Regarding claims 6, 7 Spenciner discloses wherein said flap is further characterized by a tip portion (generally indicated as C), wherein the tip portion is radially outward of the radially outward portion, wherein said tip portion spans a third circumferential arc, said third circumferential arc is smaller than the second circumferential arc, wherein said flap is further characterized by a tip portion (generally indicated as D), wherein the tip portion is radially outward of the radially outward portion, wherein said tip portion spans a third circumferential arc, said third circumferential arc is smaller than the second circumferential arc.
Response to Arguments
The applicant’s arguments filed 01/26/2026, see pages 5-8, have been considered, but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
If there are any inquiries that are not being addressed by first contacting the Examiner or the Supervisor, you may send an email inquiry to TC3700_Workgroup_D_Inquiries@uspto.gov.
/RICHARD G LOUIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771