Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 12-05-2025 has been entered and considered.
Claims 1-10 are pending in the current application.
Claims 1-10 remain rejected as discussed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishii (US 2022/0015176) in view of Geskes et al (US 2021/0222606, hereinafter referred to as Geskes).
Regarding claims 1, 4, and 10, Ishii discloses a communication control method used in a cellular communication system (see at least figure 1), the communication control method comprising: receiving, by a relay node, a flow control feedback message or a failure occurrence notification message from a parent node of the relay node (see figure 11); measuring, by the relay node, a certain period after receiving the flow control feedback message of the failure occurrence notification (see at least paragraph [0089], [0100], and [0101]); and executing, by the relay node, a conditional handover in response to the certain period elapsing (see at least figures 8, 9 and 11 and at least paragraphs paragraph [0089], [0100], [0101] and [0237[-[0238]).
Ishii discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention with the exception of wherein the conditional handover is not executed for the certain period. However, Geskes, from the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the conditional handover is not executed for the certain period (see at least paragraphs [0043] and [0096]). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the invention to employ the teaching of Geskes, as indicated, into the communication method of Ishii for the purpose of maintaining connectivity and avoiding service interruption.
Regarding claim 3. Ishii in view of Geskes discloses a communication control method wherein the failure occurrence notification message comprises at least one of a message indicating that a radio link failure of a backhaul link between the relay node and the parent node is detected and a message indicating that recovery from the radio link failure of the backhaul link is being attempted (see at least figures 8, 9 and 11).
Regarding claim 5. Ishii in view of Geskes discloses a communication control method comprising performing, by a donor base station comprising a first relay node under control of the donor base station, a configuration related to a conditional handover for the first relay node; and executing, by the first relay node, the conditional handover based on the configuration (see at least figures 8, 9 and 11).
Regarding claim 6. Ishii in view of Geskes discloses a communication control wherein the performing the configuration comprises configuring, by the donor base station, one or more trigger conditions to be used by the first relay node among a plurality of trigger conditions related to the conditional handover for the first relay node, and the executing comprises executing, by the first relay node, the conditional handover when the one or more trigger conditions that are configured are satisfied (see at least figures 7- 9 and 11 and paragraphs [0073]-[0077]).
Regarding claim 9. Ishii in view of Geskes discloses a communication control method wherein the executing comprises, by the first relay node, selecting a candidate cell as a target cell and executing the conditional handover to the target cell, when a backhaul link between a second relay node managing the candidate cell and a parent node of the second relay node is normal, and selecting, by the first relay node, another candidate cell when the backhaul link is abnormal see at least figures 7- 9 and 11 and paragraphs [0073]-[0077]).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishii in view of Geskes and further in view of Hassan et al (US 2022/0210822). Hereinafter referred to as Hassan.
Regarding claim 2. Ishii in view of Geskes discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention with the exception of executing, by the relay node, the conditional handover without a certain period elapsing in response to receiving the flow control feedback message from the parent node and to further receiving the failure occurrence notification message from the parent node. However, Hassan, from a similar field of endeavor, teaches transmission of handover command without timer wait period of feedbacks (see at least paragraph [0300]). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the invention to employ the teaching of Hassan, as indicated, into the communication method of Ishii in view of Geskes for the purpose of triggering handover and maintaining connectivity.
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishii in view of Geskes in view of Da Silva et al (US 2022/0007254). Hereinafter referred to as Da.
Regarding claim 7, Ishii in view of Geskes discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention with the exception configuring, by the donor base station, priorities of respective candidate cells for the first relay node, and the executing comprises, by the first relay node, selecting a candidate cell having a highest priority as a target cell and executing the conditional handover to the target cell. However, Da, from the same field of endeavor, teaches configuring, by the donor base station, priorities of respective candidate cells for the first relay node, and the executing comprises, by the first relay node, selecting a candidate cell having a highest priority as a target cell and executing the conditional handover to the target cell (see at least paragraph [0192]). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the invention to employ the teaching of Da, as indicated, into the communication method of Ishii in view of Geskes for the purpose of controlling handover procedures and guaranteeing service quality.
Regarding claim 8. Ishii in view of Geskes in view of Da discloses a communication control method wherein the performing the configuration comprises configuring, by the donor base station, a minimum radio quality threshold for the first relay node, and the executing comprises, by the first relay node, selecting a candidate cell having a highest priority as a target cell from among candidate cells having radio quality exceeding the minimum radio quality threshold and executing the conditional handover to the target cell (see at least paragraph [0192]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO_892.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
When responding to this office action, applicants are advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which they think the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Applicants must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections. See 37C.F.R 1.111(c). In addition, applicants are advised to provide the examiner with the line numbers and pages numbers in the application and/or references cited to assist examiner in locating the appropriate paragraphs.
/MOUNIR MOUTAOUAKIL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476