1. This communication is responsive to the Amendment filed 8/6/2025.
2. Claims 1, 3-8 and 10-15 are pending in this application. Claims 1 and 8 are independent claims. In the instant Amendment, claims 1 and 8 were amended. This action is made Final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claim(s) 1, 7-8 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogawa (JP 2008298553 A) in view of Darland et al (“Darland” US 2015/0160162) and further in view of Duarte (US 2008/0168385).
Regarding claim 1, Ogawa discloses a device for emphasizing the relation of user interface sections, the device comprising:
a first user interface section (see fig 8, dialog menu 400, function menu 300 and waveform display area 200); and
a second user interface section (see fig 8, dialog menu 400, function menu 300 and waveform display area 200);
wherein the first user interface section and the second user interface section are configured to display at least one of:
an instrument parameter, a measurement result, a waveform (e.g., “In FIG. 8, a waveform display area 200 is an area where the waveform to be measured is displayed as a waveform…The dialog menu 400 is a window for setting items selected in the function menu 300 in more detail”); and
wherein the device is configured to de-focus the second user interface section with respect to the first user interface section based on the selection of an instrument parameter in the first user interface section (e.g., “The dialog menu 400 is a window for setting items selected in the function menu 300 in more detail…FIG. 8 shows an example in which the phase shift of each channel is set. Further, since the dialog menu 400 is filled with the entire window and is not transparent, the waveform hidden behind the menu 400 cannot be visually recognized.”).
Ogawa does not expressly disclose wherein the device is further configured to blur the second user interface section to de-focus the second user interface section, and the blur disappears if the first user interface section loses focus; or wherein upon an instrument parameter in the first user interface section is selected, the second user interface section, which shows a measurement result or a waveform that is not affected by the instrument parameter, is de-focused.
However, Darland discloses wherein upon an instrument parameter in the first user interface section is selected, the second user interface section (see fig 2 and paragraphs [0057]-[0058]; e.g., display areas are dynamically linked), which shows a measurement result or a waveform that is not affected by the instrument parameter, is de-focused (see fig 2 and paragraphs [0043]-[0045], [0050], [0054]-[0055] and [0087]; e.g., highlighting linked UIs to emphasize the relationship between them. The UIs not linked are consequently de-focused). It would have been obvious to an artisan before the effective filing date of the present invention to include Darland’s teachings in Ogawa’s user interface in an effort to provide a more user-friendly interface that optimizes screen display space.
Moreover, Duarte discloses wherein the device is further configured to blur the second user interface section to de-focus the second user interface section, and the blur disappears if the first user interface section loses focus (see figs 2-4 where panes 105, 110, 115 and 120 are shown; also see paragraphs [0026]-[0027]; e.g., when a pane is in focus, the other panes are blurred; and when a pane loses focus, one of the other panes’ blur disappears). It would have been obvious to an artisan before the effective filing date of the present invention to include Duarte’s teachings in the modified Ogawa’s user interface in an effort to provide a more user-friendly interface that blurs de-focused (e.g., not highlighted, linked UIs as taught by Darland) sections thereby simplifying navigation of a user interface with multiple sections/panes.
Regarding claim 7, Ogawa discloses further configured to de-focus the second user interface section displaying a measurement result with respect to the first user interface section displaying an instrument parameter based on the selection of the instrument parameter in the first user interface section (see fig 8; e.g., “The user operates a mouse externally attached to the waveform measurement device, a rotary knob provided on an operation panel provided on the front surface of the waveform measurement device, and various buttons (direction keys, numeric keys, etc.), and sets a setting target from the function menu 200. The item ("Phase Shift" in FIG. 8) is selected. Alternatively, if the display screen 100 is a touch panel, a menu to be set is pressed to select a setting target. By this selection, the dialog menu 400 is displayed on the display screen 100, but the dialog menu 400 is displayed so as to overlap a part of the waveform display area 200 or the entire waveform display area 200.”).
Claims 8 and 14 are similar in scope to claims 1 and 7, respectively, and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 15, Ogawa discloses when the program is executed by a computer, cause the computer to carry out the method according to claim 8 (see claim 1 above).
5. Claim(s) 3-6 and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogawa and Darland and Duarte in view of Soo et al (US 2016/0216875).
Regarding claim 3, Ogawa does not expressly disclose reduce the size of the second user interface section to de-focus the second user interface section.
However, Soo discloses reduce the size of the second user interface section to de-focus the second user interface section (see figs 3 and 7; also see paragraph [0040]; e.g., the focused card is moved to the foreground and enlarged while non-focused cards are reduced in size and moved to background). It would have been obvious to an artisan before the effective filing date of the present invention to include Soo’s teachings in Ogawa’s user interface in an effort to provide an intuitive, fast and easy way of monitoring and navigating multiple user interfaces.
Regarding claim 4, Ogawa does not expressly disclose a third user interface section, wherein the device is in particular configured to increase the size of the third user interface section to de-focus the second user interface section.
However, Soo discloses a third user interface section, wherein the device is in particular configured to increase the size of the third user interface section to de-focus the second user interface section (see figs 3 and 7; also see paragraph [0040]; e.g., the focused card is moved to the foreground and enlarged while non-focused cards are reduced in size and moved to background). It would have been obvious to an artisan before the effective filing date of the present invention to include Soo’s teachings in Ogawa’s user interface in an effort to provide an intuitive, fast and easy way of monitoring and navigating multiple user interfaces.
Regarding claim 5, Ogawa does not expressly disclose a fourth user interface section, wherein the device is in particular configured to increase the size of the fourth user interface section to de-focus the second user interface section.
However, Soo discloses a fourth user interface section, wherein the device is in particular configured to increase the size of the fourth user interface section to de-focus the second user interface section (see figs 3 and 7; also see paragraph [0040]; e.g., the focused card is moved to the foreground and enlarged while non-focused cards are reduced in size and moved to background). It would have been obvious to an artisan before the effective filing date of the present invention to include Soo’s teachings in Ogawa’s user interface in an effort to provide an intuitive, fast and easy way of monitoring and navigating multiple user interfaces.
Regarding claim 6, Ogawa does not expressly disclose wherein at least two of the user interface sections are non-rectangular user interface sections.
However, Soo discloses wherein at least two of the user interface sections are non-rectangular user interface sections (see fig 7, 500). It would have been obvious to an artisan before the effective filing date of the present invention to include Soo’s teachings in Ogawa’s user interface in an effort to provide an intuitive, fast and easy way of monitoring and navigating multiple user interfaces.
Claims 10-13 are similar in scope to claims 3-6, respectively, and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Response to Arguments
6. Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Faulkner et al (US 2022/0091722).
8. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RASHAWN N TILLERY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2174