DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 5-8, 10 and 19-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 9/15/2025.
Claim Objections
Claims 16-18 are objected to because of the following informalities: in claim 16 the limitation, ‘the crystal’ in line 7 does not have an antecedent basis in the claim and should be claimed therefore with an indefinite article ‘a’. Claims 17-18 are objected to inasmuch as they depend from claim 16. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 9, 11-14 and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edwards et al. (US 6,041,610) in view of Hehlen et al. (First demonstration of an all-solid-state optical cryocooler), copy of NPL provided by applicant.
Regarding claim 1, Edwards teaches a multi-pass optical cavity (10, Disk of cooling material, figure 1);
A first mirrored glass (column 6 lines 34-35);
A first mirror (14, Tuned dielectric mirror, figure 1) comprising a hole (26, figure 1) that allows a pump laser (24, figure 1) beam to enter, wherein the first mirror is positioned at a first end of the first mirrored glass (see lower side of 10, figure 1),
A second mirror (12, Broadband dielectric mirror, figure 1), and
A laser source (24, figure 1) that produces a divergent laser beam or that produces a laser beam that is made divergent using one or more optical elements that is coupled into the first mirrored glass (see 22 is made divergent by something upon entering 26 as shown in figure 1),
Wherein the laser beam is reflected within the first mirrored glass between the first mirror and the second mirror by total internal reflection (column 5 lines 39-43).
Edwards does not teach the working material is a crystal.
Hehlen teaches the working material is a crystal of YB doped YLF material (see abstract) and making the laser beam divergent using a lens (Focusing lens, figure 1)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify solid state cryocooler of Edwards to use a crystal such as taught in Hehlen in order to improve cooling efficiency over Yb doped ZBLAN (see Introduction, page 1 left column).
Regarding claim 2, Edwards teaches the first mirror comprises a spectrally selective coating (14, figure 1) to suppress amplified spontaneous emission and parasitic lasing to avoid undesired heat generation in a material being cooled in the multi-pass optical cavity and the spectrally selective coating is deposited on the mirrored Yb doped glass such that a stable laser resonator is not formed (column 5 lines 29-39).
Edwards does not teach the working material is a crystal.
Hehlen teaches the working material is a crystal of YB doped YLF material (see abstract) and making the laser beam divergent using a lens (Focusing lens, figure 1)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify solid state cryocooler of Edwards to use a crystal such as taught in Hehlen in order to improve cooling efficiency over Yb doped ZBLAN (see Introduction, page 1 left column).
Regarding claim 3, Edwards teaches the spectrally selective coating of the first mirror comprises a long pass mirror coating and the spectrally selective coating of the second mirror comprises a short pass mirror coating (column 5 lines 9-20).
Regarding claim 4 and 9, Edwards does not specify one or more optical elements comprise one or more lenses or one or more aberrator plates.
Hehlen teaches an optical element comprises one or more lenses (Focusing lens, figure 1).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the cryogenic cooler of Edwards to use the lens of Hehlen in order to focus the laser onto a narrower opening in the spectrally selective mirror to improve efficiency.
Regarding claim 11, Edwards does not specify a first mirrored crystal.
Hehlen teaches the working material is a crystal of YB doped YLF material (see abstract).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify solid state cryocooler of Edwards to use a crystal such as taught in Hehlen in order to improve cooling efficiency over Yb doped ZBLAN (see Introduction, page 1 left column).
Regarding claim 12, Edwards teaches the spectrally selective coating introduces a loss at wavelengths longer than a pump laser and prevents buildup of ASE and eliminates laser oscillation at longer wavelengths by ensuring a net optical gain that never exceeds losses in each roundtrip in the multi-pass optical cavity (column 5 lines 29-39).
Regarding claim 13, Edwards teaches the first mirror has a low reflectivity for longer wavelengths of a fluorescence spectrum (column 5 lines 1-8).
Regarding claim 14, Edwards teaches the spectrally selective coating comprises a dielectric coating (Tuned dielectric mirror, figure 1).
Regarding claim 16-18, Edwards teaches directing a divergent laser beam (see 24, 22, going through opening 26, wherein laser input is shown to be made divergent after passing through 26, figure 1) into a multi-pass optical cavity (10, figure 1), the multi-pass cavity comprising a first mirror (12, figure 1) positioned at a first end of the multi-pass cavity and a second mirror (14, figure 1) positioned at a second end of the multi-pass optical cavity, wherein the second mirror (tuned dielectric mirror, 14, figure 1) comprises a spectrally selective coating to suppress amplified spontaneous emission and parasitic lasing to avoid undesired heat generation in a material being cooled in the mutli-pass optical cavity (column 5 lines 15-21) and the spectrally selective coating is deposited onto the Yb doped glass such that a stable laser resonator is not formed (column 5 lines 29-39); and
Optically cooling the material by repeated passes of the pump laser beam (column 5 lines 29-39).
Edwards does not teach the working material is a crystal.
Hehlen teaches the working material is a crystal of YB doped YLF material (see abstract).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify solid state cryocooler of Edwards to use a crystal such as taught in Hehlen in order to improve cooling efficiency over Yb doped ZBLAN (see Introduction, page 1 left column).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edwards et al. (US 6,041,610) in view of Hehlen et al. (First demonstration of an all-solid-state optical cryocooler), copy provided by Applicant, as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Rubin (US 2019/0049364 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Edwards in view of Hehlen does not teach an optical fiber that couples the laser source to the first mirrored crystal.
Rubin teaches an optical fiber coupling a laser into a Herriott cell (56, figure 2).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the cryocooler of Edwards in view of Hehlen to use a fiber laser as taught in Rubin in order to allow more flexible placement of the laser to make the device more compact, while still keeping allow the laser heat source to be placed away from the working material.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Sheik-Bahae et al. (US 11,088,506 B1) teaches a solid state cryocooling device.
/RYAN D HOWARD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882 1/2/2026