DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3-6, 10, and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 11-14, and 16-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 10-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11782315. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are anticipated by or obvious in view of the claims of the Patent as follows.
Regarding claim 1, Claim 18 of the patent recites a method, comprising: determining a set of illumination wavelengths, wherein the set of illumination wavelengths includes at least one illumination wavelength in each of at least three different color spectrums; selecting a liquid crystal on silicon (LCoS) display as a spatial light modulator, the LCoS display operating in at least one of a vertically aligned nematic (VAN) mode and a twisted vertically aligned nematic (TVAN) mode (lines 1-9 of claim 18); and selecting an external retarder having a phase retardation less than 0.25 for each of the wavelengths in the set of illumination wavelengths (lines 10-11 and 15-16 of claim 18).
Regarding claim 2, Claim 18 of the patent recites orienting a slow axis of the external retarder to be parallel to a slow axis of the spatial light modulator (lines 17-18 and 24-25 of claim 18).
Regarding claim 11, Claim 10 of the patent recites a display system, comprising: a spatial light modulator (lines 1-2 of claim 10) characterized by a first retardation and a first phase retardation, wherein the spatial light modulator has a first slow axis for light propagation (lines 4-8 of claim 10), wherein the spatial light modulator is a liquid crystal on silicon (LCoS) display that operates in at least one of a vertically aligned nematic (VAN) mode and a twisted vertically aligned nematic (TVAN) mode (lines 8-11 of claim 10); and a retarder that is positioned external to the spatial light modulator, wherein the retarder is characterized by a second retardation and a second phase retardation, the retarder comprising a second slow axis for light propagation (lines 12-16 of claim 10), wherein the second retardation has a value such that the retarder has a phase retardation value below 0.25 for all illumination wavelengths in a set of illumination wavelengths, wherein the set of illumination wavelengths includes at least one illumination wavelength in each of at least three different color spectrums (lines 16-19 of claim 10).
Regarding claim 12, Claim 10 of the patent recites: the second slow axis is parallel to the first slow axis (lines 15-16 of claim 10).
Regarding claim 13, Claim 11 of the patent recites a polarizer having a polarization axis, wherein the retarder is between the polarizer and the spatial light modulator, wherein the second slow axis is rotated 45 degrees with respect to the polarization axis (lines 1-5 of claim 11).
Regarding claim 14, Claim 13 of the patent recites: a voltage source that is configured to apply a drive voltage to the spatial light modulator, wherein: a retardation of the spatial light modulator is a function of the drive voltage; and for each of the illumination wavelengths in the set of illumination wavelengths, the drive voltage for an off-state is set to an off-state drive voltage wherein a value of a combination of the phase retardation of the spatial light modulator and the phase retardation of the retarder is at or near 0.25 such that a contrast ratio is greater than 2000 (lines 1-10 of claim 13) .
Regarding claim 16, Claim 14 of the patent recites at the respective off-state drive voltage, a zero or near-zero minimum is present in an electro-optical curve for each illumination wavelength (lines 1-4 of claim 14).
Regarding claim 17, Claim 15 of the patent recites the spatial light modulator is configured to receive incident light and output an image; the image comprises at least three different colors that correspond to each of the illumination wavelengths in the set of illumination wavelengths; and a contrast ratio for each of the three different colors is greater than 2000 (lines 1-7 of claim 15).
Regarding claim 18, Claim 16 of the patent recites: the at least three different color spectrums comprise red, green, and blue color spectrums (lines 1-3 of claim 16).
Regarding claim 19, Claim 12 of the patent teaches that the second retardation has a value that is less than one-fourth of a shortest illumination wavelength of the set of illumination wavelengths (lines 1-4 of claim 12).
Regarding claim 20, Claim 17 of the patent recites the retarder produces a phase retardation for all illumination wavelengths that has a value in a range of 0.10 to 0.24 for all the illumination wavelengths (lines 1-4 of claim 17).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 8-9, 11, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tan et al. (US Pub. 20070085972, Tan).
As per claim 1, Tan teaches (in figures 9-19) a method, comprising: determining a set of illumination wavelengths (red, green, and blue), wherein the set of illumination wavelengths includes at least one illumination wavelength in each of at least three different color spectrums (paragraph 108); selecting a liquid crystal on silicon (LCoS) display (LCoS device 20) as a spatial light modulator, the LCoS display operating in at least one of a vertically aligned nematic (VAN) mode and a twisted vertically aligned nematic (TVAN) mode (paragraph 80); and selecting an external retarder (TR wafer 91) having a phase retardation less than 0.25 for each of the wavelengths in the set of illumination wavelengths (10 nm see paragraph 114).
As per claim 8, Tan teaches (in figures 9-19) that the at least three different color spectrums (red, green, and blue) comprise red, green, and blue color spectrums (paragraph 108).
As per claim 9, Tan teaches (in figures 9-19) that a retardation (10 nm see paragraph 114) of the retarder (TR wafer 91) has a value that is less than one- fourth of a shortest illumination wavelength of the set of illumination wavelengths (blue light 415-500 nm, paragraph 108).
As per claim 11, Tan teaches (in figures 9-19) a display system, comprising: a spatial light modulator (LCoS device 20) characterized by a first retardation (paragraph 91) and a first phase retardation (paragraph 10), wherein the spatial light modulator has a first slow axis (LCoS wafer SA 82) for light propagation, wherein the spatial light modulator is a liquid crystal on silicon (LCoS) display that operates in at least one of a vertically aligned nematic (VAN) mode and a twisted vertically aligned nematic (TVAN) mode (paragraph 80); and a retarder (TR wafer 91) that is positioned external to the spatial light modulator, wherein the retarder is characterized by a second retardation (paragraph 9) and a second phase retardation (paragraph 10), the retarder comprising a second slow axis (nominal SA 92) for light propagation, wherein the second retardation has a value such that the retarder has a phase retardation value below 0.25 for all illumination wavelengths in a set of illumination wavelengths (10 nm see paragraph 114), wherein the set of illumination wavelengths includes at least one illumination wavelength in each of at least three different color spectrums (red, green, and blue, paragraph 108).
As per claim 18, Tan teaches (in figures 9-19) that the at least three different color spectrums (red, green, and blue) comprise red, green, and blue color spectrums (paragraph 108).
As per claim 19, Tan teaches (in figures 9-19) that the second retardation (10 nm see paragraph 114) has a value that is less than one-fourth of a shortest illumination wavelength of the set of illumination wavelengths (blue light 415-500 nm, paragraph 108).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tan et al. (US Pub. 20070085972, Tan) as applied to claims 1 and 11 respectively above and in further view of Beeson et al. (US Pub. 20050219476, Beeson).
As per claims 7 and 17, Tan teaches (in figures 9-19) comprising: receiving, at the spatial light modulator (LCoS device 20), incident light; and outputting, an image (paragraphs 4 and 176) wherein the image comprises at least three different colors that correspond to each of the illumination wavelengths in the set of illumination wavelengths (red, green, and blue, paragraph 108), and wherein a contrast ratio for each of the three different colors is greater than 2000 (see figure 19 and paragraph 123).
Tan does not teach outputting, at the spatial light modulator, an image, wherein the image comprises at least three different colors that correspond to each of the illumination wavelengths in the set of illumination wavelengths.
However, Beeson teaches (in figures 21 and 22) that forming a display system to comprise a single LCoS device (imaging light modulator 452) and providing three different colors in a time sequential manner (Fig. 21, paragraphs 238-241) is functionally equivalent to a display system which comprises three separate LCoS devices (imaging light modulators 506a-506c) each receiving one of three colors (Fig. 22, paragraphs 247-254).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Tan to be formed as a single LCoS panel display device as this arrangement was an art recognized equivalent at the time of filing.
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER P GROSS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871