DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Savage, Jr. et al. US 20180204429 in view of Capowski et al. US 6426697.
Regarding claim 1, Savage, Jr. et al. teach A fire alarm control panel configured to interface with remote notification devices, comprising: one or more memories, individually or in combination, having instructions; one or more processors each coupled to at least one of the one or more memories (Savage, Jr. et al. US 20180204429 abstract; paragraphs [0048]-[0057]; [0061]-[0069]; [0074]-[0084]; [0101]-[0109]; [0116]; figures 1-11;)
A system embodying one example of the present invention is illustrated in FIG. 1. The system in FIG. 1 is directed to a fire alarm system. Notification appliances in an emergency notification system may likewise be used. The system includes one or more notification appliance circuits (NACs), i.e., networks 16, having alarm condition detectors D and alarm system notification appliance A. Alternatively, the detectors and notification appliances may be on separate networks. A system controller (such as a fire alarm control panel (FACP)) 14 may monitor the detectors D (Savage, Jr. et al. par. 48). FIG. 2A is a schematic diagram of the system of FIG. 1, further illustrating details of a system controller 14 and a strobe notification appliance with a strobe element and a separate directional information element. The system controller 14 includes a processor 36, a memory 38, a user interface 40, and a device interface 42 (Savage, Jr. et al. par. 55).
Examiner interpreted the plurality of notification devices A in the figure 1 as the remote notification devices.
and configurable to execute the instructions to: receive a single input command configured to contemporaneously control a power condition of multiple groups of the remote notification devices
Although not necessary for carrying out the invention, as shown, all of the notification appliances in a network are coupled across a pair of power lines 18 and 20 that advantageously also carry communications between the system controller 14 and the detectors D and notification appliances A (Savage, Jr. et al. par. 50). Further, the system controller 14 may send one or more commands relating to diagnostics, status, or other non-alarm type events. For example, the system controller 14 may send a command related to the identification, the configuration, and/or the status of the notification appliances A. Moreover, the notification appliances A may respond in kind (Savage, Jr. et al. par. 52). In some embodiments, an indicator 34, such as a flashing LED (separate from the strobe element and associated circuitry 44, and separate from the directional information element and associated circuitry 46), may be used as an output, for example during diagnostic testing, on the strobe notification appliance 30. The indicator 34 may be activated, for example, upon command from the system controller 14, upon a local manual command such as a pushbutton (not shown). Alternatively, the directional information element may be used during diagnostic testing. For example, one or more of the directional LEDs may be used during diagnostic testing. In this regard, the one or more of the directional LEDs may serve multiple purposes (Savage, Jr. et al. par. 62). FIG. 4 is an exemplary flow chart 400 of operation of the fire alarm panel in automatically generating and sending the directional information to the strobe notification appliance. At 402, the fire alarm panel determines whether to activate one or more of the notification appliances. As discussed above, the fire alarm panel may receive alarms or events from one or more sensors, such as fire alarm detectors, carbon monoxide detectors, heat sensors, or the like. Based on this information, the fire alarm panel may determine to activate one, some or all of the notification appliances under its control (Savage, Jr. et al. par. 78).
Examiner interpreted the controller 14 control a power condition of plurality of the detectors and plurality of notification devices as show in the figure 1.
and contemporaneously control the power condition of the multiple groups of the remote notification devices responsive to an execution of the single input command.
In some embodiments, an indicator 34, such as a flashing LED (separate from the strobe element and associated circuitry 44, and separate from the directional information element and associated circuitry 46), may be used as an output, for example during diagnostic testing, on the strobe notification appliance 30. The indicator 34 may be activated, for example, upon command from the system controller 14, upon a local manual command such as a pushbutton (not shown). Alternatively, the directional information element may be used during diagnostic testing. For example, one or more of the directional LEDs may be used during diagnostic testing. In this regard, the one or more of the directional LEDs may serve multiple purposes (Savage, Jr. et al. par. 62). FIG. 4 is an exemplary flow chart 400 of operation of the fire alarm panel in automatically generating and sending the directional information to the strobe notification appliance. At 402, the fire alarm panel determines whether to activate one or more of the notification appliances. As discussed above, the fire alarm panel may receive alarms or events from one or more sensors, such as fire alarm detectors, carbon monoxide detectors, heat sensors, or the like. Based on this information, the fire alarm panel may determine to activate one, some or all of the notification appliances under its control (Savage, Jr. et al. par. 78).
Examiner interpreted the controller 14 cable of activate a power for at least one of plurality of the detectors and one of plurality of notification devices as show in the figure 1 or controller cable of activate power for all the detector devices or all notification devices.
Savage, Jr. et al. do not explicitly teach by specifically identifying each of the multiple groups of the remote notification devices.
Capowski et al. teach by specifically identifying each of the multiple groups of the remote notification devices; (Capowski et al. US 6426697 abstract; col. 1 lines 50-67; col. 2 lines 1-67; col. 3 lines 1-10, 54-67; col. 4 lines 1-5, 24-52; col. 5 lines 63-67; col. 6 lines 1-67; col. 7 lines 1-10; col. 12 lines 11-21; col. 13 lines 47-65; col. 17 lines 9-36; col. 19 lines 48-67; col. 20 lines 22-32, 43-67; table 2; figures 1-9;)
The notification appliances 24 of the present invention are operated through commands or polls received over the NAC 16 from the system controller 14. Each notification appliance 24 transfers identification, configuration, and status messages to/from the system controller 14. The format of the communication message or poll between each notification appliance 24 and the system controller 14 can comprise a first synchronization signal, a command signal identifying a particular poll number, a data field which may include an address of a particular notification appliance, and a second synchronization signal. The notification appliance 24 or appliances being addressed by the system controller 14 would then respond according to the Poll that was directed to the appliance(s). An exemplary listing of various polls that the present invention is capable of performing is found in Table 2 infra. The alarm system of the present invention includes two normal modes of operation: ACTIVE mode and STANDBY mode, as illustrated in FIGS. 3 and 4, respectively. In the STANDBY mode, the system controller 14 applies a first voltage level of approximately 8 VDC (or data 0) to the NAC 16 to provide only enough power to support two-way communications between the system controller and the notification appliance(s). In the ACTIVE mode, the system controller 14 applies a nominal 24 VDC to the NAC 16 to supply power to operate the audible and/or visible alarms of each notification appliance but drops the applied voltage to 8 VDC during communication with the appliances (Capowski et al. col. 4 lines 24-52).
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claim invention to combine Savage, Jr. et al. and Capowski et al. by comprising the teaching of Capowski et al. into the system of Savage, Jr. et al.. The motivation to combine these arts is to provide a data field associated with address for the particular notification appliance from Capowski et al. reference into Savage, Jr. et al. reference so the user can easily selecting the particular notification appliance to activate the output for reducing the transmission time.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Savage, Jr. et al. and Capowski et al. disclose The fire alarm control panel in accordance with claim 1, wherein the multiple groups of the remote notification devices are specified in the single input command from among a set of groups of remote notification devices that include the multiple groups of the remote notification devices and at least one other group of the remote notification devices.
Alternatively, an authority having jurisdiction (AHJ), such as a firefighter, may provide input to fire alarm panel in order to determine the directional information to send to the notification appliances. The AHJ may thus determine the location of a fire, and based on this information, select directional information for a single notification appliance or for groups of notification appliances. In particular, the AHJ may individually select directional information for one, some, or all of the notification appliances in the system. Alternatively, the AHJ may input directional information that may be applied to a group of notification appliances. For example, when configuring the fire alarm system, the notification appliances may be grouped in virtual notification appliance circuits (VNAC), in which the notification appliances grouped in the VNAC are treated similarly (Savage, Jr. et al. par. 84).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Savage, Jr. et al. and Capowski et al. disclose The fire alarm control panel in accordance with claim 1, wherein the input command is automatically generated responsive to a pull-station activation.
The emergency lighting appliance may be referred to as an Emergency Lighting Individual Addressable Module (ELIAM). According to one implementation, ELIAMs may co-exist with other fire alarm peripherals, e.g., strobe notification appliances, smoke detectors, pull stations, etc. Each SLC is rated to allow the monitor and control of a certain number of addressable modules. For example, one SLC may allow 250 modules on a single SLC, thirty of which may be ELIAMS. A system may have multiple SLCs. For example, the system of FIG. 1 has two SLCs 16. A particular SLC may be designed to support a given number of ELIAMs, which may represent full or partial SLC capacity. For illustrative purposes only, just one SLC 816 is shown, and the single line represents the two wires 18 and 20 of FIG. 1. Thus, in one implementation, the ELIAMs may be on the same SLC as the fire notification appliances or mass notification appliances. Alternatively, the ELIAMs may be on a separate SLC from the fire notification appliances or mass notification appliances. In a separate implementation, instead of an SLC, the appliances may be connected to a Notification Appliance Circuit (NAC). In contrast to an SLC, the NAC, discussed below with regard to FIG. 8D, may generate more power to power the notification appliances, such as the fire notification appliances and mass notification appliances (Savage, Jr. et al. par. 101).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Savage, Jr. et al. and Capowski et al. disclose The fire alarm control panel in accordance with claim 1, wherein the single input command comprises a bitmap.
The status field is also an 8-bit field indicating the status of the particular notification appliance. FIGS. 8A-8D indicate the significance of each bit with respect to a particular notification appliance. More specifically, FIG. 8A indicates the status of a wall or ceiling mounted strobe or an S/V device. The significance of each bit within each bit position is given below: (Capowski et al. col. 13 lines 63-67, col. 14 lines 8-9). FIG. 8B is similar to FIG. 8A but indicates the status of an A/V notification appliance, which may include wall or ceiling mounted notification appliances, the only difference being that bit position number 1 indicates Primary Output 2, which is the audible notification device on the A/V device. A "1" indicates the audible is operating and a "0" indicates the audible is OFF (Capowski et al. col. 14 lines 42-48).
Examiner interpreted 8-bit field as a bitmap.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Savage, Jr. et al. and Capowski et al. disclose The fire alarm control panel in accordance with claim 4, wherein each respective one of a plurality of bits of the bitmap specifies a respective one of the remote notification devices.
As shown, the Notification Appliance Configuration Query Poll begins with a SYNC(p) signal 26 followed by a command signal 30 ("C7") identifying this particular poll. The data field 32 includes an address of a particular notification appliance 24. A 3-bit spacer may be provided after the data field 32. A SYNC(r) signal 28 follows the 3-bit spacer. The response includes a data field 32 indicating the address of the particular notification appliance 24, and a field indicating a configuration (i.e., status) of the individual notification appliance 24. The configuration field is notification appliance type specific as shown in FIGS. 9 A-D (Capowski et al. col. 20 lines 43-50).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Savage, Jr. et al. and Capowski et al. disclose The fire alarm control panel in accordance with claim 4, wherein each respective one of a plurality of bits in multiple bytes of the bitmap specifies a respective one of the remote notification devices,
The Notification Appliance Group I.D. Query is used to check individual Group entries on a particular notification appliance 24. The format of the query and response is given below: Format: [SYNC(p)] [POLL#(C8)[P] [ADDR][P] [00000 a0 g1g0][P] {3sp} [SYNC(r)] Response: [ADDR] [P] [Slot#/Grp#] [P]. As shown, the Notification Appliance Group I.D. Query begins with a SYNC(p) signal 26 followed by a command signal 30 ("C8") identifying this particular poll. The data field 32 includes an address of a particular notification appliance 24. Data field 32 is followed by a second data field which directs the Poll at a first or second notification device Group set and a particular Group location. More specifically, a0 indicates whether the Poll is directed to the first (0) or second (1) notification device set. The g1 and g0 bit locations indicate which Group is being requested. A 3-bit spacer 36 may be provided after the data field 48. A SYNC(r) signal 28 follows the 3-bit spacer. The response includes a data field 32 indicating the address of the particular notification appliance 24, and a Group identification field identifying the addressed Group. More particularly, the identification field is an 8-bit Group identifier where the first two bits designate which sub-Group identification (1-3) follows and the next 6 bits that have that Group number. A zero in the Grp# field means there is no sub-Group entry. As shown, a parity bit 34 may follow all fields except the SYNC(p) signal 26 and SYNC(r) signal 28 (Capowski et al. col. 17 lines 9-36). As show in the figures 3 and 4 there are plurality of bits or bytes because 8 bits = 1byte.
and wherein each of the multiple bytes corresponds to a respective one of the multiple groups of the remote notification devices.
As shown, the Notification Appliance Group I.D. Query begins with a SYNC(p) signal 26 followed by a command signal 30 ("C8") identifying this particular poll. The data field 32 includes an address of a particular notification appliance 24. Data field 32 is followed by a second data field which directs the Poll at a first or second notification device Group set and a particular Group location. More specifically, a0 indicates whether the Poll is directed to the first (0) or second (1) notification device set. The g1 and g0 bit locations indicate which Group is being requested. A 3-bit spacer 36 may be provided after the data field 48. A SYNC(r) signal 28 follows the 3-bit spacer. The response includes a data field 32 indicating the address of the particular notification appliance 24, and a Group identification field identifying the addressed Group. More particularly, the identification field is an 8-bit Group identifier where the first two bits designate which sub-Group identification (1-3) follows and the next 6 bits that have that Group number. A zero in the Grp# field means there is no sub-Group entry. As shown, a parity bit 34 may follow all fields except the SYNC(p) signal 26 and SYNC(r) signal 28 (Capowski et al. col. 17 lines 16-36). As show in the figures 3 and 4 there are plurality of bits or bytes because 8 bits = 1byte.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Savage, Jr. et al. and Capowski et al. disclose The fire alarm control panel in accordance with claim 4, wherein each respective one of a plurality of bits of the bitmap specifies a respective one of the multiple groups of the remote notification devices.
As shown, the Notification Appliance Configuration Query Poll begins with a SYNC(p) signal 26 followed by a command signal 30 ("C7") identifying this particular poll. The data field 32 includes an address of a particular notification appliance 24. A 3-bit spacer may be provided after the data field 32. A SYNC(r) signal 28 follows the 3-bit spacer. The response includes a data field 32 indicating the address of the particular notification appliance 24, and a field indicating a configuration (i.e., status) of the individual notification appliance 24. The configuration field is notification appliance type specific as shown in FIGS. 9 A-D (Capowski et al. col. 20 lines 43-50).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Savage, Jr. et al. and Capowski et al. disclose The fire alarm control panel in accordance with claim 4, wherein a first value and a second value for a given position in the bitmap selectively indicate an activation or a deactivation, respectively, of a particular group of the remote notification devices in the multiple groups of the remote notification devices.
The status field is also an 8-bit field indicating the status of the particular notification appliance. FIGS. 8A-8D indicate the significance of each bit with respect to a particular notification appliance. More specifically, FIG. 8A indicates the status of a wall or ceiling mounted strobe or an S/V device. The significance of each bit within each bit position is given below: (Capowski et al. col. 13 lines 63-67, col. 14 lines 8-9). FIG. 8B is similar to FIG. 8A but indicates the status of an A/V notification appliance, which may include wall or ceiling mounted notification appliances, the only difference being that bit position number 1 indicates Primary Output 2, which is the audible notification device on the A/V device. A "1" indicates the audible is operating and a "0" indicates the audible is OFF (Capowski et al. col. 14 lines 42-48).
Examiner interpreted bit equal to 1 as the activation bit and when the bit equal to zero as the deactivation bit.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Savage, Jr. et al. and Capowski et al. disclose The fire alarm control panel in accordance with claim 4, wherein each respective one of a plurality of bits of the bitmap specifies at least two but less than all of the multiple groups of the remote notification devices.
According to a further aspect of the present invention, the system controller can solicit general status information from a cluster or set of notification appliances via a digital message comprising a Cluster Service Poll. Each notification appliance includes an electronic circuit that decodes a multi-bit command identifying the digital message as a Cluster Service Poll and a cluster set address field which addresses a cluster of notification appliances, for example, a set of eight notification appliances. The individual notification appliances of a cluster respond to the Cluster Service Poll at a designated response time which may follow a single synchronization pulse or, alternatively, each notification appliance may follow a respective synchronization response signal. The notification appliance responds with a message indicating the status of the notification appliance (Capowski et al. col. 2 lines 63-67 and col. 3 lines 1-10). By means of a DIP switch, each notification appliance 24 is assigned an address that is unique on a particular NAC 16. The system controller 14 communicates with each notification appliance 24 using these addresses. One aspect of the present invention is to organize the notification appliances 24 of a NAC 16 into functional Groups, which is advantageous for control purposes. For example, one Group may comprise "All Strobes," while another may comprise "First Floor Audible Alarms." A Group, also known as a "virtual NAC," may comprise notification appliances 24 which are located on different NACs 16 (Capowski et al. col. 7 lines 13-24 and table 1). The first column indicates the Poll Number in hexadecimal format. The second column indicates the Poll Name wherein "queries" request information from a notification appliance and "commands" configure or direct a particular action to a device(s). The third column indicates the response that is expected from a notification appliance according to the respective poll. The fourth and fifth columns indicate where the Poll is valid in the ACTIVE mode and/or STANDBY mode. Provided below are brief explanations of each Poll (Capowski et al. col. 12 lines 11-21 and table 2). As shown, the Notification Appliance Status Query Poll begins with SYNC(p) signal 26 followed by the command signal 30, which in this case would indicate "C0" identifying this particular poll. The data field 32 includes an address of a particular notification appliance 24. A 3-bit spacer may follow the data field 32. A SYNC(r) signal 28 follows the 3-bit spacer. The response includes a data field 32 indicating the address of the particular notification appliance 24, and a first and second field indicating the notification appliance type 38 and status 40. More particularly, the notification appliance type field is an 8-bit binary encoded identification code which, according to a look-up table, identifies a specific type of notification appliance 24. Such notification appliances may include a ceiling or wall mounted strobe, an audio/visual device, a speaker/visual device, a horn, or an isolator (Capowski et al. col. 13 lines 47-62).
According to the cited passages, examiner interpreted the bits identify a particular address of the specific type of notification device from the multiple group of notification device as show in the table 1 and 2 of Capowski et al. reference.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Savage, Jr. et al. and Capowski et al. disclose The fire alarm control panel in accordance with claim 1, wherein the single input command, configured to contemporaneously control the power condition of the multiple groups of remote notification devices, is received and executed in a standby mode.
The alarm system of the present invention includes two normal modes of operation: ACTIVE mode and STANDBY mode, as illustrated in FIGS. 3 and 4, respectively. In the STANDBY mode, the system controller 14 applies a first voltage level of approximately 8 VDC (or data 0) to the NAC 16 to provide only enough power to support two-way communications between the system controller and the notification appliance(s). In the ACTIVE mode, the system controller 14 applies a nominal 24 VDC to the NAC 16 to supply power to operate the audible and/or visible alarms of each notification appliance but drops the applied voltage to 8 VDC during communication with the appliances (Capowski et al. col. 4 lines 41-52). The first column indicates the Poll Number in hexadecimal format. The second column indicates the Poll Name wherein "queries" request information from a notification appliance and "commands" configure or direct a particular action to a device(s). The third column indicates the response that is expected from a notification appliance according to the respective poll. The fourth and fifth columns indicate where the Poll is valid in the ACTIVE mode and/or STANDBY mode. Provided below are brief explanations of each Poll (Capowski et al. col. 12 lines 11-21 and table 2).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Savage, Jr. et al. and Capowski et al. disclose The fire alarm control panel in accordance with claim 1, wherein the single input command, configured to contemporaneously control the power condition of the multiple groups of remote notification devices, is received and executed in an alarm mode.
A system embodying the present invention is illustrated in FIG. 1. As in a conventional alarm system, the system includes one or more detector networks 12 having individual alarm condition detectors D which are monitored by a system controller 14. When an alarm condition is sensed, the system controller 14 signals the alarm to the appropriate devices through at least one network 16 of addressable alarm notification appliances A. Each device, also called a notification appliance 24, may include one or more notification devices, for example, a visual alarm (strobe), an audible alarm (horn), or a combination thereof (A/V device). Also, a speaker for broadcasting live or prerecorded voice messages and a strobe may be combined into a single unit (S/V device). A visible indicator (LED) may be provided on any of the above-described notification appliances 24, the LED also controlled by the system controller 14. For example, the LED may be operated under NAC commands (described below) such that the LED blinks every time the notification appliance 24 is polled (Capowski et al. col. 3 lines 54-67 and col. 4 lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Savage, Jr. et al. and Capowski et al. disclose The fire alarm control panel in accordance with claim 1, wherein the single input command is configured to contemporaneously control the power condition of the multiple groups of the remote notification devices while bypassing any individual remote notification device command spacing constraints on altering the power condition of the multiple groups of the remote notification devices.
The alarm system of the present invention includes two normal modes of operation: ACTIVE mode and STANDBY mode, as illustrated in FIGS. 3 and 4, respectively. In the STANDBY mode, the system controller 14 applies a first voltage level of approximately 8 VDC (or data 0) to the NAC 16 to provide only enough power to support two-way communications between the system controller and the notification appliance(s). In the ACTIVE mode, the system controller 14 applies a nominal 24 VDC to the NAC 16 to supply power to operate the audible and/or visible alarms of each notification appliance but drops the applied voltage to 8 VDC during communication with the appliances (capowski et al. col. 4 lines 41-52). The system controller 14 wanting to turn on a notification appliance or appliances 24 on the NAC 16 must enable the selected device(s) via command Polls, then transition the voltage level on the NAC 16 from a STANDBY mode to an ACTIVE mode by raising the steady-state voltage to the 24 V level at the completion of each Poll/response cycle (see FIG. 3). Notification appliances at the enabled addresses will then turn on their notification devices after a 24 V power detection for 1 ms is detected. Steady state voltage verification must be accomplished after each Poll cycle for the notification appliance 24 to operate the notification device (Capowski et al. col. 6 lines 21-32).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interpreted the controller selecting the particular of the notification device to activate the notification device via adjusting the power from standby mode to active mode as illustrate in the figure 3 and 4 of Capowski et al. reference. As show in the figures 1 and 2, the plurality of notification appliances are connect in network 16 couple to the controller 14 via power line 18 and 20. Therefore, it’s obviously for the controller to bypassing at least one notification appliance to activate the next notification appliance once selecting.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Savage, Jr. et al. and Capowski et al. disclose The fire alarm control panel in accordance with claim 1, wherein the single input command is configured to simultaneously control the power condition of the multiple groups of remote notification devices.
Although not necessary for carrying out the invention, as shown, all of the notification appliances in a network are coupled across a pair of power lines 18 and 20 that advantageously also carry communications between the system controller 14 and the detectors D and notification appliances A (Savage, Jr. et al. par. 50). Further, the system controller 14 may send one or more commands relating to diagnostics, status, or other non-alarm type events. For example, the system controller 14 may send a command related to the identification, the configuration, and/or the status of the notification appliances A. Moreover, the notification appliances A may respond in kind (Savage, Jr. et al. par. 52). In some embodiments, an indicator 34, such as a flashing LED (separate from the strobe element and associated circuitry 44, and separate from the directional information element and associated circuitry 46), may be used as an output, for example during diagnostic testing, on the strobe notification appliance 30. The indicator 34 may be activated, for example, upon command from the system controller 14, upon a local manual command such as a pushbutton (not shown). Alternatively, the directional information element may be used during diagnostic testing. For example, one or more of the directional LEDs may be used during diagnostic testing. In this regard, the one or more of the directional LEDs may serve multiple purposes (Savage, Jr. et al. par. 62). FIG. 4 is an exemplary flow chart 400 of operation of the fire alarm panel in automatically generating and sending the directional information to the strobe notification appliance. At 402, the fire alarm panel determines whether to activate one or more of the notification appliances. As discussed above, the fire alarm panel may receive alarms or events from one or more sensors, such as fire alarm detectors, carbon monoxide detectors, heat sensors, or the like. Based on this information, the fire alarm panel may determine to activate one, some or all of the notification appliances under its control (Savage, Jr. et al. par. 78).
Examiner interpreted the controller 14 control a power condition of plurality of the detectors and plurality of notification devices via power lines 18 and 20 as show in the figure 1.
Regarding claim 14, Savage, Jr. et al. teach A method for interfacing a fire alarm control panel (FACP) with remote notification devices, comprising: receiving, by the FACP, a single input command configured to contemporaneously control a power condition of multiple groups of the remote notification devices (Savage, Jr. et al. US 20180204429 abstract; paragraphs [0048]-[0057]; [0061]-[0069]; [0074]-[0084]; [0101]-[0109]; [0116]; figures 1-11;)
A system embodying one example of the present invention is illustrated in FIG. 1. The system in FIG. 1 is directed to a fire alarm system. Notification appliances in an emergency notification system may likewise be used. The system includes one or more notification appliance circuits (NACs), i.e., networks 16, having alarm condition detectors D and alarm system notification appliance A. Alternatively, the detectors and notification appliances may be on separate networks. A system controller (such as a fire alarm control panel (FACP)) 14 may monitor the detectors D (Savage, Jr. et al. par. 48). Although not necessary for carrying out the invention, as shown, all of the notification appliances in a network are coupled across a pair of power lines 18 and 20 that advantageously also carry communications between the system controller 14 and the detectors D and notification appliances A (Savage, Jr. et al. par. 50). Further, the system controller 14 may send one or more commands relating to diagnostics, status, or other non-alarm type events. For example, the system controller 14 may send a command related to the identification, the configuration, and/or the status of the notification appliances A. Moreover, the notification appliances A may respond in kind (Savage, Jr. et al. par. 52). In some embodiments, an indicator 34, such as a flashing LED (separate from the strobe element and associated circuitry 44, and separate from the directional information element and associated circuitry 46), may be used as an output, for example during diagnostic testing, on the strobe notification appliance 30. The indicator 34 may be activated, for example, upon command from the system controller 14, upon a local manual command such as a pushbutton (not shown). Alternatively, the directional information element may be used during diagnostic testing. For example, one or more of the directional LEDs may be used during diagnostic testing. In this regard, the one or more of the directional LEDs may serve multiple purposes (Savage, Jr. et al. par. 62). FIG. 4 is an exemplary flow chart 400 of operation of the fire alarm panel in automatically generating and sending the directional information to the strobe notification appliance. At 402, the fire alarm panel determines whether to activate one or more of the notification appliances. As discussed above, the fire alarm panel may receive alarms or events from one or more sensors, such as fire alarm detectors, carbon monoxide detectors, heat sensors, or the like. Based on this information, the fire alarm panel may determine to activate one, some or all of the notification appliances under its control (Savage, Jr. et al. par. 78).
Examiner interpreted the controller 14 control a power condition of plurality of the detectors and plurality of notification devices as show in the figure 1.
and contemporaneously controlling, by the FACP, the power condition of the multiple groups of the remote notification devices responsive to an execution of the single input command.
In some embodiments, an indicator 34, such as a flashing LED (separate from the strobe element and associated circuitry 44, and separate from the directional information element and associated circuitry 46), may be used as an output, for example during diagnostic testing, on the strobe notification appliance 30. The indicator 34 may be activated, for example, upon command from the system controller 14, upon a local manual command such as a pushbutton (not shown). Alternatively, the directional information element may be used during diagnostic testing. For example, one or more of the directional LEDs may be used during diagnostic testing. In this regard, the one or more of the directional LEDs may serve multiple purposes (Savage, Jr. et al. par. 62). FIG. 4 is an exemplary flow chart 400 of operation of the fire alarm panel in automatically generating and sending the directional information to the strobe notification appliance. At 402, the fire alarm panel determines whether to activate one or more of the notification appliances. As discussed above, the fire alarm panel may receive alarms or events from one or more sensors, such as fire alarm detectors, carbon monoxide detectors, heat sensors, or the like. Based on this information, the fire alarm panel may determine to activate one, some or all of the notification appliances under its control (Savage, Jr. et al. par. 78).
Examiner interpreted the controller 14 cable of activate a power for at least one of plurality of the detectors and one of plurality of notification devices as show in the figure 1 or controller cable of activate power for all the detector devices or all notification devices.
Savage, Jr. et al. do not explicitly teach by specifically identifying each of the multiple groups of the remote notification devices.
Capowski et al. teach by specifically identifying each of the multiple groups of the remote notification devices; (Capowski et al. US 6426697 abstract; col. 1 lines 50-67; col. 2 lines 1-67; col. 3 lines 1-10, 54-67; col. 4 lines 1-5, 24-52; col. 5 lines 63-67; col. 6 lines 1-67; col. 7 lines 1-10; col. 12 lines 11-21; col. 13 lines 47-65; col. 17 lines 9-36; col. 19 lines 48-67; col. 20 lines 22-32, 43-67; table 2; figures 1-9;)
The notification appliances 24 of the present invention are operated through commands or polls received over the NAC 16 from the system controller 14. Each notification appliance 24 transfers identification, configuration, and status messages to/from the system controller 14. The format of the communication message or poll between each notification appliance 24 and the system controller 14 can comprise a first synchronization signal, a command signal identifying a particular poll number, a data field which may include an address of a particular notification appliance, and a second synchronization signal. The notification appliance 24 or appliances being addressed by the system controller 14 would then respond according to the Poll that was directed to the appliance(s). An exemplary listing of various polls that the present invention is capable of performing is found in Table 2 infra. The alarm system of the present invention includes two normal modes of operation: ACTIVE mode and STANDBY mode, as illustrated in FIGS. 3 and 4, respectively. In the STANDBY mode, the system controller 14 applies a first voltage level of approximately 8 VDC (or data 0) to the NAC 16 to provide only enough power to support two-way communications between the system controller and the notification appliance(s). In the ACTIVE mode, the system controller 14 applies a nominal 24 VDC to the NAC 16 to supply power to operate the audible and/or visible alarms of each notification appliance but drops the applied voltage to 8 VDC during communication with the appliances (Capowski et al. col. 4 lines 24-52).
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claim invention to combine Savage, Jr. et al. and Capowski et al. by comprising the teaching of Capowski et al. into the method of Savage, Jr. et al.. The motivation to combine these arts is to provide a data field associated with address for the particular notification appliance from Capowski et al. reference into Savage, Jr. et al. reference so the user can easily selecting the particular notification appliance to activate the output for reducing the transmission time.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Savage, Jr. et al. and Capowski et al. disclose The method in accordance with claim 14, wherein the multiple groups of the remote notification devices are specified in the single input command from among a set of groups of remote notification devices that include the multiple groups of the remote notification devices and at least one other group of the remote notification devices.
Alternatively, an authority having jurisdiction (AHJ), such as a firefighter, may provide input to fire alarm panel in order to determine the directional information to send to the notification appliances. The AHJ may thus determine the location of a fire, and based on this information, select directional information for a single notification appliance or for groups of notification appliances. In particular, the AHJ may individually select directional information for one, some, or all of the notification appliances in the system. Alternatively, the AHJ may input directional information that may be applied to a group of notification appliances. For example, when configuring the fire alarm system, the notification appliances may be grouped in virtual notification appliance circuits (VNAC), in which the notification appliances grouped in the VNAC are treated similarly (Savage, Jr. et al. par. 84).
Examiner interpreted virtual notification appliance (VNAC) as the other group of notification device.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Savage, Jr. et al. and Capowski et al. disclose The method in accordance with claim 14, wherein the input command is automatically generated responsive to a pull-station activation.
The emergency lighting appliance may be referred to as an Emergency Lighting Individual Addressable Module (ELIAM). According to one implementation, ELIAMs may co-exist with other fire alarm peripherals, e.g., strobe notification appliances, smoke detectors, pull stations, etc. Each SLC is rated to allow the monitor and control of a certain number of addressable modules. For example, one SLC may allow 250 modules on a single SLC, thirty of which may be ELIAMS. A system may have multiple SLCs. For example, the system of FIG. 1 has two SLCs 16. A particular SLC may be designed to support a given number of ELIAMs, which may represent full or partial SLC capacity. For illustrative purposes only, just one SLC 816 is shown, and the single line represents the two wires 18 and 20 of FIG. 1. Thus, in one implementation, the ELIAMs may be on the same SLC as the fire notification appliances or mass notification appliances. Alternatively, the ELIAMs may be on a separate SLC from the fire notification appliances or mass notification appliances. In a separate implementation, instead of an SLC, the appliances may be connected to a Notification Appliance Circuit (NAC). In contrast to an SLC, the NAC, discussed below with regard to FIG. 8D, may generate more power to power the notification appliances, such as the fire notification appliances and mass notification appliances (Savage, Jr. et al. par. 101).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Savage, Jr. et al. and Capowski et al. disclose The method in accordance with claim 14, wherein the single input command comprises a bitmap.
The status field is also an 8-bit field indicating the status of the particular notification appliance. FIGS. 8A-8D indicate the significance of each bit with respect to a particular notification appliance. More specifically, FIG. 8A indicates the status of a wall or ceiling mounted strobe or an S/V device. The significance of each bit within each bit position is given below: (Capowski et al. col. 13 lines 63-67, col. 14 lines 8-9). FIG. 8B is similar to FIG. 8A but indicates the status of an A/V notification appliance, which may include wall or ceiling mounted notification appliances, the only difference being that bit position number 1 indicates Primary Output 2, which is the audible notification device on the A/V device. A "1" indicates the audible is operating and a "0" indicates the audible is OFF (Capowski et al. col. 14 lines 42-48).
Examiner interpreted 8-bit field as a bitmap.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Savage, Jr. et al. and Capowski et al. disclose The method in accordance with claim 17, wherein each respective one of a plurality of bits in multiple bytes of the bitmap specifies a respective one of the remote notification devices,
The Notification Appliance Group I.D. Query is used to check individual Group entries on a particular notification appliance 24. The format of the query and response is given below: Format: [SYNC(p)] [POLL#(C8)[P] [ADDR][P] [00000 a0 g1g0][P] {3sp} [SYNC(r)] Response: [ADDR] [P] [Slot#/Grp#] [P]. As shown, the Notification Appliance Group I.D. Query begins with a SYNC(p) signal 26 followed by a command signal 30 ("C8") identifying this particular poll. The data field 32 includes an address of a particular notification appliance 24. Data field 32 is followed by a second data field which directs the Poll at a first or second notification device Group set and a particular Group location. More specifically, a0 indicates whether the Poll is directed to the first (0) or second (1) notification device set. The g1 and g0 bit locations indicate which Group is being requested. A 3-bit spacer 36 may be provided after the data field 48. A SYNC(r) signal 28 follows the 3-bit spacer. The response includes a data field 32 indicating the address of the particular notification appliance 24, and a Group identification field identifying the addressed Group. More particularly, the identification field is an 8-bit Group identifier where the first two bits designate which sub-Group identification (1-3) follows and the next 6 bits that have that Group number. A zero in the Grp# field means there is no sub-Group entry. As shown, a parity bit 34 may follow all fields except the SYNC(p) signal 26 and SYNC(r) signal 28 (Capowski et al. col. 17 lines 9-36). As show in the figures 3 and 4 there are plurality of bits or bytes because 8 bits = 1byte.
and wherein each of the multiple bytes corresponds to a respective one of the multiple groups of the remote notification devices.
As shown, the Notification Appliance Group I.D. Query begins with a SYNC(p) signal 26 followed by a command signal 30 ("C8") identifying this particular poll. The data field 32 includes an address of a particular notification appliance 24. Data field 32 is followed by a second data field which directs the Poll at a first or second notification device Group set and a particular Group location. More specifically, a0 indicates whether the Poll is directed to the first (0) or second (1) notification device set. The g1 and g0 bit locations indicate which Group is being requested. A 3-bit spacer 36 may be provided after the data field 48. A SYNC(r) signal 28 follows the 3-bit spacer. The response includes a data field 32 indicating the address of the particular notification appliance 24, and a Group identification field identifying the addressed Group. More particularly, the identification field is an 8-bit Group identifier where the first two bits designate which sub-Group identification (1-3) follows and the next 6 bits that have that Group number. A zero in the Grp# field means there is no sub-Group entry. As shown, a parity bit 34 may follow all fields except the SYNC(p) signal 26 and SYNC(r) signal 28 (Capowski et al. col. 17 lines 16-36). As show in the figures 3 and 4 there are plurality of bits or bytes because 8 bits = 1byte.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Savage, Jr. et al. and Capowski et al. disclose The method in accordance with claim 17, wherein each respective one of a plurality of bits of the bitmap specifies a respective one of the remote notification devices.
As shown, the Notification Appliance Configuration Query Poll begins with a SYNC(p) signal 26 followed by a command signal 30 ("C7") identifying this particular poll. The data field 32 includes an address of a particular notification appliance 24. A 3-bit spacer may be provided after the data field 32. A SYNC(r) signal 28 follows the 3-bit spacer. The response includes a data field 32 indicating the address of the particular notification appliance 24, and a field indicating a configuration (i.e., status) of the individual notification appliance 24. The configuration field is notification appliance type specific as shown in FIGS. 9 A-D (Capowski et al. col. 20 lines 43-50).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Savage, Jr. et al. and Capowski et al. disclose The method in accordance with claim 17, wherein each respective one of a plurality of bits of the bitmap specifies a respective one of the multiple groups of the remote notification devices.
As shown, the Notification Appliance Configuration Query Poll begins with a SYNC(p) signal 26 followed by a command signal 30 ("C7") identifying this particular poll. The data field 32 includes an address of a particular notification appliance 24. A 3-bit spacer may be provided after the data field 32. A SYNC(r) signal 28 follows the 3-bit spacer. The response includes a data field 32 indicating the address of the particular notification appliance 24, and a field indicating a configuration (i.e., status) of the individual notification appliance 24. The configuration field is notification appliance type specific as shown in FIGS. 9 A-D (Capowski et al. col. 20 lines 43-50).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Savage, Jr. et al. and Capowski et al. disclose The method in accordance with claim 17, wherein a first value and a second value for a given position in the bitmap selectively indicate a n activation or a deactivation, respectively, of a particular group of the remote notification devices in the multiple groups of the remote notification devices.
The status field is also an 8-bit field indicating the status of the particular notification appliance. FIGS. 8A-8D indicate the significance of each bit with respect to a particular notification appliance. More specifically, FIG. 8A indicates the status of a wall or ceiling mounted strobe or an S/V device. The significance of each bit within each bit position is given below: (Capowski et al. col. 13 lines 63-67, col. 14 lines 8-9). FIG. 8B is similar to FIG. 8A but indicates the status of an A/V notification appliance, which may include wall or ceiling mounted notification appliances, the only difference being that bit position number 1 indicates Primary Output 2, which is the audible notification device on the A/V device. A "1" indicates the audible is operating and a "0" indicates the audible is OFF (Capowski et al. col. 14 lines 42-48).
Examiner interpreted bit equal to 1 as the activation bit and when the bit equal to zero as the deactivation bit.
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Savage, Jr. et al. and Capowski et al. disclose The method in accordance with claim 17, wherein each respective one of a plurality of bits of the bitmap specifies at least two but less than all of the multiple groups of the remote notification devices.
According to a further aspect of the present invention, the system controller can solicit general status information from a cluster or set of notification appliances via a digital message comprising a Cluster Service Poll. Each notification appliance includes an electronic circuit that decodes a multi-bit command identifying the digital message as a Cluster Service Poll and a cluster set address field which addresses a cluster of notification appliances, for example, a set of eight notification appliances. The individual notification appliances of a cluster respond to the Cluster Service Poll at a designated response time which may follow a single synchronization pulse or, alternatively, each notification appliance may follow a respective synchronization response signal. The notification appliance responds with a message indicating the status of the notification appliance (Capowski et al. col. 2 lines 63-67 and col. 3 lines 1-10). By means of a DIP switch, each notification appliance 24 is assigned an address that is unique on a particular NAC 16. The system controller 14 communicates with each notification appliance 24 using these addresses. One aspect of the present invention is to organize the notification appliances 24 of a NAC 16 into functional Groups, which is advantageous for control purposes. For example, one Group may comprise "All Strobes," while another may comprise "First Floor Audible Alarms." A Group, also known as a "virtual NAC," may comprise notification appliances 24 which are located on different NACs 16 (Capowski et al. col. 7 lines 13-24 and table 1). The first column indicates the Poll Number in hexadecimal format. The second column indicates the Poll Name wherein "queries" request information from a notification appliance and "commands" configure or direct a particular action to a device(s). The third column indicates the response that is expected from a notification appliance according to the respective poll. The fourth and fifth columns indicate where the Poll is valid in the ACTIVE mode and/or STANDBY mode. Provided below are brief explanations of each Poll (Capowski et al. col. 12 lines 11-21 and table 2). As shown, the Notification Appliance Status Query Poll begins with SYNC(p) signal 26 followed by the command signal 30, which in this case would indicate "C0" identifying this particular poll. The data field 32 includes an address of a particular notification appliance 24. A 3-bit spacer may follow the data field 32. A SYNC(r) signal 28 follows the 3-bit spacer. The response includes a data field 32 indicating the address of the particular notification appliance 24, and a first and second field indicating the notification appliance type 38 and status 40. More particularly, the notification appliance type field is an 8-bit binary encoded identification code which, according to a look-up table, identifies a specific type of notification appliance 24. Such notification appliances may include a ceiling or wall mounted strobe, an audio/visual device, a speaker/visual device, a horn, or an isolator (Capowski et al. col. 13 lines 47-62).
According to the cited passages, examiner interpreted the bits identify a particular address of the specific type of notification device from the multiple group of notification device as show in the table 1 and 2 of Capowski et al. reference.
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Savage, Jr. et al. and Capowski et al. disclose The method in accordance with claim 14 wherein the single input command, configured to contemporaneously control the power condition of the multiple groups of remote notification devices, is received and executed in a standby mode.
The alarm system of the present invention includes two normal modes of operation: ACTIVE mode and STANDBY mode, as illustrated in FIGS. 3 and 4, respectively. In the STANDBY mode, the system controller 14 applies a first voltage level of approximately 8 VDC (or data 0) to the NAC 16 to provide only enough power to support two-way communications between the system controller and the notification appliance(s). In the ACTIVE mode, the system controller 14 applies a nominal 24 VDC to the NAC 16 to supply power to operate the audible and/or visible alarms of each notification appliance but drops the applied voltage to 8 VDC during communication with the appliances (Capowski et al. col. 4 lines 41-52). The first column indicates the Poll Number in hexadecimal format. The second column indicates the Poll Name wherein "queries" request information from a notification appliance and "commands" configure or direct a particular action to a device(s). The third column indicates the response that is expected from a notification appliance according to the respective poll. The fourth and fifth columns indicate where the Poll is valid in the ACTIVE mode and/or STANDBY mode. Provided below are brief explanations of each Poll (Capowski et al. col. 12 lines 11-21 and table 2).
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Savage, Jr. et al. and Capowski et al. disclose The method in accordance with claim 14, wherein the single input command, configured to contemporaneously control the power condition of the multiple groups of remote notification devices, is received and executed in an alarm mode.
A system embodying the present invention is illustrated in FIG. 1. As in a conventional alarm system, the system includes one or more detector networks 12 having individual alarm condition detectors D which are monitored by a system controller 14. When an alarm condition is sensed, the system controller 14 signals the alarm to the appropriate devices through at least one network 16 of addressable alarm notification appliances A. Each device, also called a notification appliance 24, may include one or more notification devices, for example, a visual alarm (strobe), an audible alarm (horn), or a combination thereof (A/V device). Also, a speaker for broadcasting live or prerecorded voice messages and a strobe may be combined into a single unit (S/V device). A visible indicator (LED) may be provided on any of the above-described notification appliances 24, the LED also controlled by the system controller 14. For example, the LED may be operated under NAC commands (described below) such that the LED blinks every time the notification appliance 24 is polled (Capowski et al. col. 3 lines 54-67 and col. 4 lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Savage, Jr. et al. and Capowski et al. disclose The method in accordance with claim 14, wherein the single input command is configured to contemporaneously control the power condition of the multiple groups of the remote notification devices while bypassing any individual remote notification device command spacing constraints on altering the power condition of the multiple groups of the remote notification devices.
The alarm system of the present invention includes two normal modes of operation: ACTIVE mode and STANDBY mode, as illustrated in FIGS. 3 and 4, respectively. In the STANDBY mode, the system controller 14 applies a first voltage level of approximately 8 VDC (or data 0) to the NAC 16 to provide only enough power to support two-way communications between the system controller and the notification appliance(s). In the ACTIVE mode, the system controller 14 applies a nominal 24 VDC to the NAC 16 to supply power to operate the audible and/or visible alarms of each notification appliance but drops the applied voltage to 8 VDC during communication with the appliances (capowski et al. col. 4 lines 41-52). The system controller 14 wanting to turn on a notification appliance or appliances 24 on the NAC 16 must enable the selected device(s) via command Polls, then transition the voltage level on the NAC 16 from a STANDBY mode to an ACTIVE mode by raising the steady-state voltage to the 24 V level at the completion of each Poll/response cycle (see FIG. 3). Notification appliances at the enabled addresses will then turn on their notification devices after a 24 V power detection for 1 ms is detected. Steady state voltage verification must be accomplished after each Poll cycle for the notification appliance 24 to operate the notification device (Capowski et al. col. 6 lines 21-32).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interpreted the controller selecting the particular of the notification device to activate the notification device via adjusting the power from standby mode to active mode as illustrate in the figure 3 and 4 of Capowski et al. reference. As show in the figures 1 and 2, the plurality of notification appliances are connect in network 16 couple to the controller 14 via power line 18 and 20. Therefore, it’s obviously for the controller to bypassing at least one notification appliance to activate the next notification appliance once selecting.
Regarding claim 26, the combination of Savage, Jr. et al. and Capowski et al. disclose The method in accordance with claim 14, wherein the method is performed by one or more memories, individually or in combination, having instructions, and one or more processors each coupled to at least one of the one or more memories and configurable to execute the instructions to perform the method.
A system embodying one example of the present invention is illustrated in FIG. 1. The system in FIG. 1 is directed to a fire alarm system. Notification appliances in an emergency notification system may likewise be used. The system includes one or more notification appliance circuits (NACs), i.e., networks 16, having alarm condition detectors D and alarm system notification appliance A. Alternatively, the detectors and notification appliances may be on separate networks. A system controller (such as a fire alarm control panel (FACP)) 14 may monitor the detectors D (Savage, Jr. et al. par. 48). FIG. 2A is a schematic diagram of the system of FIG. 1, further illustrating details of a system controller 14 and a strobe notification appliance with a strobe element and a separate directional information element. The system controller 14 includes a processor 36, a memory 38, a user interface 40, and a device interface 42 (Savage, Jr. et al. par. 55).
Regarding claim 27, the combination of Savage, Jr. et al. and Capowski et al. disclose The method in accordance with claim 14, wherein the single input command is configured to simultaneously control the power condition of the multiple groups of remote notification devices.
Although not necessary for carrying out the invention, as shown, all of the notification appliances in a network are coupled across a pair of power lines 18 and 20 that advantageously also carry communications between the system controller 14 and the detectors D and notification appliances A (Savage, Jr. et al. par. 50). Further, the system controller 14 may send one or more commands relating to diagnostics, status, or other non-alarm type events. For example, the system controller 14 may send a command related to the identification, the configuration, and/or the status of the notification appliances A. Moreover, the notification appliances A may respond in kind (Savage, Jr. et al. par. 52). In some embodiments, an indicator 34, such as a flashing LED (separate from the strobe element and associated circuitry 44, and separate from the directional information element and associated circuitry 46), may be used as an output, for example during diagnostic testing, on the strobe notification appliance 30. The indicator 34 may be activated, for example, upon command from the system controller 14, upon a local manual command such as a pushbutton (not shown). Alternatively, the directional information element may be used during diagnostic testing. For example, one or more of the directional LEDs may be used during diagnostic testing. In this regard, the one or more of the directional LEDs may serve multiple purposes (Savage, Jr. et al. par. 62). FIG. 4 is an exemplary flow chart 400 of operation of the fire alarm panel in automatically generating and sending the directional information to the strobe notification appliance. At 402, the fire alarm panel determines whether to activate one or more of the notification appliances. As discussed above, the fire alarm panel may receive alarms or events from one or more sensors, such as fire alarm detectors, carbon monoxide detectors, heat sensors, or the like. Based on this information, the fire alarm panel may determine to activate one, some or all of the notification appliances under its control (Savage, Jr. et al. par. 78).
Examiner interpreted the controller 14 control a power condition of plurality of the detectors and plurality of notification devices via power lines 18 and 20 as show in the figure 1.
Regarding claim 28, Savage, Jr. et al. teach A computer program product configured to interface a fire alarm control panel (FACP) with remote notification devices, the computer program product comprising one or more non-transitory computer-readable media, having instructions stored thereon that when executed by one or more processors cause the one or more processors, individually or in combination, (Savage, Jr. et al. US 20180204429 abstract; paragraphs [0048]-[0057]; [0061]-[0069]; [0074]-[0084]; [0101]-[0109]; [0116]; figures 1-11;)
A system embodying one example of the present invention is illustrated in FIG. 1. The system in FIG. 1 is directed to a fire alarm system. Notification appliances in an emergency notification system may likewise be used. The system includes one or more notification appliance circuits (NACs), i.e., networks 16, having alarm condition detectors D and alarm system notification appliance A. Alternatively, the detectors and notification appliances may be on separate networks. A system controller (such as a fire alarm control panel (FACP)) 14 may monitor the detectors D (Savage, Jr. et al. par. 48). FIG. 2A is a schematic diagram of the system of FIG. 1, further illustrating details of a system controller 14 and a strobe notification appliance with a strobe element and a separate directional information element. The system controller 14 includes a processor 36, a memory 38, a user interface 40, and a device interface 42 (Savage, Jr. et al. par. 55).
Examiner interpreted the plurality of notification devices A in the figure 1 as the remote notification devices.
to perform a method comprising: receiving, by the FACP, a single input command configured to contemporaneously control a power condition of multiple groups of the remote notification devices
Although not necessary for carrying out the invention, as shown, all of the notification appliances in a network are coupled across a pair of power lines 18 and 20 that advantageously also carry communications between the system controller 14 and the detectors D and notification appliances A (Savage, Jr. et al. par. 50). Further, the system controller 14 may send one or more commands relating to diagnostics, status, or other non-alarm type events. For example, the system controller 14 may send a command related to the identification, the configuration, and/or the status of the notification appliances A. Moreover, the notification appliances A may respond in kind (Savage, Jr. et al. par. 52). In some embodiments, an indicator 34, such as a flashing LED (separate from the strobe element and associated circuitry 44, and separate from the directional information element and associated circuitry 46), may be used as an output, for example during diagnostic testing, on the strobe notification appliance 30. The indicator 34 may be activated, for example, upon command from the system controller 14, upon a local manual command such as a pushbutton (not shown). Alternatively, the directional information element may be used during diagnostic testing. For example, one or more of the directional LEDs may be used during diagnostic testing. In this regard, the one or more of the directional LEDs may serve multiple purposes (Savage, Jr. et al. par. 62). FIG. 4 is an exemplary flow chart 400 of operation of the fire alarm panel in automatically generating and sending the directional information to the strobe notification appliance. At 402, the fire alarm panel determines whether to activate one or more of the notification appliances. As discussed above, the fire alarm panel may receive alarms or events from one or more sensors, such as fire alarm detectors, carbon monoxide detectors, heat sensors, or the like. Based on this information, the fire alarm panel may determine to activate one, some or all of the notification appliances under its control (Savage, Jr. et al. par. 78).
Examiner interpreted the controller 14 control a power condition of plurality of the detectors and plurality of notification devices as show in the figure 1.
and contemporaneously controlling, by the FACP, the power condition of the multiple groups of the remote notification devices responsive to an execution of the single input command.
In some embodiments, an indicator 34, such as a flashing LED (separate from the strobe element and associated circuitry 44, and separate from the directional information element and associated circuitry 46), may be used as an output, for example during diagnostic testing, on the strobe notification appliance 30. The indicator 34 may be activated, for example, upon command from the system controller 14, upon a local manual command such as a pushbutton (not shown). Alternatively, the directional information element may be used during diagnostic testing. For example, one or more of the directional LEDs may be used during diagnostic testing. In this regard, the one or more of the directional LEDs may serve multiple purposes (Savage, Jr. et al. par. 62). FIG. 4 is an exemplary flow chart 400 of operation of the fire alarm panel in automatically generating and sending the directional information to the strobe notification appliance. At 402, the fire alarm panel determines whether to activate one or more of the notification appliances. As discussed above, the fire alarm panel may receive alarms or events from one or more sensors, such as fire alarm detectors, carbon monoxide detectors, heat sensors, or the like. Based on this information, the fire alarm panel may determine to activate one, some or all of the notification appliances under its control (Savage, Jr. et al. par. 78).
Examiner interpreted the controller 14 cable of activate a power for at least one of plurality of the detectors and one of plurality of notification devices as show in the figure 1 or controller cable of activate power for all the detector devices or all notification devices.
Savage, Jr. et al. do not explicitly teach by specifically identifying each of the multiple groups of the remote notification devices.
Capowski et al. teach by specifically identifying each of the multiple groups of the remote notification devices; (Capowski et al. US 6426697 abstract; col. 1 lines 50-67; col. 2 lines 1-67; col. 3 lines 1-10, 54-67; col. 4 lines 1-5, 24-52; col. 5 lines 63-67; col. 6 lines 1-67; col. 7 lines 1-10; col. 12 lines 11-21; col. 13 lines 47-65; col. 17 lines 9-36; col. 19 lines 48-67; col. 20 lines 22-32, 43-67; table 2; figures 1-9;)
The notification appliances 24 of the present invention are operated through commands or polls received over the NAC 16 from the system controller 14. Each notification appliance 24 transfers identification, configuration, and status messages to/from the system controller 14. The format of the communication message or poll between each notification appliance 24 and the system controller 14 can comprise a first synchronization signal, a command signal identifying a particular poll number, a data field which may include an address of a particular notification appliance, and a second synchronization signal. The notification appliance 24 or appliances being addressed by the system controller 14 would then respond according to the Poll that was directed to the appliance(s). An exemplary listing of various polls that the present invention is capable of performing is found in Table 2 infra. The alarm system of the present invention includes two normal modes of operation: ACTIVE mode and STANDBY mode, as illustrated in FIGS. 3 and 4, respectively. In the STANDBY mode, the system controller 14 applies a first voltage level of approximately 8 VDC (or data 0) to the NAC 16 to provide only enough power to support two-way communications between the system controller and the notification appliance(s). In the ACTIVE mode, the system controller 14 applies a nominal 24 VDC to the NAC 16 to supply power to operate the audible and/or visible alarms of each notification appliance but drops the applied voltage to 8 VDC during communication with the appliances (Capowski et al. col. 4 lines 24-52).
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claim invention to combine Savage, Jr. et al. and Capowski et al. by comprising the teaching of Capowski et al. into the system of Savage, Jr. et al.. The motivation to combine these arts is to provide a data field associated with address for the particular notification appliance from Capowski et al. reference into Savage, Jr. et al. reference so the user can easily selecting the particular notification appliance to activate the output for reducing the transmission time.
Regarding claim 29, the combination of Savage, Jr. et al. and Capowski et al. disclose The fire alarm control panel in accordance with claim 1, wherein the single input command is configured to contemporaneously control the power condition of the multiple groups of the remote notification devices while bypassing at least one spacing constraint on altering the power condition per-group.
The alarm system of the present invention includes two normal modes of operation: ACTIVE mode and STANDBY mode, as illustrated in FIGS. 3 and 4, respectively. In the STANDBY mode, the system controller 14 applies a first voltage level of approximately 8 VDC (or data 0) to the NAC 16 to provide only enough power to support two-way communications between the system controller and the notification appliance(s). In the ACTIVE mode, the system controller 14 applies a nominal 24 VDC to the NAC 16 to supply power to operate the audible and/or visible alarms of each notification appliance but drops the applied voltage to 8 VDC during communication with the appliances (capowski et al. col. 4 lines 41-52). The system controller 14 wanting to turn on a notification appliance or appliances 24 on the NAC 16 must enable the selected device(s) via command Polls, then transition the voltage level on the NAC 16 from a STANDBY mode to an ACTIVE mode by raising the steady-state voltage to the 24 V level at the completion of each Poll/response cycle (see FIG. 3). Notification appliances at the enabled addresses will then turn on their notification devices after a 24 V power detection for 1 ms is detected. Steady state voltage verification must be accomplished after each Poll cycle for the notification appliance 24 to operate the notification device (Capowski et al. col. 6 lines 21-32).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interpreted the controller selecting the particular of the notification device to activate the notification device via adjusting the power from standby mode to active mode as illustrate in the figure 3 and 4 of Capowski et al. reference. As show in the figures 1 and 2, the plurality of notification appliances are connect in network 16 couple to the controller 14 via power line 18 and 20. Therefore, it’s obviously for the controller to bypassing at least one notification appliance to activate the next notification appliance once selecting.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/13/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In the remark applicant argues in substance:
Applicant argument: First, applicant argues that Savage, Jr. et al. and Capowski et al. failed to teach or suggest “A fire alarm control panel configured to…..receive a single input command configured to contemporaneously control a power condition of multiple groups of the remove notification device by specifically identifying each of the multiple groups of the remote identification devices” as cited in the independent claim 1 and similar for claims 14 and 28.
Second, applicant argues that Capowski et al. failed to teach or suggest “a single command identifies multiple distinct groups for concurrent power control; to the contrary, Capowski et al. assigns group membership and then controls one group at a time”.
Finally, applicant argues that Savage, Jr. et al. and Capowski et al. failed to teach or suggest “Wherein each respective one of a plurality of bits in multiple bytes of the bitmap specifies a respective one of the remote notification devices, and wherein each of the multiple bytes corresponds to respective one of the multiple groups of the remote notification devices” as mention in the claims 6 and 18.
Examiner response: First, examiner respectfully disagree with applicant and examiner respectfully submit that the combination of Savage, Jr. et al. and Capowski et al. do teach or suggest “A fire alarm control panel configured to…..receive a single input command configured to contemporaneously control a power condition of multiple groups of the remove notification device by specifically identifying each of the multiple groups of the remote identification devices” as cited in the independent claim 1 and similar for claims 14 and 28. As show in the figure 1 of Savage, Jr. et al. reference, a system controller 14 comprise a fire alarm control panel that connect to a pair of power lines 18 and 20 that carry communications and power between the controller 14 with plurality of detectors D and plurality of notification appliances A. The paragraph 52 of Savage, Jr. et al. reference disclose the controller 14 send a command related to the identification, the configuration, and/or the status of the notification appliances. The paragraph 62 of Savage, Jr. et al. reference teach “The indicator 34 may be activated, for example, upon command from the system controller 14, upon a local manual command such as a pushbutton (not shown).”. The paragraph 78 of Savage, Jr. et al. reference teach “FIG. 4 is an exemplary flow chart 400 of operation of the fire alarm panel in automatically generating and sending the directional information to the strobe notification appliance. At 402, the fire alarm panel determines whether to activate one or more of the notification appliances. As discussed above, the fire alarm panel may receive alarms or events from one or more sensors, such as fire alarm detectors, carbon monoxide detectors, heat sensors, or the like. Based on this information, the fire alarm panel may determine to activate one, some or all of the notification appliances under its control.”. According to the cited passages and figures, Savage, Jr. et al. reference clearly support a single input command. For example, paragraph 78 disclose the fire alarm panel can activate one, some or all of the notification appliances under its control. Under broadest reasonable interpretation and functional claiming, the reference do support the claimed functionality of a command to control one, some or all of the notification appliances A. The paragraph 62 disclose a local manual command such as a pushbutton and it would be obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art the pushbutton can be a switch for manual turning on/off. As illustrate in the figure 1 of Savage, Jr. et al. reference, the plurality of the notification devices A connect to the system controller via a pair of power wires 18 and 20 therefore, a single activate on a pushbutton will control all the notification devices A. Col. 4 lines 24-25 of Capowski et al. reference clearly teach “each notification appliance 24 transfers identification, configuration, and status messages to/from the system controller 14” and “a command signal identifying a particular poll number, a data field which may include an address a particular notification”.
Secondly, examiner respectfully submit that Capowski et al. reference do teach “a single command identifies multiple distinct groups for concurrent power control; to the contrary, Capowski et al. assigns group membership and then controls one group at a time”.
The notification appliances 24 of the present invention are operated through commands or polls received over the NAC 16 from the system controller 14. Each notification appliance 24 transfers identification, configuration, and status messages to/from the system controller 14. The format of the communication message or poll between each notification appliance 24 and the system controller 14 can comprise a first synchronization signal, a command signal identifying a particular poll number, a data field which may include an address of a particular notification appliance, and a second synchronization signal. The notification appliance 24 or appliances being addressed by the system controller 14 would then respond according to the Poll that was directed to the appliance(s). An exemplary listing of various polls that the present invention is capable of performing is found in Table 2 infra. The alarm system of the present invention includes two normal modes of operation: ACTIVE mode and STANDBY mode, as illustrated in FIGS. 3 and 4, respectively. In the STANDBY mode, the system controller 14 applies a first voltage level of approximately 8 VDC (or data 0) to the NAC 16 to provide only enough power to support two-way communications between the system controller and the notification appliance(s). In the ACTIVE mode, the system controller 14 applies a nominal 24 VDC to the NAC 16 to supply power to operate the audible and/or visible alarms of each notification appliance but drops the applied voltage to 8 VDC during communication with the appliances (Capowski et al. col. 4 lines 24-52).
According to the cited passages and figures, Capowski et al. reference disclose that notification appliance are operated through commands or polls received from the system controller, wherein each command may address one or more notification appliances. While, Capowski et al. reference describes assigning group membership to appliances, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include identifiers for multiple groups within a single command or poll in order to improve efficiency and reduce command traffic on the notification appliance circuit. Further, Capowski et al. reference discloses that the system controller applies different voltage levels on the notification appliance circuit to control the operating state of the notification appliances (ACTIVE and STANDBY modes figures 3-4). Applying such voltage control to multiple groups concurrently in response to a single command represents a predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions. For example, figures 1-2 of Capowski et al. reference show the controller connect to the pair power lines 18 and 20 which can be act as a single input like turning on/off. Accordingly, the combination of Savage, Jr. et al. and Capowski et al. teach or render obvious receiving a single command configured to contemporaneously control a power condition of multiple groups of notification appliance, as claimed.
Finally, examiner respectfully submit that Savage, Jr. et al. and Capowski et al. do teach or suggest “Wherein each respective one of a plurality of bits in multiple bytes of the bitmap specifies a respective one of the remote notification devices, and wherein each of the multiple bytes corresponds to respective one of the multiple groups of the remote notification devices” as mention in the claims 6 and 18. Co. 17 lines 9-36 of Capowski et al. reference clearly teach the data field 32 indicating the address of the particular notification appliances 24, and a group identification field identifying the addressed Group. There are plurality of bits associated for particular notification appliance device and particular group. Therefore, it’s obviously for one of ordinary skill in the art to understand there is multiple bytes or bits corresponds to respective one of the particular notification appliance or one of the multiple groups of the remote notification appliance device as mention in Capowski et al. reference because 8bits = 1byte. Since art of record still read on the claim invention, therefore the rejection stand. Please see above rejection.
Conclusion
/THANG D TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2686
/BRIAN A ZIMMERMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2686