DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 and 10-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Deo et al. (USPGPUB 2011/0121032).
Regarding claim 1, Deo et al. disclose a method comprising:
obtaining a request to dispense a first beverage (see “select a beverage formulation” in paragraph [0047]);
identifying a first formula for the first beverage, wherein the first formula indicates a first group of components (see “a beverage formulation recipe” in paragraph [0047]), one or more respective measures associated with the first group of components (see “concentration” in paragraph [0047]), and a first sequence of the first group of components to dispense to build the first beverage (see “recipe” in paragraph [0047]);
obtaining a first modification, wherein the first modification indicates 1) a modification to at least one of a) a respective component of the first group of components, b) a respective measure (see “adjust the amount (concentration)…” in paragraph [0047]) associated with a respective component of the first group of components, c) a size of a receptacle for the first beverage, d) the first sequence, or e) an operation associated with the first beverage, 2) a removal of a respective component or operation, or 3) an addition of a respective component or operation;
dynamically generating a second formula (see “Based upon the consumer's adjustment, one or more additional ingredients may be automatically adjusted.” in paragraph [0047]) for the first beverage based at least in part on the first formula and the first modification, wherein the second formula indicates a second group of components (see “more additional ingredients” in paragraph [0047]), one or more respective measures (see “more additional ingredients may be automatically adjusted” in paragraph [0047]) associated with the second group of components, and a second sequence of the second group of components to dispense to build the first beverage (see “recipe” in paragraph [0047]);
building a first set of computer-executable instructions for one or more first automated dispensing systems based at least in part on the second formula (see Figure 5), each of the one or more first automated dispensing systems comprising one or more dispensers (see Figure 1); and
communicating at least a portion of the first set of computer-executable instructions to the one or more first automated dispensing systems to build the first beverage, wherein, for each of the one or more first automated dispensing systems, a respective controller of the respective automated dispensing system causes the respective one or more dispensers to dispense at least a respective portion of the second group of components in accordance with the second formula (see Figures 5 and 7).
Regarding claim 2, Deo et al. disclose the method of Claim 1, wherein communicating the at least a portion of the first set of computer-executable instructions comprises:
communicating a first portion of the first set of computer-executable instructions to a first automated dispensing system of the one or more first automated dispensing systems (see Figures 5 and 7); and
communicating a second portion of the first set of computer-executable instructions to a second automated dispensing system of the one or more first automated dispensing systems (see paragraph [0080]).
Regarding claim 3, Deo et al. disclose the method of Claim 1, wherein communicating the at least a portion of the first set of computer-executable instructions comprises:
communicating a first portion of the first set of computer-executable instructions to a first automated dispensing system of the one or more first automated dispensing systems, wherein the first portion of the first set of computer-executable instructions comprise first instructions to dispense a first portion of the second group of components according to one or more respective measures associated with the first portion of the second group of components (see Figures 5 and 7); and
communicating a second portion of the first set of computer-executable instructions to a second automated dispensing system of the one or more first automated dispensing systems (see paragraph [0080]), wherein the second portion of the first set of computer-executable instructions comprise second instructions to dispense a second portion of the second group of components according to one or more respective measures associated with the second portion of the second group of components (see Figures 5 and 7).
Regarding claim 4, Deo et al. disclose the method of Claim 1, wherein communicating the at least a portion of the first set of computer-executable instructions comprises:
communicating a first portion of the first set of computer-executable instructions to a first automated dispensing system of the one or more first automated dispensing systems, wherein the first portion of the first set of computer-executable instructions comprise first instructions to dispense a first portion of the second group of components according to one or more respective measures associated with the first portion of the second group of components (see paragraphs [0047], [0059], and Figures 5 and 7);
obtaining, from the first automated dispensing system, an output indicating dispensation of the first portion of the second group of components (see “a unique formula dispensed to a particular user” in paragraph [0031]); and
in response to obtaining the output, communicating a second portion of the first set of computer-executable instructions to a second automated dispensing system of the one or more first automated dispensing systems, wherein the second portion of the first set of computer-executable instructions comprise second instructions to dispense a second portion of the second group of components according to one or more respective measures associated with the second portion of the second group of components (see paragraphs [0047], [0059], and Figures 5 and 7).
Regarding claim 5, Deo et al. disclose the method of Claim 1, wherein communicating the at least a portion of the first set of computer-executable instructions comprises:
communicating a first portion of the first set of computer-executable instructions to a first automated dispensing system of the one or more first automated dispensing systems, wherein the first portion of the first set of computer-executable instructions comprise first instructions to dispense, during a first time period (see “the quantity of ingredient…over a predetermined period of time is reduced” in paragraph [0039]) according to the second sequence, a first portion of the second group of components according to one or more respective measures associated with the first portion of the second group of components (see Figures 5 and 7); and
communicating a second portion of the first set of computer-executable instructions to a second automated dispensing system of the one or more first automated dispensing systems, wherein the second portion of the first set of computer-executable instructions comprise second instructions to dispense, during a second time (see “to increase the quantity of ingredient…over a predetermined period of time” in paragraph [0039]) period according to the second sequence, a second portion of the second group of components according to one or more respective measures associated with the second portion of the second group of components (see Figures 5 and 7).
Regarding claim 6, Deo et al. disclose the method of Claim 1, wherein communicating the at least a portion of the first set of computer-executable instructions comprises:
communicating a first portion of the first set of computer-executable instructions to a first automated dispensing system of the one or more first automated dispensing systems, wherein the first portion of the first set of computer-executable instructions comprise first instructions to dispense a first portion of the second group of components according to one or more respective measures associated with the first portion of the second group of components (see paragraphs [0047], [0059], and Figures 5 and 7);
obtaining, from a monitoring system, an output indicating dispensation of the first portion of the second group of components (see “information … including a unique formula dispensed to a particular user … through a central server” in paragraph [0031]); and
in response to obtaining the output, communicating a second portion of the first set of computer-executable instructions to a second automated dispensing system of the one or more first automated dispensing systems, wherein the second portion of the first set of computer-executable instructions comprise second instructions to dispense a second portion of the second group of components according to one or more respective measures associated with the second portion of the second group of components (see paragraphs [0047], [0059], and Figures 5 and 7).
Regarding claim 7, Deo et al. disclose the method of Claim 1, wherein communicating the at least a portion of the first set of computer-executable instructions comprises:
communicating the first set of computer-executable instructions to a first automated dispensing system of the one or more first automated dispensing systems and a second automated dispensing system of the one or more first automated dispensing systems (see paragraph [0080]).
Regarding claim 8, Deo et al. disclose the method of Claim 1, wherein the first sequence and the second sequence are different sequences (see paragraph [0060]).
Regarding claim 10, Deo et al. disclose the method of Claim 1, wherein communicating the at least a portion of the first set of computer-executable instructions comprises communicating the at least a portion of the first set of computer-executable instructions according to the second sequence (see paragraphs [0047] and [0060]).
Regarding claim 11, Deo et al. disclose the method of Claim 1 further comprising:
storing, in an automated dispensing system database, data indicating a plurality of automated dispensing systems associated with a physical environment; wherein the plurality of automated dispensing systems comprises the one or more first automated dispensing systems (see paragraph [0080]).
Regarding claim 12, Deo et al. disclose the method of Claim 1 further comprising:
storing, in an automated dispensing system database, data indicating at least one of a status or a location of the one or more first automated dispensing systems within a physical environment; wherein dynamically generating the second formula is further based at least in part on the data indicating the at least one of the status or the location of the one or more first automated dispensing systems within the physical environment (see paragraph [0080]).
Regarding claim 13, Deo et al. disclose the method of Claim 1, wherein the second group of components comprises a second plurality of ingredients of the first beverage (see “more additional ingredients” in paragraph [0047]).
Regarding claim 14, Deo et al. disclose the method of Claim 1, wherein the one or more first automated dispensing systems comprise at least one of:
a sauce dispensing system;
a syrup dispensing system;
an espresso dispensing system;
a drip coffee dispensing system;
a cold brew coffee dispensing system;
a coffee infused with nitrogen dispensing system;
a steamed milk dispensing system;
a dairy milk dispensing system (see paragraph [0011]);
a non-dairy milk dispensing system;
a hot water dispensing system;
a juice dispensing system (see paragraph [0011]); or
a mixed beverage dispensing system (see paragraph [0011]).
Regarding claim 15, Deo et al. disclose the method of Claim 1, wherein building the first set of computer-executable instructions comprises:
identifying a plurality of automated dispensing systems associated with a physical environment (see paragraph [0080]);
determining the one or more first automated dispensing systems from the plurality of automated dispensing systems based at least in part on the second formula (see paragraph [0080]); and
generating the first set of computer-executable instructions based at least in part on the second formula and the one or more first automated dispensing systems (see Figures 5 and 7).
Regarding claim 16, Deo et al. disclose the method of Claim 1, wherein building the first set of computer-executable instructions comprises:
identifying a plurality of automated dispensing systems associated with a physical environment (see paragraph [0080]);
determining the one or more first automated dispensing systems from the plurality of automated dispensing systems based at least in part on the second formula (see Figures 5 and 7); and
generating the first set of computer-executable instructions based at least in part on the second formula and the one or more first automated dispensing systems (see Figures 5 and 7), the method further comprising:
obtaining a request to dispense a second beverage (see “710” in Figure 7);
identifying a third formula for the second beverage, wherein the third formula indicates a third group of components (see “a beverage formulation recipe” in paragraph [0047]), one or more respective measures associated with the third group of components (see “concentration” in paragraph [0047]), and a third sequence of the third group of components to dispense to build the second beverage (see “recipe” in paragraph [0047]);
obtaining a second modification, wherein the second modification indicates 1) a modification to at least one of a) a respective component of the third group of components, b) a respective measure (see “concentration” in paragraph [0047]) associated with a respective component of the third group of components, c) a size of a receptacle for the second beverage, d) the third sequence, or e) an operation associated with the second beverage, 2) a removal of a respective component or operation, or 3) an addition of a respective component or operation;
dynamically generating a fourth formula for the second beverage based at least in part on the third formula and the second modification (see Figures 5 and 7), wherein the fourth formula indicates a fourth group of components (see “a beverage formulation recipe” in paragraph [0047]), one or more respective measures (see “concentration” in paragraph [0047]) associated with the fourth group of components, and a fourth sequence of the fourth group of components to dispense to build the second beverage (see “recipe” in paragraph [0047]);
determining one or more second automated dispensing systems from the plurality of automated dispensing systems based at least in part on the fourth formula (see paragraph [0080]); and
generating a second set of computer-executable instructions based at least in part on the fourth formula and the one or more second automated dispensing systems (see Figures 5 and 7 and paragraph [0080]).
Regarding claim 17, Deo et al. disclose the method of Claim 1 further comprising:
obtaining a second modification (see “510” in Figure 5), wherein the second modification indicates 1) a modification to at least one of a) a respective component of the first group of components, b) a respective measure associated with a respective component of the first group of components (see “concentration” in paragraph [0047]), c) a size of a receptacle for the first beverage, d) the first sequence, or e) an operation associated with the first beverage, 2) a removal of a respective component or operation, or 3) an addition of a respective component or operation, wherein the second modification and the first modification are different modifications (see Figure 5);
dynamically generating a third formula for the first beverage based at least in part on the first formula and the second modification (see Figure 5), wherein the third formula indicates a third group of components (see a beverage formulation recipe” in paragraph [0047]), one or more respective measures associated with the third group of components (see “concentration” in paragraph [0047]), and a third sequence of the third group of components to dispense to build the first beverage (see “recipe” in paragraph [0047]);
building a second set of computer-executable instructions for one or more second automated dispensing systems based at least in part on the third formula (see Figure 5); and
communicating at least a portion of the second set of computer-executable instructions to the one or more second automated dispensing systems to build the first beverage, wherein, for each of the one or more second automated dispensing systems (see paragraph [0080]), a respective controller of the respective automated dispensing system causes a respective one or more dispensers to dispense at least a respective portion of the third group of components in accordance with the third formula (see Figures 5 and 7).
Regarding claim 18, Deo et al. disclose the method of Claim 1 further comprising:
determining one or more nutritional values associated with the first beverage based at least in part on the second formula (see paragraph [0054]).
Regarding claim 19, Deo et al. disclose the method of Claim 1 further comprising:
determining one or more nutritional values associated with the first beverage based at least in part on the second formula (see paragraph [0054]); and
causing display (600), via a user interface, of the one or more nutritional values (see paragraph [0054]).
Regarding claim 20, Deo et al. disclose the method of Claim 1 further comprising:
determining one or more first nutritional values associated with the first beverage based at least in part on the first formula (see paragraph [0054]); and
determining one or more second nutritional values associated with the first beverage based at least in part on the second formula (see paragraph [0054]).
Regarding claim 21, Deo et al. disclose the method of Claim 1 further comprising:
determining one or more first nutritional values associated with the first beverage based at least in part on the first formula (see paragraph [0054]);
determining one or more second nutritional values associated with the first beverage based at least in part on the second formula (see paragraph [0054]); and
determining a difference between the one or more first nutritional values and the one or more second nutritional values (see paragraph [0054]).
Regarding claim 22, Deo et al. disclose the method of Claim 1 further comprising:
determining one or more first nutritional values associated with the first beverage based at least in part on the first formula (see paragraph [0054]);
determining one or more second nutritional values associated with the first beverage based at least in part on the second formula (see paragraph [0054]);
determining a difference between the one or more first nutritional values and the one or more second nutritional values (see paragraph [0054]); and
causing display, via a user interface (600), of the difference (see paragraph [0054]).
Regarding claim 23, Deo et al. disclose the method of Claim 1, wherein the first formula comprises a first recipe (see “recipe” in paragraph [0047]) and the second formula comprises a second recipe (see “recipe” in paragraph [0047] and “712” in Figure 7).
Regarding claim 24, Deo et al. disclose a computing system comprising:
memory storing first computer-executable instructions (see paragraph [0027]); and
one or more processors (see paragraph [0027]) coupled to the memory and configured to execute the first computer-executable instructions, wherein execution of the first computer-executable instructions causes the one or more processors to:
obtain a request to dispense a first beverage (see “select a beverage formulation” in paragraph [0047]);
identify a first formula for the first beverage, wherein the first formula indicates a first group of components (see a beverage formulation recipe” in paragraph [0047]), one or more respective measures associated with the first group of components (see “concentration” in paragraph [0047]), and a first sequence of the first group of components to dispense to build the first beverage (see “recipe” in paragraph [0047]);
obtain a first modification, wherein the first modification indicates 1) a modification to at least one of a) a respective component of the first group of components, b) a respective measure (see “adjust the amount (concentration)…” in paragraph [0047]) associated with a respective component of the first group of components, c) a size of a receptacle for the first beverage, d) the first sequence, or e) an operation associated with the first beverage, 2) a removal of a respective component or operation, or 3) an addition of a respective component or operation;
dynamically generate a second formula (see “Based upon the consumer's adjustment, one or more additional ingredients may be automatically adjusted.” in paragraph [0047]) for the first beverage based at least in part on the first formula and the first modification, wherein the second formula indicates a second group of components (see “more additional ingredients” in paragraph [0047]), one or more respective measures (see “more additional ingredients may be automatically adjusted” in paragraph [0047]) associated with the second group of components, and a second sequence of the second group of components to dispense to build the first beverage (see “recipe” in paragraph [0047]);
build second computer-executable instructions for one or more first automated dispensing systems based at least in part on the second formula (see Figure 5), each of the one or more first automated dispensing systems comprising one or more dispensers (see Figure 1); and
communicate at least a portion of the second computer-executable instructions to the one or more first automated dispensing systems to build the first beverage, wherein, for each of the one or more first automated dispensing systems, a respective controller of the respective automated dispensing system causes the respective one or more dispensers to dispense at least a respective portion of the second group of components in accordance with the second formula (see Figures 5 and 7).
Regarding claim 25, Deo et al. disclose a non-transitory computer readable media comprising first computer-executable instructions, wherein execution of the first computer-executable instructions causes one or more processors to:
obtain a request to dispense a first beverage (see “select a beverage formulation” in paragraph [0047]);
identify a first formula for the first beverage, wherein the first formula indicates a first group of components (see a beverage formulation recipe” in paragraph [0047]), one or more respective measures associated with the first group of components (see “concentration” in paragraph [0047]), and a first sequence of the first group of components to dispense to build the first beverage (see “recipe” in paragraph [0047]);
obtain a first modification, wherein the first modification indicates 1) a modification to at least one of a) a respective component of the first group of components, b) a respective measure (see “adjust the amount (concentration)…” in paragraph [0047]) associated with a respective component of the first group of components, c) a size of a receptacle for the first beverage, d) the first sequence, or e) an operation associated with the first beverage, 2) a removal of a respective component or operation, or 3) an addition of a respective component or operation;
dynamically generate a second formula (see “Based upon the consumer's adjustment, one or more additional ingredients may be automatically adjusted.” in paragraph [0047]) for the first beverage based at least in part on the first formula and the first modification, wherein the second formula indicates a second group of components (see “more additional ingredients” in paragraph [0047]), one or more respective measures (see “more additional ingredients may be automatically adjusted” in paragraph [0047]) associated with the second group of components, and a second sequence of the second group of components to dispense to build the first beverage (see “recipe” in paragraph [0047]);
build second computer-executable instructions for one or more first automated dispensing systems based at least in part on the second formula (see Figure 5), each of the one or more first automated dispensing systems comprising one or more dispensers (see Figure 1); and
communicate at least a portion of the second computer-executable instructions to the one or more first automated dispensing systems to build the first beverage, wherein, for each of the one or more first automated dispensing systems, a respective controller of the respective automated dispensing system causes the respective one or more dispensers to dispense at least a respective portion of the second group of components in accordance with the second formula (see Figures 5 and 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deo et al. (USPGPUB 2011/0121032) as applied to claims 1-8 and 10-25 above, and further in view of Studor et al. (USP 11,272,806).
Regarding claim 9, Deo et al. disclose the method of Claim 1, wherein the first sequence indicates a first component is to be dispensed prior to a second component (see paragraph [0032]). However, they do not disclose a method wherein the second sequence indicates the second component is to be dispensed prior to the first component. Studor et al. disclose a method wherein the second sequence indicates the second component is to be dispensed prior to the first component (see column 27 lines 46-67 to column 28 lines 1-24). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Deo et al. by including a method wherein the second sequence indicates the second component is to be dispensed prior to the first component, as disclosed by Studor et al., with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of providing a timing parameter for dispensing in order to affect the beverage’s taste (see column 27 lines 46-67 to column 28 lines 1-24).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
M.K.C.
1/16/2026
/MICHAEL COLLINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655