DETAILED ACTION
1. This is in response to communication filed on 10/15/25 in which claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2021/019435 to Yi.
a. As per claim 1, Yi teaches a method performed by a terminal in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: identifying that a remaining time value for data buffered in a logical channel group (LCG) is less than a threshold (See page 1, Solution to Problem , triggering a Buffer Status Report (BSR) when a remaining time of the data unit is less than a threshold, and page 40); and transmitting, to a base station, information on an identity of the
b. As per claim 6, Yi teaches a method performed by a base station in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: receiving, from a terminal, information on an identity of a logical channel group (LCG) (See page 38, [0246]), information on a buffer size for the LCG (See page 38, [0248]), and information on a shortest remaining time value for the LCG (See page 40, [0257-0262]), wherein the information on the identity of the LCG, information on the buffer size for the LCG, and the information on the shortest remaining time value for the LCG are received, in case that a remaining time value for data buffered in the LCG is less than a threshold (See page 1, Solution to Problem , triggering a Buffer Status Report (BSR) when a remaining time of the data unit is less than a threshold, and page 40).
c. As per claim 11, Yi teaches a terminal in a wireless communication system, the terminal comprising: a transceiver (See page 17, [0098]); and a controller coupled with the transceiver (See paragraph [0090 and 0092]) and configured to:triggering a Buffer Status Report (BSR) when a remaining time of the data unit is less than a threshold, and page 40), and transmit, to a base station, information on an identity of the LCG (See page 38, [0246]), information on a buffer size for the LCG (See page 38 [0248]), and information on a shortest remaining value for the LCG (See page 40, [0257-0262]).
d. As per claim 16, Yi teaches a base station in a wireless communication system, the base station comprising: a transceiver (See page 17, [0098]); and a controller coupled with the transceiver (See paragraph [0090 and 0092]) and configured to: receive, from a terminal, information on an identity of a logical channel group (LCG) (See page 38, [0246]), information on a buffer size for the LCG (See page 38 [0248]), and information on a shortest remaining time value for the LCG (See page 40, [0257-0262]),wherein the information on the identity of the LCG, information on the buffer size for the LCG, and the information on the shortest remaining time value for the LCG are received, in case that a remaining time value for data buffered in the LCG is less than a threshold (See page 1, Solution to Problem , triggering a Buffer Status Report (BSR) when a remaining time of the data unit is less than a threshold, and page 40).
e. As per claims 2, 7, 12 and 17, Yi teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Yi teaches wherein the remaining time value is a smallest remaining time value among all data buffered for the LCG (See page 40, [0257-0264]).
f. As per claim 3, 8, 13 and 18, Yi teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Yi teaches wherein the threshold is configured by a radio resource control (RRC) signaling for the LCG (See pages 25 and 33 [0210]).
g. As per claims 4, 9, 14 and 19, Yi teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Yi teaches wherein the data is associated with an extended reality (XR) (See page 11, [0081]).
h. As per claims 5, 10, 15 and 20, Yi teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Yi teaches wherein the information on the identity of the LCG, the information on the buffer size for the LCG, and the information on the shortest remaining time value for the LCG are included in a medium access control (MAC)control element CE) (See page 37, [0237] and page 38]).
Conclusion
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Publication No. 2021/0360469 to Shrestha et al teaches Buffer Status Report Transmission in Non-Terrestrial Networks.
6. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DJENANE M BAYARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2444