DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 14-17, 19, 21-23 and 25-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102[a2] as being anticipated by Xu [US 2022/0078755].
As claim 1, Xu [US 2022/0078755] discloses a first user equipment (UE) for wireless communication [Fig 2, Ref 212 UE2, Fig 16, Ref 1610/1602, Fig 22, 2210], comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, individually or collectively configured to cause the first UE to: receive scheduling information for the first UE using Layer 1 (L1) signaling [Fig 16, Ref 1610 or 1602 for receiving scheduling information from base station using L1 that carrying DCI], the scheduling information including a first target that includes an out-of-coverage and a first granted resource for relaying data to the OOC UE using L1 signaling [Fig 16, Par. 0137-0148 discloses 1610/1620 receives DCI via PDCCH “layer 1 signaling”, Par. 0197, which includes resources for exchanging data between 1610/1602 and 1620-1610 via side-link wherein 1620-1604 is out of coverage, Par. 0072-0077 discloses resource allocated for each direction via PSCCH] wherein initiate access of the OOC UE is controlled by the network entity to avoid collisions [Par. 0163, 0177 discloses the OCC receives resources from base station via SCI/DCI to avoid collision when transmission]; and transmit or receive the data on a sidelink using L1 signaling based at least in part on the scheduling information [Fig 16, Par. 0137-0148 discloses 1610-1604 exchanging data with each other using L1 signaling such as SCI via PSCCH, Par. 0197, or feedback via PFSCH in PC5, Par. 0104, Fig 22 discloses data exchanges between the nodes after scheduling using L1 signaling].
As claim 2, Xu [US 2022/0078755] discloses the first UE is a relay UE [Fig 2, Ref 212 UE2, Fig 16, Ref 1610/1602, Fig 22, 2210], and wherein the scheduling information includes relay information for one or more other targets and one or more granted resources associated with the one or more other targets [Fig 16, Par. 0137-0148 discloses 1610/1620 receives DCI via PDCCH “layer 1 signaling”, Par. 0197, which includes resources for exchanging data between 1610/1602 and 1620-1610 via side-link wherein 1620-1604 is out of coverage], and wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the first UE to transmit the scheduling information using L1 signaling to a second UE that is one of the one or more other targets [Fig 16, Par. 0137-0148 discloses 1610/1620 receives DCI via PDCCH “layer 1 signaling”, Par. 0197, which includes resources for exchanging data between 1610/1602 and 1620-1610 via side-link wherein 1620-1604 is out of coverage].
As claim 3, Xu [US 2022/0078755] discloses the one or more processors, to receive the scheduling information, are individually or collectively configured to cause the first UE to receive the scheduling information from another relay UE using L1 signaling [Fig 16, Par. 0137-0148 discloses 1610/1620 receives DCI via PDCCH “layer 1 signaling”, Par. 0197, which includes resources for exchanging data between 1610/1602 and 1620-1610 via side-link wherein 1620-1604 is out of coverage].
As claim 4, Xu [US 2022/0078755] discloses the scheduling information includes reverse link information that indicates a resource for transmission to a network entity [Fig 2, 22, Ref 2222 includes DCI comprising reverse link to transmit to base station, Ref 2236].
As claim 5, Xu [US 2022/0078755] discloses to receive the scheduling information, are individually or collectively configured to cause the first UE to receive the scheduling information from a network entity using L1 signaling [Fig 16, Par. 0137-0148 discloses 1610/1620 receives DCI via PDCCH “layer 1 signaling”, Par. 0197, which includes resources for exchanging data between 1610/1602 and 1620-1610 via side-link wherein 1620-1604 is out of coverage].
As claim 6, Xu [US 2022/0078755] discloses the one or more processors, to receive the scheduling information, are individually or collectively configured to cause the first UE to receive the scheduling information from a relay UE using L1 signaling [Fig 16, Par. 0137-0148 discloses 1610/1620 receives DCI via PDCCH “layer 1 signaling”, Par. 0197, which includes resources for exchanging data between 1610/1602 and 1620-1610 via side-link wherein 1620-1604 is out of coverage].
As claim 14, Xu [US 2022/0078755] discloses a first user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, individually or collectively configured to cause the first UE [Fig 2, Ref 212 UE2, Fig 16, Ref 1610/1602, Fig 22, 2210], to: receive, using Layer 1 (L1) signaling, scheduling information from a second UE that indicates a first relay target, the first target that includes an out-of-coverage and a first granted resource for relaying data to the OOC UE using L1 signaling [Fig 16, Par. 0137-0148 discloses 1610/1620 receives DCI via PDCCH “layer 1 signaling”, Par. 0197, which includes resources for exchanging data between 1610/1602 and 1620-1610 via side-link such as PSCCH wherein 1620-1604 is out of coverage] wherein initiate access of the OOC UE is controlled by the network entity to avoid collisions [Par. 0163, 0177 discloses the OCC receives resources from base station via SCI/DCI to avoid collision when transmission]; and transmit the data using L1 signaling based at least in part on the scheduling information [Fig 16, Par. 0137-0148 discloses 1610-1604 exchanging data with each other using L1 signaling such as SCI via PSCCH, Par. 0197, or feedback via PFSCH in PC5, Par. 0104].
As claim 15, Xu [US 2022/0078755] discloses wherein the first relay target is a third UE, and wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the data, are individually or collectively configured to transmit data to the third UE using L1 signaling [Fig 16, Fig 22, Ref 2220 and 2204 exchanged data via PSCCH/PFSCH “physical layer 1 signaling”, Par. 0197, 0104].
As claim 16, Xu [US 2022/0078755] discloses the scheduling information includes reverse link information that indicates a resource for transmission to a network entity [Fig 22, Ref 2222, Par. 0137-0148 discloses resource for relay ACK to base station, Ref 2236], and wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the first UE to: receive feedback for the data from the third UE using L1 signaling [Fig 22, Ref 2222, Par. 0137-0148 discloses resource for relay ACK to another UE, Ref 2246, 2256]; and forward the feedback to the network entity via the second UE using L1 signaling based at least in part on the reverse link information [Fig 22, Ref 2222, Par. 0137-0148 discloses resource for relay ACK to base station, Ref 2236].
As claim 17, Xu [US 2022/0078755] discloses the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the first UE to transmit a sidelink grant to a third UE using L1 signaling based at least in part on the scheduling information [Fig 16, 22 discloses UE send SCI to another UE via L1, Par. 0197, Par. 0063, 0104].
As claim 19, Xu [US 2022/0078755] discloses a network entity [Fig 2, Ref 202 Fig 16, Ref 1640/1602, Fig 22, 2202] for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, individually or collectively configured to cause the network entity to: generate, for a relay user equipment (UE), scheduling information that includes a first target, the first target that includes an out-of-coverage and a first granted resource for relaying data to the OOC UE using L1 signaling [Fig 16, Par. 0137-0148 discloses base station send DCI via PDCCH “layer 1 signaling”, Par. 0197, which includes resources for exchanging data between 1610/1602 and 1620-1610 via side-link such as PSCCH wherein 1620-1604 is out of coverage] wherein initiate access of the OOC UE is controlled by the network entity to avoid collisions [Par. 0163, 0177 discloses the OCC receives resources from base station via SCI/DCI to avoid collision when transmission]; and transmit the scheduling information and the data to the relay UE using Layer 1 (L1) signaling [Fig 2, Ref 212 UE2, Fig 16, Ref 1610/1602, Fig 22, 2210 send DCI to OOC UE].
As claim 21, Xu [US 2022/0078755] discloses the scheduling information includes reverse link information that indicates a resource for transmission from the OOC UE to the relay UE [Fig 2, 16, Fig 22, Par. 0137-0148 discloses scheduling information includes resource for feedback].
As claim 22, Xu [US 2022/0078755] discloses the scheduling information includes reverse link information that indicates a resource for transmission from the relay UE to the network entity [Fig 2, 16, Fig 22, Par. 0137-0148 discloses scheduling information includes resource for feedback].
As claim 23, Xu [US 2022/0078755] discloses the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the network entity to: transmit data to the OOC UE via the relay UE using L1 signaling [Fig 2, 16, 22 discloses Base station send data to the OOC UE via the relay UE using L1, Par. 0197]; and receive feedback for the data from the OOC[Fig 2, 16, 22 discloses Base station receives feedback from the OOC UE via the relay UE using L1].
As claim 25, Xu [US 2022/0078755] discloses wherein the scheduling information includes relay information for one or more other targets and one or more granted resources associated with the one or more other targets [Fig 16, Fig 22, Par. 0137-0148 discloses the scheduling data includes resources for relay nodes and end nodes includes base station and UE].
As claim 26, Xu [US 2022/0078755] discloses the scheduling information includes reverse link information that indicates a resource for transmission from the OOC UE to the first UE [Fig 16, Fig 22, Par. 0137-0148 discloses the scheduling data includes resources for exchanging data from OOC to the first UE, Par. 0072-0077 discloses resource allocated for each direction].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 14-19 and 21-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102[a2] as being anticipated by Xu [US 2021/0144781] in view of Wang [US 2023/0370152].
As claim 1, Xu [US 2021/0144781]discloses a first user equipment (UE) for wireless communication [Fig 7A, Ref 204], comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, individually or collectively configured to cause the first UE to: receive scheduling information for the first UE using Layer 1 (L1) signaling [Par. 0106, 0112, 0118, 0121, 0124 for receiving scheduling information from base station using L1 that carrying DCI], the scheduling information including a first target that includes an out-of-coverage and a first granted resource for relaying data to the OOC UE using L1 signaling [Par. 0061-0063, 0119-0125 discloses scheduling information indicates the resources and OOC UE]; and transmit or receive the data on a sidelink using L1 signaling based at least in part on the scheduling information [Par. 0118-0125, Fig 13]. However, Xu [US 2021/0144781] fails to disclose what Wang [US 2023/0370152] discloses initiate access of the OOC UE is controlled by a network entity to avoid collisions [Fig 11-12 and Par. 005, 0096, 0183 discloses OOC receives resource from network in order to avoid collisions].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system comprising the base station to control the transmission of OOC based on its allowed resource to avoid collions as disclosed by Wang [US 2023/0370152] into the teaching of Xu [US 2021/0144781]. The motivation would have been to prevent data loss.
As claim 2, Xu [US 2021/0144781] discloses the first UE is a relay UE [Fig 7a, ref 204], and wherein the scheduling information includes relay information for one or more other targets and one or more granted resources associated with the one or more other targets [Par. 0118-0125, Fig 13], and wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the first UE to transmit the scheduling information using L1 signaling to a second UE that is one of the one or more other targets [Par. 0118-0125, Fig 13].
As claim 3, Xu [US 2021/0144781] discloses the one or more processors, to receive the scheduling information, are individually or collectively configured to cause the first UE to receive the scheduling information from another relay UE using L1 signaling [Fig 7A, Par. 0068-0070, Par. 0118-0125, Fig 13].
As claim 4, Xu [US 2021/0144781] discloses the scheduling information includes reverse link information that indicates a resource for transmission to a network entity [Fig 7A, Par. 0068-0070, Par. 0118-0125, Fig 13].
As claim 5, Xu [US 2021/0144781] discloses to receive the scheduling information, are individually or collectively configured to cause the first UE to receive the scheduling information from a network entity using L1 signaling [Fig 7A, 0106, 0112, 0118-0125, Fig 13].
As claim 6, Xu [US 2021/0144781] discloses the one or more processors, to receive the scheduling information, are individually or collectively configured to cause the first UE to receive the scheduling information from a relay UE using L1 signaling [Fig 7A, Par. 0118-0125, Fig 13].
As claim 14, Xu [US 2021/0144781] discloses a first user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, individually or collectively configured to cause the first UE [Fig 7A, Ref 204], to: receive, using Layer 1 (L1) signaling, scheduling information from a second UE that indicates a first relay target, the first target that includes an out-of-coverage and a first granted resource for relaying data to the OOC UE using L1 signaling [Par. 0118-025, Fig 7A]; and transmit the data using L1 signaling based at least in part on the scheduling information [Par. 0118-0125, Fig 7A, and 13]. However, Xu [US 2021/0144781] fails to disclose what Wang [US 2023/0370152] discloses initiate access of the OOC UE is controlled by a network entity to avoid collisions [Fig 11-12 and Par. 005, 0096, 0183 discloses OOC receives resource from network in order to avoid collisions].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system comprising the base station to control the transmission of OOC based on its allowed resource to avoid collions as disclosed by Wang [US 2023/0370152] into the teaching of Xu [US 2021/0144781]. The motivation would have been to prevent data loss.
As claim 15, Xu [US 2021/0144781] discloses wherein the first relay target is a third UE, and wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the data, are individually or collectively configured to transmit data to the third UE using L1 signaling [Fig 7A, Par. 0067-0069].
As claim 16, Xu [US 2021/0144781] discloses the scheduling information includes reverse link information that indicates a resource for transmission to a network entity [Fig 13, Par. 0118-0125, 0229-0230], and wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the first UE to: receive feedback for the data from the third UE using L1 signaling [Par. 0118-0125, 0229-0230]; and forward the feedback to the network entity via the second UE using L1 signaling based at least in part on the reverse link information [Par. 0118-0125, 0229-0230].
As claim 17, Xu [US 2021/0144781] discloses the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the first UE to transmit a sidelink grant to a third UE using L1 signaling based at least in part on the scheduling information [Par. 0118-0125, Fig 13].
As claim 18, Xu [US 2021/0144781] discloses the scheduling information includes reverse link information that indicates a resource for transmission to a network entity [Par. 0118-0125] and wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to transmit a buffer status report to a network entity using L1 signaling [Par. 0075, 0125, BSR send to Base station via layer one signaling].
As claim 19, Xu [US 2021/0144781] discloses a network entity [Fig 7A, Ref 202] for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, individually or collectively configured to cause the network entity to: generate, for a relay user equipment (UE), scheduling information that includes a first target, the first target that includes an out-of-coverage and a first granted resource for relaying data to the OOC UE using L1 signaling [Fig 7a, Ref 206, Par. 0112, 0118-0125, Fig 3]; and transmit the scheduling information and the data to the relay UE using Layer 1 (L1) signaling [Fig 7a, Ref 206, Par. 0112, 0118-0125, Fig 3 disclose send DCI to OOC UE]. However, Xu [US 2021/0144781] fails to disclose what Wang [US 2023/0370152] discloses initiate access of the OOC UE is controlled by a network entity to avoid collisions [Fig 11-12 and Par. 005, 0096, 0183 discloses OOC receives resource from network in order to avoid collisions].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system comprising the base station to control the transmission of OOC based on its allowed resource to avoid collions as disclosed by Wang [US 2023/0370152] into the teaching of Xu [US 2021/0144781]. The motivation would have been to prevent data loss.
As claim 21, Xu [US 2021/0144781] discloses the scheduling information includes reverse link information that indicates a resource for transmission from the OOC UE to the relay UE [Par. 0118-0125, 0229-0230, 0302 discloses scheduling information includes resource for feedback].
As claim 22, Xu [US 2021/0144781] discloses the scheduling information includes reverse link information that indicates a resource for transmission from the relay UE to the network entity [Par. 0118-0125, 0229-0230, 0302 discloses scheduling information includes resource for feedback].
As claim 23, Xu [US 2021/0144781] discloses the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the network entity to: transmit data to the OOC UE via the relay UE using L1 signaling [Par. 0118-0125 discloses Base station send data to the OOC UE via the relay UE using L1, Par. 0197]; and receive feedback for the data from the OOC[Par. 0118-0125, 0229-0230, 0302 discloses Base station receives feedback from the OOC UE via the relay UE using L1].
As claim 24, Xu [US 2021/0144781] discloses wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the network entity to receive a buffer status report from the relay UE using L1 signaling [Par. 0075, 0125 discloses BSR send to Base station via layer one signaling].
As claim 25, Xu [US 2021/0144781] discloses wherein the scheduling information includes relay information for one or more other targets and one or more granted resources associated with the one or more other targets [Par. 0112, 0118-0125].
As claim 26, Xu [US 2021/0144781] discloses the scheduling information includes reverse link information that indicates a resource for transmission from the OOC UE to the first UE [Par. 0112, 0118-0125, 0229-0230, 0302].
Claim(s) 1-6, 14-17, 19, 21-23 and 25-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang [US 2021/0153063] in view of Xu [US 2022/0078755].
As claim 1, Zhang [US 2021/0153063] discloses a first user equipment (UE) for wireless communication [Fig 5A, Ref 504], comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, individually or collectively configured to cause the first UE to: receive scheduling information for the first UE using Layer 1 (L1) signaling [Fig 5A, Ref 504 for receiving scheduling information from base station using L1 that carrying DCI, Par. 0085, 0139, 0144, 0150, 0158], the scheduling information including a first target that includes an out-of-coverage and a first granted resource for relaying data to the OOC UE using L1 signaling [Par. 0062, 0091, 0150 discloses receives DCI via PDCCH “layer 1 signaling” which includes resources for exchanging data between nodes via side-link wherein the last node is out of coverage]; and transmit or receive the data on a sidelink using L1 signaling based at least in part on the scheduling information [Par. 0085, 0094-0096, 0134, 0139, 0144, 0150, 0158 exchanging data with each other using L1 signaling such as SCI]. However, Zhang [US 2021/0153063] fails to disclose what Xu [US 2022/0078755] discloses initiate access of the OOC UE is controlled by a network entity to avoid collisions [Par. 0163, 0177 discloses the OCC receives resources from base station via SCI/DCI to avoid collision when transmission].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system comprising the base station to control the transmission of OOC based on its allowed resource to avoid collisions as disclosed by Xu [US 2022/0078755] into the teaching of Zhang [US 2021/0153063]. The motivation would have been to prevent data loss.
As claim 2, Zhang [US 2021/0153063] discloses the first UE is a relay UE [Fig 5A, Ref 5A], and wherein the scheduling information includes relay information for one or more other targets and one or more granted resources associated with the one or more other targets [Par. 0079, 0134, 0139, 0144, 0150, 0158 discloses UE receives DCI via PDCCH “layer 1 signaling” which includes resources for exchanging data between nodes via side-link and UU], and wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the first UE to transmit the scheduling information using L1 signaling to a second UE that is one of the one or more other targets [Par, 0150-0152 discloses relay UE send the resources using L1 signaling to a second UE via SCI].
As claim 3, Zhang [US 2021/0153063] discloses the one or more processors, to receive the scheduling information, are individually or collectively configured to cause the first UE to receive the scheduling information from another relay UE using L1 signaling [Par. 0134, 0139, 0144, 0150, 0154, 0158, Fig 6A, Fig 10, Ref 1001].
As claim 4, Zhang [US 2021/0153063] discloses the scheduling information includes reverse link information that indicates a resource for transmission to a network entity [Par. 0134, 0139, 0144, 0150, 0154, 0158 discloses the resource allocations are for transmitting and receiving. Fig 5A, Ref 504 exchanging signal with base station].
As claim 5, Zhang [US 2021/0153063] discloses to receive the scheduling information, are individually or collectively configured to cause the first UE to receive the scheduling information from a network entity using L1 signaling [Fig 9. Ref 902].
As claim 6, Zhang [US 2021/0153063] discloses the one or more processors, to receive the scheduling information, are individually or collectively configured to cause the first UE to receive the scheduling information from a relay UE using L1 signaling [Par. 0150-0154, Fig 10, Ref 1001].
As claim 14, Zhang [US 2021/0153063] discloses a first user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, individually or collectively configured to cause the first UE [Fig 5A, Ref 504 for receiving scheduling information from base station using L1 that carrying DCI, Par. 0085, 0139, 0144, 0150, 0158], to: receive, using Layer 1 (L1) signaling, scheduling information from a second UE that indicates a first relay target, the first target that includes an out-of-coverage and a first granted resource for relaying data to the OOC UE using L1 signaling [Par. 0062, 0091, 0150 discloses receives DCI via PDCCH “layer 1 signaling” which includes resources for exchanging data between nodes via side-link wherein the last node is out of coverage]; and transmit the data using L1 signaling based at least in part on the scheduling information [Par. 0085, 0094-0096, 0134, 0139, 0144, 0150, 0158 exchanging data with each other using L1 signaling such as SCI]. However, Zhang [US 2021/0153063] fails to disclose what Xu [US 2022/0078755] discloses initiate access of the OOC UE is controlled by a network entity to avoid collisions [Par. 0163, 0177 discloses the OCC receives resources from base station via SCI/DCI to avoid collision when transmission].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system comprising the base station to control the transmission of OOC based on its allowed resource to avoid collisions as disclosed by Xu [US 2022/0078755] into the teaching of Zhang [US 2021/0153063]. The motivation would have been to prevent data loss.
As claim 15, Zhang [US 2021/0153063] discloses wherein the first relay target is a third UE, and wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the data, are individually or collectively configured to transmit the data to the third UE using L1 signaling [Fig 5A discloses data is transmitted to another UE using SCI such as scheduling information, Par. 0085, 0094-0096, 0134, 0139, 0144, 0150, 0158].
As claim 16, Zhang [US 2021/0153063] fails to fully disclose what Xu [US 2022/0078755] discloses the scheduling information includes reverse link information that indicates a resource for transmission to a network entity [Fig 22, Ref 2222, Par. 0137-0148 discloses resource for relay ACK to base station, Ref 2236], and wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the first UE to: receive feedback for the data from the third UE using L1 signaling [Fig 22, Ref 2222, Par. 0137-0148 discloses resource for relay ACK to another UE, Ref 2246, 2256]; and forward the feedback to the network entity via the second UE using L1 signaling based at least in part on the reverse link information [Fig 22, Ref 2222, Par. 0137-0148 discloses resource for relay ACK to base station, Ref 2236].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system as disclosed by Xu into the teaching of Zhang. The motivation would have been to provide a reliable wireless network.
As claim 17, Zhang [US 2021/0153063] discloses the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the first UE to transmit a sidelink grant to a third UE using L1 signaling based at least in part on the scheduling information [Par. 0085, 0094-0096, 0134, 0139, 0144, 0150, 0158 and Fig 11, Ref 1102].
As claim 19, Zhang [US 2021/0153063] discloses a network entity [Fig 5, Ref 502] for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, individually or collectively configured to cause the network entity to: generate, for a relay user equipment (UE), scheduling information that includes a first target, the first target that includes an out-of-coverage and a first granted resource for relaying data to the OOC UE using L1 signaling [Par. 0062, 0091, 0150 discloses receives DCI via PDCCH “layer 1 signaling” which includes resources for exchanging data between nodes via side-link wherein the last node is out of coverage]; and transmit the scheduling information and the data to the relay UE using Layer 1 (L1) signaling [Par. 0085, 0094-0096, 0134, 0139, 0144, 0150, 0158 exchanging data with each other using L1 signaling such as SCI]. However, Zhang [US 2021/0153063] fails to disclose what Xu [US 2022/0078755] discloses initiate access of the OOC UE is controlled by a network entity to avoid collisions [Par. 0163, 0177 discloses the OCC receives resources from base station via SCI/DCI to avoid collision when transmission].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system comprising the base station to control the transmission of OOC based on its allowed resource to avoid collisions as disclosed by Xu [US 2022/0078755] into the teaching of Zhang [US 2021/0153063]. The motivation would have been to prevent data loss.
As claim 21, Zhang [US 2021/0153063] discloses the scheduling information includes reverse link information that indicates a resource for transmission from the OOC UE to the relay UE [Par. 0134, 0139, 0144, 0150, 0154, 0158 discloses the resource allocations are for transmitting and receiving between the nodes].
As claim 22, Zhang [US 2021/0153063] discloses the scheduling information includes reverse link information that indicates a resource for transmission from the relay UE to the network entity [Par. 0134, 0139, 0144, 0150, 0154, 0158 discloses the resource allocations are for transmitting and receiving. Fig 5A, Ref 504 exchanging signal with base station].
As claim 23, Zhang [US 2021/0153063] fails to fully disclose what Xu [US 2022/0078755] discloses the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the network entity to: transmit data to the OOC UE via the relay UE using L1 signaling [Fig 2, 16, 22 discloses Base station send data to the OOC UE via the relay UE using L1, Par. 0197]; and receive feedback for the data from the OOC[Fig 2, 16, 22 discloses Base station receives feedback from the OOC UE via the relay UE using L1].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system as disclosed by Xu into the teaching of Zhang. The motivation would have been to provide a reliable wireless network.
As claim 25, Zhang [US 2021/0153063] discloses wherein the scheduling information includes relay information for one or more other targets and one or more granted resources associated with the one or more other targets [Par. 0134, 0139, 0144, 0150, 0154, 0158 discloses the scheduling data includes resources for relay nodes and end nodes includes base station and UE].
As claim 26, Zhang [US 2021/0153063] discloses the scheduling information includes reverse link information that indicates a resource for transmission from the OOC UE to the first UE [Par. 0134, 0139, 0144, 0150, 0154, 0158 discloses the resource allocations are for transmitting and receiving. Fig 5A discloses the nodes exchange data].
Claim(s) 18 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu [US 2022/0078755]/Zhang [US 2021/0153063] in view of Ayaz [US 2021/0377993].
As claim 18, Xu [US 2022/0078755]/ Zhang [US 2021/0153063] fails to disclose what Ayaz [US 2021/0377993] discloses the scheduling information includes reverse link information that indicates a resource for transmission to a network entity [Par. 0256, PUCCH resource in MH-DCI], and wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to transmit a buffer status report to a network entity using L1 signaling [Par. 0326, BSR send to Base station via layer one signaling].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system comprising the scheduling information includes reverse link information that indicates a resource for transmission to a network entity and wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to transmit a buffer status report to a network entity using L1 signaling as disclosed by Ayaz into the teaching of Xu/Zhang. The motivation would have been to expand a wireless network.
As claim 24, Xu [US 2022/0075755]/Zhang [US 2021/0153063] fails to discloses what Ayaz [US 2021/0377993] discloses wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the network entity to receive a buffer status report from the relay UE using L1 signaling [Par. 0326, BSR send to Base station via layer one signaling].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system comprising the network entity to receive a buffer status report from the relay UE using L1 signaling as disclosed by Ayaz into the teaching of Xu/Zhang. The motivation would have been to expand a wireless network.
Claim(s) 1-6 and 14-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ayaz [US 2021/0377993] in view of Xu [US 2022/0078755].
As claim 1, Ayaz [US 2021/0377993] discloses a first user equipment (UE) for wireless communication [Fig 11, Ref 110 UE2], comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, individually or collectively configured to cause the first UE to: receive scheduling information for the first UE using Layer 1 (L1) signaling, the scheduling information including a first target and a first granted resource [Par. 0326-0327 discloses UE2 receiving MH-DCI via PDCCH “layer 1 signaling” which includes resources for exchanging data between UE1 and UE2 via sidelink]; and transmit or receive a communication on a sidelink using L1 signaling based at least in part on the scheduling information [Fig 11 discloses UE2 exchanging data with another UE using L1 signaling such as SCI via PSCCH or feedback via PFSCH in PC5]. However, Ayaz fails to disclose what Xu discloses the scheduling information including a first target that includes an out-of-coverage and a first granted resource for relaying data to the OOC UE using L1 signaling. In the same field of endeavor, Xu [US 2022/0078755] discloses the scheduling information including a first target that includes an out-of-coverage and a first granted resource for relaying data to the OOC UE using L1 signaling [Xu discloses Fig 16, Par. 0137-0148 discloses 1610/1620 receives DCI via PDCCH “layer 1 signaling”, Par. 0197, which includes resources for exchanging data between 1610/1602 and 1620-1610 via side-link such as PSCCH wherein 1620-1604 is out of coverage] initiate access of the OOC UE is controlled by a network entity to avoid collisions [Par. 0163, 0177 discloses the OCC receives resources from base station via SCI/DCI to avoid collision when transmission].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system comprising OOC UE as disclosed by Xu into the teaching of Ayaz. The motivation would have been to expand a wireless network.
As claim 2, Ayaz [US 2021/0377993] discloses the first UE is a relay UE [Fig 11, UE2 is relay], and wherein the scheduling information includes relay information for one or more other targets and one or more granted resources associated with the one or more other targets [Par. 0036, UE2 relay MH-DCI including relay information for the other UE and its associated resource, Par. 0326-0327], and wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the first UE to transmit the scheduling information using L1 signaling to a second UE that is one of the one or more other targets [Fig 11, Par. 0036 discloses UE1 relay MH-DCI to UE2 via PSCCH “L1 signaling”].
As claim 3, Ayaz [US 2021/0377993] discloses the one or more processors, to receive the scheduling information, are individually or collectively configured to cause the first UE to receive the scheduling information from another relay UE using L1 signaling [Fig 11, Ref UE2 is receives MH-DCI from UE1 is another relay via PSSCH, Par. 0326-0327].
As claim 4, Ayaz [US 2021/0377993] discloses the scheduling information includes reverse link information that indicates a resource for transmission to a network entity [Fig 11, Ref MH-DCI includes reverse link to transmit to base station, Par. 0036].
As claim 5, Ayaz [US 2021/0377993] discloses to receive the scheduling information, are individually or collectively configured to cause the first UE to receive the scheduling information from a network entity using L1 signaling [Fig 11, UE2 receives MH-DCI from base station via PSCCH/PDCCH, Par. 0326-0327].
As claim 6, Ayaz [US 2021/0377993] discloses the one or more processors, to receive the scheduling information, are individually or collectively configured to cause the first UE to receive the scheduling information from a relay UE using L1 signaling [Fig 11, UE2 receives MH-DCI from UE1 via PSCCH, Par. 0326-0327].
As claim 14, Ayaz [US 2021/0377993] discloses a first user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, individually or collectively configured to cause the first UE [Fig 11, UE2] to: receive, using Layer 1 (L1) signaling, scheduling information from a second UE that indicates a first relay target, and a first granted resource [Fig 11, Ref UE1 “ second UE” send MH-DCI to UE1 wherein MH-DCI includes a first relay target and first grant resource for UE2, Par. 0326-0327]; and transmit a communication using L1 signaling based at least in part on the scheduling information [Fig 11, UE2 and UE3 exchanged data via PSCCH/PFSCH “physical layer 1 signaling”, Par. 0326-0327]. However, Ayaz fails to disclose the scheduling information including a first target that includes an out-of-coverage and a first granted resource for relaying data to the OOC UE using L1 signaling. In the same field of endeavor, Xu [US 2022/0078755] discloses the scheduling information including a first target that includes an out-of-coverage and a first granted resource for relaying data to the OOC UE using L1 signaling [Xu discloses Fig 16, Par. 0137-0148 discloses 1610/1620 receives DCI via PDCCH “layer 1 signaling”, Par. 0197, which includes resources for exchanging data between 1610/1602 and 1620-1610 via side-link such as PSCCH wherein 1620-1604 is out of coverage]; initiate access of the OOC UE is controlled by a network entity to avoid collisions [Par. 0163, 0177 discloses the OCC receives resources from base station via SCI/DCI to avoid collision when transmission].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system comprising OOC UE as disclosed by Xu into the teaching of Ayaz. The motivation would have been to expand a wireless network.
As claim 15, Ayaz [US 2021/0377993] discloses wherein the first relay target is a third UE, and wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the communication, are individually or collectively configured to transmit data to the third UE using L1 signaling [Fig 11, UE2 and UE3 exchanged data via PSCCH/PFSCH “physical layer 1 signaling”].
As claim 16, Ayaz [US 2021/0377993] discloses the scheduling information includes reverse link information that indicates a resource for transmission to a network entity [Par. 0256, PUCCH resource for relay ACK to base station], and wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the first UE to: receive feedback for the data from the third UE using L1 signaling [Fig 11, UE receives ACK via PFSCH from another UE such UE3 send feedback to UE2]; and forward the feedback to the network entity via the second UE using L1 signaling based at least in part on the reverse link information [Par. 0256, PUCCH resource for relay ACK to base station from UE1].
As claim 17, Ayaz [US 2021/0377993] discloses the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the first UE to transmit a sidelink grant to a third UE using L1 signaling based at least in part on the scheduling information [Fig 11, Par. 0258, UE2 send MH-DCI to UE3].
As claim 18, Ayaz [US 2021/0377993] discloses the scheduling information includes reverse link information that indicates a resource for transmission to a network entity [Par. 0256, PUCCH resource in MH-DCI], and wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to transmit a buffer status report to a network entity using L1 signaling [Par. 0326, BSR send to Base station via layer one signaling].
As claim 19, Ayaz [US 2021/0377993] discloses a network entity [Fig 11, Ref 1001] for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, individually or collectively configured to cause the network entity to: generate, for a relay user equipment (UE), scheduling information that includes a first target and a first granted resource [Par. 0271-0281 discloses base station generates a multihop DCI which includes a scheduling information for one or more UEs and resource for it, Par. 0326-0327]; and transmit the scheduling information to the relay UE using Layer 1 (L1) signaling [Fig 11 discloses multihop DCI conveyed via PDCCH “layer 1 signaling” for conveying between the base station and relay UE1 etc.]. However, Ayaz fails to disclose the scheduling information including a first target that includes an out-of-coverage and a first granted resource for relaying data to the OOC UE using L1 signaling. In the same field of endeavor, Xu [US 2022/0078755] discloses the scheduling information including a first target that includes an out-of-coverage and a first granted resource for relaying data to the OOC UE using L1 signaling [Fig 16, Par. 0137-0148 discloses 1610/1620 receives DCI via PDCCH “layer 1 signaling”, Par. 0197, which includes resources for exchanging data between 1610/1602 and 1620-1610 via side-link such as PSCCH wherein 1620-1604 is out of coverage and Zhang discloses Par. 0085, 0094-0096, 0134, 0139, 0144, 0150, 0158 exchanging data with each other using L1 signaling such as SCI]; initiate access of the OOC UE is controlled by a network entity to avoid collisions [Par. 0163, 0177 discloses the OCC receives resources from base station via SCI/DCI to avoid collision when transmission].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system comprising OOC UE as disclosed by Xu into the teaching of Ayaz. The motivation would have been to expand a wireless network.
As claim 21, Xu [US 2022/0078755] discloses the scheduling information includes reverse link information that indicates a resource for transmission from the OOC UE to the relay UE [Fig 2, 16, Fig 22, Par. 0137-0148 discloses scheduling information includes resource for feedback].
As claim 22, Xu [US 2022/0078755] discloses the scheduling information includes reverse link information that indicates a resource for transmission from the relay UE to the network entity [Fig 2, 16, Fig 22, Par. 0137-0148 discloses scheduling information includes resource for feedback].
As claim 23, Xu [US 2022/0078755] discloses the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the network entity to: transmit data to the OOC UE via the relay UE using L1 signaling [Fig 2, 16, 22 discloses Base station send data to the OOC UE via the relay UE using L1, Par. 0197]; and receive feedback for the data from the OOC[Fig 2, 16, 22 discloses Base station receives feedback from the OOC UE via the relay UE using L1].
As claim 24, Ayaz [US 2021/0377993] discloses wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the network entity to receive a buffer status report from the relay UE using L1 signaling [Par. 0326, BSR send to Base station via layer one signaling].
As claim 25, Ayaz [US 2021/0377993] discloses wherein the scheduling information includes relay information for one or more other targets and one or more granted resources associated with the one or more other targets [Par. 0271-0281 discloses base station generates a multihop DCI which includes a scheduling information for one or more UEs and resource for it].
As claim 26, Xu [US 2022/0078755] the scheduling information includes reverse link information that indicates a resource for transmission from the OOC UE to the first UE [Fig 16, Fig 22, Par. 0137-0148 discloses the scheduling data includes resources for exchanging data from OOC to the first UE].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/26/2026have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to the applicant argues Xu ’55 fail to disclose initiate access of the OOC UE is controlled by a network entity to avoid collisions. However, the examiner disagrees with application because Xu discloses end node which is OOC receives SCI which includes information of DCI such as resources, the OOC uses the resource to avoid collisions when it transmits data [Par. 0163, 0177 discloses the OCC receives resources from base station via SCI/DCI to avoid collision when transmission]. Therefore, the teaching of Xu perform the claimed invention.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEVEN HIEU D NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414