DETAILED ACTION
In light of the amendments to the claims filed 09/22/2023 in which claims 2, 8, 10-11, 13, 16-18, 21, 25, 27, 29, 36, and 77 are amended and claims 3-7, 9, 12, 19-20, 22, 24, 37-38, 42-76, and 78-82 are amended, claims 1-2, 8, 10-11, 13-18, 21, 23, 25-36, 39-41, and 77 are pending in the instant application.
Priority
The instant application claims priority to U.S. Provisional App. no. 63/367,755 filed on 07/06/2022.
Claims 1-2, 8, 10-11, 13-18, 21, 23, 25-36, 39-41, and 77 receive priority to the prior-filed application, filed on 07/06/2022.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-2, 8, 10-11, 13-18, 21, 23, 25-36, and 39-41), Species IIA (Fig. 2), Species IIB (Fig. 4D), Species IC (Fig. 1-3), and Species ID (Fig. 7) in the reply filed on 01/30/2026 is acknowledged.
Upon reconsideration of the species elections, the examiner withdraws the requirement for election of Species B and D as the species of these groups have little/unobvious difference such that they would be found in the same search areas with little increased search burden. Further, the species election of Species IIA as being directed to Fig. 2 may also comprise Species IA and IIIA as these species have little/unobvious difference in structure from Species IIA such that they would be found in the same search areas with little increased search burden.
In view of the reconsideration of the species elections, the elected species may be considered Group I, Species IA-IIIA, and Species IC.
Applicant’s species election is allegedly drawn to claims 1-2, 8, 10-11, 13-18, 21, 23, 25-36, and 39-41. The examiner additionally notes that claims 28-34 and 41 (Species IVA: Fig. 5) are directed to non-elected species and are therefore withdrawn.
Claims 28-34, 41, and 77 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected election/species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 01/30/2026.
Accordingly, claims 1-2, 8, 10-11, 13-18, 21, 23, 25-36, 39-41, and 77 are pending in the instant application and claims 1-2, 8, 10-11, 13-18, 21, 23, 25-27, 35-36, and 39-40 are examined on the merits herein.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the auger (Claim 23) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The term ampoule is spelled as both “ampule” and “ampoule”.
The outer annulus is referred to by an incorrect reference number (para. 0086).
The bottom of the outer annular is referred to by an incorrect reference number (para. 0087).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 13-17, 21, 25-27, 36, 39-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent 12,110,223 B2 to Smith.
Regarding claim 1, Smith discloses an applicator for topically applying a therapeutic agent (col. 6 ln. 1-19, substance 20 can be a medicament, biological sample; Fig. 12-13, 24A-B), the applicator comprising:
a container configured to store the therapeutic agent (Fig. 12-13, opening structure/container 1 to store ampoule 19 comprising substance 20);
an actuator configured to release the therapeutic agent from the container (col. 4 ln. 50-67 and col. 5 ln. 1-26; Fig. 12-13, push button 2 and associated structure act as an actuator configured to break ampoule 19); and
a tip configured to absorb the therapeutic agent released from the container (col. 4 ln. 34-49, tip 3 is a sponge; Fig. 12-13, tip 3 absorbing liquid from broken ampoule 19), the tip further configured to release the therapeutic agent to a treatment area in response to contact between the tip and the treatment area (col. 4 ln. 34-49, tip 3 is a sponge which would be considered to release liquid upon pressure).
Regarding claim 13, the cited prior art discloses the invention of claim 1. Smith further discloses wherein the therapeutic agent comprises at least one of a liquid, a gel, or a patch (col. 6 ln. 1-19, substance 20 can be a medicament, biological sample; Fig. 12-13, 17-18; Fig. 24A showing liquid in top ampoule).
Regarding claim 14, the cited prior art discloses the invention of claim 1. Smith further discloses wherein the tip comprises a porous, absorbent, and/or an adsorbent material (col. 4 ln. 34-49, tip 3 is a sponge, sponge is inherently porous; Fig. 12-13, tip 3 absorbing liquid from broken ampoule 19).
Regarding claim 15, the cited prior art discloses the invention of claim 1. Smith further discloses wherein the tip comprises pores (col. 4 ln. 34-49, tip 3 is a sponge, sponge is inherently porous; Fig. 12-13, tip 3 absorbing liquid from broken ampoule 19).
Regarding claim 16, the cited prior art discloses the invention of claim 1. Smith further discloses wherein the tip comprises at least one of a hygroscopic, hydrophilic, absorbent, or an adsorbent material (col. 4 ln. 34-49, tip 3 is a sponge, sponge is inherently porous; Fig. 12-13, tip 3 absorbing liquid from broken ampoule 19), the tip configured to retain the therapeutic agent when the tip is not in contact with the treatment area (col. 4 ln. 34-49; tip 3 is a sponge which would be considered to release liquid upon pressure; Fig. 12-13, tip 3 absorbing liquid from broken ampoule 19).
Regarding claim 17, the cited prior art discloses the invention of claim 1. Smith further discloses wherein the tip comprises at least one of a dome-shaped, conical, cylindrical, chiseled, multiply curved, or polygonal shape (Fig. 12-13, tip 3 is polygonal).
Regarding claim 21, the cited prior art discloses the invention of claim 1. Smith further discloses wherein the container comprises a capsule, the capsule comprising a frangible or puncturable material, the capsule configured to fracture or puncture in response to at least one of an applied circumferential pressure or an applied radial pressure (col. 6 ln. 1-19, ampoule 19 fractures upon radial application of free rolling ball 16C; Fig. 12-13, opening structure/container 1 to store ampoule 19 comprising substance 20).
Regarding claim 25, the cited prior art discloses the invention of claim 21. Smith further discloses comprising a puncture cap configured to puncture an end of the capsule (col. 7 ln. 24-31; Fig. 11A, push button 2 comprising puncture ball to enhance breakage of ampoule 19).
Regarding claim 26, the cited prior art discloses the invention of claim 1. Smith further discloses wherein the container further comprises a tube configured to transport the therapeutic agent to the tip (Fig. 12-13, tube connecting opening structure/container 1 to tip 3).
Regarding claim 27, the cited prior art discloses the invention of claim 1. Smith further discloses wherein the actuator comprises at least one of a twist end, a push end, a clicker, or a plunge end actuation mechanism (col. 4 ln. 50-67 and col. 5 ln. 1-26; Fig. 12-13, push button 2 and associated structure act as an actuator configured to break ampoule 19).
Regarding claim 36, the cited prior art discloses the invention of claim 1. Smith further discloses wherein the container comprises a plurality of capsules configured to store the therapeutic agent (Fig. 24A-B, 19A and 19X ampoules), the actuator configured to release the therapeutic agent from each of the plurality of capsules independently and separately, the actuator configured to release the therapeutic agent to the treatment area from each of the plurality of capsules independently and separately (col. 7 ln. 15-31, depression of push button 2 can allow for staggered release of substances from ampoules, partial depression to break only a single ampoule can allow for independent and separate release from the ampoules and to the treatment area).
Regarding claim 39, Smith discloses a method for topically applying a therapeutic agent to a treatment area (col. 6 ln. 1-19, substance 20 can be a medicament, biological sample; Fig. 12-13, 24A-B), the method comprising:
storing, in a container, a therapeutic agent (Fig. 12-13, opening structure/container 1 to store ampoule 19 comprising substance 20);
releasing, by an actuator, the therapeutic agent from the container (col. 4 ln. 50-67 and col. 5 ln. 1-26; Fig. 12-13, push button 2 and associated structure act as an actuator configured to break ampoule 19);
absorbing, by a tip, the therapeutic agent released from the container (col. 4 ln. 34-49, tip 3 is a sponge; Fig. 12-13, tip 3 absorbing liquid from broken ampoule 19); and
releasing, by the tip, the therapeutic agent to a treatment area in response to contact between the tip and the treatment area (col. 4 ln. 34-49, tip 3 is a sponge which would be considered to release liquid upon pressure).
Regarding claim 40, the cited prior art discloses the method of claim 40. Smith further discloses comprising absorbing at least some therapeutic agent from the treatment area (col. 4 ln. 34-49, tip 3 is a sponge which would be considered to absorb liquid upon release of pressure).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith as applied above, and further in view of U.S. Patent no. 11,542,136 B1 to May.
Regarding claim 2, the cited prior art discloses the invention of claim 1; however, the prior art differs from the instantly claimed invention in that the prior art fails to explicitly disclose wherein the therapeutic agent comprises at least one of a chemexfoliant, a soothing agent, or an organic agent.
May discloses an applicator for topical application comprising a therapeutic agent comprising at least one of a chemexfoliant, a soothing agent, or an organic agent to increase the use cases of the applicator (col. 34 ln. 34-60; Fig. 1).
It would be considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the invention of Smith to comprise a therapeutic agent as taught by May, because May discloses a similar applicator to that of Smith comprising an absorbent tip and a body for breaking an ampoule (Fig. 1) and Smith discloses that their system may be used for medicaments (col. 6 ln. 1-19). Therefore, it would be considered obvious to one of ordinary skill looking at the disclosure of May to utilize the applicator of Smith with the claimed medicaments with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 35, the cited prior art discloses the invention of claim 1; however, the prior art differs from the instantly claimed invention in that the prior art fails to disclose wherein the tip comprises a roller configured to control a release of fluid material.
May teaches an applicator comprising a roller configured to control a release of fluid material such that it assists in dispensing the flowable material from the dispenser to a receiving surface (col. 11 ln. 4-25).
It would be considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the tip of Smith to comprise a roller as taught by May, because May teaches that a roller assists in dispensing a flowable material from a dispenser (col. 11 ln. 4-25).
Claims 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith as applied above, and further in view of WO/2003/075979 A2 to Simon.
Regarding claim 8, the cited prior art discloses the invention of claim 1; however, the prior art differs from the instantly claimed invention in that the prior art fails to disclose a light source, the light source integrated within or attached to a body of the applicator.
Simon discloses a syringe comprising a light source integrated within or attached to a body of the syringe to illuminate the area of the body that is receiving treatment to ensure proper positioning (para. 0022-0024; para. 0028; para. 0139-0140; Fig. 17, chemiluminescent light source 1740 on syringe 1710).
It would be considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the applicator of Smith to comprise a light source as taught by Simon, because Simon teaches that the light source of their invention provides illumination that is lightweight and independent of an external power supply to ensure proper positioning of a medicament applicator in low light situations (para. 0022-0024).
Regarding claim 10, the cited prior art discloses the invention of claim 1; however, the prior art differs from the instantly claimed invention in that the prior art fails to disclose a chemiluminescent light source.
Simon discloses a syringe comprising a chemiluminescent light source to illuminate the area of the body that is receiving treatment to ensure proper positioning ( (para. 0022-0024; para. 0028; para. 0139-0140; Fig. 17, chemiluminescent light source 1740 on syringe 1710).
It would be considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the applicator of Smith to comprise a light source as taught by Simon, because Simon teaches that the light source of their invention provides illumination that is lightweight and independent of an external power supply to ensure proper positioning of a medicament applicator in low light situations (para. 0022-0024).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith as applied above, and further in view of WO/2012/139155 A1 to Penrose.
Regarding claim 11, the cited prior art discloses the invention of claim 1; however, the prior art differs from the instantly claimed invention in that the prior art fails to disclose a light source, the light source comprising a plurality of selectable spectral ranges, wherein the spectral ranges are configured to illuminate stained tissue for selective identification of tissue.
Penrose discloses a syringe comprising a light source, the light source comprising a plurality of selectable spectral ranges, wherein the spectral ranges are configured to illuminate stained tissue for selective identification of tissue to minimize positional error of the syringe (pg. 4 ln. 11-33 and pg. 5 ln. 1-2; pg. 10 ln. 4-11; Fig. 1, light source 104 comprising light emitter 106).
It would be considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the applicator of Smith to comprise the light source of Penrose, because Penrose teaches that their device minimizes positional error (pg. 4 ln. 11-33 and pg. 5 ln. 1-2). Further, the ability to select a spectral range provides individual choice for a user of the system to more easily visualize the light from the light source.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith as applied above.
Regarding claim 18, the cited prior art discloses the invention of claim 1. Smith further discloses wherein the tip corresponds to a contour of a treatment area (Fig. 12-13, tip 3 is generally flat and would be considered to correspond to a contour of some parts of a body); however, the prior art differs from the instantly claimed invention in that the prior art fails to disclose wherein the tip comprises a projection, the projection comprising a nipple or an extension, wherein a shape of the projection corresponds to a contour of the treatment area.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shape of the tip such that the tip comprises a projection, since a modification would have involved a mere change in the form or shape of a component. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ47 (CCPA 1976). Further, Smith contemplates multiple tips that could be used with the container of their invention (Fig. 25B).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith as applied above, and further in view of US/2009/0143765 A1 to Slocum.
Regarding claim 23, the cited prior art discloses the invention of claim 1; however, the prior art differs from the instantly claimed invention in that the prior art fails to disclose an auger configured to control an amount of a linear pressure.
Slocum teaches a syringe comprising an auger configured to control an amount of linear pressure to allow for mixing of materials and to maximize the amount of injected fluids (para. 0041; Fig. 2, compressible auger 14 within syringe 10).
It would be considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the dual-ampoule applicator of Smith to comprise the auger of Slocum, because Slocum teaches that an auger connected to the push mechanism allows for mixing of materials and maximizes an amount of injected fluids (para. 0041).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. U.S. Patent no. 4,784,506 A to Koreska discloses an applicator comprising an absorbent tip and an ampoule. US/2003/0080151 A1 to D’Alessio discloses an applicator comprising an ampoule and a protective barrier tip.
/Linnae E. Raymond/Examiner, Art Unit 3781
/LESLIE R DEAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799
18 February 2026