Priority
The present application claims priority to the application, 63/357,790, with effective filing date of 6 July 2022.
Claim Status
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s Response to Restriction filed, 8 July 2026, wherein Applicant amended claims 2-3, 5-6, 12-13, 15-16, 20-21, and 29-30 and canceled claim 1. Claims 8, 10-11, 18-19, and 23-28 were previously canceled.
Applicant previously elected Group I (claims 1-7, 9, 12-17, 20-22, and 29) in the reply filed 12 February 2026. Claims 30-31 were withdrawn as they are directed to a non-elected group.
Claims 2-7, 9, 12-17, 20-22, and 29 are under consideration in the instant office action.
Rejections Withdrawn
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. § 112
1. Claims 2-3, 5-6, 12-13, 15-16, and 20-21 were rejected as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter. Claims 2-3, 5-6, 12-13, 15-16, and 20-21 were amended to remove the phrase “substantially the same” and now recite either “as shown” or “as set forth.” Applicant’s amendments, see pages 2-4, with respect to claims 2-3, 5-6, 12-13, 15-16, and 20-21 have been fully considered. The rejection of claims 2-3, 5-6, 12-13, 15-16, and 20-21 has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. § 102/103
2. Claims 1 and 29 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated, or in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Mohan (US 2021/0139486, published 13 May 2021; of record, see PTO-892 mailed 13 Apr 2026).
Applicant canceled claim 1 and amended claim 29 to depend upon claim 2. Applicant’s amendment and arguments, see pages 2 and 5-7, have been fully considered. The 102/103 rejection of claims 1 and 29 has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. § 103
3. Claim 1 and 29 were rejected as being unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Mohan (US 2021/0139486, published 13 May 2021; of record, see PTO-892 mailed 13 Apr 2026) in view of Morissette (Adv. Drug Delivery Rev.¸2004¸56, 275-300; of record, see PTO-892 mailed 13 Apr 2026).
Applicant canceled claim 1 and amended claim 29 to depend upon claim 2. Applicant’s amendment and arguments, see pages 2 and 5-7, have been fully considered. The 103 rejection of claims 1 and 29 has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections – Nonstatutory Double Patenting
4. Claims 1 and 29 were rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 16, and 19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,753,411 in view of Morissette (Adv. Drug Delivery Rev.¸2004¸56, 275-300; of record, see PTO-892 mailed 13 Apr 2026).
Applicant canceled claim 1 and amended claim 29 to depend upon claim 2. Applicant’s amendment and arguments, see pages 2 and 5-7, have been fully considered. The nonstatutory double patenting rejection of claims 1 and 29 has been withdrawn.
Rejections New/Modified or Maintained
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. § 103
5. (Modified) Claims 2-7, 9, 12-17, 20-22, and 29 were rejected as being unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Mohan (US 2021/0139486, published 13 May 2021; of record, see PTO-892 mailed 13 Apr 2026) in view of Morissette (Adv. Drug Delivery Rev.¸2004¸56, 275-300; of record, see PTO-892 mailed 13 Apr 2026) as applied to claims 1 and 29 and further in view of Bastin (OPRD, 2000, 4, 427-435, see IDS filed 11/10/2023) as evidenced by Wikipedia 1 (“Adipic acid,” Wikipedia, 2021, <http://web.archive.org/web/20210425233055/https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Adipic_acid>, accessed 26 Mar 2026) and Wikipedia 2 (“Caproic acid,” Wikipedia, 2021, <http://web.archive.org/web/20210406001857/https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Caproic_acid>, accessed 26 Mar 2026).
Applicant’s amendment and arguments, see page 5 and 7-11, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Mohan fails to teach crystalline forms of Compound 5 in Mohan. Applicant further argues that Morissette highlights the challenges and unpredictable nature of polymorphs and that Morissette does not reference any TYK2 inhibitor. Applicant argues that a person of ordinary skill in the art would not have had a reasonable expectation of success in arriving at the specific crystalline adipate salt forms of Compound 1 and that the Federal Circuit has held that crystalline forms are non-obvious where the prior art provided only a general approach to polymorph screening without specific guidance as to which parameters would yield the claimed form (Grünenthal GmbH v. Alkem Labs. Ltd., No. 2017-1153 (Fed. Cir. Mar 28 2019)). Applicant further argues that Bastin, Wikipedia, and Wikipedia 2 do not cure the deficiencies of Mohan and Morissette. Applicant argues that the structural differences between a monocarboxylic acid (hexanoate of Bastin) and a dicarboxylic acid (adipate) are significant and that dicarboxylic acid salt formers introduce distinct stoichiometric, solubility, crystallinity, and hygroscopicity considerations compared to their monocarboxylic counterparts. Applicant further asserts that the Office utilized impermissible hindsight and that there was no motivation to combine. Applicant additionally argues that Morissette provides only a general approach to high throughput crystallization screening and expressly acknowledges that predictive methods of assessing polymorphic behavior of pharmaceutical compounds remain a formidable challenge.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, Bastin teaches some of the most frequently used salts, such as fatty acids, and specifically names hexanoate (page 428, column 2, paragraph 3; Table 1, page 428). While Bastin does not specifically name adipate (or adipic acid or hexanedioate), hexanedioate differs from hexanoate via an extra carboxylic acid, as evidenced by Wikipedia 1 and 2 (Wikipedia 1: page 1, paragraph 1; side box; Wikipedia 2: page 1, paragraph 1; side box). Additionally, Mohan teaches dicarboxylic salts, specifically alkanedoic acids, such as succinic acid and malonic acid ([0104]). Bastin teaches that salt selection provides the opportunity to modify characteristics of the potential drug substance (abstract) and that salts influence melting point, hygroscopicity, chemical stability, dissolution rate, solution pH, crystal form, and mechanical properties (abstract).
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
In response to Applicant’s argument that Morissette provides no guidance regarding possible crystalline forms and the Federal Circuit has made it clear that polymorph patent claims are not obvious when the cited reference simply provides “a general approach” to polymorph screening without providing detailed enabling methodology, the Examiner notes that Morissette teaches high throughput crystallization systems that have been developed to more rapidly and comprehensively explore the multiparameter space that contributes to solid form diversity (page 278, column 2, paragraph 2). In other words, Morissette teaches detailed enabling methodology that enables a person of skill in the art to rapidly generate and screen through many polymorphs and tens of thousands of crystallization setups in order to generate all the possible polymorphs of a particular compound (page 289, column 2, paragraph 3; page 290, column 1, paragraph 1; page 288, column 1, paragraph 1). Additionally, the Federal Circuit states that the prior art cited therein only presents a flow chart that outlines a number of variables that may be adjusted during the recrystallization process to determine whether polymorphism occurs in a compound and only notes that the parameters should be varied (page 13, paragraph 2; page 14, paragraph 2; page 15, paragraph 1). Further, the Federal Circuit in Grünenthal GmbH v. Alkem Labs Ltd. does not specify a high throughput screening methodology and thus does not assess the technical ability to screen tens of thousands of solvents in a high throughput screen as taught by Morissette, wherein Morissette provides a method to evaluate all possible solvents to generate all possible polymorphs to save time and reduce costs (page 28, column 2, paragraph 2; page 288, column 1, paragraph 1). Thus, it would be obvious to try as there were a finite number of identified, predictable potential solutions identified by Morissette.
Thus, the rejection of claims 2-7, 9, 12-17, 20-22, and 29 as being unpatentable over Mohan in view of Morissette and further in view of Bastin, Wikipedia, and Wikipedia 2 is maintained.
Claim Rejections – Nonstatutory Double Patenting
6. (New/Modified) Claim 2-7, 9, 12-17, 20-22, and 29 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 16, and 19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,753,411 in view of Morissette (Adv. Drug Delivery Rev.¸2004¸56, 275-300; of record, see PTO-892 mailed 13 Apr 2026), Bastin (OPRD, 2000, 4, 427-435, see IDS filed 11/10/2023) as evidenced by Wikipedia 1 (“Adipic acid,” Wikipedia, 2021, <http://web.archive.org/web/20210425233055/https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Adipic_acid>, accessed 26 Mar 2026) and Wikipedia 2 (“Caproic acid,” Wikipedia, 2021, <http://web.archive.org/web/20210406001857/https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Caproic_acid>, accessed 26 Mar 2026).
U.S. Patent No. 11,753,411 claim a compound of Formula (I):
and specifically teaches Compound 1:
(claims 1 and 19). Further, ‘411 teaches a pharmaceutical composition (claim 16).
Regarding claim 2, ‘411 fails to teach a crystalline form of Compound 1 as an adipate salt.
Morissette teaches a high throughput method of generating polymorphs (crystals) of active pharmaceutical ingredients (abstract). Morissette teaches that multiple forms of active pharmaceutical ingredients exist and that each form displays unique physiochemical properties that can profoundly influence the bioavailability, manufacturability purification, stability, and other performance characteristics of the drug (page 276, column 1, paragraph 1). Morissette further teaches that most active pharmaceutical ingredients are purified and isolated by crystallization from an appropriate solvent during the final step in the synthetic process and that a large number
of factors can influence crystal nucleation and growth during this process, including composition of the crystallization medium and process(es) used to generate supersaturation and promote crystallization (page 276, column 2, paragraph 2). Morissette then specifies that high throughput
crystallization systems have been developed to more rapidly and comprehensively explore the multiparameter space that contributes to solid form diversity (page 278, column 2, paragraph 2). Morissette further teaches the generation of polymorphs of acetaminophen using a 96-well plate
system (e.g. Form III of acetaminophen), while previously, the crystal structure of Form III of acetaminophen was proposed 20 years after it was observed in 1982 by thermal microscopy (page 288, column 1, paragraph 2; page 289, column 1, paragraph 3). Further, Morissette teaches utilizing high throughput crystallization experiments to generate polymorphs of MK-996: over 1500 discrete recrystallization trials from a set of 21 solvents or solvent mixtures yielded 186 solids, which were harvested over a period of 7 days, and produced at least 18 distinct forms (page 289, column 2, paragraph 3; page 290, column 1, paragraph 1). Additionally, Morissette teaches that pharmaceutical companies currently use high throughput screening of polymorphs to save time and reduce costs (page 288, column 1, paragraph 1). Thus, Morissette teaches that high throughput screening produces many polymorphs in a short period of time.
Bastin teaches some of the most frequently used salts, such as fatty acids, and specifically names hexanoate (page 428, column 2, paragraph 3; Table 1, page 428). While Bastin does not specifically name adipate (or adipic acid or hexanedioate), hexanedioate differs from hexanoate via an extra carboxylic acid, as evidenced by Wikipedia 1 and 2 (Wikipedia 1: page 1, paragraph 1; side box; Wikipedia 2: page 1, paragraph 1; side box). Further, Wikipedia 1 teaches that adipic acid is a fatty acid (page 2, paragraph 5). Bastin teaches that salt selection provides the opportunity to modify characteristics of the potential drug substance (abstract). Bastin teaches that salts are most commonly employed for modifying aqueous solubility and that they also influence melting point, hygroscopicity, chemical stability, dissolution rate, solution pH, crystal form, and mechanical properties (abstract). Bastin further teaches the development of a microplate technique for salt screening, which also gives preliminary information on solvates and hydrates, especially if DSC and TGA are also used in the evaluation process (page 428, column 1, paragraphs 2-3). Thus, Bastin teaches a hexanedioate salt.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective
filing date of the instantly claimed invention to exemplify the crystalline compound of ‘411 with the method of Morissette and the salt of Bastin as evidenced by Wikipedia 1 and 2 to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a selection, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
-‘411 claim a compound of Formula (I):
and specifically teaches Compound 1:
,
-‘411 teaches a pharmaceutical composition,
-Morissette teaches a high throughput method of generating polymorphs (crystals) of active pharmaceutical ingredients,
-Morissette teaches that multiple forms of active pharmaceutical ingredients exist and that each form displays unique physiochemical properties that can profoundly influence the bioavailability, manufacturability purification, stability, and other performance characteristics of the drug,
-Morissette further teaches that most active pharmaceutical ingredients are purified and isolated by crystallization from an appropriate solvent during the final step in the synthetic process and that a large number of factors can influence crystal nucleation and growth during this process, including composition of the crystallization medium and process(es) used to generate supersaturation and promote crystallization.
-Morissette then specifies that high throughput crystallization systems have been developed to more rapidly and comprehensively explore the multiparameter space that contributes to solid form diversity,
-Morissette further teaches the generation of polymorphs of acetaminophen using a 96-well plate system (e.g. Form III of acetaminophen), while previously, the crystal structure of Form III of acetaminophen was proposed 20 years after it was observed in 1982 by thermal microscopy,
-Morissette teaches utilizing high throughput crystallization experiments to generate polymorphs of MK-996: over 1500 discrete recrystallization trials from a set of 21 solvents or solvent mixtures yielded 186 solids, which were harvested over a period of 7 days, and produced at least 18 distinct forms,
-Morissette teaches that pharmaceutical companies currently use high throughput screening of polymorphs to save time and reduce costs,
-Morissette teaches that high throughput screening produces many polymorphs in a short period of time.
-Bastin teaches some of the most frequently used salts, such as fatty acids, and specifically names hexanoate,
-While Bastin does not specifically name adipate (or adipic acid or hexanedioate), hexanedioate differs from hexanoate via an extra carboxylic acid, as evidenced by Wikipedia 1 and 2. Wikipedia 1 teaches that adipic acid is a fatty acid,
-Bastin teaches that salt selection provides the opportunity to modify characteristics of the potential drug substance,
-Bastin teaches that salts are most commonly employed for modifying aqueous solubility and that they also influence melting point, hygroscopicity, chemical stability, dissolution rate, solution pH, crystal form, and mechanical properties,
-Bastin further teaches the development of a microplate technique for salt screening, which also gives preliminary information on solvates and hydrates, especially if DSC and TGA are also used in the evaluation process, and
-Bastin teaches a hexanedioate salt.
Accordingly, the combination of ‘411, Morissette, and Bastin as evidenced by Wikipedia and Wikipedia 2 teaches a crystalline adipate salt of Compound 1 having Form 1: (1) an XRPD of 7.0° 2-theta, 9.3° 2-theta, 14.0° 2-theta, 21.1° 2-theta, 24.9° 2-theta, and 25.6 ° 2-theta; (2) a TGA wherein the thermogram comprises the peaks set forth in Figure 2; (3) a DSC thermogram with an exotherm having an onset at about 200 °C; and (4) non-hygroscopic, they differ from that of the instantly claimed invention in that they do not explicitly teach an adipate (adipic) salt.
Regarding claim 3, Morisette teaches that high throughput screening produces many polymorphs in a short period of time (page 289, column 2, paragraph 3; page 290, column 1, paragraph 1). Thus, one or ordinary skill in the art would use the high throughput screening technology as described by Morissette to access a polymorph of Form 1, wherein the XRPD pattern has peaks: 7.0° 2-theta, 9.3° 2-theta, 14.0° 2-theta, 21.1° 2-theta, 24.9° 2-theta, and 25.6 ° 2-theta.
Regarding claim 4, Morissette teaches that high throughput screening produces many polymorphs in a short period of time (page 289, column 2, paragraph 3; page 290, column 1, paragraph 1). Thus, one or ordinary skill in the art would use the high throughput screening technology as described by Morissette to access a polymorph of Form 1, wherein the XRPD pattern has peaks: 7.0° 2-theta, 9.3° 2-theta, 14.0° 2-theta, 21.1° 2-theta, 24.9° 2-theta, and 25.6 ° 2-theta.
Regarding claim 5, Morissette teaches that high throughput screening produces many polymorphs in a short period of time (page 289, column 2, paragraph 3; page 290, column 1, paragraph 1). Thus, one or ordinary skill in the art would use the high throughput screening technology as described by Morissette to access a polymorph of Form 1, wherein the TGA comprises the peaks set forth in Figure 2.
Regarding claim 6, Morissette teaches that high throughput screening produces many polymorphs in a short period of time (page 289, column 2, paragraph 3; page 290, column 1, paragraph 1). Thus, one or ordinary skill in the art would use the high throughput screening technology as described by Morissette to access a polymorph of Form 1, wherein the DSC thermogram has an exotherm having an onset at about 200 °C.
Regarding claim 7, Morissette teaches that high throughput screening produces many polymorphs in a short period of time (page 289, column 2, paragraph 3; page 290, column 1, paragraph 1). Thus, one or ordinary skill in the art would use the high throughput screening technology as described by Morissette to access a polymorph of Form 1, wherein the DSC thermogram has an exotherm having an onset at about 200 °C.
Regarding claim 9, Morissette teaches that high throughput screening produces many polymorphs in a short period of time (page 289, column 2, paragraph 3; page 290, column 1, paragraph 1). Thus, one or ordinary skill in the art would use the high throughput screening technology as described by Morissette to access a polymorph of Form 1, wherein (1) the XRPD pattern has peaks: 7.0° 2-theta, 9.3° 2-theta, 14.0° 2-theta, 21.1° 2-theta, 24.9° 2-theta, and 25.6 ° 2-theta; (2) the TGA comprises the peaks set forth in Figure 2; (3) the DSC thermogram has an exotherm having an onset at about 200 °C; and (4) non-hygroscopic.
Regarding claim 12, Morissette teaches that high throughput screening produces many polymorphs in a short period of time (page 289, column 2, paragraph 3; page 290, column 1, paragraph 1). Thus, one or ordinary skill in the art would use the high throughput screening technology as described by Morissette to access a polymorph of Form 2, wherein (1) the XRPD pattern has peaks: 7.0° 2-theta, 9.3° 2-theta, 13.3° 2-theta, 13.8° 2-theta, 18.3° 2-theta, 18.8° 2- theta, 20.6° 2-theta, 21.2° 2-theta, and 25.6° 2-theta; (2) the TGA comprises the peaks set forth in Figure 4; (3) the DSC thermogram has an exotherm having an onset at about 194 °C; and (4) non-hygroscopic.
Regarding claim 13, Morissette teaches that high throughput screening produces many polymorphs in a short period of time (page 289, column 2, paragraph 3; page 290, column 1, paragraph 1). Thus, one or ordinary skill in the art would use the high throughput screening technology as described by Morissette to access a polymorph of Form 2, wherein the XRPD pattern has peaks: 7.0° 2-theta, 9.3° 2-theta, 13.3° 2-theta, 13.8° 2-theta, 18.3° 2-theta, 18.8° 2- theta, 20.6° 2-theta, 21.2° 2-theta, and 25.6° 2-theta.
Regarding claim 14, Morissette teaches that high throughput screening produces many polymorphs in a short period of time (page 289, column 2, paragraph 3; page 290, column 1, paragraph 1). Thus, one or ordinary skill in the art would use the high throughput screening technology as described by Morissette to access a polymorph of Form 2, wherein the XRPD pattern has peaks: 7.0° 2-theta, 9.3° 2-theta, 13.3° 2-theta, 13.8° 2-theta, 18.3° 2-theta, 18.8° 2- theta, 20.6° 2-theta, 21.2° 2-theta, and 25.6° 2-theta.
Regarding claim 15, Morissette teaches that high throughput screening produces many polymorphs in a short period of time (page 289, column 2, paragraph 3; page 290, column 1, paragraph 1). Thus, one or ordinary skill in the art would use the high throughput screening technology as described by Morissette to access a polymorph of Form 2, wherein the TGA comprises the peaks set forth in Figure 4.
Regarding claim 16, Morissette teaches that high throughput screening produces many polymorphs in a short period of time (page 289, column 2, paragraph 3; page 290, column 1, paragraph 1). Thus, one or ordinary skill in the art would use the high throughput screening technology as described by Morissette to access a polymorph of Form 2, wherein the DSC thermogram has an exotherm having an onset at about 194 °C.
Regarding claim 17, Morissette teaches that high throughput screening produces many polymorphs in a short period of time (page 289, column 2, paragraph 3; page 290, column 1, paragraph 1). Thus, one or ordinary skill in the art would use the high throughput screening technology as described by Morissette to access a polymorph of Form 2, wherein the DSC thermogram has an exotherm having an onset at about 194 °C.
Regarding claim 20, Morissette teaches that high throughput screening produces many polymorphs in a short period of time (page 289, column 2, paragraph 3; page 290, column 1, paragraph 1). Thus, one or ordinary skill in the art would use the high throughput screening technology as described by Morissette to access a polymorph of Form 3, wherein (1) the XRPD pattern has peaks: 5.9° 2-theta, 6.9° 2-theta, 8.9° 2-theta, 9.2° 2-theta, 11.7° 2-theta, 13.8° 2- theta, 17.9° 2-theta, 20.9° 2-theta, 21.9° 2-theta, 24.8° 2-theta, 25.8° 2-theta; (2) the TGA comprises the peaks set forth in Figure 6; and (3) the DSC thermogram has a first exotherm having an onset at 133 °C and a second exotherm having an onset at 177 °C.
Regarding claim 21, Morissette teaches that high throughput screening produces many polymorphs in a short period of time (page 289, column 2, paragraph 3; page 290, column 1, paragraph 1). Thus, one or ordinary skill in the art would use the high throughput screening technology as described by Morissette to access a polymorph of Form 3, wherein the XRPD pattern has peaks: 5.9° 2-theta, 6.9° 2-theta, 8.9° 2-theta, 9.2° 2-theta, 11.7° 2-theta, 13.8° 2- theta, 17.9° 2-theta, 20.9° 2-theta, 21.9° 2-theta, 24.8° 2-theta, 25.8° 2-theta.
Regarding claim 22, Morissette teaches that high throughput screening produces many polymorphs in a short period of time (page 289, column 2, paragraph 3; page 290, column 1, paragraph 1). Thus, one or ordinary skill in the art would use the high throughput screening technology as described by Morissette to access a polymorph of Form 3, wherein the XRPD pattern has peaks: 5.9° 2-theta, 6.9° 2-theta, 8.9° 2-theta, 9.2° 2-theta, 11.7° 2-theta, 13.8° 2- theta, 17.9° 2-theta, 20.9° 2-theta, 21.9° 2-theta, 24.8° 2-theta, 25.8° 2-theta.
Regarding claim 29, ‘411 teaches pharmaceutical compositions of the compounds therein
(claim 16). Further, ‘411 teaches the compound,
(claim 19). Morissette teaches a high throughput method of generating polymorphs (crystals) of active pharmaceutical ingredients (abstract). Accordingly, the combination of ‘411 and Morissette teaches a pharmaceutical composition of the crystalline form of Compound 1:
.
7. (New) Claim 2-7, 9, 12-17, 20-22, and 29 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 75-80 of U.S. Application No. 19/538,596 in view of Morissette (Adv. Drug Delivery Rev.¸2004¸56, 275-300; of record, see PTO-892 mailed 13 Apr 2026), Bastin (OPRD, 2000, 4, 427-435, see IDS filed 11/10/2023) as evidenced by Wikipedia 1 (“Adipic acid,” Wikipedia, 2021, <http://web.archive.org/web/20210425233055/https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Adipic_acid>, accessed 26 Mar 2026) and Wikipedia 2 (“Caproic acid,” Wikipedia, 2021, <http://web.archive.org/web/20210406001857/https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Caproic_acid>, accessed 26 Mar 2026).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
U.S. Application No. 19/538,596 claim the compound:
or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof and a pharmaceutical composition , which is Compound 1:
(claims 75-80).
Regarding claim 2, ‘596 fails to teach a crystalline form of Compound 1 as an adipate salt.
Morissette teaches a high throughput method of generating polymorphs (crystals) of active pharmaceutical ingredients (abstract). Morissette teaches that multiple forms of active pharmaceutical ingredients exist and that each form displays unique physiochemical properties that can profoundly influence the bioavailability, manufacturability purification, stability, and other performance characteristics of the drug (page 276, column 1, paragraph 1). Morissette further teaches that most active pharmaceutical ingredients are purified and isolated by crystallization from an appropriate solvent during the final step in the synthetic process and that a large number
of factors can influence crystal nucleation and growth during this process, including composition of the crystallization medium and process(es) used to generate supersaturation and promote crystallization (page 276, column 2, paragraph 2). Morissette then specifies that high throughput
crystallization systems have been developed to more rapidly and comprehensively explore the multiparameter space that contributes to solid form diversity (page 278, column 2, paragraph 2). Morissette further teaches the generation of polymorphs of acetaminophen using a 96-well plate
system (e.g. Form III of acetaminophen), while previously, the crystal structure of Form III of acetaminophen was proposed 20 years after it was observed in 1982 by thermal microscopy (page 288, column 1, paragraph 2; page 289, column 1, paragraph 3). Further, Morissette teaches utilizing high throughput crystallization experiments to generate polymorphs of MK-996: over 1500 discrete recrystallization trials from a set of 21 solvents or solvent mixtures yielded 186 solids, which were harvested over a period of 7 days, and produced at least 18 distinct forms (page 289, column 2, paragraph 3; page 290, column 1, paragraph 1). Additionally, Morissette teaches that pharmaceutical companies currently use high throughput screening of polymorphs to save time and reduce costs (page 288, column 1, paragraph 1). Thus, Morissette teaches that high throughput screening produces many polymorphs in a short period of time.
Bastin teaches some of the most frequently used salts, such as fatty acids, and specifically names hexanoate (page 428, column 2, paragraph 3; Table 1, page 428). While Bastin does not specifically name adipate (or adipic acid or hexanedioate), hexanedioate differs from hexanoate via an extra carboxylic acid, as evidenced by Wikipedia 1 and 2 (Wikipedia 1: page 1, paragraph 1; side box; Wikipedia 2: page 1, paragraph 1; side box). Further, Wikipedia 1 teaches that adipic acid is a fatty acid (page 2, paragraph 5). Bastin teaches that salt selection provides the opportunity to modify characteristics of the potential drug substance (abstract). Bastin teaches that salts are most commonly employed for modifying aqueous solubility and that they also influence melting point, hygroscopicity, chemical stability, dissolution rate, solution pH, crystal form, and mechanical properties (abstract). Bastin further teaches the development of a microplate technique for salt screening, which also gives preliminary information on solvates and hydrates, especially if DSC and TGA are also used in the evaluation process (page 428, column 1, paragraphs 2-3). Thus, Bastin teaches a hexanedioate salt.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective
filing date of the instantly claimed invention to exemplify the crystalline compound of ‘596 with the method of Morissette and the salt of Bastin as evidenced by Wikipedia 1 and 2 to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a selection, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
-‘596 claim the compound:
or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof and a pharmaceutical composition , which is Compound 1:
,
-Morissette teaches a high throughput method of generating polymorphs (crystals) of active pharmaceutical ingredients,
-Morissette teaches that multiple forms of active pharmaceutical ingredients exist and that each form displays unique physiochemical properties that can profoundly influence the bioavailability, manufacturability purification, stability, and other performance characteristics of the drug,
-Morissette further teaches that most active pharmaceutical ingredients are purified and isolated by crystallization from an appropriate solvent during the final step in the synthetic process and that a large number of factors can influence crystal nucleation and growth during this process, including composition of the crystallization medium and process(es) used to generate supersaturation and promote crystallization.
-Morissette then specifies that high throughput crystallization systems have been developed to more rapidly and comprehensively explore the multiparameter space that contributes to solid form diversity,
-Morissette further teaches the generation of polymorphs of acetaminophen using a 96-well plate system (e.g. Form III of acetaminophen), while previously, the crystal structure of Form III of acetaminophen was proposed 20 years after it was observed in 1982 by thermal microscopy,
-Morissette teaches utilizing high throughput crystallization experiments to generate polymorphs of MK-996: over 1500 discrete recrystallization trials from a set of 21 solvents or solvent mixtures yielded 186 solids, which were harvested over a period of 7 days, and produced at least 18 distinct forms,
-Morissette teaches that pharmaceutical companies currently use high throughput screening of polymorphs to save time and reduce costs,
-Morissette teaches that high throughput screening produces many polymorphs in a short period of time.
-Bastin teaches some of the most frequently used salts, such as fatty acids, and specifically names hexanoate,
-While Bastin does not specifically name adipate (or adipic acid or hexanedioate), hexanedioate differs from hexanoate via an extra carboxylic acid, as evidenced by Wikipedia 1 and 2. Wikipedia 1 teaches that adipic acid is a fatty acid,
-Bastin teaches that salt selection provides the opportunity to modify characteristics of the potential drug substance,
-Bastin teaches that salts are most commonly employed for modifying aqueous solubility and that they also influence melting point, hygroscopicity, chemical stability, dissolution rate, solution pH, crystal form, and mechanical properties,
-Bastin further teaches the development of a microplate technique for salt screening, which also gives preliminary information on solvates and hydrates, especially if DSC and TGA are also used in the evaluation process, and
-Bastin teaches a hexanedioate salt.
Accordingly, the combination of ‘596, Morissette, and Bastin as evidenced by Wikipedia and Wikipedia 2 teaches a crystalline adipate salt of Compound 1 having Form 1: (1) an XRPD of 7.0° 2-theta, 9.3° 2-theta, 14.0° 2-theta, 21.1° 2-theta, 24.9° 2-theta, and 25.6 ° 2-theta; (2) a TGA wherein the thermogram comprises the peaks set forth in Figure 2; (3) a DSC thermogram with an exotherm having an onset at about 200 °C; and (4) non-hygroscopic, they differ from that of the instantly claimed invention in that they do not explicitly teach an adipate (adipic) salt.
Regarding claim 3, Morisette teaches that high throughput screening produces many polymorphs in a short period of time (page 289, column 2, paragraph 3; page 290, column 1, paragraph 1). Thus, one or ordinary skill in the art would use the high throughput screening technology as described by Morissette to access a polymorph of Form 1, wherein the XRPD pattern has peaks: 7.0° 2-theta, 9.3° 2-theta, 14.0° 2-theta, 21.1° 2-theta, 24.9° 2-theta, and 25.6 ° 2-theta.
Regarding claim 4, Morissette teaches that high throughput screening produces many polymorphs in a short period of time (page 289, column 2, paragraph 3; page 290, column 1, paragraph 1). Thus, one or ordinary skill in the art would use the high throughput screening technology as described by Morissette to access a polymorph of Form 1, wherein the XRPD pattern has peaks: 7.0° 2-theta, 9.3° 2-theta, 14.0° 2-theta, 21.1° 2-theta, 24.9° 2-theta, and 25.6 ° 2-theta.
Regarding claim 5, Morissette teaches that high throughput screening produces many polymorphs in a short period of time (page 289, column 2, paragraph 3; page 290, column 1, paragraph 1). Thus, one or ordinary skill in the art would use the high throughput screening technology as described by Morissette to access a polymorph of Form 1, wherein the TGA comprises the peaks set forth in Figure 2.
Regarding claim 6, Morissette teaches that high throughput screening produces many polymorphs in a short period of time (page 289, column 2, paragraph 3; page 290, column 1, paragraph 1). Thus, one or ordinary skill in the art would use the high throughput screening technology as described by Morissette to access a polymorph of Form 1, wherein the DSC thermogram has an exotherm having an onset at about 200 °C.
Regarding claim 7, Morissette teaches that high throughput screening produces many polymorphs in a short period of time (page 289, column 2, paragraph 3; page 290, column 1, paragraph 1). Thus, one or ordinary skill in the art would use the high throughput screeningtechnology as described by Morissette to access a polymorph of Form 1, wherein the DSC thermogram has an exotherm having an onset at about 200 °C.
Regarding claim 9, Morissette teaches that high throughput screening produces many polymorphs in a short period of time (page 289, column 2, paragraph 3; page 290, column 1, paragraph 1). Thus, one or ordinary skill in the art would use the high throughput screening technology as described by Morissette to access a polymorph of Form 1, wherein (1) the XRPD pattern has peaks: 7.0° 2-theta, 9.3° 2-theta, 14.0° 2-theta, 21.1° 2-theta, 24.9° 2-theta, and 25.6 ° 2-theta; (2) the TGA comprises the peaks set forth in Figure 2; (3) the DSC thermogram has an exotherm having an onset at about 200 °C; and (4) non-hygroscopic.
Regarding claim 12, Morissette teaches that high throughput screening produces many polymorphs in a short period of time (page 289, column 2, paragraph 3; page 290, column 1, paragraph 1). Thus, one or ordinary skill in the art would use the high throughput screening technology as described by Morissette to access a polymorph of Form 2, wherein (1) the XRPD pattern has peaks: 7.0° 2-theta, 9.3° 2-theta, 13.3° 2-theta, 13.8° 2-theta, 18.3° 2-theta, 18.8° 2- theta, 20.6° 2-theta, 21.2° 2-theta, and 25.6° 2-theta; (2) the TGA comprises the peaks set forth in Figure 4; (3) the DSC thermogram has an exotherm having an onset at about 194 °C; and (4) non-hygroscopic.
Regarding claim 13, Morissette teaches that high throughput screening produces many polymorphs in a short period of time (page 289, column 2, paragraph 3; page 290, column 1, paragraph 1). Thus, one or ordinary skill in the art would use the high throughput screening technology as described by Morissette to access a polymorph of Form 2, wherein the XRPD pattern has peaks: 7.0° 2-theta, 9.3° 2-theta, 13.3° 2-theta, 13.8° 2-theta, 18.3° 2-theta, 18.8° 2- theta, 20.6° 2-theta, 21.2° 2-theta, and 25.6° 2-theta.
Regarding claim 14, Morissette teaches that high throughput screening produces many polymorphs in a short period of time (page 289, column 2, paragraph 3; page 290, column 1, paragraph 1). Thus, one or ordinary skill in the art would use the high throughput screening technology as described by Morissette to access a polymorph of Form 2, wherein the XRPD pattern has peaks: 7.0° 2-theta, 9.3° 2-theta, 13.3° 2-theta, 13.8° 2-theta, 18.3° 2-theta, 18.8° 2- theta, 20.6° 2-theta, 21.2° 2-theta, and 25.6° 2-theta.
Regarding claim 15, Morissette teaches that high throughput screening produces many polymorphs in a short period of time (page 289, column 2, paragraph 3; page 290, column 1, paragraph 1). Thus, one or ordinary skill in the art would use the high throughput screening technology as described by Morissette to access a polymorph of Form 2, wherein the TGA comprises the peaks set forth in Figure 4.
Regarding claim 16, Morissette teaches that high throughput screening produces many polymorphs in a short period of time (page 289, column 2, paragraph 3; page 290, column 1, paragraph 1). Thus, one or ordinary skill in the art would use the high throughput screening technology as described by Morissette to access a polymorph of Form 2, wherein the DSC thermogram has an exotherm having an onset at about 194 °C.
Regarding claim 17, Morissette teaches that high throughput screening produces many polymorphs in a short period of time (page 289, column 2, paragraph 3; page 290, column 1, paragraph 1). Thus, one or ordinary skill in the art would use the high throughput screening technology as described by Morissette to access a polymorph of Form 2, wherein the DSC thermogram has an exotherm having an onset at about 194 °C.
Regarding claim 20, Morissette teaches that high throughput screening produces many polymorphs in a short period of time (page 289, column 2, paragraph 3; page 290, column 1, paragraph 1). Thus, one or ordinary skill in the art would use the high throughput screening technology as described by Morissette to access a polymorph of Form 3, wherein (1) the XRPD pattern has peaks: 5.9° 2-theta, 6.9° 2-theta, 8.9° 2-theta, 9.2° 2-theta, 11.7° 2-theta, 13.8° 2- theta, 17.9° 2-theta, 20.9° 2-theta, 21.9° 2-theta, 24.8° 2-theta, 25.8° 2-theta; (2) the TGA comprises the peaks set forth in Figure 6; and (3) the DSC thermogram has a first exotherm having an onset at 133 °C and a second exotherm having an onset at 177 °C.
Regarding claim 21, Morissette teaches that high throughput screening produces many polymorphs in a short period of time (page 289, column 2, paragraph 3; page 290, column 1, paragraph 1). Thus, one or ordinary skill in the art would use the high throughput screening technology as described by Morissette to access a polymorph of Form 3, wherein the XRPD pattern has peaks: 5.9° 2-theta, 6.9° 2-theta, 8.9° 2-theta, 9.2° 2-theta, 11.7° 2-theta, 13.8° 2- theta, 17.9° 2-theta, 20.9° 2-theta, 21.9° 2-theta, 24.8° 2-theta, 25.8° 2-theta.
Regarding claim 22, Morissette teaches that high throughput screening produces many polymorphs in a short period of time (page 289, column 2, paragraph 3; page 290, column 1, paragraph 1). Thus, one or ordinary skill in the art would use the high throughput screening technology as described by Morissette to access a polymorph of Form 3, wherein the XRPD pattern has peaks: 5.9° 2-theta, 6.9° 2-theta, 8.9° 2-theta, 9.2° 2-theta, 11.7° 2-theta, 13.8° 2- theta, 17.9° 2-theta, 20.9° 2-theta, 21.9° 2-theta, 24.8° 2-theta, 25.8° 2-theta.
Regarding claim 29, ‘596 teaches the compound,
and compositions thereof (claim 75-80). Morissette teaches a high throughput method of generating polymorphs (crystals) of active pharmaceutical ingredients (abstract). Accordingly, the combination of ‘411 and Morissette teaches a pharmaceutical composition of the crystalline form of Compound 1:
.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/MADELINE M. DEKARSKE/Examiner, Art Unit 1622
/JAMES H ALSTRUM-ACEVEDO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1622