DETAILED ACTION
Examiners Comment
This Office action is a second non-final action to correct the discrepancy between the initial non-final rejection and the initial 326 form.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 20 contains the trademark/trade names Wi-Fi. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe wireless communication and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Examiner notes that claim 20 is further indefinite because it is not clear whether all of the limitations of the claim are required or any one of the limitations. Examiner suggests adding the words “and” or “or” to clearly define the scope of the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yahnker (US 2011/0209721).
As for claim 15, Yahnker shows a hair separator configured to unbundle wet hair (62, fig. 1); and a drying component comprising a vent (32, fig. 1, [0032]) and a row of vibrating bristles moving at a frequency between 5 Hz and 5 MHz [0045].
As for claim 16, Yahnker shows the hair separator is reversibly coupled to the drying component (fig. 2, [0017]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yahnker as applied to claim 15 above and further in view of the user of Yahnker.
Yahnker discloses the claimed invention except for a counter plate configured to ensure the wet hair is placed under tension during drying. Examiner notes that the human hand can be and has been used in hair styling to place hair under tension while brushing or combing. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the dryer as disclosed by Yahnker with a counter plate configured to ensure the wet hair is placed under tension during drying because the practice is well known and requires only use of the free hand of the person styling hair.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yahnker as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Calvo (US 10,271,627).
Yahnker discloses the claimed invention except for a battery, a fuel cell, an electrochemical energy source, a renewable energy source, a rechargeable energy source, a wireless charging pad, a temperature sensor to measure temperature, a humidity sensor to measure humidity, a timing device that can track time, a communication component, including WiFi, Bluetooth, Near Field Communication for connecting with an external computing device, a network or a notification system. Calvo teaches a battery, a fuel cell, an electrochemical energy source, a renewable energy source, a rechargeable energy source, a wireless charging pad, a temperature sensor to measure temperature, a humidity sensor to measure humidity, a timing device that can track time, a communication component, including WiFi, Bluetooth, Near Field Communication for connecting with an external computing device, a network or a notification system (5:38) in order to increase portable use of the hair dryer. Yahnker would benefit equally from . It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the dryer as disclosed by with as taught by in order to increasing portable use of the hair dryer. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the dryer as disclosed by Yahnker with a battery, a fuel cell, an electrochemical energy source, a renewable energy source, a rechargeable energy source, a wireless charging pad, a temperature sensor to measure temperature, a humidity sensor to measure humidity, a timing device that can track time, a communication component, including WiFi, Bluetooth, Near Field Communication for connecting with an external computing device, a network or a notification system as taught by Calvo in order to increase portable use of the hair dryer.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-14 are allowed.
Claims 18 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for Allowance
Claims 1, 8 and 18 include allowable subject matter because prior art could not be found to disclose a first spacing between adjacent bristles in the first row of stationary bristles is smaller than a second spacing between adjacent bristles in the second row of stationary bristles including a row of vibrating bristles with all of the limitations of independent claims 1, 8 and 15. The closest prior art disclosing disparate bristle row distance is found in L’oreal (DE202014001947) and JPH0713229U which disclose a first spacing between adjacent bristles in the first row of stationary bristles is smaller than a second spacing between adjacent bristles in the second row of stationary bristles. However, there is no motivation provided to combine the Yahnker reference with L’oreal or JPH0713229U without using impermissible hindsight construction.
Conclusion
/JOHN P MCCORMACK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762