DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant elected Group I but added new claims 21-38. Claims 19-38 are now pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 19-32, 35, 36, and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claims 19, 31, 32, 35, and 38, “the surface” lacks sufficient antecedent basis, rendering the claims indefinite.
In claim 36, “at least one of major surface” is grammatically incorrect and renders the claim indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 33-34 and 36-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakamoto et al. (“Sakamoto”, US 2019/0006707 A1) in view of Neagu et al. (“In Situ Growth of Nanoparticles through Exsolution from Perovskite Oxides”, Nanomaterials 2020, 10, 2445).
Regarding claims 33, 34, 36, and 37, Sakamoto teaches doped solid-state electrolyte membranes including ceramic electrolyte systems having grains and grain boundaries to suppress or eliminate propagation in polycrystalline electrolytes ([0014]-[0017]). Sakamoto also teaches doped garnet and NaSICON-type electrolyte systems and overlapping dopant species including Sn and Zn ([0019]-[0021]), inter alia.
Sakamoto teaches insoluble grain modification can be doped into solid electrolyte grains during synthesis and exsoluted during solid electrolyte calcination or densification ([0056]).
Sakamoto does not teach the precise amounts of dopant or metal nanoparticles on the surface.
However, Neagu teaches exsolution of metal nanoparticles from doped ceramic oxide materials through segregation of dopants from the bulk lattice to ceramic surfaces during reduction processing (pp. 2-4; Fig. 1). Neagu teaches in situ formation of nanoscale metal nanoparticles on ceramic surfaces (pp. 5-7; Figs. 2-3). Neagu also teaches partially embedded or socketed nanoparticle morphologies resulting from exsolution processing (pp. 8-10; Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify Sakamoto using known exsolution techniques as taught by Neagu in order to provide surface nanoparticle structures and improve electrochemical interfacial properties.
Optimization of dopant concentration, nanoparticle surface coverage, and nanoparticle size would have constituted routine optimization of result-effective variables since Neagu teaches they are a function of dopant concentration and reduction conditions (pp. 5-7).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 35 and 38 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 19 would be allowable if the 112 rejections are overcome.
Conclusion
DANIEL H. LEE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1746
/DANIEL H LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746