DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant's reply filed 7/18/2026 includes an amendment to Claim 1 and arguments corresponding to the new limitation “wherein each of the salt caverns is communicated to the ground by setting a vertical well and an inclined well, the inclined well of the each of the salt caverns is communicated with a bottom of the each of the salt caverns, to realize a communication of the vertical well and the inclined well of the each of the salt caverns.” The new limitation is supported by the instant disclosure and is consistent with elected Species B, see vertical wells and inclined wells 114 in Fig. 2:
Examiner agrees there are visual differences between the inclined wells of the instant invention and Schädlich. The instant inclined wells 114 are fluidly and mechanically connected to a bottommost portion of each cavern (see instant Fig. 2), while the inclined wells of Schädlich are mechanically connected to an upper surface of each salt cavern, but extend into the bottom portion of the salt cavern (see second pipelines 18 and 25 in Schädlich Fig. 2). However, the language of the new Claim 1 limitation does not make these distinctions or specify whether the “communication” is fluid (i.e., flow through the system) or mechanical (i.e., physical connections of system components). The limitations of amended Claim 1 are met by the art cited in the previous action. See updated portions in underlined text below.
Drawings
The replacement drawings were received on 7/18/2026 and are accepted. The replacement drawings resolve all drawing objections set forth in the previous action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “wherein each of the salt caverns is communicated to the ground by setting a vertical well and an inclined well” on lines 16-17 of the claim. Claim 1 comprises a salt cavern, having “n positive salt caverns” and “m negative salt caverns.” The limitation “each of the salt caverns” is unclear which caverns are being referred to. For the purpose of this action, the limitation will be examined as “each of the n positive salt caverns and the n negative salt caverns.”
Claim 1 also recites “communicated to the ground” on line 16 of the claim The term “the ground” lacks proper antecedent basis. It is also unclear what “ground” is being referred to. In the context of the instant specification, Examiner assumes this to mean underground, or below grade. Further clarification of this limitation is requested.
Claims 2-5, 9, and 10 are also rejected, as they depend upon Claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schädlich et al., WO 2018114012 A1, and further in view of Liu et al., “No-mixing design of vanadium redox flow battery for enhanced effective energy capacity,” Journal of Energy Storage, 23, 2019, pg. 278–291.
Regarding Claim 1, Schädlich discloses a salt cavern flow battery system ([0006-0014, 0031], Figs. 1-2) comprising:
a stack, comprising a positive electrode of the stack and a negative electrode of the stack (a flow battery with a galvanic cell 8 comprising cathode half-cell 10 and anode half-cell 11 [0009, 0036]);
a salt cavern, comprising a positive salt cavern for storing positive electrolyte (first cavern 1 and catholyte 6 [0008, 0036-0038]), and a negative salt cavern for storing negative electrolyte (second cavern 2 and anolyte 7 [0008, 0036-0038]);
a first closed loop formed by connecting the positive electrode of the stack and the positive salt cavern through a pipeline (first pipe system 12: supply line 20 and return line 21 connected to first cavern 1 and cathode half-cell 10 [0039, 0056-0057]);
a second closed loop formed by connecting the negative electrode of the stack and the negative salt cavern through a pipeline (second pipe system 13: supply line 27 and return line 28 connected to second cavern 2 and anode half-cell 11 [0039, 0047, 0056-0057]);
a first pusher arranged in the first closed loop to push the positive electrolytes to flow cyclically in the first closed loop (first pump 14 and protective medium [0013, 0024, 0040, 0046]); and
a second pusher arranged in the second closed loop to push the negative electrolytes to flow cyclically in the second closed loop (second pump 15 and protective medium [0013, 0024, 0040, 0047]);
wherein each of the salt caverns is communicated to the ground by setting a vertical well and an inclined well (cavern is an underground cavity [0034], supply and return lines to each cavern are separate boreholes [0023, 0030, 0056-0057], see Annotated Fig. 2 for boreholes 16/23 and first pipelines 17/24 defining the two Vertical Wells in a vertical position, and for boreholes 16/23 and second pipelines 18/25 defining the two Inclined Wells having an inclined midsection), the inclined well of the each of the salt caverns is communicated with a bottom of each of the salt caverns (the second pipelines 18 and 25 terminate in the lower half of the respective cavern 1 or 2 [0025-0026, 0057], Fig. 2).
Regarding the limitation “to realize a communication of the vertical well and the inclined well of each of the salt caverns,” Schädlich discloses the first and second pipelines are in fluid communication within the same cavern, and the caverns are in fluid communication with each other via the electrolyte flow path during operation of the system ([0013, 0025, 0057]).
Schädlich – Annotated Fig. 2
Schädlich does not disclose two or more positive salt caverns are connected in series through a pipeline, and also does not disclose two or more negative salt caverns are connected in series through a pipeline. However, these limitations are taught by Liu et al.
Liu teaches a redox flow battery system with four electrolyte tanks is preferable to a system only comprising two electrolyte tanks (pg. 279). Liu teaches by separately storing the charged and discharged electrolytes for the positive and negative electrodes, the electrolyte utilization and energy capacity of the battery is increased, which also reduces operating costs (pg. 289). Liu teaches each pair of electrolyte tanks are connected in series (pg. 281, see Tanks 1-4 in Figs. 1B and 2).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to add a second electrolyte storage tank to the catholyte and anolyte loops, in the flow battery of Schädlich, as Liu teaches separately storing the charged and discharged electrolytes for increases electrolyte utilization and energy capacity, as well as decreases operating costs of the cell.
Liu – Fig. 1B
Regarding Claim 2, modified Schädlich discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Schädlich discloses the first pusher and the second pusher each comprise:
a circulation pump arranged in the pipeline (Schädlich, two circuits in which the respective electrolyte solution is circulated by means of at least one pump [0013, 0040]; see pumps 14 and 15 in Schädlich Figs. 1-2), and
an isolation medium arranged in the salt cavern (Schädlich, to adjust the volume of the electrolyte solution, the caverns are preferably filled with a gaseous protective medium, preferably nitrogen gas [0024-0025, 0057]; see protective gases 36/37 in Schädlich Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 3, modified Schädlich discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Schädlich discloses a density of the isolation medium is lower than that of the positive electrolyte and the negative electrolyte (Schädlich, protective medium is “above the respective electrolyte solution,” electrolyte is “covered with a nitrogen cushion” [0024-0025, 0057]; see position of protective gases 36/37 relative to electrolytes 6/7 in Schädlich Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 4, modified Schädlich discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Schädlich discloses the isolation medium comprises one or more of nitrogen and oil (Schädlich, protective medium is preferably nitrogen gas, forms a “nitrogen cushion” [0024-0025]).
Regarding Claim 5, modified Schädlich discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Schädlich discloses the positive electrolytes comprise a positive active substance and a sodium chloride supporting electrolyte (Schädlich, first electrolyte solution 6 comprises redox-active polymers, sodium chloride, water [0011-0017, 0037-0039]), and the negative electrolytes comprise a negative active substance and the sodium chloride supporting electrolyte (Schädlich, second electrolyte solution 7 comprises redox-active polymers, sodium chloride, water [0011-0017, 0037-0039]).
Regarding Claim 9, modified Schädlich discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Schädlich discloses the pipeline is made of corrosion-resistant materials (Schädlich, plastic tube or internally coated steel tube [0023, 0043-0046]).
Regarding Claim 10, modified Schädlich discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Schädlich discloses the salt cavern flow battery system is connected with a power supply device for providing electric energy to the salt cavern flow battery system (Schädlich, external current flow of electrons are supplied to the ion exchange membrane via a power grid [0003, 0016]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BETHANY C GARCIA/Examiner, Art Unit 1721
/ALLISON BOURKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1721