DETAILED ACTION
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: model generation unit and simulation unit in claim 1-8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-2 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi U.S. Patent Application 20220092838 in view of Yerli U.S. Patent Application 20190287208.
Regarding claim 1, Choi discloses an information processing apparatus comprising:
a model generation unit; This element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as the circuitry, or the software and microprocessor, with the algorithm described in the specification (pseudo-muscle generation module 114) that generates, by simulating contraction of a plurality of muscles, a muscle model that simulates a movement of the muscle (paragraph [0006]: To simulate the movements and/or facial expression of the computer-animated character that may appear to be similar to those of the live actor, muscle movements performed by the live actor is decomposed and analyzed, which often entails knowledge of an anatomical model of the physical body of the live actor; paragraph [0053]: the generated skull structure topology from skull structure generation 115, the pseudo-muscle topology from the pseudo-muscle generation module 114, together with the data bundles representing the time-varying vectors of muscle parameters, skin representation, joint representation, and/or the like over a bundle time period, may be input to the machine learning model 118); and
a simulation unit; This element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as the circuitry, or the software and microprocessor, with the algorithm described in the specification (animation creation system and machine learning model 118) that simulates, by using the muscle model to simulate movements of a plurality of muscles which are included in a human face, a movement of the human face (paragraph [0110]: the model editor 1015 may receive personalized facial parameters such as muscle position, muscle depth, joint parameter, and/or the like from a facial model dataset 1018. The facial model dataset 1018 may be a generic anatomical facial muscle dataset, or a personalized facial muscle topology such as the muscle geometry 303 or the simplified pseudo muscle topology 305, both specific to the live actor; paragraph [0028]: when variables corresponding to an amount of contraction for the muscles on either side of the mouth are set to values that represent maximum contraction of those muscles, the animation creation system would output a pose with a face having a widened mouth; paragraph [0053]: Based on parameters in the data bundles such as parameters of the muscles, strains, joints, and/or the like, skull parameters from the skull topology, static muscle parameters from the pseudo-muscle topology, the machine learning model 118 generates a predicted skin surface representation (e.g., the visible facial expression such as “smile,” “frown,” etc.)).
Choi discloses all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above. However, Choi fails to disclose simulating contraction of a plurality of muscle fibers which make up a muscle.
Yerli discloses simulating contraction of a plurality of muscle fibers which make up a muscle (paragraph [0016]: simulation engine may perform one or more of viewport culling and coverage (z-) buffer culling to determine visibility of objects... muscle fiber mechanics and musculoskeletal skinning, finite element methods for biomechanical muscle modelling (muscle fibers contraction)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Choi’s to simulate muscle fibers as taught by Yerli, to process large data set at high speeds.
Regarding claim 2, Choi as modified by Yerli discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the model generation unit uses a finite element method to generate the muscle model (Yerli’s paragraph [0016]: simulation engine may perform one or more of viewport culling and coverage (z-) buffer culling to determine visibility of objects... muscle fiber mechanics and musculoskeletal skinning, finite element methods for biomechanical muscle modelling).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Choi’s to simulate muscle fibers as taught by Yerli, to process large data set at high speeds.
Claim 9 recites the functions of the apparatus recited in claim 1 as medium steps. Accordingly, the mapping of the prior art to the corresponding functions of the apparatus in claim 1 applies to the medium steps of claim 9.
Claim 10 recites the functions of the apparatus recited in claim 1 as method steps. Accordingly, the mapping of the prior art to the corresponding functions of the apparatus in claim 1 applies to the method steps of claim 10.
Claim 3 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi U.S. Patent Application 20220092838 in view of Yerli U.S. Patent Application 20190287208, and further in view of El-Baz U.S. Patent Application 20210156943.
Regarding claim 3, Choi as modified by Yerli discloses generating the muscle model that simulates contraction of each of a plurality of muscle fibers (Choi’s paragraph [0053]: Based on parameters in the data bundles such as parameters of the muscles, strains, joints, and/or the like, skull parameters from the skull topology, static muscle parameters from the pseudo-muscle topology, the machine learning model 118 generates a predicted skin surface representation (e.g., the visible facial expression such as “smile,” “frown,” etc.); Yerli’s paragraph [0016]: simulation engine may perform one or more of viewport culling and coverage (z-) buffer culling to determine visibility of objects... muscle fiber mechanics and musculoskeletal skinning, finite element methods for biomechanical muscle modelling … classifying input data into first and second data sets for processing by the artificial intelligence engine). However, Choi as modified by Yerli fails to disclose dividing the plurality of muscle fibers which make up the muscle into a plurality of groups.
El-Baz discloses dividing the plurality of muscle fibers which make up the muscle into a plurality of groups (paragraph [0085]: segmenting the muscle tissue volume into a plurality of different muscle group volumes).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Choi and Yerli’s to divide muscle into groups as taught by El-Baz, to detect and track muscle changes.
Regarding claim 5, Choi as modified by Yerli and El-Baz discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the model generation unit generates, for one or some of the plurality of groups, the muscle model that simulates contraction of only one or some of a plurality of muscle fibers which are included in the one or some of the plurality of groups (Choi’s paragraph [0053]: Based on parameters in the data bundles such as parameters of the muscles, strains, joints, and/or the like, skull parameters from the skull topology, static muscle parameters from the pseudo-muscle topology, the machine learning model 118 generates a predicted skin surface representation (e.g., the visible facial expression such as “smile,” “frown,” etc.); Yerli’s paragraph [0016]: simulation engine may perform one or more of viewport culling and coverage (z-) buffer culling to determine visibility of objects... muscle fiber mechanics and musculoskeletal skinning, finite element methods for biomechanical muscle modelling … classifying input data into first and second data sets for processing by the artificial intelligence engine; El-Baz’s paragraph [0085]: segmenting the muscle tissue volume into a plurality of different muscle group volumes).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Choi and Yerli’s to divide muscle into groups as taught by El-Baz, to detect and track muscle changes.
Regarding claim 6, Choi as modified by Yerli and El-Baz discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the model generation unit generates, for one or some of the plurality of groups, the muscle model that integrally simulates contraction of a plurality of muscle fibers which are included in the one or some of the plurality of groups (Choi’s paragraph [0053]: Based on parameters in the data bundles such as parameters of the muscles, strains, joints, and/or the like, skull parameters from the skull topology, static muscle parameters from the pseudo-muscle topology, the machine learning model 118 generates a predicted skin surface representation (e.g., the visible facial expression such as “smile,” “frown,” etc.); Yerli’s paragraph [0016]: simulation engine may perform one or more of viewport culling and coverage (z-) buffer culling to determine visibility of objects... muscle fiber mechanics and musculoskeletal skinning, finite element methods for biomechanical muscle modelling … classifying input data into first and second data sets for processing by the artificial intelligence engine; El-Baz’s paragraph [0085]: segmenting the muscle tissue volume into a plurality of different muscle group volumes).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Choi and Yerli’s to divide muscle into groups as taught by El-Baz, to detect and track muscle changes.
Claim 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi U.S. Patent Application 20220092838 in view of Yerli U.S. Patent Application 20190287208, and further in view of Pai U.S. Patent Application 20160203630.
Regarding claim 7, Choi as modified by Yerli discloses generating the muscle model that simulates contraction of each of a plurality of muscle fibers which are located at an external boundary of the muscle (Choi’s paragraph [0053]: Based on parameters in the data bundles such as parameters of the muscles, strains, joints, and/or the like, skull parameters from the skull topology, static muscle parameters from the pseudo-muscle topology, the machine learning model 118 generates a predicted skin surface representation (e.g., the visible facial expression such as “smile,” “frown,” etc.); paragraph [0045]: the term “surface” refers to geometric properties of the outside layer of an object. For example, a skull surface includes parameters that describe the geometric properties of the outer layer of the skull, such as the curve, shape; Yerli’s paragraph [0016]: simulation engine may perform one or more of viewport culling and coverage (z-) buffer culling to determine visibility of objects... muscle fiber mechanics and musculoskeletal skinning, finite element methods for biomechanical muscle modelling … classifying input data into first and second data sets for processing by the artificial intelligence engine). However, Choi as modified by Yerli fails to disclose simulating contraction of only one or some of a plurality of muscle fibers which are located at a location other than the boundary.
Pai discloses simulating contraction of only one or some of a plurality of muscle fibers which are located at a location other than the boundary (paragraph [0107]: input data 112 may comprise the time evolution of the activation level α of any muscle (e.g. where it is desirable to simulate how the output shapes 132 of the objects in the skeletal subsystems and soft-tissue subsystems evolve with the activation level α)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Choi and Yerli’s to simulate muscle based on activation level as taught by Pai, to provide realistic simulation and minimize computation expense.
Regarding claim 8, Choi as modified by Yerli and Pai discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the model generation unit generates the muscle model that simulates contraction of each of a plurality of muscle fibers which have higher degree of freedom and simulates contraction of only one or some of a plurality of muscle fibers which have lower degrees of freedom, among the plurality of muscle fibers which make up the muscle (Choi’s paragraph [0053]: Based on parameters in the data bundles such as parameters of the muscles, strains, joints, and/or the like, skull parameters from the skull topology, static muscle parameters from the pseudo-muscle topology, the machine learning model 118 generates a predicted skin surface representation (e.g., the visible facial expression such as “smile,” “frown,” etc.); paragraph [0092]: The original polygon muscle topology 303 may be described by a number of variables with a large degree of freedom, e.g., each muscle is described by the 3D coordinates of the set of bone attachment points, the set of skin attachment points, and the muscle volume; Yerli’s paragraph [0016]: simulation engine may perform one or more of viewport culling and coverage (z-) buffer culling to determine visibility of objects... muscle fiber mechanics and musculoskeletal skinning, finite element methods for biomechanical muscle modelling … classifying input data into first and second data sets for processing by the artificial intelligence engine; Pai’s paragraph [0107]: input data 112 may comprise the time evolution of the activation level α of any muscle (e.g. where it is desirable to simulate how the output shapes 132 of the objects in the skeletal subsystems and soft-tissue subsystems evolve with the activation level α)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Choi and Yerli’s to simulate muscle based on activation level as taught by Pai, to provide realistic simulation and minimize computation expense.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 4 is about the model generation unit divides, into a plurality of groups, the plurality of muscle fibers which make up the muscle in descending order of influence on the movement of the muscle, and generates, for a group which has a greatest influence on the movement of the muscle among the plurality of groups, the muscle model that simulates contraction of each of a plurality of muscle fibers which are included in the group.
Choi 20220092838, Yerli 20190287208, El-Baz 20210156943 and Pai 20160203630 combined cannot teach these features. These limitations when read in light of the rest of the limitations in the claim and the claims to which it depends make the claim allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
/YI YANG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2616