DETAILED ACTION
[001] The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Election/Restrictions
[002] Claims 8 and 9 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected method of making a battery, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 5/01/2026.
[003] Despite the amendments to claims 8 and 9, the restriction is maintained as the battery of claim1 can still be manufactured without following aspects of the method claim. In particular, a cutout in at least the closing plate or battery case is not required to make the battery of claim 1, since the battery of claim 1 only requires a groove in the fitted region. Claim 9, being dependent on claim 8, is withdrawn for the same reasons as claim 8.
Priority
[004] Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP 2022-111152, filed on July 11th, 2022.
Specification
[005] The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: On page 5, paragraph 15, the thickness is stated to be “0. 5 mm”, which has an extra space between the decimal point and the tenths place. This type of typo also occurs on page 6, paragraph 17 with “0. 3 mm”. Appropriate correction is required.
[006] Additionally, the examiner notes on pages 18 and 19 of the instant specification, references to claims/clauses are made that have dependencies that do not correspond to the claim set submitted on 07/06/2023 or the amended set submitted on 05/01/2026. These claims have the dependencies that are stated in the foreign priority document. Appropriate correction is recommended.
Claim Objections
[007] Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 5 is drawn to “The sealed battery according to clause 1, wherein …”. The phrase “Clause 1” should be rewritten to be “claim 1”, in accordance with the other listed claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
[008] In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
[009] The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
[010] The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
[011] Claims 1, 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakayama et al (US 9608239 B2; Henceforth, Nakayama), and further in view of Jan et al (DE 102015218530 A1; Henceforth, Jan).
[012] Regarding claim 1, the instant claim is drawn to a sealed battery comprising: an electrode body including an electrode; a battery case including an opening and housing the electrode body; a closing plate including a terminal insertion hole and closing the opening; a fitted portion between the battery case and the closing plate; a collector terminal including an electrode body connector connected to the electrode inside the battery case, a shaft inserted through the terminal insertion hole, and an external connector exposed at an outer surface of the closing plate; and a resin insulator insulating the outer surface of the closing plate from the external connector, wherein at least in an area where the fitted portion and the insulator are located closest to each other, a groove is provided in the fitted portion, and the fitted portion including the groove is subjected to laser welding.
[013] Nakayama teaches a battery (page 1, column 2, line 12; Figure 1, reproduced below) including a case body, including an open end and internally containing a power generating element (page 1, column 2, lines 13-15), and a lid member with long and short side parts and placed to close an opening of the case body (page 1, column 2, lines 15-17). The examiner notes the power generating element corresponds to a wound electrode body, as depicted in Figure 4, reproduced below. Nakayama teaches the battery further includes external terminal members that penetrate through the lid member and are connected to the power generating element inside the battery (page 1, column 2, lines 18-21; Figure 3, reproduced below). The examiner notes element 134 of Figure 3 connects to the power generating element, constituting an electrode body connector, element 142 is a shaft portion going through the lid of the battery, and 140/149 is the external terminal member; these together match the collection terminal of the instant claim. Nakayama further teaches an insulating member (element 180, Figure 1) made of insulating resin (page 4, column 7, lines 37-39) disposed between the positive and negative terminal members and the case lid (page 4, column 7, lines 39-47). As depicted in Figure 18 (reproduced below; also page 6, column 11, lines 26-29), a groove (element 113f) may be disposed on the outer edge of the entire case lid, including in between the insulating member and the boundary between the case lid and edge of the battery case (which matches “the fitted region” of the instant claim). The fitted region is subjected to laser welding (Figures 9-11, reproduced below), which the examiner notes creates a sealed battery.
Figures 1 (left) and 3 (right), reproduced from Nakayama.
Figure 4, reproduced from Nakayama.
Figures 9 (left) and 10 (right), reproduced from Nakayama.
Figures 11 (left) and 18 (right), reproduced from Nakayama.
[014] While the groove appears to be within the region subjected to laser welding, Nakayama does not explicitly mention that the groove is subjected to laser welding.
[015] Jan teaches a housing for an electrochemical cell which comprises at least two housing components, such as a cap and housing ([0015]-[0016]) which are connected to each other in particular by means of a welded connection and/or by means of a tongue and groove connection([0008]). Jan teaches the motivation for this configuration is that the housing preferably has a tongue-and-groove connection, so that two or more housing components of the housing can preferably be positioned easily and safely relative to each other, particularly for the preparation of a subsequent welding process ([0009]). An embodiment taught by Jan, depicted in Figures 19 and 20, below, shows a configuration where the lid component (element 122) has a groove that hooks on the battery case (element 118), which is subjected to laser-welding; Jan teaches the weld seem preferably runs along the tongue and groove joint (Figure 20 and [0021]). Additionally, Jan teaches that welding can be carried out particularly from an oblique angle above in order to capture as large an area as possible of the corrugated section of the lid and to connect it securely to the battery casing ([0125]).
Figures 19 (left) and 20 (right), reproduced from Jan.
[016] Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to create a battery with an electrode terminal extending from the electrode body through the lid to the exterior of a battery, an insulating member disposed between the battery lid and the electrode terminal, and a fitted region, containing a groove, at the boundary between the battery lid and case, as taught by Nakayama, wherein the battery lid and case are welded together in the fitted region, as taught by Jan in the same field of endeavor. There would have been a motivation, as taught by Jan, to laser-weld the battery cap and case together at an oblique angle within the groove within the fitted region in order to capture as large an area as possible of the corrugated section of the lid and to connect it securely to the battery casing ([0125]). A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have had a reasonable expectation that the application of the technique taught by Jan with the angled groove configuration, also taught by Jan, with the battery system of Nakayama would result in a battery having a stronger seal between the lid and the battery case.
[017] The examiner notes that Nakayama teaches that a strong laser-welding power is needed in order to prevent flickering of the formed plume from ambient air currents (page 5, column 10, lines 46-52), which is visually depicted in Figure 12 (reproduced below). Therefore, Figure 12 does not depict an angled application of a laser during welding. Since Nakayama recognizes that angle of the generated plume is important, a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date would reasonably need to optimize for the angle of the laser-welding in order to best capture the largest amount of area to get the best seal between the battery case and lid. Having a groove configured like the one taught by Jan would enable more overlap with the battery case, and, even if the laser is oriented substantially vertically, a larger relevant surface area would be captured, compared to the groove taught by Nakayama. As such, the simple substitution of the groove of Jan in the system of Nakayama would still increase the area exposed to the laser during welding, and a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have the reasonable expectation that this would lead to the stronger bond between the battery case and lid, due to the teachings of Jan, without the need to apply an oblique angle. See MPEP 2143 I (B).
Figure 12, reproduced from Nakayama.
[018] Regarding claim 3, the instant claim is drawn to the sealed battery according to claim 1, wherein the fitted portion has a substantially rectangular shape, and the groove is provided at least in a long-side region of the fitted portion facing the insulator.
[019] Nakayama and Jan teach the battery of claim 1. Nakayama teaches the battery is substantially rectangular (Figure 8, reproduced below). Nakayama teaches the welding occurs on both the long and short sides (Figures 10 and 11, above), and depicts a series of Figures with the same presumed orientations (Figures 12-18) with varying configurations, including Figure 18 (above), that has a groove in the fitted region. While not explicitly mentioned if the groove is along the long or short sides, Figure 18 has the same depicted orientation as Figure 11 (above), which is viewed along the long side, with the insulating member removed for clarity (page 6, column 11, lines 30-32).
Figure 8, reproduced from Nakayama.
[020] Jan teaches the welded joint and/or the tongue-and-groove joint is preferably a connection that essentially completely circumferentially runs along the circumferential edge area between the two housing components ([0024]). Jan teaches configuration is necessary in order to get a secure, air-tight ([0002]) and fluid-tight ([0084]) connection.
[021] Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to create a battery with an electrode terminal extending from the electrode body through the lid to the exterior of a battery, an insulating member disposed between the battery lid and the electrode terminal, and a fitted region, containing a groove, at the boundary between the battery lid and case, as taught by Nakayama, wherein the groove runs at least along the long side of the battery, as taught by Jan in the same field of endeavor. Jan demonstrates precedent in the art to run a groove along the entire circumference of the battery lid, configured to enable an air- and fluid-tight seal ([0002] and [0084]) when the battery is laser-welded within the groove ([0021]-[0023]). A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have had the reasonable expectation that the simple substitution of the groove configuration taught by Jan into the system taught by Nakayama would have been able to be successfully implemented, since the structure would be performing the same function as it had in the other battery configuration, and it would be replacing a structure performing a nearly identical function in the base system. See MPEP 2143 I (B).
[022] Regarding claim 4, the instant claim is drawn to the sealed battery according to claim 1, wherein a laser-welded region formed by the laser welding is located within the groove of the fitted portion.
[023] Nakayama and Jan teach the battery of claim 1. Nakayama teaches the laser-welding occurs at the boundary of the battery lid and case, but does not explicitly teach the laser-welding occurs within the groove positioned adjacent to the aforementioned boundary.
[024] Jan teaches an embodiment (Figure 20, above) with a configuration where the lid component (element 122) has a groove that hooks on the battery case (element 118), which is subjected to laser-welding; Jan teaches the weld seem preferably runs along the tongue and groove joint ([0021]). Additionally, Jan teaches that welding can be carried out particularly from an oblique angle above in order to capture as large an area as possible of the corrugated section of the lid and to connect it securely to the battery casing ([0125]).
[025] Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to create a battery with an electrode terminal extending from the electrode body through the lid to the exterior of a battery, an insulating member disposed between the battery lid and the electrode terminal, and a fitted region, containing a groove, at the boundary between the battery lid and case, as taught by Nakayama, wherein the battery lid and case are welded together within the groove of the fitted region, as taught by Jan in the same field of endeavor, for the reasons outlined with claim 1, above.
[026] Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakayama and Jan as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ito (JP WO2017159760 A1; Henceforth, Ito).
[027] Regarding claim 2, the instant claim is drawn to the sealed battery according to claim 1, wherein the closing plate, the collector terminal, and the insulator are insert-molded.
[028] Nakayama and Jan teach the battery of claim 1. Nakayama nor Jan do not teach the closing plate, the collector terminal, and the insulator being insert-molded.
[029] Ito teaches an energy storage unit comprising a container having a wall, an electrode terminal penetrating the wall, and a current collector connected to the electrode terminal, wherein the wall and the electrode terminal are integrated together with an intermediate member disposed between the wall and electrode terminal ([0012]). Ito teaches that the positive terminal, lid and an intermediate member (Figure 8, reproduced below, element 500) are integrally molded through insert molding ([0038]). The examiner notes the negative terminal is analogously insert molded ([0038]). Ito further teaches that intermediate members 500 and 600 (see Figure 8, below) are insulating member, such as resin, in which at least a portion is positioned between the lid and the positive and negative terminal members, thereby insulating the lid from the terminal members ([0037]). Ito teaches that, when the intermediate members are integrated with the lid and the terminal members, they have the function of maintaining the airtightness of the container ([0037]).
Figure 8, reproduced from Ito.
[030] Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to create a substantially rectangular battery with fitted region at the boundary between the battery lid and casing, including a groove, that is subjected to laser-welding, as taught by Nakayama and Jan, wherein the battery lid, collector terminal, and insulation member are insert-molded, as taught by Ito in the same field of endeavor. There would have been a motivation, as taught by Ito, to insert-mold the insulation member, lid and electrode terminal, in order to create an air-tight battery. Since Ito demonstrates the use of the technique of insert-molding the components together in a battery, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize the known technique taught by Ito in the battery system taught by Nakayama and Jan in order to make the battery air-tight, since it would be performing the same function as Ito previously demonstrated.
[031] Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakayama and Jan as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Liu et al (US 20230395908 A1 (claiming priority to Aug. 24th, 2021); Henceforth, Liu).
[032] Regarding claim 5, the instant claim is drawn to the sealed battery according to clause 1, wherein the groove has a depth equal to or greater than 1/2 of a thickness of the closing plate.
[033] Nakayama and Jan teach the battery of claim 1. Nakayama does not teach how deep their groove is. Jan teaches an embodiment that depicts the groove is deeper than the battery lid is thick (Figures 19 and 20, above). However, Yan does not teach the depth explicitly, nor does Jan explicitly teach if the depths depicted in the figures are to scale.
[034] Liu teaches a battery cell including a housing with an opening, an end cover covering the opening, wherein the end cover has a first stress-relieving groove ([0005]) and a second stress-relieving groove ([0013]; see Figure 8, reproduced below), and the end cover and the housing are welded together. The stress-relieving grooves are configured to recess from the inner (for the first groove) or outer (for the second groove) surface of the end cover leaving the inside and outside of the battery cell, respectively, so they relieve stress produced by welding the end cover to the battery case ([0005] and [0013]). Liu teaches the first and second grooves each have a depth of 30-50% the thickness of the end cover ([0019]), which allows the groove to provide some stress relief while maintaining the strength of the end cover ([0020]).
Figure 8, reproduced from Liu.
[035] Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to create a substantially rectangular battery with fitted region at the boundary between the battery lid and casing, including a groove, that is subjected to laser-welding, as taught by Nakayama and Jan, wherein the groove has a depth equal to or greater than half of the thickness of the sealing plate, as taught by Liu in the same field of endeavor. It has been held that, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2144.05. It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select the depth of the groove from the prior art range taught by Liu, because the prior art teaches the desired utility over the entire range. There would have been a motivation to choose a groove with a depth of 50% the thickness of the closing plate, as taught by Liu, in the battery system taught by Nakayama and Jan, in the same field of endeavor, in order to maintain the strength of the closing plate while still enabling stress-relief during welding ([0020])
[036] Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakayama and Jan as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Satoshi et al (JP 2002184365 A; Henceforth, Satoshi).
[037] Regarding claim 6, the instant claim is drawn to the sealed battery according to claim 1, wherein the groove includes a first groove provided in the battery case.
[038] Nakayama and Yan teach the battery of claim 1. Neither explicitly teach that the groove within fitted area contains a first groove that is provided in the battery case.
[039] Satoshi teaches a method for sealing a battery in which a sealing plate with a sealing body fixed to it via an insulating gasket is fitted to the open end of the battery case, comprising of steps including forming a tapered surface on the inner peripheral edge of the open end of the battery case and forming a tapered surface on the upper side corner of the sealing plate, positioning the tapered edges so they are flush, to form a substantially V-shaped welding groove, and laser-welding along the groove, to fix the battery case to the sealing lid ([0013]; also see Figure 1, reproduced below). The examiner notes the resulting battery is also claimed (Claim 7) and the tapered edge on the battery case is consistent with the first groove of the instant claim. Satoshi teaches that by using a welding groove formed by joining the two tapered surfaces that has a V-shaped cross-section, it enables the user to accurately set the opening angle to direct the laser reflected light away from the insulating packing ([0016]). Satoshi further teaches that having a tapered angle of between 30 to 60 degrees allows a user to prevent welding defects caused by insufficient laser beam irradiation and penetration, while preventing reflected laser beams from irradiation the insulation packaging ([0019]-[0020]).
Figure 1, reproduced from Satoshi.
[040] Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to create a substantially rectangular battery with fitted region at the boundary between the battery lid and casing, including a groove, that is subjected to laser-welding, as taught by Nakayama and Jan, wherein the groove contains a first groove positioned on the battery case, as taught by Satoshi in the same field of endeavor. There would have been a motivation, as taught by Satoshi, to create a welding-groove with tapered edges, located between grooves on both the sealing lid and the battery case, in order to assist in the proper alignment of the laser beam {[0016]), and in order to ensure the laser beam did not reflect and irradiate the insulation packaging ([0019]-[0020]). Since Satoshi demonstrates the use of a welding groove comprised of grooves located on both the sealing plate and the battery case, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to substitute the grooves taught by Nakayama and Jan, in the same field of endeavor, in order to ensure the reflected light does not irradiate the insulation, and other elements, of the battery, as it would be performing the same function as it had been previously demonstrated with.
[041] Regarding claim 7, the instant claim is drawn to the sealed battery according to claim 1, wherein the groove includes a second groove provided in the closing plate.
[042] Nakayama and Yan teach the battery of claim 1. Neither explicitly teach that the groove within fitted area contains a second groove that is provided in the closing plate.
[043] Satoshi teaches a method for sealing a battery in which a sealing plate with a sealing body fixed to it via an insulating gasket is fitted to the open end of the battery case, comprising of steps including forming a tapered surface on the inner peripheral edge of the open end of the battery case and forming a tapered surface on the upper side corner of the sealing plate, positioning the tapered edges so they are flush, to form a substantially V-shaped welding groove, and laser-welding along the groove, to fix the battery case to the sealing lid ([0013]; also see Figure 1, above). The examiner notes the resulting battery is also claimed (Claim 7) and the tapered edge on the sealing plate is consistent with the second groove of the instant claim. Satoshi teaches that by using a welding groove formed by joining the two tapered surfaces that has a V-shaped cross-section, it enables the user to accurately set the opening angle to direct the laser reflected light away from the insulating packing ([0016]). Satoshi further teaches that having a tapered angle of between 30 to 60 degrees allows a user to prevent welding defects caused by insufficient laser beam irradiation and penetration, while preventing reflected laser beams from irradiation the insulation packaging ([0019]-[0020]).
[044] Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to create a substantially rectangular battery with fitted region at the boundary between the battery lid and casing, including a groove, that is subjected to laser-welding, as taught by Nakayama and Jan, wherein the groove contains a second groove positioned on the sealing plate, as taught by Satoshi in the same field of endeavor. There would have been a motivation, as taught by Satoshi, to create a welding-groove with tapered edges, located between grooves on both the sealing lid and the battery case, in order to assist in the proper alignment of the laser beam {[0016]), and in order to ensure the laser beam did not reflect and irradiate the insulation packaging ([0019]-[0020]). Since Satoshi demonstrates the use of a welding groove comprised of grooves located on both the sealing plate and the battery case, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to substitute the grooves taught by Nakayama and Jan, in the same field of endeavor, in order to ensure the reflected light does not irradiate the insulation, and other elements, of the battery, as it would be performing the same function as it had been previously demonstrated with.
Conclusion
[045] Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to RYAN P MURPHY whose telephone number is (571)272-9321. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 8:00 am - 5:30 pm.
[046] Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
[047] If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Nicholas A Smith can be reached at (571) 272-8760. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
[048] Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/RPM/Examiner, Art Unit 1752
/NICHOLAS A SMITH/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752