DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The cancellation of claims 8 and 11, and the amendments to claims 1, 9 in the response filed on 05/06/2026 are acknowledged.
Claims 1-7, 9-10, 11-18 remain pending in the application
Claims 12-18 are withdrawn.
Claims 8 and 11 are cancelled.
Claims 1-7 and 9-10 are examined.
Response to Arguments
The applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by the applicant’s amendments to the claims. The applicant has modified claim 1 to require “an optical element having a light reflection function and composed of a core and a clad; a first lens located on a distal end side of the light guide and the optical element; wherein the optical element is disposed between the light guide and the first lens”, limitations heretofore not presented for examination in this application. As such, the scope of the claims was substantially changed and new grounds for rejection are presented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP2006288432A to Kumei in view of U.S. Publication No. 2012/0253129 to Kitano.
Regarding claim 1, Kumei discloses an endoscope comprising: an illumination optical system ([0012]) that transmits illumination light ([0012]) from a light source (3, Fig. 1, [0011]) via a light guide (14, Fig. 1, [0012]) to a distal end portion (11, Fig. 1, [0012]) of an insertion part (7, Fig. 1, [0012]) to irradiate an observation site from the distal end portion with the illumination light ([0012]), wherein the illumination optical system includes: an optical element having a light reflection function (17c, Fig. 2, [0017]); a first lens located on a distal end side of the light guide and the optical element (17b, Fig. 1, [0017]); and a second lens disposed on a distal end side of the first lens while holding a constant distance interval (17a, Fig. 1, [0017]) and wherein the optical element is disposed between the light guide and the first lens (17c, Fig. 2, [0017]), and an outer diameter of the second lens is larger than an outer diameter of the first lens (Fig. 2) and is 2.1 mm or more and 3.0 mm or less ([0023]).
Kumei fails to expressly teach an optical element composed of a core and a clad.
However, Kitano teaches of an endoscope (11, Fig. 1, [0037]) comprising: an illumination optical system (20, Fig. 3, [0046]) that transmits illumination light from a light source (12, Fig. 1, [0037]) via a light guide (27, Fig. 3, [0040]) to a distal end portion (31, Fif. 3, [0042]) of an insertion part (16, Fig. 1, [0041]) to irradiate an observation site from the distal end portion with the illumination light ([0040]- the lighting optical device 20 applies the illumination light to a target (not shown)), wherein the illumination optical system includes: an optical element having a light reflection function (40, Fig. 3, [0046]) and composed of a core (46a, Fig. 3, 0047]) and a clad (46b, Fig. 3, [0047]- the optical element 40 is an approximately cylindrical rod lens with a core 46a); a first lens located on a distal end side of the light guide and the optical element (41, Fig. 3, [0046]); a second lens disposed on a distal end side of the first lens (42, Fig. 3, [0046]) while holding a constant distance interval (Fig. 3), and wherein the optical element is disposed between the light guide and the first lens(40, Fig. 3, [0046]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the optical element of Kumei to utilize a core and a clad, as taught by Kitano. It would have been advantageous to make the combination for the purpose of applying the illumination light to a target ([0040] of Kitano).
Regarding claim 2, Kumei, in view of Kitano, teaches the endoscope according to claim 1.
Kumei, in view of Kitano, fails to expressly teach wherein the outer diameter of the second lens is equal to or more than 1.4 times the outer diameter of the first lens.
However, the Examiner is of the position that it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have modified the outer diameter of the second lens of the device of Kumei, in view of Kitano, to be equal to or more than 1.4 times the outer diameter of the first lens, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component (the lens) and since paragraph [0017] of Kumei expressly teaches that the second lens is larger than the first lens. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A)).
Regarding claim 3, Kumei, in view of Kitano, teaches the endoscope according to claim 2, and Kumei further discloses wherein the first lens is a convex lens ([0017]).
Regarding claim 4, Kumei, in view of Kitano, teaches the endoscope according to claim 3, and Kumei further disclsoes wherein the first lens is a biconvex lens ([0017]).
Regarding claim 5, Kumei, in view of Kitano, teaches the endoscope according to the endoscope according to claim 4.
Kumei, in view of Kitano, fails to expressly teach wherein the second lens is a convex lens
However, Kitano further teaches wherein the second lens is a convex lens (Kitano: [0057]- The second lens 42 is a plano-convex lens).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the second lens of Kumei, in view of Kitano, to be a convex lens, as taught by Kitano. It would have been advantageous to make the combination for the purpose of applying the illumination light to a target ([0040] of Kitano).
Regarding claim 6, Kumei, in view of Kitano, teaches the endoscope according to claim 5.
Kumei, in view of Kitano, fails to expressly teach wherein the second lens is a convex-plane lens having a convex shape on a light incidence end side and a planar shape on a light emission end side.
However, Kitano further teaches wherein the second lens is a convex-plane lens having a convex shape on a light incidence end side and a planar shape on a light emission end side (Kitano: [0057]- The second lens 42 is a plano-convex lens with a convex incident surface 42a protruding toward the first lens 41 and a planar exit surface 42b).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the second lens of Kumei, in view of Kitano, to utilize a convex-plane lens in the manner taught by Kitano. It would have been advantageous to make the combination for the purpose of applying the illumination light to a target ([0040] of Kitano).
Regarding claim 7, Kumei, in view of Kitano, teaches the endoscope according to claim 6, and Kumei further discloses wherein in a case in which the outer diameter of the second lens is denoted by D and a curvature radius of the second lens on the light incidence end side is denoted by R, the second lens satisfies a following conditional expression: 1.48 <= D/R (Kumei: 17a, Fig. 1, [0017]).
Claim(s) 9 -10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumei in view of Kitano, and further in view of U.S. Publication No. 2017/0311775 to Fujita.
Regarding claim 9, Kumei, in view of Kitano, teaches the endoscope according to claim 1.
Kumei, in view of Kitano, fails to expressly teach wherein the optical element includes a light incidence end facing the light guide, an outer peripheral portion having a light reflection function, and a light emission end having a convex shape.
However, Kitano further teaches wherein the optical element includes a light incidence end facing the light guide, and a light emission end having a convex shape (40, Fig. 3, [0046]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Kumei, in view of Kitano, to utilize an optical element in the manner taught by Kitano. It would have been advantageous to make the combination for the purpose of applying the illumination light to a target ([0040] of Kitano).
Kumei, in view of Kitano fails to expressly teach wherein the optical element includes an outer peripheral portion having a light reflection function.
However, Fujita further teaches wherein the optical element has a total reflection function.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Kumei, in view of Kitano, to utilize an optical element in the manner taught by Fujita. It would have been advantageous to make the combination for the purpose of reflecting light ([0065] of Fujita).
Regarding claim 10, Kumei, in view of Kitano and Fujita, teaches the endoscope according to claim 9.
Kumei, in view of Kitano and Fujita, fails to expressly teach wherein the optical element has a total reflection function.
However, Fujita further teaches wherein the optical element has a total reflection function.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Kumei, in view of Kitano, and Fujita, to utilize an optical element in the manner taught by Fujita. It would have been advantageous to make the combination for the purpose of reflecting light ([0065] of Fujita).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.A.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3795
/MICHAEL J CAREY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795