DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the inner lateral surface" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 6, and 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park et al. (KR 10-2008-0038465 A, hereinafter Park).
Re Claim 1. Park teaches a lithium secondary battery (Fig. 3 & 4, P4) comprising:
an electrode assembly (item 130); and
a pouch (item 140) in which the electrode assembly is housed, wherein the pouch comprises:
a housing portion (item 144) configured to house the electrode assembly;
a peripheral portion (item 180) around the housing portion; and
a coating portion (item 150) formed along inner sidewalls of the housing portion which surround the electrode assembly along a thickness direction of the electrode assembly (Fig. 3 & 4), the coating portion being spaced apart from a side portion of the electrode assembly (Fig. 3).
Re Claim 2. Park teaches wherein the pouch comprises a terrace region (Fig. 3, a space between items 130 & 150 on top and bottom) defined by a separation space between the coating portion and the side portion of the electrode assembly.
Re Claim 5. Park teaches wherein the housing portion further comprises a central surface (Fig. 4, items 142 & 144) facing the electrode assembly in the thickness direction thereof, and the coating portion is formed on the inner lateral surface of the housing portion and is not formed on the central surface (Fig. 3 & 4).
Re Claim 6. Park teaches wherein the peripheral portion comprises a sealing surface (Fig. 4, item 180), and the coating portion is not formed on the sealing surface (Fig. 4).
Re Claim 9. Park teaches wherein the pouch has a laminate structure comprising a sealant layer (a resin sealant layer), a metal layer (a metal blocking layer) and a coating layer (a resin outer layer) (P3 & 4).
Re Claim 10. Park teaches wherein the sealant layer includes a polyolefin resin, the metal layer includes aluminum, and the coating layer includes nylon (P3 & 4).
Re Claim 11. Park does not expressly teach that the coating portion has a greater tensile strength than a tensile strength of the sealant layer.
However, since Park and the claimed battery employ substantially similar components and materials, it is reasonable to believe that the claimed properties (the coating portion having a greater tensile strength than a tensile strength of the sealant layer) would have naturally flowed following the teachings of Park. See MPEP 2112.01 & In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). MPEP 2145 & Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park.
Park fails to specifically teach that (re Claim 3) a ratio of an average width of the terrace region in a long-axis direction to a long-axis length of the housing portion is 1/5 to 1/50, and (re Claim 4) a ratio of an average thickness of the coating portion to an average thickness of the pouch is 1/10 to 1/50.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the invention of Park to perform routine experimentation to find the optimum ratio of an average width of the terrace region in a long-axis direction to a long-axis length of the housing portion and the optimum ratio of an average thickness of the coating portion to an average thickness of the pouch, which provide both effective protection to the battery and portability.
Claim(s) 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2019/0393452 A1, hereinafter Kim).
The teachings of Park have been discussed above.
Re Claim 7. Park further teaches wherein the housing portion comprises a first housing portion (Fig. 4, item 142) and a second housing portion (item 144) which face each other, but fails to specifically teach that the peripheral portion further comprises a folding surface which divides the first housing portion and the second housing portion.
The invention of Kim encompasses pouch case and secondary battery. Kim teaches that housing portion (Fig. 1, item 100) comprises a first housing portion (item 110) and a second housing portion (item 120) which face each other, wherein that the peripheral portion (item 150) further comprises a folding surface (item 130) which divides the first housing portion and the second housing portion.
In view of Kim, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the invention of Park to employ a folding surface in the peripheral portion to produce the first and second housing portions as the same time.
Re Claim 8. The combination teaches wherein the coating portion is not formed on the folding surface (Park, Fig. 3 & 4).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Newly cited reference, Park addresses the new limitations.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The rejections above rely on the references for all the teachings expressed in the text of the references and/or one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably understood from the texts. Only specific portions of the texts have been pointed out to emphasize certain aspects of the prior art, however, each reference as a whole should be reviewed in responding to the rejection, since other sections of the same reference and/or various combinations of the cited references may be relied on in future rejections in view of amendments.
/KEVIN E YOON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735
6/4/2026