DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claims 10-24 are objected to because of the following informalities: a space should be added between the period and The after the claim number (i.e. 10.The should be 10. The). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “long carbon chain” in claim 10 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “long carbon chain” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The scope of the claim is unclear because there is no certainty with respect to what qualifies as a long carbon chain and what would fail to qualify as a long carbon chain. What length carbon chain (number of carbon atoms) is necessary in order to qualify under the relative term as a "long" carbon chain? What length carbon chain would fall outside the scope of the claim? How does one having ordinary skill in the art avoid infringement of Claim 10 by employing an additive comprising an epoxy group and a carbon chain that isn’t long? The metes and bounds of this claim limitation cannot be readily ascertained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 7-9, 11-12 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Furue et al. (US 2020/0249572).
Regarding claims 1-2 and 5: Furue et al. (US ‘572) discloses resin composition [abstract], wherein Example 9 [Ex. 9; 0213; Table 4, Ex. 9] contains 10 parts by mass PR-56-2 (m/p-cresol Novolak resin; Mw = 15,000 [Table 1]), 11 parts by mass HMPMPS (4-(hydroxymethyl)phenoxymethyl polystyrene; Mw = 36,000 [Table 1]), 12 parts by mass resin solution c (resin having epoxy group and phenolic hydroxyl group; Mw = 8,300; 20% solids in γ-butyrolactone [0195; Table 1]), 10 parts by mass resin solution d (copolymer prepared from 4-hydroxyphenyl methacrylate; Mw = 11,800; 20% solids in γ-butyrolactone [0081; 0195; Table 1]), 5 parts by mass tris(4-hydroxyphenyl)methane, 23 parts by mass TPPA(4)-150DF (1,2-naphthoquinonediazide-4-sulfonic acid ester of α,α,α′-tris(4-hydroxyphenyl)-1-ethyl-4-isopropylbenzene [0199]), 29 parts by mass valifast black 3804 [02002], and 0.14 parts by mass megaface F-559 (fluorosurfactant [0201]) [Ex. 9; 0213; Table 4, Ex. 9].
Regarding claims 7-9 and 11-12: Furue et al. (US ‘572) discloses the basic claimed resin composition [as set forth above with respect to claim 1].
Claim 7 further defines species of the fluoro-based phenol (D-1) recited in claim 1. Claim 8-9 further defines species of the polyhydroxyphenol resin (D-2) recited in claim 1. Claim 11 further defines species of the polyether resin (D-4) recited in claim 1. Claim 12 further defines species of the thermal acid generator comprising a sulfonate ion (D-5) recited in claim 1. However, as claimed, such species only further define the genus of the optional fluoro-based phenol (D-1), polyhydroxyphenol resin (D-2), polyether resin (D-4), and thermal acid generator comprising a sulfonate ion (D-5) (i.e. claims 7-9 and 11-12 do not require the resin to comprise the fluoro-based phenol (D-1), polyhydroxyphenol resin (D-2), and polyether resin (D-4), and thermal acid generator comprising a sulfonate ion (D-5) respectively).
Regarding claim 15: Furue et al. (US ‘572) discloses 5 parts tris(4-hydroxyphenyl)methane} per 21 parts by mass (PR-56-2 + HMPMPS); corresponding to ~24 parts per 100 parts (PR-56-2 + HMPMPS) [Ex. 9; 0211, 0213; Table 4, Ex. 9].
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Furue et al. (US 2020/0249572) as applied to claim 1 above, when taken with Yamaguchi et al. (US 2024/0172550).
Regarding claim 6: Furue et al. (US ‘572) discloses the basic claimed resin composition [as set forth above with respect to claim 1]; wherein Furue et al. (US ‘572) discloses megaface F-559 fluorosurfactant containing a hydroxyl group [0172; 0201].
Yamaguchi et al. (US 2024/0172550) provides evidence for megaface F-559 containing a hydroxyl group [0113-0115; 0121].
Claim(s) 16-17, 20 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Furue et al. (US 2020/0249572).
Regarding claims 16-17 and 20: Furue et al. (US ‘572) discloses resin composition [abstract], wherein Example 9 [Ex. 9; 0213; Table 4, Ex. 9] contains 10 parts by mass PR-56-2 (m/p-cresol Novolak resin; Mw = 15,000 [Table 1]), 11 parts by mass HMPMPS (4-(hydroxymethyl)phenoxymethyl polystyrene; Mw = 36,000 [Table 1]), 12 parts by mass resin solution c (resin having epoxy group and phenolic hydroxyl group; Mw = 8,300; 20% solids in γ-butyrolactone [0195; Table 1]), 10 parts by mass resin solution d (copolymer prepared from 4-hydroxyphenyl methacrylate; Mw = 11,800; 20% solids in γ-butyrolactone [0081; 0195; Table 1]), 5 parts by mass tris(4-hydroxyphenyl)methane, 23 parts by mass TPPA(4)-150DF (1,2-naphthoquinonediazide-4-sulfonic acid ester of α,α,α′-tris(4-hydroxyphenyl)-1-ethyl-4-isopropylbenzene [0199]), 29 parts by mass valifast black 3804 [02002], and 0.14 parts by mass megaface F-559 (fluorosurfactant [0201]) [Ex. 9; 0213; Table 4, Ex. 9].
Regarding claim 24: Furue et al. (US ‘572) discloses curing the composition of Ex. 9 to afford a film [Ex. 9; 0204-0213; Table 4, Ex. 9].
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Furue et al. (US 2020/0249572) as applied to claim 16 above, when taken with Yamaguchi et al. (US 2024/0172550).
Regarding claim 21: Furue et al. (US ‘572) discloses the basic claimed resin composition [as set forth above with respect to claim 16]; wherein Furue et al. (US ‘572) discloses megaface F-559 fluorosurfactant containing a hydroxyl group [0172; 0201].
Yamaguchi et al. (US 2024/0172550) provides evidence for megaface F-559 containing a hydroxyl group [0113-0115; 0121].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4, 10 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furue et al. (US 2020/0249572) as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 3: Furue et al. (US ‘572) discloses the basic claimed resin composition [as set forth above with respect to claim 1]; wherein Furue et al. (US ‘572) discloses polyalkenylphenolic resin (a) of general formula 1 having a Mw = 500-30,000 [0045-0056], with a specific polyalkenylphenolic resin (a) having Mw = 15,000 [Table 1].
A prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. “An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties.” In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979) [See MPEP 2144.09].
Compounds which are position isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus) or homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977) [See MPEP 2144.09].
Regarding claim 4: Furue et al. (US ‘572) discloses the basic claimed resin composition [as set forth above with respect to claim 1]; wherein Furue et al. (US ‘572) discloses p-hydroxystyrene [0062-0063] having a Mw = 10,000-50,000 as the hydroxypolystyrene resin (b) [0057-0064].
Furue et al. (US ‘572) does not specifically disclose a Mw = 12,400-19,300. However, in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997) [See MPEP 2144.05].
Regarding claim 10: Furue et al. (US ‘572) discloses the basic claimed resin composition [as set forth above with respect to claim 1]; wherein Furue et al. (US ‘572) discloses epoxy resins containing an ether group as (c) [0067].
Furue et al. (US ‘572) does not specifically disclose Ex. 9 containing an additional epoxy resin containing an ether group as (c). However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included an additional epoxy resin containing an ether group as (c) based on the invention of Furue et al. (US ‘572), and would have been motivated to do so since Furue et al. (US ‘572) suggests that the composition can contain epoxy resins containing an ether group as (c) [0067]. Additionally, “It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted) [see MPEP 2144.06].
Regarding claim 13: Furue et al. (US ‘572) discloses the basic claimed resin composition [as set forth above with respect to claim 1]; wherein Furue et al. (US ‘572) discloses γ-butyrolactone, propylene glycol methyl ether acetate and ethyl acetate as the solvent (F) [0177-0178].
An express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982) [see MPEP 2144.06].
Regarding claim 14: Furue et al. (US ‘572) discloses the basic claimed resin composition [as set forth above with respect to claim 1]; wherein Furue et al. (US ‘572) discloses: 57 parts resin having epoxy group and phenolic hydroxyl group per 100 parts (PR-56-2 + HMPMPS); 0.7 part megaface F-559 per 100 parts (PR-56-2 + HMPMPS); 24 parts tris(4-hydroxyphenyl)methane per 100 parts (PR-56-2 + HMPMPS) [Ex. 9; 0211, 0213; Table 4, Ex. 9].
Furue et al. (US ‘572) does not specifically disclose 60 parts resin having epoxy group and phenolic hydroxyl group per 100 parts (PR-56-2 + HMPMPS); does not specifically disclose 1 part megaface F-559 per 100 parts (PR-56-2 + HMPMPS). However, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985) [See MPEP 2144.05]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have employed 60 parts resin having epoxy group and phenolic hydroxyl group and 1 part megaface F-559 in Ex. 9; as 60 parts per 100 parts is close enough to 57 parts per 100, and 1 part per 100 parts is close enough to 0.7 part per 100 parts.
Furue et al. (US ‘572) discloses 1 to 60% solids [0179]. Furue et al. (US ‘572) does not specifically claim 3100 to 5100 parts by mass solvent, per 100 parts by mass (PR-56-2 + HMPMPS). However, in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997) [See MPEP 2144.05].
Claim(s) 18-19 and 22-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furue et al. (US 2020/0249572) as applied to claim 16 above.
Regarding claim 18: Furue et al. (US ‘572) discloses the basic claimed resin composition [as set forth above with respect to claim 16]; wherein Furue et al. (US ‘572) discloses polyalkenylphenolic resin (a) of general formula 1 having a Mw = 500-30,000 [0045-0056], with a specific polyalkenylphenolic resin (a) having Mw = 15,000 [Table 1].
A prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. “An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties.” In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979) [See MPEP 2144.09].
Compounds which are position isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus) or homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977) [See MPEP 2144.09].
Regarding claim 19: Furue et al. (US ‘572) discloses the basic claimed resin composition [as set forth above with respect to claim 16]; wherein Furue et al. (US ‘572) discloses p-hydroxystyrene [0062-0063] having a Mw = 10,000-50,000 as the hydroxypolystyrene resin (b) [0057-0064].
Furue et al. (US ‘572) does not specifically disclose a Mw = 12,400-19,300. However, in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997) [See MPEP 2144.05].
Regarding claim 22: Furue et al. (US ‘572) discloses the basic claimed resin composition [as set forth above with respect to claim 16]; wherein Furue et al. (US ‘572) discloses γ-butyrolactone, propylene glycol methyl ether acetate and ethyl acetate as the solvent (F) [0177-0178].
An express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982) [see MPEP 2144.06].
Regarding claim 23: Furue et al. (US ‘572) discloses the basic claimed resin composition [as set forth above with respect to claim 16]; wherein Furue et al. (US ‘572) discloses: 57 parts resin having epoxy group and phenolic hydroxyl group per 100 parts (PR-56-2 + HMPMPS); 0.7 part megaface F-559 per 100 parts (PR-56-2 + HMPMPS) [Ex. 9; 0211, 0213; Table 4, Ex. 9].
Furue et al. (US ‘572) does not specifically disclose 60 parts resin having epoxy group and phenolic hydroxyl group per 100 parts (PR-56-2 + HMPMPS); does not specifically disclose 1 part megaface F-559 per 100 parts (PR-56-2 + HMPMPS). However, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985) [See MPEP 2144.05]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have employed 60 parts resin having epoxy group and phenolic hydroxyl group and 1 part megaface F-559 in Ex. 9; as 60 parts per 100 parts is close enough to 57 parts per 100, and 1 part per 100 parts is close enough to 0.7 part per 100 parts.
Furue et al. (US ‘572) discloses 1 to 60% solids [0179]. Furue et al. (US ‘572) does not specifically claim 3100 to 5100 parts by mass solvent, per 100 parts by mass (PR-56-2 + HMPMPS). However, in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997) [See MPEP 2144.05].
Double Patenting
Claims 16-24 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7, 9, 11-13, and 16-18 of copending Application No. 18/090,522 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the resin composition of Application No. 18/090,522 and cured film containing resin A (hydroxyl polystyrene resin (A-1) {molecular weight 12400-19300}, hydroxyl phenolic resin (A-2), and/or polyhydroxy phenol resin (A-3)), crosslinking agent (B), surfactant (C) and solvent (D), anticipates the resin composition and cured film of claims 16-17, 19-22 and 24 containing resin A (phenol-based resin (A-1) resin and/or polystyrene resin containing a hydroxyl group (A-2)), crosslinking agent (B), surfactant (C) and solvent (D).
Application No. 18/090,522 claims a molecular weight of phenolic resin (A-3) of 600-12000 [claim 2], which overlaps the claimed molecular weight (A-1) of 360 to 39,2000 (instant claim 18). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997) [See MPEP 2144.05].
Application No. 18/090,522 claims 0.45 wt% to 4.05 wt% (A), 0.45 wt% to 4.05 wt% (B) and 0.01 wt% to 0.1 wt% (C) [claims 1, 9, 12] {corresponding to ~ 91.8 wt% to 99.09 wt% solvent (D)}. While Application No. 18/090,522 does not specifically claim 3100 to 5100 parts solvent, per 100 parts A [instant claim 23], in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997) [See MPEP 2144.05].
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
See attached form PTO-892.
Correspondence
/MICHAEL F PEPITONE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767