DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because they are labelled “Figure 1” and “Figure 2”. View numbers must be preceded by the abbreviation “FIG.” 37 CFR 1.84(u)(1). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1-2, 16, and 20 recite definitions for the variable RE. While the variable RE is present in the structures of claims 13-14, neither Formula I nor Formula II of claims 1-2, 16, and 20 appear to include RE. Accordingly, it is unclear how to interpret Formulas I and II in claims 1-2, 16, and 20. For purposes of examination, RE will be interpreted as not present in claims 1-2, 16, and 20.
Claims 2-15 and 17-19 are further rejected for being dependent upon indefinite claims 1 and 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeng (US 2013/0026909 A1).
Regarding claims 1-6, 8, 10, and 12-18, Zeng teaches OLED devices having improved performance by comprising hosts represented by Formula I in the emissive layer (abstract; ¶ [0015]). Zeng teaches a specific example of a device in Example 1 which comprises an anode, a hole injection layer, a hole transport layer, an emissive layer comprising a host of Compound 1 and a dopant of Dopant D1, a hole blocking layer, an electron transporting layer, and a cathode (¶ [0078]; Table 1 on pg. 15).
Compound 1:
Compound 1 fails to read on the claimed Formula I as Si is not connected to the dibenzothiophene in the 4-position (i.e., Z is not joined to X9). However, Zeng does not limit the attachment of A to Z in Formula I (¶ [0016] and [0018]).
Formula I:
A group:
Given the general formula and teachings of Zeng, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the positional isomer of Compound 1 wherein the dibenzothiophene group is attached to Si in the 4-position rather than the 1-position. One of ordinary skill in the pertinent art would have been motivated to produce the positional isomers of the compounds represented by Zeng’s Formula I in order to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp and would expect the isomeric compound to be useful as a host in the emissive layer of the device of Zeng and possess the properties taught by Zeng. A prima facie case of obviousness exists when chemical compounds have very close structural similarity and similar utilities. See MPEP 2144.09 I. Compounds which are positional isomers or homologs are of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is an expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. See MPEP 2144.09 II.
The modified Compound 1 is reproduced below in comparison to the claimed Formulas I and II.
modified Compound 1:
I:
II:
The modified Compound 1 reads on the claimed Formulas I and II wherein:
R1 is Formula II;
Moiety A is a monocyclic ring system comprised of one 6-membered carbocyclic ring (claim 4);
X1-X13 are each C (claims 5-6 and 8);
Y is S (claim 10);
Z is Si (claim 12);
L1 is an organic linker;
N* is N; and
R2 and R3 are each aryl, RA, RB, RC, and RD are each hydrogen, and R and R’ are not required to be present (claim 2).
Per claim 3, Formula II is connected to the compound of Formula I via N*.
Additionally, the modified Compound 1 reads on: the first structure on pg. 100 of claim 13; the second structure on pg. 105 of claim 14; and the second claimed compound on pg. 120 of claim 15.
Per claims 17-18, Dopant D1 is a phosphorescent emitter that has a ligand that reads on the claimed structure below (see structure of D1 on pg. 14 of Zeng).
claimed structure:
D1:
Dopant D1 reads on the structure above wherein:
K1 is a direct bond;
Y1 to Y11 are each carbon; and
Ra and Rc are each hydrogen, and Rb is a combination of alkyl and aryl.
Regarding claim 7, Zeng teaches the modified Compound 1 as described above with respect to claim 1.
modified Compound 1:
The modified Compound 1 fails to read on the claimed Formula II wherein one of X2-X5 is N. However, Zeng does teach in Formula I B contains a group selected from the group consisting of carbazole, azacarbazole, and combinations thereof (¶ [0017]).
Formula I:
Therefore, given the general formula and teachings of Zeng, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute carbazole with azacarbazole, because Zeng teaches B may suitably contain a group selected from the group consisting of carbazole and/or azacarbazole. The substitution would have been one known element for another and one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art would reasonably expect the predictable result that the modified compound would be useful in the emissive layer of the device of Zeng and possess the benefits taught by Zeng. See MPEP 2143.I.(B).
The resulting modified Compound 1 reads on the claimed limitation wherein one of X2-X5 is N.
Regarding claim 9, Zeng teaches the modified Compound 1 as described above with respect to claim 1.
modified Compound 1:
The modified Compound 1 fails to read on the claimed Formula I wherein one of X6-X13 is N. However, Zeng does teach in Formula I A may be selected from the group below wherein X1 to X10 are independently selected from CR’ and N (¶ [0018]).
Formula I:
A group:
Therefore, given the general formula and teachings of Zeng, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute C-H with N in one of the locations of X1 to X10, because Zeng teaches X1 to X10 may suitably be selected as CR’ or N. The substitution would have been one known element for another and one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art would reasonably expect the predictable result that the modified compound would be useful in the emissive layer of the device of Zeng and possess the benefits taught by Zeng. See MPEP 2143.I.(B).
The resulting modified Compound 1 reads on the limitation wherein one of X6-X13 is N.
Regarding claim 11, Zeng teaches the modified Compound 1 as described above with respect to claim 1.
modified Compound 1:
The modified Compound 1 fails to read on the claimed Formula I wherein L1 is a direct bond. However, Zeng does teach in Formula I L is a single bond or comprises aryl, amino, or combinations thereof (¶ [0015]).
Formula I:
Therefore, given the general formula and teachings of Zeng, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the phenyl group with a single bond in the location of L, because Zeng teaches L may suitably be selected as a single bond or aryl, among others. The substitution would have been one known element for another and one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art would reasonably expect the predictable result that the modified compound would be useful in the emissive layer of the device of Zeng and possess the benefits taught by Zeng. See MPEP 2143.I.(B).
Particularly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select a single bond for L, because it would have been choosing from a list of suitable groups of which L may be selected as, which would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions of a compound useful as the host in the emissive layer of the device of Zeng and possessing the benefits taught by Zeng. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to produce additional compounds represented by Zeng’s Formula I having the benefits taught by Zeng in order to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.I.(E).
The resulting modified Compound 1 reads on the limitation wherein L1 is a direct bond.
Regarding claim 20, Zeng teaches Device Example 1 comprising the modified Compound 1 as described above with respect to claim 16.
Zeng fails to teach Device Example 1 is a consumer product. However, Zeng teaches devices may be incorporated into a wide variety of consumer products (¶ [0046]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Device Example 1 in a consumer product, because this would have been combining the prior art elements of Zeng according to known methods to yield predictable results of a device with improved performance, as taught by Zeng. See MPEP 2143.I.(A).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeng (US 2013/0026909 A1) as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Pan (US 2018/0312531 A1).
Regarding claim 19, Zeng teaches Device Example 1 comprising the modified Compound 1 as described above with respect to claim 16.
modified Compound 1:
Zeng fails to teach the modified Compound 1 is used as a delayed fluorescence emitter in the device. However, Zeng does teach compounds of Formula I have improved film uniformity and may be used to improved OLED device performance parameters, such as emission spectrum line shape, efficiency, and lifetime (¶ [0061]).
Pan teaches an organic light-emitting device having improved luminescent efficiency and lifetime by including a host in combination with a silicon-containing organic compound used as a TADF light-emitting material (¶ [0045]). In particular, the device includes an anode, a light-emitting layer, and a cathode (¶ [0147]). The silicon-containing organic compound may be represented by formula (1) (¶ [0009]).
formula (1):
Zeng’s modified Compound 1 reads on Pan’s formula (1) wherein: Ar1 is a heteroaromatic group and Ar2 is an aromatic group; L1 is an aromatic group and L2 is a heteroaromatic group; and R1 and R2 are each H; (¶ [0009]-[0013]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Zeng’s modified Compound 1 as a TADF light-emitting material in the light-emitting layer of Pan’s device, based on the teaching of Zeng and Pan. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a compound with improved film uniformity and a device with improved device OLED performance parameters, as taught by Zeng, and to provide a device with improved luminescent efficiency and lifetime, as taught by Pan.
Contact Information
/BRAELYN R WATSON/Examiner, Art Unit 1786