DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This office action is in response to the amendment filed 11/26/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 11 and13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimada et al. (US20220003977) in view of Hori et al. (US20210109330) and Wada (US20150097995).
Regarding claim 1, Shimada teaches a zoom lens (Shimada, figs. 1-32, abstract, a zoom lens) comprising, in order from an object side to an image side, a first lens unit (Shimada, fig.24, lens group G1) having positive refractive power (Shimada, fig.24, paragraph [0130], The zoom lens shown in Example 12 consists of, in order from the object side to the image side, a first lens group G1 having a positive refractive power) that does not move during zooming (Shimada, fig.24, paragraph [0130], During zooming, the first lens group G1 and the fifth lens group G5 remain stationary with respect to the image plane Sim), an intermediate group that has at least two lens units (Shimada, fig.24, lens groups G2, G3) that move during zooming (paragraph [0130], During zooming, the second lens group G2, the third lens group G3, and the fourth lens group G4 move), a lens unit (Shimada, fig.24, lens group G4) having positive refractive power (Shimada, paragraph [0130], a fourth lens group G4 having a positive refractive power) that moves during zooming (Shimada, fig.24, paragraph [0130] During zooming, the second lens group G2, the third lens group G3, and the fourth lens group G4 move), and a final lens unit (Shimada, fig.24, lens group G5) having positive refractive power (Shimada, paragraph [0130], a fifth lens group G5 having a positive refractive power) that does not move during zooming (Shimada, fig.24, paragraph [0130], During zooming, the first lens group G1 and the fifth lens group G5 remain stationary),
wherein each distance between adjacent lens units changes during zooming (Shimada, fig.24, paragraph [0130], During zooming, the second lens group G2, the third lens group G3, and the fourth lens group G4 move along the optical axis Z by changing the distance between the adjacent groups),
wherein the intermediate group includes at least one lens unit having negative refractive power (Shimada, fig.24, lens group G2, paragraph [0130], a second lens group G2 having a negative refractive power) and including at least three lenses (Shimada, fig.24, paragraph [0131], the second lens group G2 consists of five lenses),
wherein of the at least one lens unit having negative refractive power (Shimada, fig.24, lens group G2, described above), a lens unit V (Shimada, fig.24, the lens group G2) disposed closest to an object (Shimada, fig.24, the lens group G1) includes at least one positive lens (Shimada, fig.24, lens L2c, see paragraph [0132], data of table 34, s21-22, the lens L2c is positive lens) and at least one negative lens (Shimada, fig.24, lens L2a, see paragraph [0132], data of table 34, s18-19, the lens L2a is negative lens), and a lens ((Shimada, fig.24, lens L2a) disposed closest to the object in the lens unit V (Shimada, fig.24, lens group G2) is a negative lens (described above), and
wherein the following inequalities are satisfied:
<n_nf<2.200 (1.91082; (Shimada, fig.24, lens L2a, see paragraph [0132], data of table 34, s18-19, the lens L2a, n_nf = 1.91082)
0.648<θ_pr+0.00253×v_pr<0.678 (0.673; Shimada, fig.24, see paragraph [0132], data of table 34, s24, the lens L2e, θ_pr = θgF = 0.564, v_pr = vd = 43)
−3.00<f1/f2<−-1.00 (-1.08; Shimada, fig.24, see paragraph [0132], data of table 34, s1-s17, f1 value is approximately 45.54;s18-s25, f2 value is approximately -42.16)
where n_nf is a refractive index of a negative lens disposed closest to the object in the lens unit V (described above), θ_pr and v_pr are a partial dispersion ratio and an Abbe number of a positive lens (Shimada, fig.24, lens L2e) disposed closest to an image plane (Shimada, fig.24, the image plane Sim) in the lens unit V (fig.24, lens group G2).
But Shimada does not explicitly teaches wherein the following inequalities are satisfied: 1.930<n_nf
where n_nf is a refractive index of a negative lens disposed closest to the object in the lens unit V ( it has been held that where the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is disclosed in the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP § 2144.07, citing In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) and Ryco, Inc. v. Ag-Bag Corp., 857 F.2d 1418, 8 USPQ2d 1323 (Fed. Cir. 1988). See also Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945), as cited in MPEP § 2144.07).
However, Hori teaches the analogous zoom lens (Hori, fig.1, abstract, a zoom lens consists of in order from an object side to an image side: a first lens unit L1 having a positive refractive power and configured not to move for zooming; three or four moving lens units configured to move in zooming: an aperture stop: and one or two rear lens units including a rear lens unit L5 closest to the object side and configured not to move for zooming. An interval between each pair of adjacent lens units is changed in zooming. The three or four moving lens units include a moving lens unit having a negative refractive power. The three or four moving lens units include a rear positive lens unit closest to the image side and having a positive refractive power. The first lens unit includes three positive lenses…), and further teaches wherein the following inequalities are satisfied:
1.930<n_nf<2.200 (2.0033; see Hori, paragraph [0223], data of table 1, lens of s11 of the lens 6, n_nf = nd = 2.0033)
where n_nf is a refractive index of a negative lens (Hori, fig.1, described above; also see the table of the lens 6, first surface 11, focal length = -27.06) disposed closest to the object (Hori, fig.1, the object has been referred as the lens unit L1) in the lens unit V (Hori, fig.1, the lens V has been referred as lens unit L2).
Thus It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the lens of Shimada with the specific material as taught by Hori for the purpose to have a high resolution that is highly uniform from the center to the periphery of the image pickup rang (Hori, paragraph [0002]).
But Shimada does not explicitly teaches wherein the following inequalities is satisfied:
f1/f2<−-1.15 (as the value is -1.08; Shimada, fig.24, see paragraph [0132], data of table 34, s1-s17, f1 value is approximately 45.54;s18-s25, f2 value is approximately -42.16)
where f1 is a focal length of the first lens unit (Shimada, fig.24, lens group G1), and f2 is a focal length of the lens unit V (Shimada, lens group G2).
However, Wada teaches the analogous zoom lens (Wada, fig.1, abstract, a zoom lens includes a rear lens group having a first lens unit L1 having a positive refractive power, a second lens unit L2 having a negative refractive power, and a rear lens group having a plurality of lens units in this order from an object side to an image side, wherein the interval between the lens units adjacent to each other varies at the time of zooming, the first lens unit is fixed at the time of zooming), and further teaches wherein the following inequalities is satisfied:
−3.00<f1/f2<−-1.15 (-2.96; Wada, paragraph [0080], zoom lens unit data, f1= unit 1 of focal length = 116.22, f2 = unit 2 of focal length= -39.17, f1/f2=116.22/-39.17=-2.96)
where f1 is a focal length of the first lens unit (paragraph [0039], a focal length of the first lens unit L1 is expressed as f1), and f2 is a focal length of the lens unit V (paragraph [0080], zoom lens unit data, f2 = unit V of focal length= -39.17).
Thus it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the focal length of the lens unit V of Shimada to satisfy −3.00<f1/f2<−-1.15 as taught by Wada for the purpose of the imaging magnification at a telephoto end is larger than an imaging magnification at a wide-angle end (Wada, paragraph [0006]).
Regarding claim 2, combination Shimada-Hori-Wada discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Shimada further teaches wherein where the following inequality is satisfied: -2.50 < f2/fw < 0.00 (-2.14; Shimada, fig.24, described in claim 1, f2 = -42.16; paragraph [0132], data of table 35, fw = wide angle End of f = 19.674)
where fw is a focal length of the zoom lens at a wide-angle end (Shimada, described above).
Regarding claim 3, combination Shimada-Hori-Wada discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Shimada further teaches wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.70 < f21/f2 < 2.00 (1.17; Shimada, fig.24, described in claim 1, f2 = -42.16; paragraph [0132], data of table 34, s18-s19 of lens L2a: f21 is approximately -49.192)
where f21 is a focal length of a lens (Shimada, fig.24, lens L2a) disposed closest to the object (Shimada fig.24, the lens group G1) in the lens unit V (Shimada, fig.24, lens group G2).
Regarding claim 4, combination Shimada-Hori-Wada discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Shimada further teaches wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 1.70<n_ave<2.00 (1.79; Shimada, fig.24, paragraph [0132], data of table 34, s18-s25, the average refractive index of all lenses L2a-L2e from s18-s25 of all lens = 1.79) where n_ave is an average refractive index of all lenses included in the lens unit V (Shimada fig.24, lens group G2, described above).
Regarding claim 5, combination Shimada-Hori-Wada discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Shimada further teaches wherein the lens unit V (Shimada fig.24, lens group G2) includes a negative lens (Shimada fig.24, lens L2b; paragraph [0132], data of table 34, s20-21, the focal length of lens L2b is approximately -68.7 ) having an Abbe number v that satisfies the following inequality: 60<v<100 (81.6; s20, lens L2b, v = 81.6, described above).
Regarding claim 6, combination Shimada-Hori-Wada discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Shimada further teaches wherein the following inequality is satisfied: −0.0030<(θ_pave−θ_nave)/(v_pave−v_nave)<0.0000 (-0.001; Shimada, fig.24, paragraph [0132], data of table 34, s18-s25, lenses L2a-L2e from s18-s25, θ_pave = 0.594, θ_nave = 0.5772, v_pave = 33.155, v_nave = 47.9).
where v_pave and θ_pave are an average Abbe number and an average partial dispersion ratio of all positive lenses (Shimada fig.24, paragraph [0132], data of table 34, lenses L2c, s21-22 ; L2e, s24-25) included in the lens unit V (Shimada fig.24, lens Group G2), and v_nave and θ_nave are an average Abbe number and an average partial dispersion ratio of all negative lenses (Shimada fig.24, paragraph [0132], data of table 34, lenses L2a,s18-19; L2b, s20-21; L2d, s23-24) included in the lens unit V (Shimada fig.24, lens Group G2), respectively.
Regarding claim 7, combination Shimada-Hori-Wada discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Shimada further teaches wherein a lens (Shimada, fig.24, lens L5i) disposed closest to the image plane (Shimada, fig.24, image plane Sim) and a lens second (Shimada fig.24, a lens second has been referred as the lens L2d) closest to the image plane in the lens unit V (Shimada, fig.24, lens group G2) are a positive lens (see Shimada fig.24, paragraph [0132], data of table 34, lens L5i, s50-51, is positive lens) and a negative lens (see Shimada fig.24, paragraph [0132], data of table 34, lens L2d, s23-24, is negative lens), respectively.
Regarding claim 8, combination Shimada-Hori-Wada discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Shimada further teaches wherein the following inequality is satisfied: −0.0025<(θ_pr−θ_nr)/(v_pr −v_nr)<0.0000 (-0.0028; ---which is very close to the value of > -0.0025; the claimed ranges and the prior art ranges are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties, Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Nabber, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985); See MPEP 2131.03.---further, it has been held that where the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is disclosed in the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP § 2144.07, citing In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) and Ryco, Inc. v. Ag-Bag Corp., 857 F.2d 1418, 8 USPQ2d 1323 (Fed. Cir. 1988). See also Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945), as cited in MPEP § 2144.07).
where v_nr and θ_nr are an Abbe number and a partial dispersion ratio of a lens (see Shimada fig.24, paragraph [0132], data of table 34, lens L2d; s23, v_nr = vd = 26.84, θ_nr = θgF= 0.6105) disposed closest to the image plane (Shimada, fig.24, plane Sim) among the negative lenses included in the lens unit V (Shimada fig.24, lens group G2), respectively.
Regarding claim 9, combination Shimada-Hori-Wada discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Hori further teaches wherein the lens unit V (Hori, fig.1, lens unit L2) consists of four lenses (See Hori, fig.1, lens unit L2 consists of four lenses).
The motivation to combine Shimada and Hori as provided in claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 11, combination Shimada-Hori-Wada discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Shimada further teaches wherein the intermediate group includes, in order from the object side to the image side (Shimada, described in claim 1), a second lens unit (Shimada, fig.24, lens group G2), a third lens unit (Shimada, fig.24, lens group G3), and a fourth lens unit (Shimada, fig.24, lens group G3), and wherein the lens unit V is the second lens unit (Shimada, fig.24, lens group G2).
Regarding claim 13, combination Shimada-Hori-Wada discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Shimada further teaches wherein an image pickup apparatus (Shimada, fig.32, paragraph [0055], FIG. 32 is a schematic configuration diagram of an imaging apparatus) comprising: the zoom lens according to claim 1 (see claim 1), and
an image sensor configured to capture an image formed by the zoom lens (Shimada, fig.32, paragraph [0146], The imaging element 3 converts an optical image formed by the zoom lens 1 into an electric signal, and is able to employ, for example, a charge coupled device, CCD).
Claims 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimada et al. (US20220003977) in view of Hori et al. (US20210109330) and Wada (US20150097995), and further in view of Komatsu et al. (US20150301319).
Regarding claim 10, combination Shimada-Hori-Wada discloses the invention as described in Claim 1, Shimada does not explicitly teaches wherein the first lens unit includes, in order from the object side to the image side, a first sub-lens unit having negative refractive power, a second sub-lens unit having positive refractive power, and a third sub-lens unit having positive refractive power,
wherein each distance between adjacent sub-lens units changes during focusing, and wherein the first sub-lens unit does not move during focusing, the second sub-lens unit moves during focusing, and the third sub-lens unit does not move during focusing.
However, Komatsu teaches the analogous zoom lens (Komatsu, fig.1, paragraph [0040], a zoom lens according to an embodiment of the present invention consists essentially of six lens groups of, in order from the object side along optical axis, first lens group G1 having positive refractive power, second lens group G2 having negative refractive power, third lens group G3 having negative refractive power, fourth lens group G4 having negative refractive power, fifth lens group G5 having positive refractive power, and sixth lens group G6 having positive refractive power; paragraph [0042], a manner that first lens group G1 and sixth lens group G6 are fixed with respect to image plane Sim, and a distance between first lens group G1 and second lens group G2 increases, a distance between second lens group G2 and third lens group G3 changes, and a distance between third lens group G3 and fourth lens group G4 changes, and a distance between fourth lens group G4 and fifth lens group G5 changes, and a distance between fifth lens group G5 and sixth lens group G6 changes during magnification change from the wide angle end to the telephoto end....), and further teaches
wherein the first lens unit (Komatsu, fig.1, the first lens has been referred as the lens group G1) includes, in order from the object side to the image side (Komatsu, paragraph [0069], first lens group G1 may consist, in order from the object side), a first sub-lens unit (Komatsu, fig.1, lens group G1A) having negative refractive power (Komatsu, fig.1, paragraph [0069], 1A-th lens group G1A having negative refractive power, and which is fixed during focusing), a second sub-lens unit (Komatsu, fig.1, lens group G1B) having positive refractive power (Komatsu, fig.1, paragraph [0069], 1B-th lens group G1B having positive refractive power, and which moves from the object side toward the image side during focusing), and a third sub-lens unit (Komatsu, fig.1, lens group G1C) having positive refractive power (Komatsu, fig.1, paragraph [0069], 1C-th lens group G1C having positive refractive power),
wherein each distance between adjacent sub-lens units changes during focusing (see Komatsu, fig.1, paragraph [0069], 1B-th lens group G1B which moves from the object side toward the image side during focusing from an object at infinity to an object at a short distance, so each distance between adjacent sub-lens units changes during focusing), and wherein the first sub-lens unit does not move during focusing (Komatsu, fig.1, paragraph [0069], 1A-th lens group G1A having negative refractive power, and which is fixed during focusing), the second sub-lens unit moves during focusing (Komatsu, fig.1, paragraph [0069], 1B-th lens group G1B having positive refractive power, and which moves from the object side toward the image side during focusing), and the third sub-lens unit does not move during focusing (Komatsu, fig.1, paragraph [0069], lens group G1C which is fixed during focusing).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the apparatus of combination Shimada-Hori-Wada with the specific lens group as taught by Komatsu for the purpose to suppress a fluctuation of aberrations and a fluctuation of magnification ratio during focusing (Komatsu, paragraph [0069]).
Regarding claim 12, combination Shimada-Hori-Wada discloses the invention as described in Claim 1, Shimada does not explicitly teaches wherein the intermediate group comprises, in order from the object side to the image side, a second lens unit, a third lens unit, a fourth lens unit, and a fifth lens unit, and wherein the lens unit V is the third lens unit.
However, Komatsu teaches the analogous zoom lens (Komatsu, fig.1, paragraph [0040], a zoom lens according to an embodiment of the present invention consists essentially of six lens groups of, in order from the object side along optical axis, first lens group G1 having positive refractive power, second lens group G2 having negative refractive power, third lens group G3 having negative refractive power, fourth lens group G4 having negative refractive power, fifth lens group G5 having positive refractive power, and sixth lens group G6 having positive refractive power; paragraph [0042], a manner that first lens group G1 and sixth lens group G6 are fixed with respect to image plane Sim, and a distance between first lens group G1 and second lens group G2 increases, a distance between second lens group G2 and third lens group G3 changes, and a distance between third lens group G3 and fourth lens group G4 changes, and a distance between fourth lens group G4 and fifth lens group G5 changes, and a distance between fifth lens group G5 and sixth lens group G6 changes during magnification change from the wide angle end to the telephoto end....) and further teaches wherein the intermediate group comprises, in order from the object side to the image side (Komatsu, fig.1, paragraph [0040], in order from the object side along optical axis), a second lens unit (Komatsu, fig.1, lens Group G2), a third lens unit (Komatsu, fig.1, lens Group G3), a fourth lens unit (Komatsu, fig.1, lens Group G3), and a fifth lens unit (Komatsu, fig.1, lens Group G4), and wherein the lens unit V is the third lens unit (Komatsu, fig.1, lens Group G3).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the apparatus of combination Shimada-Hori-Wada with the specific lens group as taught by Komatsu for the purpose to suppress a fluctuation of aberrations and a fluctuation of magnification ratio during focusing (Komatsu, paragraph [0069]).
Response to amendment
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejections.
Examiner's Note
Regarding the references, the Examiner cites particular figures, paragraphs, columns and line numbers in the reference(s), as applied to the claims above. Although the particular citations are representative teachings and are applied to specific limitations within the claims, other passages, internally cited references, and figures may also apply. In preparing a response, it is respectfully requested that the Applicant fully consider the references, in their entirety, as potentially disclosing or teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as fully consider the context of the passage as taught by the reference(s) or as disclosed by the Examiner.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KUEI-JEN L EDENFIELD/
Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/THOMAS K PHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872