DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending. This is in response to the application filed on July 6, 2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the computer program product is interpreted as software per se. The specification discloses “A computer program product embodiment ("CPP embodiment" or “CPP”) is a term used in the present disclosure to describe any set of one, or more, storage media (also called "mediums") collectively included in a set of one, or more, storage devices that collectively include machine readable code…” (par. [0018]). However, the same passage defines the “computer readable storage media/medium” as a non-transitory medium. One cannot assume a storage media is the same as a computer readable storage media.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8-12 and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pub 20130254875 (hereinafter Sama)
Regarding claim 1, Sama discloses a method of digital user authentication using password context substrings, the method comprising:
comparing corresponding context substrings of an incorrect password input and a correct password database entry (Fig. 3 and par. [0054]-[0062] discloses a process of determine risk for a user when entering a password, steps 306-308 determine a context of entered password (Doberman vs bulldog or also a substring (bulldog vs dog));
generating a user legitimacy score based, at least in part, on the compared corresponding context substrings (Fig. 3, steps 312=322); and
implementing a variable incorrect password input protocol based on the generated user legitimacy score (par. [0060] discloses a risk score when the user enters not the exact password where the risk level can be designated as "DENY" or “SUSPECT”).
Regarding claim 2, Sama discloses wherein the implemented variable incorrect password input protocol includes changing a quantity of incorrect password inputs allowed before a user account lockout or a required password reset occurs (par. [0045] discloses risk score can be based to increase or to decrease the tolerance for the strike count policy (for locking the user account after a specific number of unsuccessful attempts)).
Regarding claim 3, Sama discloses wherein a magnitude of the changed quantity of incorrect password inputs allowed is based on a value of the generated user legitimacy score (citation of par. [0045]).
Regarding claim 4, Sama discloses wherein the changed quantity of incorrect password inputs allowed is increased when the user legitimacy score is at least equal to a predetermined threshold and is decreased when the user legitimacy score is less than the predetermined threshold (par. [0045]).
Regarding claim 5, Sama discloses wherein the implemented incorrect password protocol further includes at least one of a security question, a two-factor authentication (2FA), a user notification via email or text message, and a captcha (par. [0045]).
Claims 8-12 are rejected in view of claims 1-5 rejections respectively.
Claims 15-19 are rejected in view of claims 1-5 rejections respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-7, 13-14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Sama n view of Pub 20210092155 (hereinafter Wang)
Regarding claim 6, Sama discloses requesting additional information from the user for authentication purposes when based on risk score (par. [0045]). However, Sama does not expressly disclose wherein the user legitimacy score is further based on at least one of a similarity score of the compared corresponding context substrings, a geolocation, an internet protocol (IP) address, and a speed of at least one incorrect password input. Wang discloses this feature (Fig. 3 and related text disclose determining security risk when a user enters a password on website that has address belong to a whitelist or blacklist. Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sama with Wang to further teach the aforementioned feature. One would have done so to include other parameters the password check for password attack.
Regarding claim 7, Sama discloses wherein the context substring is a predetermined selection of plural characters and respective positions thereof (par. [0041]-[0048] discloses a predetermined set of partial characters to be checked against the real password and each character of the password can appear in different position).
Claims 13-14 are rejected in view of claims 6-7 rejections respectively.
Claim 20 is rejected in view of claim 6 rejection.
Inquiry communication
/TRI M TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2432