DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the ‘vertical axis’ in claims 2-3, ‘horizontal axis’ in claim 3; ‘two motors’ in claim 5; ‘battery or a generator set’ in claim 6; ‘operating unit’ in claim 7; ‘sensors’ in claim 8; ‘hydraulic conduit’ and ‘hydraulic couplings’ in claim 9 and ‘parking brake’ in claim 12 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “the coupler is arranged for coupling the device to the implement in such a manner that mutual rotation around at least a vertical axis between the mover device and the implement is substantially not possible”. (emphasis added.) Claim 3, dependent from claim 2, then states “the coupler is arranged for coupling the device to the implement in such a manner that mutual rotation around the vertical axis is possible”. (emphasis added.) It is unclear how mutual rotation around a vertical axis can be not possible and possible at the same time.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) is considered indefinite, since the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). Note the explanation given by the Board of Patent Appeals and Interferences in Ex parte Wu, 10 USPQ2d 2031,2033 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1989), as to where broad language is followed by "such as" and then narrow language. The Board stated that this can render a claim indefinite by raising a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. Note also, for example, the decisions of Ex parte Steigewald, 131 USPQ 74 (Bd. App. 1961); Ex parte Hall, 83 USPQ 38 (Bd. App. 1948); and Ex parte Hasche, 86 USPQ 481 (Bd. App. 1949). In the present instance, claim 13 recites the broad recitation “the weight of the mover device is less than 2000 kg”, and the claim also recites “preferably less than 1500 kg" which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Potier et al. (US 2017/0188505) in view of Jagenstedt et al. (US 2015/0189830) and Bergum et al. (US 2020/0100417).
With respect to claims 1 and 14, Potier et al. discloses a mover device (3) for autonomously moving an agricultural implement (3’) (paragraphs 35, 56, 112, 142-145 “a system capable of managing maneuvers entirely automatically or semiautomatically, especially half-turns, which is independent of the tractor”), wherein the mover device comprises: a frame having a front side, a rear side, and two lateral sides (fig. 1A); at least one motor (paragraph 35); two wheels (fig. 1A); a coupler (4’; fig. 1A) extending at the rear side of the frame which is arranged for coupling the device (3) to the implement (3’); and a three-point hitch attachment device (paragraph 77) extending at the front side of the device (3) for coupling the device (3) to a three-point hitch coupler (fig. 1A); wherein the mover device (3) is coupled to a tractor (2) for transporting the moving device (3) and the moving device is coupled to the agricultural implement (3’) for autonomously driving the agricultural implement (paragraphs 142-145 “(w)ithin the scope of an automatic mode of functioning, it is provided: [0143] that unit 5, 5′, 5″ of one of the machines 3, 3′, 3″ hitched to tractor 2 (for example the seeder), or of a machine semi-carried by the tractor, performs the computations necessary for establishment of the paths to be followed and has an interface 8 for communication with the driver, [0144] that all of the machines 3, 3′, 3″ in question (including tractor 2) have sensors and corresponding elements for transmission of information (via an electronic connection, for example an “ISOBUS” connection, or via a wireless connection) to master unit 5 in charge of management of the half-turn operations, [0145] that unit 5 of one of the machines hitched to the tractor (for example the seeder) or of a machine semi-carried by the tractor steers the tractor during repetitive maneuvers (for example, during half-turn operations). Machine 3 that steers tractor 2 during these maneuvers must therefore take control of the implements”). (Figs. 1A-8C, paragraphs 56-230.) Potier et al. does not explicitly describe a motor driving each wheel or the international standards. Jagenstedt et al. teaches of an autonomous mover device (60; paragraph 30) comprising two coaxial driven wheels (68), wherein each wheel extends at a respective lateral side of the frame and is driven by the motor (66), for moving the device on a surface in a driving direction. (Figs. 1-6, paragraphs 20-47.) It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the motor structure as described in Jagenstedt et al. into the invention of Potier et al. with a reasonable expectation of success in order to appropriately drive and turn the wheels. (Paragraph 25.) Bergum et al. teaches of using international standards ISO 8759, ISO 730 and ISO1 1001 (paragraph 39) when utilizing three-point hitch attachment device (153) of a tractor (9). (Figs. 1-25, paragraphs 36-65.) It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the international standard structure as described in Bergum et al. into the invention of Potier et al., as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide quality, sustainability, and innovation.
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Potier et al., Jagenstedt et al. and Bergum et al., as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Skjonsberg (EP 3 035 786 B1).
With respect to claim 2, Potier et al., as modified, is silent regarding the coupler is arranged for coupling the device to the implement in such a manner that mutual rotation around at least a vertical axis between the mover device and the implement is substantially not possible. Skjonsberg teaches of the coupler is arranged for coupling the device to the implement in such a manner (using a locking device 127) that mutual rotation around at least a vertical axis between the mover device and the implement is substantially not possible (Paragraph 34-38). (Figs. 1-8b, paragraphs 30-52.) It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the locking structure as described in Skjonsberg into the invention of Potier et al., as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to better follow the carrier during contour ploughing. (Paragraph 38.)
With respect to claim 3, Potier et al., as modified, discloses the coupler is arranged for coupling the device to the implement in such a manner that mutual rotation around the vertical axis is possible (paragraph 80), and that mutual rotation between the mover device (3) and the implement (3’) around a horizontal axis perpendicular to the driving direction is substantially not possible (paragraphs 80 and 98 disclose the circumstance of one degree of freedom with the vertical axis being pivotable, which means other axis such as horizontal would be no pivoting). (Figs. 1A-8C, paragraphs 56-230.)
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Potier et al., Jagenstedt et al., Bergum et al. and Skjonsberg, as applied to claim 1-3 above, and further in view of Disberger et al. (US 2021/0212249).
With respect to claim 4, Potier et al., as modified, is silent regarding the type of coupling at the rear of the mover device. Disberger et al. teaches of the coupler extending at the rear side of the frame is a three-point hitch coupler for coupling the device to a three-point hitch attachment device on the implement (paragraph 50). (Figs. 1-28, paragraphs 39-120.) It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the structure as described in Disberger et al. into the invention of Potier et al., as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to reliably attach the mover device to the implement. (Paragraph 50.) Potier et al. does not explicitly describe the international standards. Bergum et al. teaches of using international standards ISO 8759, ISO 730 and ISO1 1001 (paragraph 39) when utilizing three-point hitch attachment device (153) of a tractor (9). (Figs. 1-25, paragraphs 36-65.) It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the international standard structure as described in Bergum et al. into the invention of Potier et al., as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide quality, sustainability, and innovation.
Claims 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Potier et al., Jagenstedt et al., Bergum et al., Skjonsberg and Disberger et al., as applied to claim 1-4 above, and further in view of Motus et al. (US 2020/0375093).
With respect to claim 5, Potier et al., as modified, is silent regarding each wheel being driven by a motor. Motus et al. teaches of the mover device comprises two motors (paragraph 60), wherein each wheel (106) is driven by a respective motor (paragraph 60). (Figs. 1-13, paragraphs 58-79.) It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the structure as described in Motus et al. into the invention of Potier et al., as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to drive the hub directly. (Paragraph 60.)
With respect to claim 6, Potier et al., as modified, is silent regarding the mover device comprises a battery or a generator set for powering the motor and/or other electronic devices of the mover device and/or the agricultural implement. Disberger et al. teaches of the mover device comprises a battery or a generator set for powering the motor and/or other electronic devices of the mover device and/or the agricultural implement (paragraph 46). (Figs. 1-28, paragraphs 39-120.) It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the structure as described in Disberger et al. into the invention of Potier et al., as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide power to the motor. (Paragraph 50.)
With respect to claim 7, Potier et al., as modified, discloses the mover device comprises an operating unit (5) arranged to autonomously drive and steer the mover device (paragraphs 142-145 “(w)ithin the scope of an automatic mode of functioning, it is provided: [0143] that unit 5, 5′, 5″ of one of the machines 3, 3′, 3″ hitched to tractor 2 (for example the seeder), or of a machine semi-carried by the tractor, performs the computations necessary for establishment of the paths to be followed and has an interface 8 for communication with the driver, [0144] that all of the machines 3, 3′, 3″ in question (including tractor 2) have sensors and corresponding elements for transmission of information (via an electronic connection, for example an “ISOBUS” connection, or via a wireless connection) to master unit 5 in charge of management of the half-turn operations, [0145] that unit 5 of one of the machines hitched to the tractor (for example the seeder) or of a machine semi-carried by the tractor steers the tractor during repetitive maneuvers (for example, during half-turn operations). Machine 3 that steers tractor 2 during these maneuvers must therefore take control of the implements”). (Figs. 1A-8C, paragraphs 56-230.)
With respect to claim 8, Potier et al., as modified, discloses the mover device comprises sensors (11) connected to the operating unit to detect obstacles and/or to determine the location of the mover device (paragraphs 85, 96). (Figs. 1A-8C, paragraphs 56-230.)
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Potier et al., Jagenstedt et al., Bergum et al., Skjonsberg and Disberger et al. and Motus et al., as applied to claim 1-8 above, and further in view of Schumacher et al. (US 5,316,033).
With respect to claim 9, Potier et al., as modified, is silent regarding hydraulic conduits. Disberger et al. teaches of the mover device comprises at least one hydraulic conduit (52) between the front side and the rear side of the frame with front and rear hydraulic couplings (40, 50) arranged to transmit hydraulic power from the tractor (front 12; fig. 16) to the agricultural implement (rear 12; fig. 16) via the conduit (52) (fig. 16, paragraphs 76-78). (Figs. 1-28, paragraphs 39-120.) It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the structure as described in Disberger et al. into the invention of Potier et al., as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide power to the articulated hitches. (Paragraph 76.) Potier et al. does not explicitly describe the international standards. Schumacher et al. teaches of using international standards ISO 576 (col. 7, lines 1-11) when utilizing hydraulic couplings. (Figs. 1-22, cols. 9-17.) It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the international standard structure as described in Schumacher et al. into the invention of Potier et al., as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide quality, sustainability, and innovation.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Potier et al., Jagenstedt et al., Bergum et al., Skjonsberg, Disberger et al., Motus et al. and Schumacher et al., as applied to claim 1-9 above, and further in view of Ashby et al. (US 2015/0045992).
With respect to claim 10, Potier et al., as modified, is silent regarding a footrest and/or seat. Ashby et al. teaches as known in the art to have the mover device comprises a footrest (floor, paragraph 95) and/or a seat at the front side of the mover device (paragraph 95), and a manual control unit (foot pedals, paragraph 95), such that an operator is able to manually drive and steer the mover device ‘manned skid steer loader’; paragraph 95). (Fig. 1, paragraph 95.) It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the structure as described in Ashby et al. into the invention of Potier et al., as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to manually operate the device. (Paragraph 95.) In addition, Potier et al., as modified, discloses the claimed invention except for the footrest and/or a seat at the front side of the mover device. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to the footrest and/or a seat at the front side of the mover device, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Potier et al., Jagenstedt et al., Bergum et al., Skjonsberg, Disberger et al., Motus et al. and Schumacher et al. and Ashby et al., as applied to claim 1-10 above, and further in view of Laumann (WO 2012/072224 A2; Machine Translation of Description ‘MTD’).
With respect to claim 11, Potier et al., as modified, is silent regarding a center of gravity. Laumann teaches of the centre of gravity of the mover device is located between the vertical plane through the axis of the wheels and the rear side of the frame. (MTD paragraphs 15-16.) It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the center of gravity structure as described in Laumann into the invention of Potier et al., as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success so that the weight load in the area of the front drawbar connection does not exceed a level permissible under traffic regulations. (MTD paragraph 16.)
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Potier et al., Jagenstedt et al., Bergum et al., Skjonsberg, Disberger et al., Motus et al. and Schumacher et al., Ashby et al. and Laumann, as applied to claim 1-11 above, and further in view of Siebert et al. (US 2023/0329143).
With respect to claim 12, Potier et al., as modified, is silent regarding a parking brake. Siebert et al. teaches of a parking brake (paragraph 35) with a sensor (134) that detects a condition and if that condition is met, then the parking brake is activated and vice versa (paragraph 35.) (Figs. 1-8, paragraphs 19-47.) It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the parking brake structure as described in Siebert et al. into the invention of Potier et al., as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to increase the safety of the device. (Paragraph 35.) Further, regarding the limitation of “the operating unit is arranged such that the parking brake is released if the sensor detects that the moving device is coupled to a tractor, and the parking brake is activated if the sensor detects that the moving device is disconnected from a tractor” is functional language. “[Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does.” Hewlett-Packard Co.v.Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987.) Potier et al., as modified, discloses the structural limitation of the claim.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Potier et al., Jagenstedt et al., Bergum et al., Skjonsberg, Disberger et al., Motus et al. and Schumacher et al., Ashby et al., Laumann and Siebert et al., as applied to claim 1-12 above, and further in view of Van der Lely (US 2003/0229435).
With respect to claim 13, Potier et al., as modified, is silent regarding the weight of the device. Van der Lely teaches of the weight of the autonomous mover device is less than 2000 kg, preferably less than 1500 kg (paragraph 28). (Figs. 1-4, paragraphs 21-43.) It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the weight of the autonomous mover device is less than 2000 kg, preferably less than 1500 kg, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references cited on the PTO-892 form disclose similar features of the claimed invention.
/JAMES A ENGLISH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3614