DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the Remark filed on 1/22/26.
Claims 1, 3, 8, 10-11, 13 and 19 have been amended, and claims 2 and 12 have been cancelled.
Claim(s) 1, 3-11, 13-20 is/are presented for examination.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1, 11, 19 & 20 is/are unclear to the examiner; what does it mean by stating “the performing the path reconfiguration for the multicast service comprises: wherein in a case that the first indication information comprises path information of point- to-multipoint (PTM) path, the target path state comprises activating the PTM path; or in a case that the first indication information comprises path information of point- to-point (PTP) path, the target path state comprises activating the PTP path”? The claim languages are not clear exactly what is it the Applicant trying to accomplished? Just to activate the PTM or PTP path? That’s it? What about “reconfiguring a path state”? what are so significant about activating either PTM or PTP path? Please clarify
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-15, 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kadiri, U.S. Pub/Patent No. US 2021/0410045 A1 in view of Cai, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 2008/0259843 A1.
As to claim 1, Kadiri teaches a path processing method, comprising:
obtaining, by a terminal, first indication information (Kadiri, page 5, paragraph 39; i.e., [0039] uniquely identified by a user equipment (UE) based on an identification broadcasted from one access point or base station); and
performing, by the terminal, path reconfiguration for a multicast service according to the first indication information (Kadiri, page 10, paragraph 81; i.e., [0081] the identification of whether to permit the user equipment (UEs) to establish or resume the RRC connected state with the base station for receiving the multicast broadcast services may be based on an overload condition at the base);
reconfiguring a path state of the multicast service to a target path state (Kadiri, page 10, paragraph 82; i.e., [0082] enable the user equipment 302 to identify whether the user equipment 302 is barred from sending an access attempt (for example, an access message) for connection setup to receive the one or more multicast broadcast services);
But Kadiri failed to teach the claim limitation wherein the performing the path reconfiguration for the multicast service comprises: wherein in a case that the first indication information comprises path information of point- to-multipoint (PTM) path, the target path state comprises activating the PTM path; or in a case that the first indication information comprises path information of point- to-point (PTP) path, the target path state comprises activating the PTP path.
However, Cai teaches the limitation wherein the performing the path reconfiguration for the multicast service comprises: wherein in a case that the first indication information comprises path information of point- to-multipoint (PTM) path, the target path state comprises activating the PTM path; or in a case that the first indication information comprises path information of point- to-point (PTP) path, the target path state comprises activating the PTP path (Cai, page 2, paragraph 18-22; page 4, paragraph 41-42; i.e., [0018] responsive to at least one user equipment requesting the service, initiating a point-to-multipoint (PTM) broadcast of the service in the network; [0041] For the UE 206 that receive the broadcast PTM communication at low quality, the UE 206 may issue a request to the ENB 204 to initiate a PTP communication of the MBMS or other service; [0042] efficiently establish the PTP communication and provide the UE 206 with the MBMS or other service. At that point, the UE 206 may be receiving the MBMS or service from both the PTP communication and also from the PTM broadcast.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Kadiri to substitute ENB from Cai for enhance based station from Kadiri establishing and maintaining the PTP communications and a substantial amount of the available spectrum may be occupied (Cai, page 1, paragraph 2).
As to claim 3, Kadiri-Cai teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein the target path state comprises one of the following:
only point-to-multipoint (PTM) path being activated or configured;
only point-to-point (PTP) path being activated or configured (Kadiri, page 31, paragraph 213; i.e., [0213] Point-to-Multipoint may include single cell point to multi-point transmission with a Geolocation based Radio Network Temporary Identifier (G-RNTI));
both PTM and PTP paths being activated, or both PTM and PTP paths being configured; and
both PTM and PTP paths being deactivated, or both PTM and PTP paths being deconfigured.
As to claim 4, Kadiri-Cai teaches the method as recited in claim 3, wherein the method further comprises:
transmitting, by the terminal, a reception state report on an activated or configured PTP path in a case that a trigger condition is met (Kadiri, page 7, paragraph 55; i.e., [0055] A UE that receives the broadcast cell barring parameters may
camp on the cell of the base station for receiving the multicast broadcast services. Upon or after camping on the cell, the UE may seek to transition to a connected state (for example, a radio resource control (RRC) connected state) with the base station to receive the multicast broadcast services. The UE may then initiate a random access (RACH) procedure to establish or resume the RRC connected state);
wherein the trigger condition comprises:
the target path state comprises the PTP path being activated or configured; or
the target path state comprises the PTP path being activated or configured, and the PTP path is configured to radio link control (RLC) acknowledgment mode (AM) (Kadiri, page 7, paragraph 55; i.e., [0055] receiving the multicast broadcast services based on the cell barring parameters permitting the UE to camp on the cell. Upon or after camping on the cell, the UE may seek to transition to a connected state (for example, a radio resource control (RRC) connected state) with the base station to receive the multicast broadcast services. The UE may then initiate a random access (RACH) procedure to establish or resume the RRC connected state); or
the target path state comprises the PTP path being activated or configured, and the terminal receives second indication information, wherein the second indication information is used to instruct the terminal to report a reception state for receiving the multicast service; or
the target path state comprises the PTP path being activated, and the first indication information is used to instruct the terminal to report a reception state of a path activated in the target path state.
As to claim 5, Kadiri-Cai teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein the method further comprises:
determining, by the terminal, an initial path state of the multicast service according to network configuration or protocol specifications (Kadiri, page 15, paragraph 104; i.e., [0104] the access message by the base station 304 may trigger the base station 304);
wherein the initial path state comprises one of the following:
only PTM path being activated or configured (Kadiri, page 31, paragraph 213; i.e., [0213] Point-to-Multipoint may include single cell point to multi-point transmission with a Geolocation based Radio Network Temporary Identifier (G-RNTI));
only PTP path being activated or configured;
both PTM and PTP paths being activated or configured; and
both PTM and PTP paths being deactivated or deconfigured.
As to claim 7, Kadiri-Cai teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein the first indication information comprises at least one of the following: multicast media access control element (MAC CE), multicast layer 1 (L1) signaling, unicast MAC CE, unicast L1 signaling, and radio resource control (RRC) signaling (Kadiri, page 1, paragraph 6; i.e., [0006] RRC connected state with the base station for receiving the multicast or broadcast services).
As to claim 8, Kadiri-Cai teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein the first indication information is used to indicate at least one of the following:
identification information of the multicast service (Kadiri, page 9, paragraph 82; i.e., [0069] the base station 304 may provide the UE with an identification);
the target path state; and
configuration information of a target path corresponding to the target path state.
As to claim 9, Kadiri-Cai teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein transmitting, by the terminal, acknowledgment information for the first indication information (Kadiri, page 3, paragraph 24; page 7, paragraph 56; i.e., [0024] One
or more of the access control parameters may inform the UE as to whether the UE is permitted to establish or resume an RRC connected state).
As to claim 10, Kadiri-Cai teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein after the performing path reconfiguration for a multicast service, the method further comprises at least one of the following:
in a case that the target path state comprises the PTP path being activated or configured, the terminal performs cell-radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) monitoring during a first time for the activated or configured PTP path;
in a case that the target path state comprises the PTM path being activated or configured, the terminal performs group-radio network temporary identifier (G-RNTI) monitoring during a second time for the activated or configured PTM path;
in a case that the target path state comprises the PTP path being deactivated or deconfigured, the terminal performs C-RNTI monitoring during a third time for the deactivated or deconfigured PTP path but does not perform C-RNTI monitoring during a fourth time, wherein the third time comprises activation or configuration time in the unicast DRX pattern, and the fourth time comprises a time that does not overlap with the third time in activation or configuration time of the group non-discontinuous reception DRX pattern corresponding to the multicast service; and
in a case that the target path state comprises the PTM path being deactivated or deconfigured, the terminal suspends monitoring the multicast service or suspends G-RNTI monitoring during a second time for the deactivated or deconfigured PTM path (Kadiri, page 31, paragraph 213; i.e., [0213] Point-to-Multipoint may include single cell point to multi-point transmission with a Geolocation based Radio Network Temporary Identifier (G-RNTI)).
Claim(s) 19 & 20 is/are directed to a system claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 1. Therefore, claim(s) 19 & 20 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 1.
Claim(s) 13-15, 17, 18 is/are directed to a system claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 3-5, 7, 9. Therefore, claim(s) 13-15, 17, 18 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 3-5, 7, 9.
Claim(s) 6, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kadiri, U.S. Pub/Patent No. US 2021/0410045 A1 in view of Cai, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 2008/0259843 A1, and further in view of Zhao, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 2013/0077484 A1.
As to claim 6, Kadiri-Cai teaches the method as recited in claim 1. But Kadiri-Cai failed to teach the claim limitation wherein when the terminal receives notification information, determining a default path state of the multicast service, wherein the notification information is used to notify the terminal to receive the multicast service, and the default path state is determined according to network configuration or protocol specifications.
However, Zhao teaches the limitation wherein when the terminal receives notification information, determining a default path state of the multicast service, wherein the notification information is used to notify the terminal to receive the multicast service, and the default path state is determined according to network configuration or protocol specifications (Zhao, page 5, paragraph 104; i.e., [0104] UE is notified; a small data amount of data is carried by default in an RRC connection
establishment completion message).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Kadiri-Cai to substitute MTC from Zhao for LTE from Kadiri-Cai to prove a better performed without influence or with little influence upon traditional human to human communication (Zhao, page 1, paragraph 4).
Claim(s) 16 is/are directed to a system claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 6. Therefore, claim(s) 16 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 6.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3-11, 13-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Listing of Relevant Arts
Lee, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 20220253273 A1 discloses routing configured for audio stream, connection state.
Knaappila, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 20190037419 A1 discloses path configuration and connection state.
Contact Information
THUONG NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)272-3864. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday 9:00-6:00.
/THUONG NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416