DETAILED ACTION
WATERJET CUTTING MACHINE SYSTEM
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,5,7-12,20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reukers (US20100173570A1) in view of Luce (US2290979A).
Regarding claim 1, Reukers teaches
A waterjet cutting machine (abstract), comprising:
a frame (34, figure 9a) including a first end and a second end;
a cap (A, figure 9a) disposed on the first end of the frame, the cap including a liquid inlet port (84, figure 9b) and an abrasive supply port (86, figure 9b);
a pivoting assembly (40, figure 11) disposed at the second end of the frame, the pivoting assembly including a nozzle (12, figure 11) that is pivotable about a horizontal axis (para 0067-0068), the nozzle configured to discharge high-pressure liquid and abrasive to perform a shape nozzle and taperless cutting operation (para 0064-0072);
a shaft assembly (para 0062-0067) disposed within the frame, the shaft assembly including a motor (para 0064) and a shaft (para 0065-0067), the shaft including an elongate bore (figures 9a - 10) formed through a length of the shaft, the elongate bore of the shaft in fluid communication with both the liquid inlet of the cap and the nozzle of the pivoting assembly (para 0065-0069), the shaft assembly configured to rotate the pivoting assembly about a vertical axis (para 0065-0071); and
a rotary bowl (36, delivery column, para 0054-0055, 0063 0065, figures 9a-11 ) atop the shaft of the shaft assembly and beneath the cap, the rotary bowl including an upper lip, an inlet tube (para 0036), an interior surface (para 0063,0065), and, the inlet tube (para 0063,0065) in fluid communication with the liquid inlet port of the cap and configured (capable of performing this action) to receive the high-pressure liquid from the liquid inlet port, and the interior surface configured to receive the abrasive from the abrasive supply port, the interior surface including a top portion and a bottom portion, the liner disposed in the bottom portion of the interior surface of the rotary bowl.
Reukers fails to teach rotary bowl that is removably disposed and a liner within rotary bowl.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Reukers to have a rotary bowl be removably disposed, since separating parts that were once integral involves only routine skill in the art. This modification would make it easier for an operator to perform maintenance on the rotary bowl.
Luce teaches a sandblasting device that includes rotary bowl that has a liner (34, figure 3) manufactured from stainless steel (page 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Reukers to include a liner within rotary bowl based on teachings of Luce. This modification would ensure that rotary bowl is protected and resistant to erosion. (see page 2 of Luce)
Regarding claim 5, modified Reukers teaches wherein the shaft assembly is further configured to rotate the rotary bowl about the vertical axis (see Reukers para 0062-0067 capable of performing this action).
Regarding claim 7, modified Reukers teaches wherein the liner is manufactured from stainless steel (see Luce page 2)
Regarding claim 8, modified Reukers teaches wherein the liner includes a diameter less than a diameter of the bottom portion of the interior surface of the rotary bowl (see Luce page 2; discloses 34 is located within the rotary bowl therefore the liner dimeter has to be less than diameter bottom of rotary bowl).
Regarding claim 9, modified Reukers teaches wherein the liner circumscribes the inlet tube of the rotary bowl, and the inlet tube extends through an entirety of the rotary bowl including outwardly and past the upper lip, the inlet tube in fluid communication with the liquid inlet port of the cap (see Luce page 2; see Reukers para 0036,0064-0072).
Regarding claim 10, modified Reukers teaches all limitations stated above ,but fails to teach wherein the top portion of the interior surface of the rotary bowl includes a diameter larger than a diameter of the bottom portion of the interior surface of the rotary bowl.
However, modified Reukers does disclose rotary bowl has a diameter (see figures 9a-11 of Reukers).
Further, Examiner notes Applicant has not assigned any criticality to the specific diameter relationship of top and bottom portion of rotary bowl, describing only generally “The interior surface 150 may include a top portion 152 and a bottom portion 154. The top portion 152 may include a larger diameter than the diameter of the bottom portion 154 of the rotary bowl 142.”, without explaining any criticality of the claimed relationship. Per, MPEP 2144.05 II B, only result-effective variables can be optimized. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to select a diameters of top and bottom portions of rotary bowl based on the particular application and operational parameters, including the claimed relationship.
Regarding 11, modified Reukers teaches wherein the rotary bowl further includes an abrasive aperture in the bottom portion of the interior surface of the rotary bowl, and the shaft includes an elongate groove formed along the length of the shaft, the abrasive aperture aligned with the elongate groove and permitting abrasive from the abrasive supply port to gravity feed from the rotary bowl through the abrasive aperture and into the elongate groove (see Reukers para 0036,0054-0058, 0064-0072)
Regarding claim 12, modified Reukers teaches wherein the abrasive supply port of the cap is oriented on an abrasive supply port axis, and the liquid inlet port of the cap is oriented on a liquid supply port axis, and the abrasive supply port axis is offset a first distance from the liquid supply port axis, and the abrasive aperture of the rotary bowl is offset a second distance from the inlet tube of the rotary bowl (see Reukers A, figure 9a; para see Reukers para 0036,0054-0058, 0064-0072)
Regarding claim 20, Reukers teaches
A waterjet cutting machine (abstract), comprising:
a frame (34, figure 9a) including a first end and a second end,
a cap (A, figure 9a) disposed on the first end of the frame, the cap including a liquid inlet port (84, figure 9b) and an abrasive supply port (86, figure 9b);
a pivoting assembly (40, figure 11) disposed at the second end of the frame, the pivoting assembly including a nozzle (12, figure 11) that is pivotable about a horizontal axis relative to the horizontal axis (para 0067-0068), the nozzle configured to discharge high-pressure liquid and abrasive to perform a shape nozzle and taperless cutting operation (para 0064-0072);
a shaft assembly (para 0062-0067) disposed within the frame, the shaft assembly including a motor (para 0064) and a shaft (para 0065-0067), the shaft including an elongate bore (figures 9a- 10) formed through a length of the shaft, the elongate bore of the shaft in fluid communication with both the liquid inlet of the cap and the nozzle of the pivoting assembly (para 0065-0069), the shaft assembly configured to rotate the pivoting assembly about a vertical axis (para 0065-0071); and
a rotary bowl (36, delivery column, para 0054-0055, 0063 0065, figures 9a-11 ) atop the shaft and beneath the cap, the rotary bowl including an upper lip, an inlet tube (para 0036), an interior surface (para 0063,0065), and the inlet tube (para 0063,0065) in fluid communication with the liquid inlet port of the cap and configured (capable of performing this action) to receive the high-pressure liquid from the liquid inlet port, and the interior surface configured to receive the abrasive from the abrasive supply port, the interior surface including a top portion and a bottom portion, the liner disposed in the bottom portion of the interior surface of the rotary bowl.
Reukers fails to teach including a nozzle that is pivotable about a horizontal axis between +/- 130 degrees relative to the horizontal axis, a rotary bowl that is removably disposed and a liner within rotary bowl.
However, Examiner notes Applicant has not assigned any criticality to the specific rotating angle describing only generally “the nozzle at +/- 130 degrees provides a capability of performing the shape nozzle and taperless cutting operation in difficult to reach areas, which other waterjet cutting machines cannot provide..”, without explaining any criticality of the claimed angles. Per, MPEP 2144.05 II B, only result-effective variables can be optimized. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to select a pivoting angle based on the particular application and operational parameters, including the claimed pivoting angle.
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Reukers to have a rotary bowl be removably disposed, since separating parts that were once integral involves only routine skill in the art. This modification would make it easier for an operator to perform maintenance on the rotary bowl.
Luce teaches a sandblasting device that includes rotary bowl that has a liner (34, figure 3) manufactured from stainless steel (page 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Reukers to include a liner within rotary bowl based on teachings of Luce. This modification would ensure that rotary bowl is protected and resistant to erosion. (see page 2 of Luce)
Claim(s) 2-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reukers (US20100173570A1) in view of Luce (US2290979A) as applied to claim 1 further in view of Hashish (US5320289A).
Regarding claim 2, modified Reukers teaches all limitations stated above ,but fails to teach wherein the shaft further includes a plurality of standoff fasteners disposed on a top portion of the shaft.
Hashish teaches an abrasive water jet apparatus that includes a shaft (see figures 1-2) that has plurality of fasteners (see col 3 lines 15- col 4 lines 65) and rotary bowl that includes apertures receive fasteners that are screws (see col 3 lines 15- col 5 lines 65).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Reukers to wherein the shaft further includes a plurality of standoff fasteners disposed on a top portion of the shaft based on teachings of Hashish. This modification would ensure that the rotary bowl and shaft are aligned properly. (see col 3 lines 15- col 5 lines 65 of Hashish)
Regarding claim 3, modified Reukers teaches herein the rotary bowl further includes a plurality of standoff apertures disposed on a bottom surface of the rotary bowl, and a plurality of set screw apertures disposed on a side surface of the rotary bowl, the plurality of standoff apertures in communication with the plurality of set screw apertures, the plurality of standoff apertures selectively receiving the plurality of standoff fasteners of the shaft. (see col 3 lines 15- col 5 lines 65 of Hashish)
Regarding claim 4, modified Reukers teaches wherein the rotary bowl is selectively removably (see rejection above) coupled to the shaft with the standoff fasteners by a plurality of set screws disposed in the plurality of set screw apertures (see col 3 lines 15- col 5 lines 65 of Hashish).
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reukers (US20100173570A1) in view of Luce (US2290979A) as applied to claim 1 further in view of Hashish (US20190184523A1).
Regarding claim 6, modified Reukers teaches all limitations stated above ,but fails wherein the rotary bowl is manufactured from aluminum.
Hashish teaches fluid jet cutting application that includes components manufactured from aluminum. (para 0078,0089).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Reukers to have the rotary bowl is manufactured from aluminum based on teachings of Hashish. This modification would ensure that the rotary bowl has a protective cover. (see para 0078,0089)
Claim(s) 13-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reukers (US20100173570A1).
Regarding claim 13, Reukers teaches
A waterjet cutting machine (abstract), comprising:
a frame (34, figure 9a) including a first end and a second end;
a cap (A, figure 9a) disposed on the first end of the frame, the cap including a liquid inlet port (84, figure 9b) and an abrasive supply port (86, figure 9b);
a pivoting assembly (40, figure 11) disposed at the second end of the frame, the pivoting assembly including a nozzle (12, figure 11) that is pivotable about a horizontal axis (para 0067-0068), the nozzle configured to discharge high-pressure liquid and abrasive to perform a shape nozzle and taperless cutting operation; and
a shaft assembly (para 0062-0067) disposed within the frame, the shaft assembly including a motor (para 0064) and a shaft (para 0065-0067), the shaft including an elongate bore (figures 9a-10) formed through a length of the shaft, the elongate bore of the shaft in fluid communication with both the liquid inlet of the cap and the nozzle of the pivoting assembly (para 0065-0069), the shaft assembly configured to rotate the pivoting assembly about a vertical axis (para 0065-0071).
Reukers fails to teach including a nozzle that is pivotable about a horizontal axis between +/- 130 degrees relative to the horizontal axis.
However, Examiner notes Applicant has not assigned any criticality to the specific rotating angle describing only generally “the nozzle at +/- 130 degrees provides a capability of performing the shape nozzle and taperless cutting operation in difficult to reach areas, which other waterjet cutting machines cannot provide..”, without explaining any criticality of the claimed angles. Per, MPEP 2144.05 II B, only result-effective variables can be optimized. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to select a pivoting angle based on the particular application and operational parameters, including the claimed pivoting angle.
Regarding claim 14, modified Reukers teaches
wherein the pivoting assembly further includes a swing arm (55, 105, figure 11), an abrasive wire guard (107, figure 11a), and a mixing body (para 0054 0057,0048) the swing arm configured to rotate about the vertical axis, the abrasive wire guard configured (capable of performing this action) to protect an electrical wiring configuration of the swing arm (para 0031-0032), and the mixing body including a first end, a second end, and a side mix port (para 0054,0057 0059), the first end of the mixing body in fluid communication with the elongate bore of the shaft, and the second end of the mixing body in fluid communication with the nozzle, and the side mix port configured (capable of performing this action) to receive the abrasive for mixing the abrasive with the high-pressure liquid within the mixing body and for delivery to the nozzle. (para 0054-0072)
Regarding claim 15, modified Reukers teaches wherein the swing arm is rotatably coupled to the shaft assembly (55, 105, figure 11).
Regarding claim 16, modified Reukers teaches wherein the swing arm further includes a first planar end and a second planar end, the first planar end orthogonal to the second planar end, the first planar end of the swing arm coupled to the second end of the frame (see 55, 105, figure 11).
Regarding claim 17, modified Reukers teaches further configured (capable of performing this action) to receive a rotation limit bar coupled to the second end of the swing arm, the rotation limit bar configured to limit the swing arm from pivoting more than +/- 72.5 degrees relative to the horizontal axis.
Regarding claim 18, modified Reukers teaches further including a motor (para 0064) mounted to the swing arm (see 55, 105, figures 10 and 11)., the nozzle coupled to the motor, and the motor configured to pivot the nozzle about the horizontal axis (para 0060-0071).
Regarding claim 19, modified Reukers teaches further including a tilt mount plate (39, figure 10), a tilt adjustment plate (para 0062-0067; figures 9-11), and a cutting head mount (100, figure 10), the tilt mount plate coupled to the motor, the tilt adjustment plate coupled to the cutting head mount, and the cutting head mount coupled to the nozzle.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
(KR200310439Y1) discloses a waterjet cutting machine.
/SARAH AKYAA FORDJOUR/ Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/MONICA S CARTER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723