Priority
The present application claims priority to the application, 63/359,406, with effective filing date of 8 July 2022.
Claim Status
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s Response to Restriction Requirement filed, 30 January 2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I and
in the reply filed on 30 January 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 12-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group (Group II: claims 12-16), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claim 3-8 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claims 3-8 specify other compounds of Formula (I). Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 30 January 2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed on 6 July 2023 and the references cited therein have been considered, unless indicated otherwise
Claim Objections
1. Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “W” is defined as the term, “C,” which should be replaced with “CH.” In the specification, Applicant defines “W” as “CH,” and none of the compounds taught are further substituted ([0007]; [0008]; [0050] – [0057]).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2. Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cragoe (U.S. Patent No. 4,070,539, issued 24 Jan 1978).
Cragoe teaches a new class of compounds: [1-oxo-2-halo(or hydrogen)indanyloxy]alkanoic acids via alkanoylphenoxyalkanoic acids (column 1, lines 10-12; column 7, lines 1-5 and 46-47). Cragoe specifically teaches the compound, [2,3-dichloro-4-(2-methylenebutyryl)phenoxy]acetic acid, which is
(column 11, lines 24-25).
Regarding claim 1, Cragoe teaches [2,3-dichloro-4-(2-methylenebutyryl)phenoxy]acetic acid, which is
(column 11, lines 24-25).
Regarding claim 2, Cragoe teaches [2,3-dichloro-4-(2-methylenebutyryl)phenoxy]acetic acid, which is
(column 11, lines 24-25).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cragoe (U.S. Patent No. 4,070,539, issued 24 Jan 1978) in view of Patel (Int. J. Mol. Sci., 2020, 21(8224), 1-21) as evidenced by Power Thesaurus (“Synonyms for Pharmaceutical Composition,” Power Thesaurus, 2026, < https://www.powerthesaurus.org/pharmaceutical_composition/synonyms>, accessed 25 Feb 2026).
Cragoe (U.S. Patent No. 4,070,539, issued 24 Jan 1978) is applied as discussed in the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection above.
The Examiner notes the relevant teachings with respect to claims 1-2 set forth above and are incorporated herein by reference.
Additional relevant teachings set forth below.
Cragoe teaches [2,3-dichloro-4-(2-methylenebutyryl)phenoxy]acetic acid, which is
(column 11, lines 24-25).
Regarding claim 9, Cragoe fails to teach a composition of [2,3-dichloro-4-(2-methylenebutyryl)phenoxy]acetic acid.
Patel teaches the roles of pharmaceutical compositions and excipients in drug metabolism (abstract; page 4, paragraphs 4 and 5), as evidenced by Power Thesaurus. Power Thesaurus teaches that the term, pharmaceutical formulations, is a synonym for pharmaceutical compositions (terms #9 and #14).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to select the compound of Cragoe with the compositions of Patel to develop a composition of [2,3-dichloro-4-(2-methylenebutyryl)phenoxy]acetic acid (Formula II) to arrive at instant claim 9. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make such a selection, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
-Cragoe teaches [2,3-dichloro-4-(2-methylenebutyryl)phenoxy]acetic acid, which is
,
-Patel teaches that the pharmacokinetics (absorption, distribution, metabolism, and elimination) of active pharmaceutical ingredients are possibly altered because of their transport and metabolism modulation from incorporated excipients (abstract),
-Patel teaches that most popular route for drug delivery is oral administration because of pain avoidance, ease of ingestion, patient compliance and versatility of drug candidates (page 1, paragraph 1),
-Patel teaches that poor bioavailability of oral formulation is a limiting factor that can alter efficacy and therapeutic effect (page 1, paragraph 1),
-Patel teaches that addition of commonly-used pharmaceutical excipients can be a potential solution to these problems (page 4, paragraph 4),
-Patel teaches that pharmaceutical excipients are ingredients other than the active pharmaceutical ingredient (API) present in a finished pharmaceutical drug formulation and that excipients are frequently used as lubricants, diluent, binders, flavorings, coating and coloring agents for the formulation (page 4, paragraph 4),
-Patel teaches that addition of pharmaceutical excipients in drug formulations have gained attention which can alter the pharmacokinetics of drugs, resulting in improved bioavailability (page 4, paragraph 5), and
-Patel teaches a review of the current literature and evaluates the effect of different pharmaceutical excipients on metabolic enzymes (page 4, paragraph 5).
As such, an artisan having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a selection, to predictably arrive at a composition of [2,3-dichloro-4-(2-methylenebutyryl)phenoxy]acetic acid.
Regarding claim 10, Patel teaches a pharmaceutical composition (page 4, paragraphs 4 and 5), as evidenced by Power Thesaurus. Power Thesaurus teaches that the term, pharmaceutical formulations, is a synonym for pharmaceutical compositions (terms #9 and #14).
Regarding claim 11, Patel teaches a composition comprises a pharmaceutically excipient, diluent, and vehicle (page 4, paragraph 4).
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/MADELINE M. DEKARSKE/Examiner, Art Unit 1622
/JAMES H ALSTRUM-ACEVEDO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1622