DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s election of Group I (Claims 1-10) and canceled claims 11-20 without prejudice or disclaimer in the reply filed on 10/15/2025 is acknowledged.
Response to Amendment
Applicant's amendment filed on 10/15/2025 have been entered and fully considered. Claims 11-20 are canceled, claims 21-30 are new, and claims 1-10 and 21-30 are currently pending.
Priority
This application claims priority to U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/369,032, filed 7/21/2022.
Specification
The use of the term Bluetooth, IEEE, etc., which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 and 30 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 10 recites “are those within”. Examiner suggest changing the limitation to “are .
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1, 7-10, 21 and 27-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Burowski et al. (US 20210076163 A1 and Burowski hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Burowski teaches a method for an ultra-wideband (UWB) device (Figure 20A and Paragraph 0219), the method comprising:
encoding an UWB acquisition packet (UWB-AP) comprising information of future UWB channel usage of the UWB device (Paragraphs 0211 and 0212; a technique to propagate the UWB transmission times is to broadcast the transmission time information at a defined time after an advertisement signal. The packet containing the UWB transmission time (referred to as UWB Acquisition Packet (UAP) can be structured to occur at a specific time relative to transmitting device’s BLE advertisement. The UAP can convey the time of the next UWB poll transmission. Figure 20A and Paragraph 0222; beacon device knows the time of the transmission of the advertising packets, the predetermined delay, and the time of the next UWB poll. Therefore, the beacon can calculate the time from the advertising packets and the next UWB poll. This calculated time can be included in the UWB acquisition packet);
periodically transmitting the UWB-AP (Paragraph 0084; the mobile devices can periodically broadcast a message on a side channel indicating their continued presence in the ranging session. Figure 20A and Paragraph 0223; the beacon can transmit, using the second wireless protocol, the UWB acquisition packet including the calculated time until the next UWB poll);
encoding one or more UWB session transmissions (Paragraph 0126; ranging packets [UWB poll thus UWB session transmissions] encode the source and destination device addresses so new devices entering the system can quickly acquire timing by observing any exchange between active devices already in the session); and
transmitting the one or more UWB session transmissions (Figure 19 and Paragraph 0214; transmitter device can calculate the time duration between the transmission of the UAP message 1906 and the next UWB poll 1902. For example, as shown in FIG. 19, the time (T.sub.i) is the time interval between the first UAP message 1906a and the first UWB poll 1902a. The UAP message 1906a can include the time (T.sub.i) information. A receiving device that captures the UAP message 1906 can determine that the next UWB poll 1902b will occur at a time interval T.sub.i 1910 after receiving the UAP message 1906) according to the information of future UWB channel usage of the UWB-AP (Paragraph 0212; the UWB AP (UAPs) can convey the time of the next UWB poll transmission).
Regarding claim 21, claim 21 recites similar features as claim 1, therefore is rejected for at least the same reason as discussed above regarding claim 1. Further, Burowski teaches a computing apparatus (Figure 22 and Paragraph 0035; a device) comprising:
a processor (Figure 22 and Paragraphs 0035 and 0243; processor); and
a memory storing instructions (Figure 22 and Paragraph 0255; sets of instructions in computer-readable medium 2202) that, when executed by the processor, configure the apparatus to perform functions (Paragraphs 0035 and 0243; a device, a method, a memory or non-transitory computer readable medium storing code or instructions executable by one or more processors, for one to many ranging techniques).
Regarding claims 7 and 27, Burowski teaches all of the limitations of claims 1 and 21, as described above. Further, Burowski teaches wherein the UWB-AP includes one or more of: a relative offset to a next ranging round, a ranging round length, a ranging round interval, a hopping seed, and a UWB transmission type (Examiner will interpret the limitation as alternative “or” format based on broadcast reasonable interpretation of specification [0035]. Paragraph 0216; the UAP messages can provide the time delay until the next UWB poll. The beginning of that slot can be determined based on a predetermined delay relative to the first poll. Based on the designated time slot for ranging, the device pairs can add a known delay to the time of the UWB polling signal 1902 to conduct ranging).
Regarding claims 8 and 28, Burowski teaches all of the limitations of claims 1 and 21, as described above. Further, Burowski teaches wherein the UWB-AP is transmitted on a predefined UWB discovery channel (Paragraph 0190; a BLE antenna 1811 transmits and scans at a higher duty cycle. The increased advertisement and scanning can be part of a discovery process for the two devices to detect each other, so that a connection can be created. Paragraphs 0211 and 0212; a technique to propagate the UWB transmission times [included in UWB Acquisition Packet UAP] is to broadcast the transmission time information at a defined time after an advertisement signal using another wireless protocol, e.g., Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) advertisement transmissions. Although examples may refer to Bluetooth, other wireless protocols may be used).
Regarding claims 9 and 29, Burowski teaches all of the limitations of claims 1 and 21, as described above. Further, Burowski teaches monitoring for UWB-APs from neighboring UWB devices (Paragraphs 0210 and 0212; a receiving device looking to acquire the UWB transmission would either need knowledge of the start time of the transmission or would need to expend energy in a powered-on state listening until the device captures the impulse UWB signal. Figure 20B and Paragraphs 0225 and 0226; the receiving device can receive the advertising packet and determine a first window to listen for the UWB acquisition packet based on reception of the advertising packet. The receiving devices can be programmed to activate to listen for the UWB acquisition packet during this first time window after receiving the advertising message); receiving and decoding (Paragraph 0197; the receiving device was able to decode an advertisement signal with the ranging settings) the UWB-APs from the neighboring UWB devices (Figure 20B and Paragraph 0227; the receiving device receives the UWB acquisition packet); determining UWB transmissions of the neighboring UWB devices based on the UWB-APs (Paragraphs 0210 and 0212; the receiving device can listen for the UAPs at an expected time or during an expected time window around the expected time. The receiver device can use the time in the UAP to determine when to listen for the next poll. Figure 20B and Paragraph 0227; the receiving device can listen in a first time window around an expected time and receive the UWB acquisition packet via a second wireless protocol); and adapting the UWB channel usage based on the UWB transmissions of the neighboring UWB devices (Figure 20B and Paragraph 0229; the receiving device receives the UWB poll. The UWB poll provides information for the ranging session to the receiving device. The receiving device can use the information in the UWB poll to participate in the ranging session).
Regarding claims 10 and 30, Burowski teaches all of the limitations of claims 9 and 29, as described above. Further, Burowski teaches wherein the neighboring UWB devices are those within UWB-AP range (Figures 20A and 20B, Paragraph 0219; transmission of UWB acquisition packet by a transmitter and reception of the UWB acquisition packets by a receiving device. Examiner asserts when a transmitter and a receiver communicate with each other, they are in UWB-AP range of each other).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, 5, 22, 23 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burowski, as applied in the claims above, further in view of Lee (KR 20240006374 A).
Regarding claims 2 and 22, Burowski teaches all of the limitations of claims 1 and 21, as described above. Further, Burowski teaches encoding the UWB advertisement packet comprising information regarding a next transmission of the UWB-AP (Paragraph 0173; the mobile devices communicate advertisements using a first wireless protocol, e.g., BLE. Figure 20A and Paragraphs 0211 and 0212; a technique to propagate the UWB transmission times is to broadcast the transmission time information at a defined time after an advertisement signal using another wireless protocol. The packet containing the UWB transmission time (referred to as UWB Acquisition Packet (UAP)) can be structured to occur at a specific time relative to the transmitting device's BLE advertisements. Figure 20A and Paragraph 0220; the beacon device can transmit advertising packets using a first wireless protocol. The advertising packets can be routinely transmitted by the transmitting device approximately every 30 milliseconds. The advertisements can be transmitted irregularly to avoid collisions between data packets. So advertisements can be transmitted at a predetermined interval (e.g., every 30 seconds) plus some random delay of 0 to 10 milliseconds. This provides random dithering between advertisements. Paragraph 0221; the transmitting device can wait a predetermined time period after transmitting the advertising packets. In some embodiments the predetermined time period may be 200 microseconds. Receiving devices can be programmed to activate (if in a powered-off or reduced-power mode) to listen for the UWB acquisition packet during this predetermined time period after receiving the advertising message); and periodically transmitting the UWB advertisement packet (Paragraph 0173; the mobile device can transmit advertisements at a particular rate, and scan for advertisements from other mobile devices at a particular rate).
Burowski does not explicitly teach an out of band acquisition packet (OOB-AP). In an analogous art, Lee teaches an out of band acquisition packet (OOB-AP) (Page 7; first and second electronic device may perform wireless communication using a UWB communication method, a NB communication method, and/or an OOB communication method. The device discovery/connection establishment procedure 310 may be performed via OOB communication (channel), NB communication (channel), and/or UWB communication (channel). Depending on the embodiment, time structure information before configuring a UWB session may be exchanged between electronic devices that perform ranging through out of band (OOB) technology such as BLE). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Burowski and Lee because there is an emerging need for technology to prevent interference with WIFI communication that uses overlapping frequency bands during UWB communication (Lee, Page 2).
Regarding claims 3 and 23, the combination of Burowski and Lee teaches all of the limitations of claims 2 and 22, as described above. Further, Lee teaches wherein the OOB-AP is a narrow band acquisition packet (NB-AP) (Page 18; reception of at least one NB packet including usage information for an Ultra Wide Band (UWB) channel on a narrowband (NB) channel. Page 20; receiving on a narrowband (NB) channel, at least one NB packet including usage information for an UWB channel). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Burowski and Lee because there is an emerging need for technology to prevent interference with WIFI communication that uses overlapping frequency bands during UWB communication (Lee, Page 2).
Regarding claims 5 and 25, the combination of Burowski and Lee teaches all of the limitations of claims 2 and 22, as described above. Further, Burowski teaches wherein the UWB-AP comprises a relative offset to a next immediate UWB-AP (Paragraph 0216; the UAP messages can provide the time delay until the next UWB poll. The beginning of that slot can be determined based on a predetermined delay relative to the first poll. Based on the designated time slot for ranging, the device pairs can add a known delay to the time of the UWB polling signal 1902 to conduct ranging).
In addition, Lee teaches OOB-AP (Page 7; first and second electronic device may perform wireless communication using a UWB communication method, a NB communication method, and/or an OOB communication method. The device discovery/connection establishment procedure 310 may be performed via OOB communication (channel), NB communication (channel), and/or UWB communication (channel). Depending on the embodiment, time structure information before configuring a UWB session may be exchanged between electronic devices that perform ranging through out of band (OOB) technology such as BLE). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Burowski and Lee because there is an emerging need for technology to prevent interference with WIFI communication that uses overlapping frequency bands during UWB communication (Lee, Page 2).
Claims 4 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burowski in view of Lee, as applied in the claims above, further in view of Pakrooh et al. (US 20230361809 A1 and Pakrooh hereinafter).
Regarding claims 4 and 24, the combination of Burowski and Lee teaches all of the limitations of claims 3 and 23, as described above. Further, Lee teaches NB-AP (Page 18; reception of at least one NB packet including usage information for an Ultra Wide Band (UWB) channel on a narrowband (NB) channel. Page 20; receiving on a narrowband (NB) channel, at least one NB packet including usage information for an UWB channel). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Burowski and Lee because there is an emerging need for technology to prevent interference with WIFI communication that uses overlapping frequency bands during UWB communication (Lee, Page 2).
The combination of Burowski and Lee does not explicitly teach wherein the NB-AP is an offset quadrature phase-shift keying (O-QPSK) packet. In an analogous art, Pakrooh teaches wherein the NB-AP is an offset quadrature phase-shift keying (O-QPSK) packet (Paragraphs 0089 and 0090; an NB technology used to transmit the NB packet may be associated with a WLAN, Bluetoothe, BLE, and/or an offset quadrature phase-shift keying (O-QPSK) technology such as Zigbee, or the like). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Burowski, Lee and Pakrooh because it would provide better support mobile broadband internet access by improving spectral efficiency, lowering costs, improving services, making use of new spectrum, and better integrating with other open standards. As the demand for mobile broadband access continues to increase, further improvements in LTE, NR, and other radio access technologies remain useful (Pakrooh, Paragraph 0005).
Claims 6 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burowski, as applied in the claims above, further in view of Niewczas et al. (US 20240372761 A1 and Niewczas hereinafter).
Regarding claims 6 and 26, Burowski teaches all of the limitations of claims 1 and 21, as described above. Further, Burowski teaches UWB-AP (Paragraphs 0211 and 0212; a technique to propagate the UWB transmission times is to broadcast the transmission time information at a defined time after an advertisement signal. The packet containing the UWB transmission time (referred to as UWB Acquisition Packet (UAP) can be structured to occur at a specific time relative to transmitting device’s BLE advertisement. The UAP can convey the time of the next UWB poll transmission. Figure 20A and Paragraph 0222; beacon device knows the time of the transmission of the advertising packets, the predetermined delay, and the time of the next UWB poll. Therefore, the beacon can calculate the time from the advertising packets and the next UWB poll. This calculated time can be included in the UWB acquisition packet).
Burowski does not explicitly teach base pulse repetition frequency (BPRF) data packet. In an analogous art, Niewczas teaches base pulse repetition frequency (BPRF) data packet (Paragraphs 0034 and 0035; UWB packets, the correlator is programmed with known sequence of pulses of the SYNC symbols, the symbol length depends on a mode (e.g., HPRF or BPRF) of operation). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Burowski and Niewczas because it would address problem associated with difficulty detecting an incoming signal in terms of price, complexity and power consumption (Niewczas, Paragraph 0003).
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Schoenberg et al. (US 20210072373 A1) discloses ultra-wide band acquisition packets for scheduling future transmission of the UWB packets.
Conclusion
/Jing Gao/
Examiner, Art Unit 2647