DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is in response to the communications and remarks filed on 6/30/2026. Claims 1-20 are presently pending for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-12, filed 6/30/2026, regarding the U.S.C. 102 and 103 rejections of Claims 1-20 have been fully considered and are not persuasive. Applicant argues that "Although Mandal may mention similar concepts to those recited in the claims such as the AMSI, Mandal does not disclose a hypervisor intercepting invocation of an AMSI function by an application or service of a virtual machine that executes a software sample as part of Mandal' s disclosed techniques for detecting malicious scripted activity in fileless attacks. Mandal thus cannot disclose a hypervisor obtaining a buffer comprising data submitted to the AMSI by the application or service that is executing the software sample via invocation of the first function of the AMSI as the claims recite...Receiving a command line script executing in an endpoint does not disclose a hypervisor intercepting invocation of an AMSI function by an application or service of a virtual machine that executes the software sample.
Applicant’s interpretation of the reference has been noted; however, examiner respectfully disagrees. Mandal teaches [paragraph 0131, In some cases, some or all of the components of hardware platform 600 may be virtualized, in particular the processor(s) and memory. For example, a virtualized environment may run on OS 606, or OS 606 could be replaced with a hypervisor or virtual machine manager. In this configuration, a virtual machine running on hardware platform 600 may virtualize workloads. A virtual machine in this configuration may perform essentially all of the functions of a physical hardware platform.] This means that anything disclosed in Mandal and interpreted as performed by a physical hardware system can also be performed by a virtualized system to include a hypervisor. Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
Applicant argues that "Additionally, the command line script itself is not a buffer comprising data submitted to the AMSI, and Mandal never implies that the command line script can be stored in a buffer submitted to the AMSI."
Applicant’s interpretation of the reference has been noted; however, examiner respectfully disagrees. Mandal teaches [paragraph 0049, Within analysis pipeline 204, a pre-execution phase 208 first receives the command line script 202 with the unknown reputation. Pre-execution phase 208 may analyze the command line itself for suspicious factors. This could include looking for suspicious flags or operations, such as execution with no profile, execution in Hidden Mode, a non-interactive PowerShell, an encoded command (e.g., encoded within Base64), execution policy bypass attempt, Invoke-Expression, and/or a suspicious parent process] This shows that the command line script is received and analyzed meaning that it is stored in memory, even if it's just temporary memory which is equivalent to a buffer. Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
Specification
The use of the WINDOWS [paragraphs 0002, 0016, 0029, and 0033], have been
noted in this application. They should be capitalized wherever they appear and be accompanied by the generic terminology.
Although the use of trademarks is permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as trademarks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 8-10, 13, 15-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mandal et al., (US 20210097186 A1) hereinafter referred to as Mandal.
Regarding Claims 1, 10, and 16, Mandal discloses A method comprising: executing a software sample in a virtual machine, wherein a hypervisor created the virtual machine; [paragraph 0110, in some embodiments, entire computing devices or platforms may be virtualized, on a single device, or in a data center where virtualization may span one or a plurality of devices]
based on the hypervisor intercepting invocation of a first function of an antimalware scan interface (AMSI) during execution of the software sample by an application or service of the virtual machine that executes the software sample, obtaining, by the hypervisor, an indication of a buffer comprising data submitted to the AMSI by the application or service via invocation of the first function; [paragraph 0131, In some cases, some or all of the components of hardware platform 600 may be virtualized, in particular the processor(s) and memory. For example, a virtualized environment may run on OS 606, or OS 606 could be replaced with a hypervisor or virtual machine manager. In this configuration, a virtual machine running on hardware platform 600 may virtualize workloads. A virtual machine in this configuration may perform essentially all of the functions of a physical hardware platform.] [paragraph 0049, Within analysis pipeline 204, a pre-execution phase 208 first receives the command line script 202 with the unknown reputation. Pre-execution phase 208 may analyze the command line itself for suspicious factors. This could include looking for suspicious flags or operations, such as execution with no profile, execution in Hidden Mode, a non-interactive PowerShell, an encoded command (e.g., encoded within Base64), execution policy bypass attempt, Invoke-Expression, and/or a suspicious parent process]
analyzing the data stored in the buffer based on one or more criteria for detecting attempts to bypass the AMSI; [Table 1, “To Detect Anti-Malware Scan Interface (AMSI) Bypass attempt”]
based on determining that a subset of the data satisfies a first of the one or more criteria, detecting an attempt by the software sample to bypass the AMSI; and blocking the attempt by the software sample to bypass the AMSI. [paragraph 0074, Adding up all the scores for behavior logged during the pre-execution phase and the execution phase, the Veil framework command line ultimately receives a score of 13. If, in this illustrative example, the threshold for detection of malice is set to 7, then the attempted operation from the Veil framework may be blocked]
Regarding Claim 2, Mandal discloses wherein analyzing the data stored in the buffer comprises determining if the data stored in the buffer comprise one or more keywords that are indicative of AMSI bypass. [paragraph 0052, From pre-script execution stage logs, several important behaviors may be inspected within memory. Some events captured in this stage include, by way of illustrative and nonlimiting example] [Table 2, “Encoded Command” “Invoke-Expression”]
Regarding Claim 3, Mandal discloses wherein determining that a subset of the data satisfies the one or more criteria comprises determining that the data stored in the buffer comprise a first of the one or more keywords. [paragraph 0050, within pre-execution phase 208, PowerShell.exe sets up those things required for script execution. This could include, by way of illustrative example, argument parsing, checks environment, execution policy, and similar. In some cases, several important tasks may need to take place for smooth execution of the PowerShell code. One of the major tasks is command line argument parsing = “command line argument parsing” results in identification of keywords] [paragraph 0052, From pre-script execution stage logs, several important behaviors may be inspected within memory. Some events captured in this stage include, by way of illustrative and nonlimiting example] [Table 2, “Execution Policy Bypass Attempt”, “Invoke-Expression”]
Regarding Claims 5 and 19, Mandal discloses further comprising resuming execution of the software sample after blocking the attempt to bypass the AMSI by the software sample. [paragraph 0069, At block 294, the security agent hosting analysis pipeline 204 may stop execution, or at least belay execution until the action is confirmed by a human user or security administrator – teaches stopping execution but then resuming if confirmed by a user or admin]
Regarding Claim 8, Mandal discloses further comprising inserting a code hook into the first function, wherein invocation of the first function triggers the code hook, wherein the hypervisor obtaining the indication of the buffer is based on the code hook being triggered. [paragraph 0051, Pre-execution phase 208 may provide feature hooks into some Windows APIs. By way of illustrative and nonlimiting example, hooked APIs may include the following] [Table 1]
Regarding Claim 9, Mandal discloses further comprising designating the data stored in the buffer for malware analysis. [paragraph 0023, the correlation of one or a plurality of command line arguments can be used to assign an initial score for the process. This initial score may or may not be used to definitively determine that the process is malicious. In some embodiments, the initial score is used to weight the process more or less heavily toward being malicious. This weighting factor can then be used in conjunction with an execution behavior analysis to determine a more definitive malware score. The malware score may be compared to a threshold to determine whether detection should be triggered]
Regarding Claims 13 and 17, Mandal discloses wherein the instructions to determine whether the data satisfy the one or more criteria comprise instructions to determine whether the data comprise one or more keywords that are indicative of AMSI bypass, and wherein the instructions to determine that the subset of the data satisfy the criteria comprise instructions to determine that the subset of the data comprise a first of the one or more keywords. [paragraph 0050, within pre-execution phase 208, PowerShell.exe sets up those things required for script execution. This could include, by way of illustrative example, argument parsing, checks environment, execution policy, and similar. In some cases, several important tasks may need to take place for smooth execution of the PowerShell code. One of the major tasks is command line argument parsing = “command line argument parsing” results in identification of keywords] [paragraph 0052, From pre-script execution stage logs, several important behaviors may be inspected within memory. Some events captured in this stage include, by way of illustrative and nonlimiting example] [Table 2, “Execution Policy Bypass Attempt”, “Invoke-Expression”]
Regarding Claim 15, Mandal discloses wherein the program code further comprises instructions to hook into the first function of the AMSI, wherein the invocation of the first function by the application or the service running in the virtual machine triggers redirection of execution to the hypervisor, and wherein the hypervisor intercepting the invocation of the first function and obtaining the indication of the buffer is based on invocation of the first function.[paragraph 0131, In some cases, some or all of the components of hardware platform 600 may be virtualized, in particular the processor(s) and memory. For example, a virtualized environment may run on OS 606, or OS 606 could be replaced with a hypervisor or virtual machine manager. In this configuration, a virtual machine running on hardware platform 600 may virtualize workloads. A virtual machine in this configuration may perform essentially all of the functions of a physical hardware platform.] [paragraph 0051, Pre-execution phase 208 may provide feature hooks into some Windows APIs. By way of illustrative and nonlimiting example, hooked APIs may include the following] [Table 1]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 14, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mandal, as applied to Claims 1, 10, and 16, respectively, above, in view of SYKORA, "Detecting Windows AMSI Bypass Techniques", Trend Micro, 12/21/2022, hereinafter referred to as Sykora.
Regarding Claim 4, Mandal discloses wherein the one or more keywords comprise at least one of one or more function call names [paragraph 0050, within pre-execution phase 208, PowerShell.exe sets up those things required for script execution. This could include, by way of illustrative example, argument parsing, checks environment, execution policy, and similar. In some cases, several important tasks may need to take place for smooth execution of the PowerShell code. One of the major tasks is command line argument parsing = “command line argument parsing” results in identification of keywords] [paragraph 0052, From pre-script execution stage logs, several important behaviors may be inspected within memory. Some events captured in this stage include, by way of illustrative and nonlimiting example] [Table 2, “Execution Policy Bypass Attempt”, “Invoke-Expression”]
Mandal does not explicitly teach and an indication of a dynamic link library (DLL) associated with the AMSI.
Sykora teaches and an indication of a dynamic link library (DLL) associated with the AMSI. [page 5, “LoadLibrary + any AMSI or related DLL”, “AMSI and related DLLs (DLL hijacking via amsi.dll)”]
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Sykora with the disclosure of Mandal. The motivation or suggestion would have been to “look for processes bypassing AMSI.” (page 5)
Regarding Claims 14 and 18, Mandal discloses wherein the one or more keywords comprise at least one of one or more function call names [paragraph 0050, within pre-execution phase 208, PowerShell.exe sets up those things required for script execution. This could include, by way of illustrative example, argument parsing, checks environment, execution policy, and similar. In some cases, several important tasks may need to take place for smooth execution of the PowerShell code. One of the major tasks is command line argument parsing = “command line argument parsing” results in identification of keywords] [paragraph 0052, From pre-script execution stage logs, several important behaviors may be inspected within memory. Some events captured in this stage include, by way of illustrative and nonlimiting example] [Table 2, “Execution Policy Bypass Attempt”, “Invoke-Expression”]
Mandal does not explicitly teach and an indication of a DLL associated with the AMSI.
Sykora teaches and an indication of a DLL associated with the AMSI.[page 5, “LoadLibrary + any AMSI or related DLL”, “AMSI and related DLLs (DLL hijacking via amsi.dll)”]
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Sykora with the disclosure of Mandal. The motivation or suggestion would have been to “look for processes bypassing AMSI.” (page 5)
Claims 6-7, 11-12, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mandal, as applied to Claims 1, 10, and 16, respectively, above, in view of Pentest Laboratories, “AMSI Bypass Methods”, posted 5/17/2021, hereinafter referred to as Pentest.
Regarding Claim 6, Mandal does not explicitly teach further comprising registering a dummy AMSI provider in the virtual machine.
Pentest teaches further comprising registering a dummy AMSI provider in the virtual machine. [page 4, Tom Carver created a proof of concept in the form of a DLL file which evades AMSI by hooking into the “AmsiScanBuffer” function. The “AmsiScanBuffer” will then be executed with dummy parameters. The DLL needs to be injected into the PowerShell process which the AMSI bypass will performed]
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Pentest with the disclosure of Mandal. The motivation or suggestion would have been for AMSI Evasions. (page 2)
Regarding Claim 7, Mandal does not explicitly teach wherein the dummy AMSI provider comprises a DLL that does not implement malware detection, wherein registering the dummy AMSI provider enables the AMSI for the virtual machine.
Pentest teaches wherein the dummy AMSI provider comprises a DLL that does not implement malware detection, wherein registering the dummy AMSI provider enables the AMSI for the virtual machine. [page 4, Tom Carver created a proof of concept in the form of a DLL file which evades AMSI by hooking into the “AmsiScanBuffer” function. The “AmsiScanBuffer” will then be executed with dummy parameters. The DLL needs to be injected into the PowerShell process which the AMSI bypass will performed]
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Pentest with the disclosure of Mandal. The motivation or suggestion would have been for AMSI Evasions. (page 2)
Regarding Claim 11, Mandal does not explicitly teach wherein the program code further comprises instructions to register a dummy AMSI provider in the virtual machine, wherein registration of the dummy AMSI provider enables AMSI for the virtual machine.
Pentest teaches wherein the program code further comprises instructions to register a dummy AMSI provider in the virtual machine, wherein registration of the dummy AMSI provider enables AMSI for the virtual machine. [page 4, Tom Carver created a proof of concept in the form of a DLL file which evades AMSI by hooking into the “AmsiScanBuffer” function. The “AmsiScanBuffer” will then be executed with dummy parameters. The DLL needs to be injected into the PowerShell process which the AMSI bypass will performed]
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Pentest with the disclosure of Mandal. The motivation or suggestion would have been for AMSI Evasions. (page 2)
Regarding Claim 12, Mandal does not explicitly teach wherein the instructions to register the dummy AMSI provider comprise instructions to register a dummy dynamic link library (DLL).
Pentest teaches wherein the instructions to register the dummy AMSI provider comprise instructions to register a dummy dynamic link library (DLL).[page 4, Tom Carver created a proof of concept in the form of a DLL file which evades AMSI by hooking into the “AmsiScanBuffer” function. The “AmsiScanBuffer” will then be executed with dummy parameters. The DLL needs to be injected into the PowerShell process which the AMSI bypass will performed]
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Pentest with the disclosure of Mandal. The motivation or suggestion would have been for AMSI Evasions. (page 2)
Regarding Claim 20, Mandal does not explicitly teach further comprising instructions executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to register a dummy AMSI provider in the virtual machine, wherein registration of the dummy AMSI provider enables AMSI for the virtual machine, wherein the dummy AMSI provider comprises a dummy DLL.
Pentest teaches further comprising instructions executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to register a dummy AMSI provider in the virtual machine, wherein registration of the dummy AMSI provider enables AMSI for the virtual machine, wherein the dummy AMSI provider comprises a dummy DLL. [page 4, Tom Carver created a proof of concept in the form of a DLL file which evades AMSI by hooking into the “AmsiScanBuffer” function. The “AmsiScanBuffer” will then be executed with dummy parameters. The DLL needs to be injected into the PowerShell process which the AMSI bypass will performed]
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Pentest with the disclosure of Mandal. The motivation or suggestion would have been for AMSI Evasions. (page 2)
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW J STEINLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2497