DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to the amendments received on 10/10/2025. Claims 13, 14, and 17 have been indicated as allowable in the previous office action. However, they are rejected now upon further search and consideration.
Claim Objections
Claims 3 and 4 are objected to because of the following informalities: as to claim 3, line 2, “ER-Data” should be replaced by ER data field. Appropriate correction is required. Claim 4 depends on claim 3, therefore it has been objected to as well.
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: as to claim 5, line 2, “one of the waveforms” should be replaced by one of the one or more waveforms. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 8 and 9 are objected to because of the following informalities: as to claim 8, line 12, “ER PPDU;” should be replaced by ER PPDU; and. Appropriate correction is required. Claim 9 depends on claim 8, therefore it has been objected to as well.
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: as to claim 9, line 1, “the repetition of one or more” should be replaced by a repetition of one or more. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: as to claim 13, line 3, “ER-ETF” should be replaced by ER-LTF. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the repetition is" in line 1. There is more than one repetition disclosed in claim 7, it is not clear to which one of these repetitions claim 2 is referring to. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 3 and 4 depend on claim 2, therefore they have been rejected for the same reason.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al. (hereinafter, referred to as Lim) (WO 2021/150083) (US 2023/0054803 is used as the translation of the foreign document), and Yu et al. (hereinafter, referred as Yu) (US 2022/0045889), further in view of Chun et al. (hereinafter, referred to as Chun) (US 10,034,288).
As to claim 14, Lim discloses a wireless device (see Fig. 1 and paragraphs 0010 and 0052) arranged to: generate a legacy portion of an extended range physical layer protocol data unit (ER PPDU), the legacy portion comprising one or more of a legacy short training field (L-STF), a legacy long training field (L-LTF), a legacy signal (L-SIG) field, and a universal signaling (U-SIG) field (see Figs. 33-42 and their descriptions, and paragraphs 0093, 0185, and 0193); generate a non-legacy ER portion of the ER PPDU which follows the legacy portion (see Figs. 33-42), the ER portion comprising one or more of a ER short training field (ER-STF) (see Figs. 37-42, EHT-STF and see paragraphs 0193 and 0233, when EHT PPDU is related to extended range transmission, EHT-STF can be referred to as ER-STF), a ER long training field (ER- LTF) (see Figs. 33-42, EHT-LTF 3330 and see paragraphs 0193 and 0233, when EHT PPDU is related to extended range transmission, EHT-LTF can be referred to as ER-LTF), a ER-SIG (ER-SIG) field (see Figs. 33-42, especially Figs. 37-42, EHT-SIG 3340, especially in Figs. 37-42, and see paragraphs 0193 and 0233, when EHT PPDU is related to extended range transmission, “EHT-SIG” can be referred to as ER-SIG), and a ER data field (see Figs. 33-42, DATA field and see paragraphs 0193 and 0233, when EHT PPDU is related to extended range transmission, DATA field can be referred to as “ER-DATA field”), wherein the ER-STF is appended to the ER-LTF, the ER-LTF is appended to the ER-SIG field, the ER-SIG field is appended to the ER data field, and the non-legacy ER portion follows the legacy portion and ends the ER PPDU (see Figs. 33-42). Lim further shows repetitions of EHT-SIG in Figs. 37-42 in the non-legacy ER portion. Lim also discloses transmitting the ER PPDU to a remote device over an air interface (see Figs 1a and 1b and paragraphs 0006, 0064, 0071, 0106, 0107, 0175, 0190, 0195, and 0227-0229 and claim 40). Lim discloses all the subject matters claimed in claim 14, except that in the non-legacy portion, the ER-STF, ER-LTF, and ER data fields are repeated and that the one or more repetitions for a same training field of the ER portion is used to increase the signal to noise ratio of the same training field received by a receiver of the remote device. Lim also does not disclose that the legacy portion has a same occupied bandwidth as the non-legacy ER portion. Yu, in the same field of endeavor, discloses generating ER PPDU (see Figs. 18-20 and paragraphs 0024-0026). Yu further discloses that in the non-legacy portion, the ER-STF, ER-LTF, and ER data field are repeated one or more times (see Figs. 14-17, 19, 24-27, and 32-34). The one or more repetitions for a same training field of the ER portion inherently increase the signal to noise ratio of the same training field received by a receiver of the remote device, because the signal gets reinforced each time it appears (reappears). The repeated instances of the signal become more noticeable and consistent, making it easier to detect. Noise, on the other hand, is typically random and not correlated between repetitions. This reduces the effect of the noise. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify the teachings of Lim, as suggested by Yu, in order to extend the communication range and increase the signal to noise ratio of the signal. Lim and Yu disclose all the subject matters claimed in claim 14, except that the legacy portion has a same occupied bandwidth as the non-legacy ER portion. Chun, in the same field of endeavor, discloses a method for transmitting a frame comprising PPDU, where the PPDU includes a legacy part and a non-legacy part following the legacy part, wherein the legacy part and the non-legacy part of the PPDU are corresponding to a same channel bandwidth (see claim 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify the teachings of Lim and Yu, as suggested by Chun, in order to increase the spectrum efficiency in the communication system.
Claims 11, 12, 13, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim, in view of Yu.
As to claim 17, Lim discloses a wireless device (see Fig. 1 and paragraphs 0010 and 0052) arranged to: generate a legacy portion of an extended range physical layer protocol data unit (ER PPDU), the legacy portion comprising one or more of a legacy short training field (L-STF), a legacy long training field (L-LTF), a legacy signal (L-SIG) field, and a universal signaling (U-SIG) field (see Figs. 33-42 and their descriptions, and paragraphs 0093, 0185, and 0193); generate a non-legacy ER portion of the ER PPDU which follows the legacy portion (see Figs. 33-42), the ER portion comprising one or more of a ER short training field (ER-STF) (see Figs. 37-42, EHT-STF and see paragraphs 0193 and 0233, when EHT PPDU is related to extended range transmission, EHT-STF can be referred to as ER-STF), a ER long training field (ER- LTF) (see Figs. 33-42, EHT-LTF 3330 and see paragraphs 0193 and 0233, when EHT PPDU is related to extended range transmission, EHT-LTF can be referred to as ER-LTF), a ER-SIG (ER-SIG) field (see Figs. 33-42, especially Figs. 37-42, EHT-SIG 3340, especially in Figs. 37-42, and see paragraphs 0193 and 0233, when EHT PPDU is related to extended range transmission, “EHT-SIG” can be referred to as ER-SIG), and a ER data field (see Figs. 33-42, DATA field and see paragraphs 0193 and 0233, when EHT PPDU is related to extended range transmission, DATA field can be referred to as “ER-DATA field”), wherein the ER-STF is appended to the ER-LTF, the ER-LTF is appended to the ER-SIG field, the ER-SIG field is appended to the ER data field, and the non-legacy ER portion follows the legacy portion and ends the ER PPDU (see Figs. 33-42). Lim further shows repetitions of EHT-SIG in Figs. 37-42 in the non-legacy ER portion. Lim also discloses transmitting the ER PPDU to a remote device over an air interface (see Figs 1a and 1b and paragraphs 0006, 0064, 0071, 0106, 0107, 0175, 0190, 0195, and 0227-0229 and claim 40). Lim discloses all the subject matters claimed in claim 17, except that in the non-legacy portion, the ER-STF, ER-LTF, and ER data fields are repeated and that the one or more repetitions for a same training field of the ER portion is used to increase the signal to noise ratio of the same training field received by a receiver of the remote device. Lim also does not disclose that one or more of the ER-SIG field and ER data field is frequency domain repeated in one of a 242-tone resource unit (RU), 106-tone RU, 52-tone RU, and 26-tone RU, the repetitions spanning an entire channel band or a portion of the channel band. Yu, in the same field of endeavor, discloses generating ER PPDU (see Figs. 18-20 and paragraphs 0024-0026). Yu further discloses that in the non-legacy portion, the ER-STF, ER-LTF, and ER data field are repeated one or more times (see Figs. 14-17, 19, 24-27, and 32-34). The one or more repetitions for a same training field of the ER portion inherently increase the signal to noise ratio of the same training field received by a receiver of the remote device, because the signal gets reinforced each time it appears (reappears). The repeated instances of the signal become more noticeable and consistent, making it easier to detect. Noise, on the other hand, is typically random and not correlated between repetitions. This reduces the effect of the noise. Yu also discloses that one or more of the ER-SIG field and ER data field is frequency domain repeated in one of a 242-tone resource unit (RU), 106-tone RU, 52-tone RU, and 26-tone RU (see Fig. 24 and paragraphs 0146 and 0170), the repetitions spanning an entire channel band or a portion of the channel band (see Fig. 24). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify the teachings of Lim, as suggested by Yu, in order to extend the communication range and increase the signal to noise ratio of the signal.
As to claim 11, Yu, as explained above, discloses generating ER PPDU (see Figs. 18-20 and paragraphs 0024-0026). Yu further discloses that to extend communication range, one or more of the EHT-SIG field, EHT-LTF field, and DATA field coming after the U-SIG field is repeatedly transmitted n times. For repeated transmission, the same signal may be repeated in a time domain and a frequency domain (see paragraphs 0135-0136), wherein the frequency domain is a frequency domain repetition within a channel bandwidth (see the abstract, paragraphs 0148-0150 and 0170). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify the teachings of Lim, as suggested by Yu, in order to improve the channel estimation accuracy.
As to claim 12, Yu discloses that repetitions of the ER-SIG field and ER-data field comprises bits of the ER-SIG field and the ER-data field in one or more repetitions (see paragraphs 0119, 0122, 0123, and 0178, all the fields include bits).
As to claim 13, in view of the objection cited above, Yu discloses that the repetition of ER-LTF comprise one of a guard interval for each repletion and a guard interval for only a first ER-LTF of a plurality of repetitions (see paragraph 0122 and Fig. 11, the ER-LTF and its associated GI disclosed in paragraph 0122 is interpreted as one or the first one of the repetitions of the ER-LTF).
As to claim 19, Lim discloses that a subset of tones in an ER field on which bits of a binary sequence of a field is not loaded is loaded with pilot tones (see paragraphs 0186, 0282, and 0327).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim and Yu, further in view of Kim et al. (hereinafter, referred to as Kim) (US 2021/0368390).
As to claim 18, Yu discloses generating ER PPDU (see Figs. 18-20 and paragraphs 0024-0026). Yu further discloses that to extend communication range, one or more of the EHT-SIG field, EHT-LTF field, and DATA field coming after the U-SIG field is repeatedly transmitted n times. For repeated transmission, the same signal may be repeated in a time domain and a frequency domain (see paragraphs 0135-0136), wherein the frequency domain is a frequency domain repetition within a channel bandwidth (see the abstract and paragraphs 0148-0150 and 0170). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify the teachings of Lim, as suggested by Yu, in order to improve the channel estimation accuracy. Lim and Yu do not expressly disclose that the ER-SIG field or ER data field comprise one or more binary sequences. Kim, in the same field of endeavor, discloses that ER-SIG field (as explained above in the rejection of claims 1 and 10, EHT-SIG can be referred to as ER-SIG) comprises binary values (see paragraphs 0197 and 0198). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention was made, to modify the teachings of Lim and Yu, as suggested by Kim, to increase efficiency, robustness, and adaptability of the communication system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5, 8, and 9 would be allowable if rewritten in a way that overcomes the objections and 112 (b) rejections cited above.
Claims 6, 7, and 20 are allowed.
Claims 15 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
LEILA . MALEK
Examiner
Art Unit 2632
/LEILA MALEK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2632