DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-4) in the reply filed on 07/07/2023 is acknowledged.
Claims 5-10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 03/13/2026.
Status of Claims
Pending: claims 1-10
Withdrawn: claims 5-10
Under examination: claims 1-4
Rejected: claims 1-4
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2-4 each use multiple instances of “preferably” language, which is considered indefinite “exemplary claim language”, because it is unclear whether the preferences limit the scope of the claims; thus, the claims are rendered indefinite (MPEP 2173.05(d)). In the interest of compact prosecution, the “preferably” language will be considered optional, and therefore non-limiting.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by, or in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Chen et al. (US 20170221615 A1).
Regarding claim 1, with regard to the claimed “A rare earth permanent magnet, comprising a main phase structure of R2T14B crystal grain, wherein:
R is a rare earth element;
T comprises at least Mn, Fe, and optionally a transition metal comprising Co;
B is boron;” Chen teaches manufacturing an R-T-B magnet (Abstract) having an R2T14B main phase [0025], wherein R is a rare earth element [0005]-[0006], T may include at least Mn, Fe, Co, and/or Mn [0005], and B is boron [0005].
With regard to the claimed “the permanent magnet further comprises Mn and a heavy rare earth element diffused and distributed in a grain boundary; the heavy rare earth element is at least one selected from Dy, Ho, and Tb.”, Chen teaches an example wherein a rare earth compound powder containing an Ho compound, a Dy compound, Mn, as well as other elements [0090] is formed into a slurry, coated onto a magnet block, and diffusion sintered [0090], Table 7. Diffusion means that the diffusion elements necessarily diffuse through the surface of the magnet and become distributed in the grain boundaries; this is evidenced by the fact that in paragraph [0058], Chen states that “The heavy rare earth elements gradient along the depth of the magnet is less than that in a magnet having a density above 99.5% of theoretical density and produced by a conventional manufacturing technique after the same diffusion process. 2) In the area that is within 1000 μm of the surface, the average concentration of heavy rare earth elements in grain boundary is at least 0.7 wt % higher than that in grain center.” Therefore, the Mn which is also in the diffusion slurry must also be in the grain boundary.
In the alternative, although not explicitly stated, it is prima facie expected that the Mn which is in the slurry is also diffused and distributed into a grain boundary(s). This is by nature of diffusion as a process, which inherently involves atoms diffusing from a surface, inwards into the magnet, across grain boundaries.
Regarding claim 2, Chen meets the limitation for R in at least para. [0005]-[0006], which lists the elements for R.
Regarding claim 4, as discussed in the § 112(b) rejection above, all of the limitations preceded by “preferably” will be treated as optional, and therefore non-limiting; in addition, with regard to the claimed “…further, the first-stage heat treatment” and “…further, the second stage heat treatment”, these are also treated as non-limiting because they are further limiting a “preferably” limitation which is itself non-limiting.
As discussed in the rejection of claim 1 above, Chen teaches coating a magnet with a slurry (i.e., diffusion source) and performing diffusion treatment [0090].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 20170221615 A1), as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 3, Chen teaches the magnet of claim 1 above, but does not explicitly teach that x1>x2 and that y1>y2 (based on the definitions of claim 3).
However, Chen does teach that longer diffusion times lead to better and more consistent diffusion depths [0056]. A POSITA would be motivated to vary the durations of diffusion such that the diffusion metals fully diffuse beyond merely the depth of the surface, because greater diffusion depths allow for improved magnetic properties, as is implied from the fact that the objective of Chen is to achieve higher concentrations at depths as deep as 1000 µm below the surface of the magnet [0058].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen to increase diffusion times such that the concentrations of the diffusion material is greater at certain depths (e.g. 500 µm, 1000µm – Table 5), as doing so would result in improved magnetic properties – see for example, depth of 1000 µm which has a greater concentration of rare earth than at 500 µm for the grain border in Example 4).
Conclusion
/ADIL A. SIDDIQUI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735