DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Examiner has withdrawn the species restriction requirement between Species A and Species B, but has maintained the restriction requirement among Groups I-IV.
Applicant’s election of Group II, Claims 15-18, in the reply filed on 09/27/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 1-14 and 19-20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Groups I, III and IV, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 09/27/2025
The restriction has been made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 15, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Torrijos et al. (US 2011/0255205 A1).
Regarding Claim 15, Torrijos teaches an assembly (Fig. 1) comprising first structure of a laminate comprising layers of fiber reinforced material (Fig. 1, Item 1; Paragraph 0018), a metal mesh lightning-strike protection layer (LSP) (Fig. 1, Item 2, 5; Paragraph 0018), where the LSP layer comprises an outer face and an inner face opposite to the outer face, a connector comprising an LSP connection which overlaps with and is electrically connected to the inner or outer face of the LSP layer, and a bore which passes through the LSP layer, the laminate and the connector. (Fig. 1). Torrijos teaches a second structure (Fig. 1; Abstract; Claim 1 of Torrijos), and a fastener (Fig. 1, Item 7) that secures the first and second structure, where the fastener is received in the bore and the connector electrically connects the LSP layer to the fastener. (Fig. 1; Claim 1 and 5 of Torrijos).
Regarding Claim 17, Torrijos teaches the connector comprises a washer with a hole bounded by an internal edge of the washer, an inner face, and an outer face, wherein the inner and outer faces of the washer meet at the internal edge of the washer, the LSP connection surface comprises part of one of the faces of the washer, and the internal edge of the washer is electrically connected to the fastener. (Fig. 1, Item 9; Paragraph 0021-0023)
Regarding Claim 18, Torrijos teaches this assembly is on an aircraft. (Abstract; Claim 1 of Torrijos).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Torrijos in view of Iowa State University (NPL) and Haylock (US 2010/0272537 A1).
Regarding Claim 16, Torrijos teaches the fastener comprises a fastener body (Fig. 1). Torrijos teaches the fastener body can comprise titanium. (Claim 4 of Torrijos). Iowa State University teaches titanium and titanium alloy have a range of 0.87-3.1% IACS (International Annealed Copper Standard).
Torrijos does not specifically teach a sleeve surrounding the fastener body, where the sleeve is formed from a more electrically conductive material than the fastener body and the connector connects the LSP layer to the sleeve.
Haylock teaches applying a conductive conformable sleeve to a fastener, where the conformable sleeve has an electric conductivity of higher than 20% IACS. Haylock teaches the sleeve ensures the fasteners fits well into the assembly and proper electrical flow when the aircraft is struck by lightning and ensures the plane assembly is not damaged from improper electrical flow. (Paragraph 0005-0006, 0444, 0051, 0110). Thus, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to use the sleeve taught by Haylock on the fastener of Torrijos to ensure proper electrical flow through the airplane assembly. This combination of Torrijos and Haylock would have the sleeve be formed of a more electrically conductive material than the fastener body and the connector electrically connected to the LSP layer to the sleeve to ensure proper electrical flow.
Correspondence
/Michael Zhang/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781