DETAILED ACTION
Comments
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 1-25 are pending and examined in the instant Office action.
Since the core of the claim limitations center around executing a VQE algorithm, and since VQE algorithms are too complex to be conducted in the human mind, the claims are subject matter eligible.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDSs filed have been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
35 U.S.C. 103 Rejection #1:
Claims 1, 3-4, 7, 9-10, 13, and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao et al. [arXiv:1812.09976v2, 29 December 2018, 194 pages; on IDS].
Claim 1 is drawn to a system comprising a memory and a processor. The system comprises evaluating a potential energy surface of a molecule by executing a VQE algorithm. The system comprises fitting a potential energy function to a potential energy surface of a molecule. The system requires that the potential energy function is parameterized using a range of VQE calculations across a range of bond lengths of the surface molecule.
Claim 7 is drawn to similar subject matter as claim 1, except claim 7 is drawn to a method.
Claim 13 is drawn to similar subject matter as claim 1, except claim 13 is drawn to a computer program product.
Claims 3, 9, and 15 are further limiting comprising executing the VQE algorithm based on a Born-Oppenheimer approximation.
The document of Cao et al. studies quantum chemistry in the age of quantum computing [title]. The paragraph bridging pages 108-109 and pages 110-112 of Cao et al. at least suggests using a VQE to analyze and fit parameters when analyzing potential energy surfaces. Figure 13 on page 150 of Cao et al. illustrates VQE simulation results for energies of molecular hydrogen using multiple values of each of bond length and variational parameter. Section 2.1 on pages 13-16 of Cao et al. teaches the Born-Oppenheimer approximation.
With regard to claims 4, 10, and 16, Figure 7 on page 77 of Cao et al. illustrates the iterative optimization and termination involved in the VQE algorithm.
It would have been obvious to someone or ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the instant application to use the quantum mechanical analysis of Cao et al. to fit potential energy functions to surfaces of molecules wherein the motivation would have been that these types of calculations facilitate understanding the geometries and interactions of molecules [Figure 13 on page 150 of Cao et al.].
35 U.S.C. 103 Rejection #2:
Claims 2, 5-6, 8, 11-12, 14, and 17-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao et al., as applied to claims 1, 3-4, 7, 9-10, 13, and 15-16 above, as evidenced by Korn [Variance, volume 11, 2017, pages 95-117] in further view of Strekalov [Chemical Physics Letters, volume 393, 2004, pages 192-196; on IDS].
The claims recite use of intramolecular vibrational modes, Morse potential functions, partition functions, and loss functions.
Cao et al. makes obvious fitting potential energy surfaces using VQE algorithms, as discussed above. It is evident from the figures of Korn that optimal fitting of functions to data minimizes loss. The first full paragraph on page 76 of Cao et al. teaches incorporating mitigating noise into the algorithm.
Cao et al. does not teach intramolecular vibrational modes, Morse potential functions, and partition functions.
The title and abstract of Strekalov teach vibrational partition functions and Morse energy functions.
It would have been obvious to someone or ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the quantum mechanical analysis of Cao et al. by use of the vibrational partition functions of Strekalov wherein the motivation would have been that Strekalov adds additional mathematical tools to analyze vibrational modes [equations of Strekalov]. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success in combining Cao et al. and Strekalov because both studies are analogously applicable to understating the mathematics of modes.
Double Patenting
Claims [1 or 2], 3-6, [7 or 9], 8, 10, [11 or 17], 12, [13, 14, or 15], 16, 18, [19, 20, 22, or 24], [21 or 25], and 23 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2-5, 17, 19, 18, 23, 20, 21, 22, 24, [7 or 10], 11, and 8, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 11,735,291 B2 in view of Cao et al.
Both sets of claims are analogously applicable to using VQE algorithms to fit potential energy surfaces to molecules. The claims of ‘291 do not teach a range of VQE calculations across a range of bond lengths.
The document of Cao et al. studies quantum chemistry in the age of quantum computing [title]. Figure 13 on page 150 of Cao et al. illustrates VQE simulation results for energies of molecular hydrogen using multiple values of each of bond length and variational parameter.
It would have been obvious to someone or ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the instant application to use the quantum mechanical analysis of the claims of ‘291 by varying bond length wherein the motivation would have been that varying a bond length while applying the VQE optimizes the geometric picture of the molecule [Figure 13 of Cao et al.].
Related Prior Art
The prior art of Kandala et al. [arXiv:1704.05018v2, 13 October 2017, 24 pages; on IDS] teaches the role of VQE in understanding small molecules and quantum magnets [title]. While Kandala et al. teaches many limitations of VQE, Kandala et al. does not teach all of the limitations of VQE recited in the claims.
The prior art of Davies [BioSystems, volume 78, 2004, pages 69-79; on IDS] studies the role of quantum mechanics in life [title]. Column 1 on page 76 of Davies teaches bootstrapping in quantum mechanics.
E-mail Communications Authorization
Per updated USPTO Internet usage policies, Applicant and/or applicant’s representative is encouraged to authorize the USPTO examiner to discuss any subject matter concerning the above application via Internet e-mail communications. See MPEP 502.03. To approve such communications, Applicant must provide written authorization for e-mail communication by submitting the following statement via EFS-Web (using PTO/SB/439) or Central Fax (571-273-8300):
Recognizing that Internet communications are not secure, I hereby authorize the USPTO to communicate with the undersigned and practitioners in accordance with 37 CFR 1.33 and 37 CFR 1.34 concerning any subject matter of this application by video conferencing, instant messaging, or electronic mail. I understand that a copy of these communications will be made of record in the application file.
Written authorizations submitted to the Examiner via e-mail are NOT proper. Written authorizations must be submitted via EFS-Web (using PTO/SB/439) or Central Fax (571-273-8300). A paper copy of e-mail correspondence will be placed in the patent application when appropriate. E-mails from the USPTO are for the sole use of the intended recipient, and may contain information subject to the confidentiality requirement set forth in 35 USC § 122. See also MPEP 502.03.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s Supervisor, Larry Riggs, Supervisory Patent Examiner, can be reached at (571) 270-3062.
/RUSSELL S NEGIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1686 21 October 2026