DETAILED ACTION
Any rejections made in a previous Office action and not repeated below are hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 7-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cid Aguilar (WO 2020/046096).
Regarding claim 1, Cid Aguilar discloses a grey glass comprising in percentages by weight: Fe2O3 1.20-3.0%, FeO 0.5-1.0%, Co3O4 0.020-0.040%, Se 0.0015-0.010%, CuO 0.00050-0.050% and TiO2 0.01-1%, see abstract. Note that the weight percentages disclosed in the reference overlap the claimed ranges. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists; see MPEP 2144.05 I. The reference discloses a reduction percentage of 15-40%, see abstract and MPEP 2144.05 I.
Regarding claim 2, the reference discloses the glass exhibits a low transmission of illuminating light (TLA) not greater than 20%, which encompasses the claimed range, see abstract and MPEP 2144.05 I.
Regarding claim 3, the reference discloses the glass exhibits a transmission of direct solar energy (TDS) of not greater than 14%, see abstract.
Regarding claim 4, the reference discloses the glass exhibits a transmission of near infrared radiation (TIR) of not greater than 14%, see abstract.
Regarding claim 5, the reference discloses the glass exhibits a transmission of ultraviolet radiation (TUV) not greater than 8% and of total solar energy (TTS) not greater than 38%, see abstract.
Regarding claim 7, the reference discloses a purity of not greater than 50% and a dominant wavelength of 480-590 nm when there is a thickness of 2.85-3.85 mm, see abstract.
Regarding claim 8, the reference discloses the composition as comprising the claimed components with the same ranges for SiO2, Al2O3, CaO, MgO, K2O and SO3 and with an overlapping range for Na2O, see pages 13-14 and MPEP 2144.05 I.
Regarding claim 9, the reference discloses the composition comprises 0.01 to 1.0% NaNO3, see page 14.
Regarding claim 10, the reference discloses the composition comprising 0 to 0.07% carbon, see page 14.
Regarding claims 11 and 12, the reference discloses the composition comprising 1.20 to 3.0% Fe2O3, see abstract and MPEP 2144.05 I.
Regarding claim 13, while the reference discloses examples with the claimed color CIELAB values, see Table 1.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5 and 7-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of copending Application No. 18/571,512 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both are directed to a gray glass composition comprising overlapping compositions and light transmission properties.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 24, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that claim 1 requires a redox ratio in the range of 13.2% to 58.8% whereas the reference teaches a redox ratio of 15% to 40%. According to Applicant, the present invention achieves a desired gray glass where such as glass a redox ration percentage in the range of 13.2% to 58.8%. Such a result was neither disclosed nor taught by the cited reference. As such, Applicant concludes that the cited reference fails to disclose a glass with the claimed redox ratio. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As discussed above, and previously, Cid Aguilar discloses a gray glass with a redox ratio of 15% to 40%, see above discussion. Note that the disclosed ranges for the individual constituents overlap the claimed ranges, and, as such, a prima facie case of obviousness exists; see MPEP 2144.05 I. Applicant may rebut a prima facie case of obviousness by showing the criticality of the claimed range or that the prior art teaches away from the claimed invention; see MPEP 2144.05 III A. & B. Given Applicant has not presented arguments as to the criticality of the claimed range, Examiner maintains the position that the cited reference renders obvious the claimed redox ratio given overlapping ranges; see MPEP 2144.05 I.
For the above reasons, the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Cid Aguilar are respectfully maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAURA A AUER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1783