DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-13, in the reply filed on April 2, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that a search for the etching composition of claim 1 would necessarily overlap with the search for the etching composition of claim 14. This is not found persuasive because neither group is directed to an etching composition. Instead, Group I is directed to a colored glass, and Group II is directed to a method of making a colored glass. Note that requiring the Examiner to search both groups simultaneously would constitute a serious burden given the inventions cannot be searched simultaneous because the inventions require a different field of search (searching different class/subclasses or electronic resources, and/or employing different search queries).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 14-28 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected method, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on April 2, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cid Aguilar (WO 2020/046096).
Regarding claim 1, Cid Aguilar discloses a grey glass comprising in percentages by weight: Fe2O3 1.20-3.0%, FeO 0.5-1.0%, Co3O4 0.020-0.040%, Se 0.0015-0.010%, CuO 0.00050-0.050% and TiO2 0.01-1%, see abstract. Note that the weight percentages disclosed in the reference overlap the claimed ranges. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists; see MPEP 2144.05 I.
Regarding claim 2, the reference discloses the glass exhibits a low transmission of illuminating light (TLA) not greater than 20%, which encompasses the claimed range, see abstract and MPEP 2144.05 I.
Regarding claim 3, the reference discloses the glass exhibits a transmission of direct solar energy (TDS) of not greater than 14%, see abstract.
Regarding claim 4, the reference discloses the glass exhibits a transmission of near infrared radiation (TIR) of not greater than 14%, see abstract.
Regarding claim 5, the reference discloses the glass exhibits a transmission of ultraviolet radiation (TUV) not greater than 8% and of total solar energy (TTS) not greater than 38%, see abstract.
Regarding claim 6, the reference discloses a reduction percentage of 15-40%, see abstract.
Regarding claim 7, the reference discloses a purity of not greater than 50% and a dominant wavelength of 480-590 nm when there is a thickness of 2.85-3.85 mm, see abstract.
Regarding claim 8, the reference discloses the composition as comprising the claimed components with the same ranges for SiO2, Al2O3, CaO, MgO, K2O and SO3 and with an overlapping range for Na2O, see pages 13-14 and MPEP 2144.05 I.
Regarding claim 9, the reference discloses the composition comprises 0.01 to 1.0% NaNO3, see page 14.
Regarding claim 10, the reference discloses the composition comprising 0 to 0.07% carbon, see page 14.
Regarding claims 11 and 12, the reference discloses the composition comprising 1.20 to 3.0% Fe2O3, see abstract and MPEP 2144.05 I.
Regarding claim 13, while the reference discloses examples with the claimed color CIELAB values, see Table 1.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of copending Application No. 18/571,512 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both are directed to a gray glass composition comprising overlapping compositions and light transmission properties.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/LAURA A AUER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1783