DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election without traverse of the group of species of Formula (1), wherein Z1 is any one of T1 to T14, and the listed A1, which encompasses Claims 1, 5-7, 9, and 10, in the reply filed on 3/20/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 2-4, and 8 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 3/20/2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 9 recites in line 2 “inequation.” This appears to be a typographical error. Appropriate correction is required.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: in Example 7, the polymerization medium is “tert-butyl alcohol” and the specification states that this is “p is 0; m is 1; n is 0, and k is 0.” However, this appears to be incorrect because for formula (1), the tert-butyl alcohol would be wherein p is 0, m is 1, n is 0, and k is 1.
Throughout the specification, the equation of “p + m > 1” and “s + t > 1” is used, but it appears that throughout the examples and claims, the equation should be “p + m ≥ 1” and “s + t ≥ 1”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 5-7, 9 and 10, are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of copending Application No. 18/901,991 (App. No. 18/901,991).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because App. No. 18/901,991 teaches each and every component and reads upon the claims in an anticipatory manner.
Regarding claims 1, 5-7, 9 and 10, App. No. 18/901,991 teaches a method of producing a fluorine-containing copolymer by polymerization of ethylene and tetrafluoroethylene in a medium of solvent A, wherein solvent A has formula (1), wherein Y1 is O or N, and Z1 is any one of T1 to T6), wherein A1 is hydrogen, methyl or tert-butyl (See claim 1), wherein the equation 0.5 < Msol x S/Mmon < 1.0 is satisfied, (claim 9).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5-7, 9-10, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP S47-02853 B1 to Kazuo (hereinafter Kazuo).
Regarding claims 1, 5-7, 9-10, Kazuo teaches a method of polymerization with an appropriate solvent of ethylene and one or more halogenated ethylenes (page 2). Specifically, in Example 1, monomers of tetrafluoroethylene and ethylene are added to a vessel with a solvent of tert-butyl alcohol and polymerized to form an ethylene-tetrafluoroethylene copolymer, (page 4), which meets the claimed method, and tert-butyl alcohol meets the claimed solvent A of formula (1) wherein Y1 is O, p=0, m=1, n=0, k=1, p+m=1, p+m+n+k=2. Kazuo further teaches 25 g (0.34 mol) of tert-butyl alcohol (74.1 g/mol), 38 g (1.36 mol) of ethylene (28 g/mol), and 1.4 g (0.014 mol) of tetrafluoroethylene (100 g/mol), is used in the reaction at 30 deg C and 300 atm pressure. (Example 1). Using the above, 0.34 mol of t-butyl alcohol in 64.4 g total mixture, which correlates to about 5 µmol/g total mass of the copolymer, which is within the claimed range of claim 10.
Regarding the solubility equation of claim 9, one skilled in the art would have a reasonable expectation for the polymerization of Kazuo to have the claimed solubility properties of the claimed invention because Kazuo teaches a substantially identical polymerization mixture of ethylene, tetrafluoroethylene, and tert-butyl alcohol within similar molar ratios to the claimed invention and the above equation appears to be dependent upon the same monomers and solvent chosen. See MPEP 2112.01. (Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977)).
Claim(s) 1, 5-7, 9-10, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 4,426,501 A to Khan (hereinafter Khan).
Regarding claims 1, 5-7, 9-10, Khan teaches a tetrafluoroethylene/ethylene copolymer obtained by an aqueous emulsion polymerization with 648 g of tetrafluoroethylene, 155 g of ethylene, and 0.15 L (i.e. 120.6 g) of t-butyl alcohol, polymerized at 95 deg C and at a pressure of 4.1 MPa (See Table 2, col 7, ln 1-38). The above correlates to 1.6 mol of t-butyl alcohol in 923.6 total g of copolymer, or 1.7 µmol/g, which is within the claimed range of claim 10.
Regarding the solubility equation of claim 9, one skilled in the art would have a reasonable expectation for the polymerization of Khan to have the claimed solubility properties of the claimed invention because Khan teaches a substantially identical polymerization mixture of ethylene, tetrafluoroethylene, and tert-butyl alcohol within similar molar ratios to the claimed invention and the above equation appears to be dependent upon the same monomers and solvent chosen. See MPEP 2112.01. (Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-7, 9 and 10, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2014/112592 A1 to Ataku et al. (hereinafter Ataku)
Regarding claims 1, 5-7, 9 and 10, Ataku teaches a ethylene-tetrafluoroethylene copolymer obtained by reacting ethylene, tetrafluoroethylene, in a solvent containing a chain transfer agent (para 7-9). Specifically, Ataku teaches the chain transfer agent controls molecular weight and physical/chemical properties while also reducing the environmental load, (para 22), and preferred examples of effective chain transfer agents include dimethylformamide (DMF), (para 22), which meets formula (1), wherein Y1 is N, p=2, n=1, Z1 is T1, wherein A1 is H. In Table 1,
the concentration mass amount of chain transfer agent is 0.84 (g/100 g total), (para 74), and if DMF is used, this correlates to 0.11 µmol/g, which meets the claimed amount in claim 10.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to use the DMF for the chain transfer agent in the examples of Ataku because Ataku teaches the chain transfer agent controls molecular weight and physical/chemical properties while also reducing the environmental load, (para 22), and preferred examples of effective chain transfer agents include dimethylformamide (DMF), (para 22).
Regarding the solubility equation of claim 9, one skilled in the art would have a reasonable expectation for the polymerization of Ataku to have the claimed solubility properties of the claimed invention because Ataku teaches a substantially identical polymerization mixture of ethylene, tetrafluoroethylene, and DMF within similar molar ratios to the claimed invention and the above equation appears to be dependent upon the same monomers and solvent chosen. See MPEP 2112.01. (Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977)).
Conclusion
/HA S NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766